Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de France

1 Rue de Genève, 01210 Ferney-Voltaire, France

#3 of 11 hotels in Ferney-Voltaire

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Atmosphere because of the age of the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to choose between noise, street and airport and fresh air, there are quite a few steep steps but this is to be expected because of the age of the building.

    Atmosphere because of the age of the building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Fine for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift. However we were able to change the room from third to first floor. The parking was for 5 small cars but as soon as 2 normal cars were in it was very difficult to park another.

    Hot drinks facility. Good shower! The restaurant was very nice but too expensive for people who don’t want to pay more than 100 euros for a night in a hotel. The quality of the restaurant was much higher than that of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.5
    Reception area is very nice when open, but closed when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception area is very nice when open, but closed when we arrived mid-day , no staff on hand, had to carry two heavy suitcases to the third floor. Shower and view from room nice. Charming from outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    Wished I hadn't booked
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude and arrogant receptionist. Room was uncomfortable, basic, with very poor bathroom with shower that couldn't be used as shower head attachment broken - (Room 12).

    in the centre of town - bars and restaurants nearby. Free wifi. Restaurant looked clean but didn't use

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Challenging check-in and check-out hours. For the check-out, it was not set at 11am or noon as other hotels. The person informed me I had to check-out at 9:30am as he was leaving at 10am, and had to give my key! Not convinient at all.

    Great location in the village and fabulous restaurant downstairs! Room was fine for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    This is a bit old Hotel that becomes expensive for the current available quality services
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The starting hour for breakfast is too late (7:30h during working days) If you need to go upstairs for your room, with your baggage, that's terrible without elevator (and I'm still on shape)

    The location in the city is OK The quality of breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice simple clean hotel in a small friendly village, efficient staff, no nonsense!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was closed (except the breakfast) during the weekend so therefore the lobby as well as the terrace was also closed, so when you come back in the hotel, there is no one there, you come in with a code and go straight to your room.

    Nice friendly hotel, cosy rooms and nice village with a huge market on Saturday. Simple and clean! One man staff but very efficient. And a very friendly cleaning lady.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    Avoid staying there.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like anything.

    Terrible Hotel. Uncomfortable as hell. The owner/managers are rude and not friendly abt all. Try not to stay at this hotel. It’s terrible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This historic friendly family-run hotel boasts an excellent gourmet restaurant with a small number of rooms in which comfortable beds and modernised en suite facilities are complemented by traditional antique French furniture. Although in France, the hotel is close to the Swiss border and is only 15 minutes by bus to the main international organisations in Geneva (e.g. UN, ILO, WHO) and 25 to the centre of the city. Recommended for those who appreciate character and value for money, as it is much less expensive than the average hotel in Geneva.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    I was really pleasure to stay in your hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    --

    I was really pleasure to stay in your hotel! Good location in old city nearby Geneve, a lot of shops, facilities, restaurants. It's a pitty that I didn't visit your Michelin marked restaгrant, I hope I will do it at my next staying .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant historic hotel just outside Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not worth paying an extra €11 per person for - there are alternatives close by. It would have been nice to have extra shelf space in the bathroom. On first impression, the period furniture and fittings seem a little shabby, but they are in keeping with the historic nature of the hotel, and are clean and comfortable.

    Dinner at L’Amuse-Bouches, the hotel’s restaurant, was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable. Cecile and Bertrand and their staff were uniformly friendly and very helpful. This is a great alternative to staying in Geneva - it’s close by, good public transport links, and the hotel’s free parking is useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel with quality furnishings at the very center of the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, and comprised mostly of just rooms, which was fine for me, but could be a problem for others.

    Charming hotel with quality furnishings at the very center of the village. Clean and comfortable and a short cab ride to Geneva airport. Breakfast not included but very reasonably priced and top quality food in a spotless dining room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive for what it is. No noise insulation and loud, creaky floors. Overpriced restaurant. And don't order a taxi via the hotel, they rip you off (€25 for a 5m journey to the airport)

    Conveniently located in central Ferney-Voltaire

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    Unremarkable property with disagreeable greasy smell, obnoxious and arrogant owner when checking out
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners think it’s ok to charge an outrageous 11.5% “fine” for people who pay in Swiss Francs instead of Euros even though they’re located less than 1km from the Swiss border - they should be in the hospitality business, not scalping exchange rate shady trade. Bill paid in Euros was equivalent to CHF88 (what I did), but someone who doesn’t pay attention to their “special exchange rate” and settles in Francs will be charged an additional CHF10 with the bill soaring to CHF98. Not technically dishonest as they mention it in the “fine print”, but not too far from unethical and amoral as it costs nowhere even close to 11.5% for them to convert that money into Euros. Owner was also outstandingly arrogant and patronising, dismissively saying that “I didn’t understand how it worked”, etc - too bad that I was the CEO of one of the earliest Crypto Finance companies and know a thing or two about exchange rates (stay in hotels up to 200 days a year too). Appalling behaviour in so many ways.

    Central location not far from Geneva airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.8
    Staff was friendly, easy to check in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel smelled like old stinky cheese, carpet needs deep cleaning or replacing. There is no elevator in the hotel.

    Staff was friendly, easy to check in and out. breakfast was alright, location close enough to Genève and CERN, which was convenient for us

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Normally fans of older properties, we didn't find this one particularly charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was quite difficult to find, as one side only displays the name of the restaurant. The room and bed were small and the road outside fairly noisy, so it was difficult to open a window without being bothered by the traffic. The price of the room and the restaurant probably reflect the closeness to Switzerland and were poor value compared to other areas of France.

    Perfectly situated for Geneva Airport the hotel has a good restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Short business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really a Michelin star restaurant. Rooms a bit dated but with traditional charm. Depends what you like. Breakfast starting at 7:30 hrs is too late for people on business trips.

    service was good. restaurant was nicely presented. The hotel has ambience and charm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    The restaurant is worth travelling for.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on 3rd floor (there was no lift). It was a bit of a challenge to park the car at the allocated parking site on the rear of the hotel - as our car is an estate model there were practically no room to manouvre.

    The restaurant is worth travelling for. The staff were very welcoming and helped us make our stay a pleasure. The location in the city centre of the small village is simply lovely. The lobby area, though small, is also highly welcoming with plenty of light.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    Dark musty room, noisy street, steep stairs to rooms and breakfast cost extra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive food and staff was not that nice. For breakfast no one came out to offer me anything. I understand buffets but a man came down after me and was offered fresh coffee. I drank what was made early that morning. The front door key pad lock didn't work and I got locked out for an hour until someone else left esrly.

    Convenient to airport. Food was good. Servers were nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Near Airport, Cheap and Friendly ~ Good For Us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Town was somewhat cute but not touristy at all. I thought there would be some sort of garden area where we could watch the Frenchmen go by.

    I was impressed by the town until we hit the main street with traffic.. Pizza was available from a vending machine. Price was very good. Entry was easy despite no staff on duty on a Sunday. Street parking directly in front of hotel. We kept the windows open while sleeping at night, once more with the perfect weather. Maybe a mile from the Geneva airport which would have been perfect for the next night. Beat my expectations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location - make sure you get the code for the door if arriving after 9pm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 11pm from Geneva as our flight was late arriving. No staff at hotel, and the door locked, as we had not been given the 4 digit code to get in. There was a notice on the door about the restaurant being closed and a phone number which was only for the restaurant and was a recorded message saying they were closed till Tuesday (this was Friday night!). In the end we just hung around until another guest came back to the hotel and let us in, where we found an envelope with a key in it and a note. I couldn't find anything on our actual booking details about a code to get into the hotel after 9pm, so it would be good if this was added automatically.

    Overall a nice hotel with a good location and private parking for about 4 cars. Never saw any staff so can't comment on them. We only stayed one night after a late flight from London. The restaurant was closed because of Bastille Day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.0
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm 74 and had to carry a very heavy suitcase up two flights of circular stairs, manager was unfriendly and almost rude, the shower was extremely small and the shower head was awful. The hair dryer didn't work and when we told the manager about it he really didn't care and didn't give us one that worked.

    Convenient to the airport and the view was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.8
    Hotel ok. Restaurant ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On checking out we found a note at the reception stating that there was a surcharge of 15 Euros if we would pay with a credit card!!! We think this was just too much, especially as we were not told of this surcharge on checking in. Room was 2 flights of stairs up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shame there is no lift but given the age of the hotel is not surprising.

    The staff were excellent throughout our stay. Very helpful in every respect and the dinner menu and the food were excellent with a very good wine cellar. We have stayed at the Hotel de France before and always enjoyed the experience - it is a real French Hotel and although slightly "quirky" it is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice convenient hotel when in Geneva
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have paid closer attention to booking confirmation that alerts to fact hotel is unmanned Monday between 10:00 and 17:30, but was not too inconvenient to leave and come back later.

    Well located, friendly staff, good restaurant with plenty of choices nearby. Will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great start to our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving early evening, flight into Geneva, location of hotel was perfect. Welcome was lovely. Had booked a table in the restaurant, the setting was perfect. The meal was beautiful, the T-bone steak, the best ever tasted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Precious Hotel w/Michelin Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was precious. The room was large, very clean and the beds were comfortable. The restaurant chef/owner is a Michelin Star chef. The food was fantastic to say the least. I would definitely recommend the hotel and the restaurant. They are located only 15 mins by bus from the Geneva airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    3.8
    Don't stay in this hotel if you want to sleep well
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very uncomfortable odor in the room and it is a very noisy hotel. I could not sleep because of the cars noises. The furnitures are old and not very clean.

    The restaurant room was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    OK stay for early GVA departure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, with steep, curved stairs. Reception lady could have been friendlier. Our room had a separate water closet for the toilet which was across the room from the sink and shower room. Restaurant was a bit pricey.

    The location was close to the Ferney-Voltaire, France, side of the Geneva airport. The free parking only accommodated 5 small cars but worked well for us. Liked the old building with colorful decoration. Our room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Precious hotel near Geneva Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and hotel was in a great location and was very clean. The chef/owners has a Michelin Star restaurant at the hotel. I highly recommend eating here: it was fabulous!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    Close to Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room at the 4 floor, to get there you have to climb pretty narrow steps (no elevator). With a big suitcase it was quite a nuisance. Also, the room smelled old (even after I opened all the windows).

    The bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable. The location was good- we visited Geneva, which was just a 15 min ride away by bus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean, confortable place with possibility to open...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was code for the entrance. you should specify opening hours for the holidays. After 2 hours at the street on the rain finally we managed to get the code via booking. Not really pleasant feeling

    Nice and clean, confortable place with possibility to open windows, good wi-fi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Great value and wonderful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Cecile was extremely helpful and kind. She helped us arrange a very early taxi for the following morning. Their restaurant, where we ate our evening meal was delicious! We left too early for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    It is much more nice and interesting option then all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was irregular and pillowcase (believe it or not) from inside had a plastic surface, so I didn't feel comfy while sleeping.

    It is much more nice and interesting option then all the faceless hotels around airport to spend a night. Very good breakfast (10 euros).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    3.8
    No hotel parking as advertised, hotel restaurant not open Sundays, poor value breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not believe their website or information - there is no hotel parking!! There is parking on the street but if this is occupied which is pretty likely in Geneva, then you have no hotel parking. Restaurant no use to guests as it's not even open on Sundays! Also, terrible value for money breakfast. I would recommend avoiding this if you don't want to waste 10 euros for some mini croissants and no real choice of cheese or meats... very poor

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely location for the village which was quite buzzy even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location for the village which was quite buzzy even though it was February. Had excellent pizza in the village and picked up fresh bread and coissants from the bakery opposite in the morning so did not have breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    8.8
    The hotel also has a restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel also has a restaurant. Stay away from it. We had dinner there which was overpriced and not worth the cost. Also the service at the restaurant was extremely slow.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient for the airport. A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choose a back room, the front ones are a bit noisy after six from traffic.

    Dinner in their restaurant was excellent. Book as it is justly popular. The shower pressure is good but the shower head wouldn't stay up.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.8
    Good location for the airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flimsy walls and floors meant you could hear other guests closing doors and walking about upstairs. Restaurant closed on a Saturday night and no breakfast facilities for those needing to leave by 9 am

    Good location for the airport

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    This is a very charming and pleasant place to stay in a...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There's no one there part of the day, at night, and part of the weekend so you're on your own and it would be better if you had someone with you at night especially if you're parking your car alone at the back. The staff person - not the owner - could not print out a boarding pass because she couldn't use the computer.

    This is a very charming and pleasant place to stay in a village outside Geneva. There's a bakery and a market on Saturday mornings. Breakfast is fine, too. It's a very good value. The owner is very helpful and brought someone in immediately to fix the radiator when it wasn't working.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived mid-evening just for an overnight stay before a morning flight from Geneva. We chose it for the location, only about 4kms drive to the airport, as snow was forecast for that morning. The staff helped us to park our car and were friendly enough. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment. It suited our needs perfectly, and we would certainly consider it again for flying out of Geneva.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel, I'll go back there if I have the opportunity to go back there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. It was nice overall. Just as a note... take your blue disc in your car as you'll need one for the street parking outside ...

    Nice staff, bedroom clean and comfortable. I have arrived quite late so they provided me with the code (thanks to the phone set up with Booking.com!). In the morning I woke up a bit late so they waiting for me to take my breakfast. I appreciated that.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.6
    Delightful place to stay with a classical attention to detail, charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    This is a truly peaceful and delightful place to stay with a classical attention to detail. The staff were extremely polite, attentive and responsive to every request. Our room was clean and well appointed with the most comfortable bed and charming views over Ferney Voltaire. Situated on the third floor, the stairs were quite manageable in turn for the delight of the old house.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.9
    A very French experience.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant prix fixe Michelin starred and Bottin Gourmand menu was very disappointing - expensive, no choice for vegetarians, overpriced wine list.

    Breakfast excellent and very good value. Staff friendly and helpful. Central location, good bus service to Geneva.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.1
    Good value, not a 24/7 hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Consider that this is not a 24/7 hotel, e.g. you can't work/read/talk in a hotel lobby after breakfast time ...

    It's a nice old building, also nice old furniture in the room, bathroom was new standard

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    3.8
    Needs a refurbishment and improved customer orientation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wake up at 4:30 to make a flight the next morning, and given we were arriving from the Alps at 7pm, we didn't want to venture out for dinner. This is why we booked a hotel with a restaurant on site. Thinking that reservations would not be required, it turned out the restaurant was fully booked, so not an option for us. We asked if we could get something to eat while seated next to the bar area, and the answer was no. The bartender/waiter begrudgingly responded to our request to have a glass of milk for my 10 year old. The carpets in the hallway are filthy - must be 30 years old. My 10 year old started wheezing in the middle of the night (he has not had asthma for >3 years and only gets it in response to cats and very dusty environments). Fortunately I travel with his inhaler just in case and we were leaving at 4:30 am. The wheezing went away as soon as we left the hotel, so it was obviously an environmental response to the very dusty and old surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Hotel de France, Ferney-Voltaire
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere of the Hotel remove us in the 19th or early 20th century. You will find the part of History in the heart of the modern city. Bakery, restaurants, ATM are extremely close to the hotel. The bus Y will take you in the Geneva airport during 10-15 minutes. You could find bus F stop on the central square, 2 minutes by foot. CareFore shop on the next street from the hotel. Recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Impersonal but efficient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have loved to eat in the restaurant, but was out of my budget. A special rate for hotel guests would have been appreciable. Noisy if the windows were open as on a busy cross roads in town and too warm in the room to not have the window open. Ferney Voltaire. Having lived there in the past it's still a strange place. The town is a lot bigger than the facilities allow and it's very impersonal. Most of this is due to it being a border town and the people can be quite cold and snobby (again my personal view due to the time I spent here). I'd head up to the Pays de Gex and a bit further from the border if you're looking for a more traditional location.

    Very efficient check in - I didn't see any hotel staff until check out the next morning. Free parking, but had to go around the block a couple of times before I found it. Good wifi connection. The hotel was very impersonal (which I don't mind), the information book in the rooms, although very complete, stated that staff should only be contacted out of hours if the book didn't give the answer. For those wanting a more personal stay, this isn't the hotel for them. A great place to watch the world go by with a patisserie and coffee shop on the doorstep. Great location for Geneva airport - most expensive airport ever. Be prepared to remortgage your house for a coffee and a sandwich...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Cosy hotel near Geneva Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on Sunday.

    Very close to the Geneva Airport where we had to return a rental car on the French Side of the Airport. Only took 4 Minutes!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay in historic hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its an old old building: no lift and rooms a little smallish but fine.

    Outstanding restaurant attached. Delightful breakfast. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice facility and good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi internet connection not working at all. Very noisy in the early morning due to traffic.

    Nice facility and good restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Centrally located and very clean.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Interesting location. Reasonably priced. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Third floor room with no lift(elevator).

    Staff assistance in arranging for 5:00 AM taxi pickup.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Position is convenient to get to Geneva quickly, restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, floor was creaky

    Position is convenient to get to Geneva quickly, restaurant is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful owner, very sympathetic to our needs. Lovely room. Fantastic chef and restaurant. Amazing staff top to bittom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    A good choice at short notice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked at short notice, efficient staff, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor needn't be so dated as it is

    The area the hotel was in was ideal. The upgraded bathroom was also good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    had a really great time at the hotel will be going back
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the people so friendly room really really clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Just what I needed and perfectly presented.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just what I needed and perfectly presented.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not great, cold room

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Fit for purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed cover

    Staff mainly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.3
    Uncomfortable, arrived too late to switch to another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty old hotel, filthy carpet, small bed, would never stay there again

    Was close to GVA airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice welcome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My taxi didn't show up the next day.

    Nice welcome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Location, views.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate toilet without hand washing.

    Location, views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    It was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    More charm than comfort or welcome.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too hot on the top floor. No elevator made it hard to carry up suitcases after a 3 week trip.

    Charming room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not fresh / aired. Fridge not working.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Traditional family-run small French hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old world charm and excellent restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent, professional staff. Historic building in the center of the village.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.8
    good food but patio unavailable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking was extremely crushed

    main meal extremely good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.8
    Good eating nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not helpful - in fact, quite grumpy

    Good eating nearby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning traffic. Had to leave before breakfast.

    Convenient location, good price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    A nice property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have any issues.

    Distance to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Good and convenient hotel , close to airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chf 25 each way to and from airport by taxi!

    Convenience and good stff

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: