Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Citotel Hôtel de France et d'Europe 3 stars

9 Avenue De La Gare, 29900 Concarneau, France

#5 of 12 hotels in Concarneau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 283 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at this hotel were excellent. Couldn’t be more helpful. The facility’s were spot on and the the breakfast set me up nicely for what ended up being an 8 hour drive to Giverny.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny, tiny shower, but quite functional. Virtually no amenities kits in the room aside from tissues--not entirely unexpected in a modestly-priced hotel such as this.

    A simple hotel with every expected amenity and reasonable level of comfort. It's in a great location to explore the historic medieval walled town, just a few minutes' walk. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and cheerful. The room was very small but had everything necessary for a comfortable overnight stay. Good WiFi in the room. Breakfast was extra but was quite good. Note that the hotel's parking is across the street, not within the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As on our previous visit we found our room somewhat small but that is what we paid for. The room is a masterclass in achieving all facilities in such small a space but the number of times I caught my side on the radiator as I passed resulted in bruising.

    We have visited this hotel before and we still like the breakfast and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure about drinking the tap water from bathroom tap and kitchen was closed after breakfast

    Spotless. Wonderful friendly staff-family run. Breakfast super-comparable to a luxury hotel. Convenient to everything and easy to find from anywhere in the town due to hanging garden. Ideal for dropping teenager to Glenans sailing course-Mme the proprietor was like an grandmother to him - helping to get him to the quay on time and sourcing stuff he'd left at home. Very safe atmosphere for lone traveller.. modern lift. Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no electric kettle (water cooker) in the room. We had this in all hotels on this trip. The road is quite noisy and the people from Concarneau seem to love to have a loud motorbike ride in the morning.

    The room is clean and has a nice and modern style.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at the front of the hotel suffered from traffic noise etc. so my advice would be to request a room facing away from the road. This did not detract from our stay.

    Perfect location for exploring the town on foot. The breakfast was continental with plenty of variety. Having secured parking opposite was a bonus. There was a footpath very close to the hotel which is well worth exploring.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine and as we expected.

    A comfortable hotel in a good location for the town centre and restaurants. Appreciated the private parking as that would have been difficult in the town centre. Suited our purpose for a short break as we needed a twin bedded room and they had one available.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom quite small.

    Good location, close to harbour. Secure Car parking across the street. Nice lounge sun room at back of hotel. Lift to all floors.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is on the main road so take earplugs if you're a light sleeper - or book room at the back.

    It was very clean, comfortable beds, good shower, lovely towels. Good bread at breakfast, amazes us that any hotel would serve poor bread in France but this was the best of our stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Male receptionist was a little 'rustre'! Bath was rather inaccessible, impossible to 'run' without actually getting in it! Breakfast was unexciting so we didn't have any

    Very pleasant female receptionist/manager and very comfortable bedroom, really good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location, very clean room, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on small size

    Friendly staff, very clean, close to port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was very helpful, giving us places to visit and the loan of a nice book about concarneau while my wife had her hair cur!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell in the room, unfortunately near the bed head. Noisy Saturday night folk outside.

    Good value off season, parking nearby, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    traffic noise when window open

    Very helpful staff and lovely comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed & a good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were very comfy. Good selection of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out at 11:00

    Friendly staff, nice location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller door keys

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (1 Double Bed + 1 Single Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just 200 m from the port. Very clean, with comfy bed and good quality linens. Recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee in room but in fairness that's not the norm in france.

    Lovely welcome and nicely situated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Proprietors and all staff were charming and very helpful Service at breakfast was a delightful start to the day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast,good variety of choice.Prune cake delicious !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly. Our dog was made very welcome

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Brilliant location and couple of hundred yards from the centre. Excellent secure parking for our motorcycle. Nice staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for the car park. Should be included in the price.

    Very frendly reception lady. Great secure car park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Air conditioned room was a necessary bonus

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great buffet breakfast and super friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather small for a six day visit

    Good breakfast, and secure parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The variety of food for the breakfast The excellent location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was very good with a great breakfast to start the day. We arrived on motorcycles, very wet and the owner dried our clothes in the boiler room :-)

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not happy about dogs being able to stay in rooms, not even small ones.

    Lovely small hotel close to the centre of town. Our room was tastefully decorated and had the advantage of tea/coffee making facilities. Although no hot food at breakfast the quantity and quality of the food was very good. Although hotel does have private parking it is not visible from hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, efficient, well-run, clean, excellent location, great breakfast, super staff. Overall I would hioghly recommend this hotel. It is within minutes of lots of restaurants and bars as well as the "old town".

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Secure parking. Helpful and cheerful staff and generous breakfasts. Best wifi experienced after travelling the last 21 days in UK & France.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived here soaking wet on a cycling holiday and were made to feel very welcome. I appreciated the effort that was made to supply a gluten free breakfast. This is a well run, spotlessly clean hotel with secure parking for bicycles and cars and ideal for a break in Concarneau.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit on small side.

    Excellent location Secure paid parking near hotel Friendly staff Good air conditioning

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that I can think of

    Convenient for walking into the old town

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warm welcome and assistance offered by Jerome.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Chose a room not at front of hotel due to road noise

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast excellent and staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No outstanding view from room but no problem to sleep and visit town.

    Easy to access city.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: