Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dax Hotel 3 stars

1 Boulevard Carnot, 40100 Dax, France

#17 of 25 hotels in Dax

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 140 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dax Hotel is in a great location. There is a lovely walk along the river which runs through the town. The rooms are small but there is a deck and a nice sized bathroom. We missed not having a fridge and were upset that there were no tea making facilities. The beds were comfy. On arrival we waited for a considerable amount of time to book in which was annoying as we were tired. It's close to the town centre and great restaurants. The hotel is beautifully set out with a fabulous deck with an adjacent bar however the barman was nowhere to be found. We rang the bell but he failed to show. I ended up going to the front desk to enquire if the bar was in fact open. We didn't eat at the restaurant however the dining room was nicely set up and a range of self service food items available. The menu looked OK. We wanted a room for three people however we ended up paying for two double rooms which worked out to be quite expensive. The display at the entrance indicated single rooms were available. We were not advised about this when we made our booking. Dax is a lovely town and is very close to the Atlantic coast. Well worth a 2 day visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor....needs a spruce up. Most of the clientele were quite old to take advantage of the baths. Room was small. There was not much room around the bed.

    Parking was good. Happy it had a lift. Breakfast was adequate. Wifi was ok.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Slipped on the floor of the bathroom getting out of the shower. Badly bruised and cut due to falling on the raised shower tray. Need to rethink the bathroom flooring.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast very helpful staff excellent location .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty brown water coming from the bath

    Clean hotel, very good value

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More parking places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit tight unless you arrive really early.

    Rooms have private balconies. There's no furniture on them but it's an unusual bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast-food poor & badly presented. Bar should have a bar person in attendance at "popular" times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will comment on our return stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing amis

    Reasonable prices charged: excellent quality breakfast, easy access to the town. Would have given it full marks for location; rather shrouded amongst huge Plane trees, but not much of a problem. My room, 317, had pleasant views towards the town and across the river.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pleasant location overlooking river and park in an elegant spa town; basic but comfortable room (with balcony) and friendly staff. Slightly tired décor; wifi was free, but a special login was required for each individual user, which was rather more fiddly than I'm used to these days. We were only using the hotel for an overnight during a long journey, and did not test the restaurant or other facilities.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    toilet filthy, towels very thin, bathroom tired. Bedroom needs a plug by a mirror. We had pre booked but check in took far too long.

    good location for town centre and parking was great

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beware of the breakfast staff. Asked four times for our room number by four different people despite handing in the official breakfast token! Moved bodily as sat in the wrong place! Poor and meagre choice of food.

    Not a lot

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff, really helpful. Evening meal was tasty and the wine lovely

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Struggled with French/Eng A bit dated / drab

    Great location Large rooms and balcony Safe bicycle storage Cheaper than other hotels nearby

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the view from the room

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    Easy walk to town centre

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: