Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel De France - Restaurant L'insolite 3 stars

4, rue Jean Jaurès, 29100 Douarnenez, France

#12 of 26 hotels in Douarnenez

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 271 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room overlooking the courtyard was not available as requested, but alternatively we had a suite on street side. Staff we very helpful, and especially generous by setting up a small table for breakfast, even after we overslept and missed the 9:30 kitchen closure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 21 nights

    Excellent breakfast with fresh and home made products. The hotel is really well situated, and even if it has no private parking, there is a lot of free parking places around. The restaurant "L'Insolite" is one of the best quality and value of the city, and there is a good complement with its bistrot "Quai 29" located on the port.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't enormous but was very comfortable.

    Excellent breakfast with homemade jams and local specialty cakes with lashings of fresh crispy bread and extraordinarily rich hot chocolate. The hotel restaurant was shut when we arrived on the Sunday evening so the receptionist booked us into their sister restaurant on the quay and gave us very good directions to walk there (about 5 minutes). Very good, simple seafood in a busy harbour side restaurant, I particularly enjoyed the moules.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is at the Post Office up the side street, this works just fine with lots of room but watch out for Fair Day when they shut it down.

    Staff were exceptionally charming and helpful. If you meet Louisiane say hi for us she was a great help.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's 2016: a shower curtain?? Shower is very small.

    Good hotel in the center located at a busy road. The road is during the night quiet so no problems inside with noise. Good beds and spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't realise it was on a main road with heavy traffic from early morning until late in the evening during the week, but that was my fault for not researching it properly!

    Breakfasts were very good with plenty of fresh local products. The restaurant was superb (but we could only afford it once!)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had an old textile curtain which is not really up to date. We had a room to the street side. It was extremely noisy. Waking up at 5:30 am because of the first trucks. Also the whole city is not very nice. You should think about your decision to go there.

    Room was clean and the personal was very helpful. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow winding stairway not suitable to carry cases up! No lift! Extremely noisy at night on street outside. No air conditioning! No hand soap. Two vert small body shower washes. Dreadful😞👎

    Restaurant attached

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking could be an issue. Although property was very nice we regret to choose Douarnenez. It is not worthy to visit in comparison of other villages of Bretagne.

    The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The street was a run down, depressed area. The door to the room was uneven, had gaps around it and was rough around the edges. Furniture and fittings very poor. Had booked for 4 nights but was so bad we didn't stay one night and lost our deposit. Hugely overpriced. We found a much better 2 star hotel in a much better area for 94E.

    Nothing. Staff were pleasant but surprised when we said we wouldn't stay and that we were prepared to lose our deposit, 95E. They seemed to think this was satisfactory for a 2 star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good value. Restaurant was expensive. Local creperie nearby was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking on site but car park near by, or you can park on the church just below the Hotel

    Breakfast & evening meal were amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No temperature control in the rooms!

    Very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was outstanding! They helped us setting things with booking.com We strongly recommend this place if you are around

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Courtyard view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small

    Excellent Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no lift but helpful lady in office assisted with luggage so not problem.

    We liked everything. Wonderful hotel and very friendly staff. Parking, bus stop and tourist office nearby. Great to have tea and coffee making facilities

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately, it rained the day we visited the restaurant and thus spoiled our plans to go for a nice long walk along the coast after lunch.

    We only went to the Hotel restaurant, which was excellent. The oysters, in particular, were superb.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: