Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel De Bale 2 stars

19 Passage Central, 68100 Mulhouse, France

#24 of 30 hotels in Mulhouse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 391 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is quite a basic hotel. There is on-street parking. Not for a long-term stay. Fine for a stopover.

    Handy to find. Just as a stopover on way to Italy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was probably the poorest part of the stay. Not much choice left if any. Stale bread. Small amount of tea/coffee.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, helped with luggage and advice about the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is tired but you get what you pay for. The staff ate cheerful and helpful.

    The Desk Manager went out of his way to assist me in dealing with an unexpected opportunity to see an old friend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The evening receptionist was very unhelpful and told me I could use the toilet and shower in the hallway. The toilet sprayed water in several directions, it was apparently still clogged from the previous guest

    The morning Manager and staff were very nice and tried to fix the Problems quickly. They also agreed that I could check out the next morning and not finish the stay. The Manager also told me about the Mulhouse City-Pass, which I purchased.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel accommodated our tandem bicycle. Our room had large windows with a view to the city and a large bathroom. The breakfast was very nice in a large attractive room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    furniture and room looked really old, bathroom was REALLY inconvenient - only bathub, no retainer for the shower head, no shower curtain (every time anybody showerd the entire bath was set under water), there was no proper light in the bathroom (automatic light, always went out on its own).

    Close to the train station, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location--close to the train station and tram stops, right in the city center, near the old town (note: Mulhouse city offers free Wifi in public areas around the old town). Nice attitude of staff, especially gentle and kind hotel owners.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Single Room with shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEDBUGS!!! I woke up at 5am in the morning to realize that bedbugs were crawling all around me on the bed. This place was totally infested by them. I have bites all over my body. Now I live in fear that they got into my bags, will never come back. Compared to that, it is just a small detail that also the wifi wasn't working.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was advertised as "superior" , and the imagery on the website supported this. However in practice the room fell well short of expectations; it was small and the decor was very tired, some of the fittings looked incomplete. On the other hand the ensuite bathroom had a better standard of decoration. Perhaps this was a matter of semantics, but if you advertise something as superior, and then I feel that engenders an expectation of better than average quality irrespective of the price paid.

    Central location, the staff were OK, and there was storage for our bikes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent value for money, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not modern but was clean and quite.

    I did not have breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not modern but was clean and quite.

    I did not have breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room sooo small. Parking a nightmare!

    Good, big bed in old-style hotel. Good location for city walking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy with windows open on a warm night.

    Good breakfast. Close to station and tram stops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny bathroom, tiny room.

    The staff were nice and allowed me to store my bike and belongings at the hotel for a few hours after checking out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic, but clean and quiet (perfect for a Saturday night). Personal and the breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior, to say it courteously - far away from fresh.

    Very good laction.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby place.

    The croissants at breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaness

    The night receptionist was very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used by lots of prostitutes. Noisy. Cleanliness poor.

    Cheap. Helpful staff. Location good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesn't work

    Staff are very nice and the bed is very confortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for a 2-star hotel: clean, quiet, friendly and delicous breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection not always reliable

    Location;good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay 5 euro for a cup of tea that was cold

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Single Room with shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - cleanliness

    Breakfast is € 9 but it's not worth honestly. It's a slewping place value for money nothing more

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great central location, the parking was really handy although you have to pay during the day. Quiet room in spite of it being so central

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely helpful staff, very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic hotel, clean, good location, friendly staff, good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast served by the owner. Very nice person who makes you feel more than welcome!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, very central location in old city, nice breakfast room and a good breKfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small room. No lift

    Excellent location in the centre of Mulhouse but still very quiet. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no parking for me, in spite of what was written in the reservation. The environment around the hotel is not the best. They upgraded me to an upper level room: since the room was only fair, I cannot imagine what was the originally reserved room.

    The location, very close to city centre. The lounge, with old furniture, close to breakfast room. Breakfast was continental, typically French, but without espresso coffee.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom lights was on a timer and lights kept going off at inappropriate moments. room was a little seedy.

    very close to railway station and city centre. staff were very pleasant and helpful. room was spacious.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Depressing establishment with (1960s? 1970s?) decor once beyond the entrance. Room very small, created by dividing a bigger one in two (or three?) and jerryrigging an equally tiny bathroom. Paper-thin walls. Mattress uncomfortable, wifi was initially good, but switched off unexpectedly. Stay here if there are really no other choices.

    Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    En suite room not available as booked. Room 19 just has a shower and sink no toilet. Carpet and furniture was tatty. The shower was tiny and shower doors didn't shut. I was given a discount but I have now cancelled a future stay. Breakfast is also very poor although mine was free due to the poor quality of my room.

    Lady at front desk tried to be helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Nothing that I can fault the hotel with, it was quite hot with no air conditioning but that is normal.

    The person at the desk was very friendly and helpful, giving directions for places to walk the dogs and dinner. The following morning when I was checking out earlier than breakfast was served, the staff set me up with coffee and take away breakfast so I could continue my journey.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very tired, chipped furniture, torn upholstery. Smelt stuffy and not aired. Bathroom was a cupboard and the shower cubical so small I didn't bother.

    Staff were lovely, friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The male staff member standing behind the hotel outside who shooshed my 55 year old mother (who was only chatting with my father). €8 for breakfast that did not include any meat or eggs or cheese without requesting it.

    The place is clean, though not modern or updated at all. Overall the staff is nice. At breakfast (which is bread, jam, butter, coffee, and orange juice) I asked the staff if they had any cheese or sliced meat. They did have some cheese that they gave us.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We cannot fault the friendliness and help we received during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble in fact the owner went really out of his way to help us deal with an emergency which occurred during our stay. What could have been a disaster became a heart warming experience of the good ness of this person and his staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower very small, door hard to work; room faced the street, whoch was noisy until about 11:00 p.m (traffic). Room was a bit small, but o.k.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, convenience, felt very safe and comfortable. Nearby restaurants, and a 10 minute walk to most of the central old town

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had a bit of stress to get my bike out early in the morning, there was no one around to open doors, but probably was just a coincidence. I mean, you too go to the toilet sometimes.

    The room was ok, not perfect, but the price was set accordingly, so there is nothing to complain

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the walls are very thin, we could hear everything our neighbors were doing, All night long! The beds were not comfortable.

    the staff was very helpful! The rooms were clean and a good size!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor soundproofing everywhere, heard the reception from downstairs despite high ceilings, as well as the neighbours all around. Someone's opening and closing their door in the night sounded like a thunderstorm. Using the toilet and shower in the room was very awkward regarding this issue.

    Central excellent location, easy to find and easy to reach, 5 min walk from the Railway station and 3 min from the place of Reunion. Great welcome by a very pleasant staff, nicely decorated breakfast-room, good spread of butter, jams, nutella, croissant, bread, buns for a breakfast. Wi-fi worked fine throughout my stay. The bed was soft and comfy.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice staff that make you feel very welcome. Nice clean room. Very comfortable bed. Well worth the price. Fantastic location.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the pillows were too flat.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy, old, unfriendly,

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Non soundproof walls. During my stay everything was quiet but I could here each move in my neighbours rooms.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit cramped and no lift

    personnel were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very helpful staff, central location, quiet and comfortable accommodation

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no lift in the hotel

    Locatıon

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No international tv channels, room cold,

    Staff very friendly and attentive, central location

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet - very comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    excellent hotel et personnel tres agreable

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Thé staffs are very polite and helpful. Thé hôtel is very near to thé Gare station and the city proper. I love it

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, accommodating and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was late August when we went and it was so humid. Air-conditioning would help so much.

    Really comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet not good.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only 1 power outlet in room

    Location and price

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the politeness of their staff is superbe and rare these days.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The building is a bit old~

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    old hotel with ambigous guests

    excellent position close to the city center

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Group

    We found alive bed bug under the pillow :-((

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much to dislike.

    Good position. Great value for money. Friendly and helpful owners

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No soap tray in shower.

    Convenient location close to public transport and town centre. Helpful staff recommended an excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very helpful giving maps and descriptions for using trams etc. Good recommendations for nearby restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Smell in the room, no internet upstairs

    Centre

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No parking facilities.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    weak wifi

    reasonable price clean kind reception located near station

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the best hotel in Mulhouse!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: