Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de France 3 stars

5 rue d'Austerlitz, 31000 Toulouse, France

#82 of 95 hotels in Toulouse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 427 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Location is very good, and staff is friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is definitely not worth money paid. Room smells not good, is quite old, bathroom is a tragedy, iar conditioning is very old and it smells like dust. Rooms are very small. Hotel definitely needs renovation, new windows, air conditioners, bathrooms.

    Location is very good, and staff is friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location for tourists who are willing to by-pass room comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was much smaller than anticipated and the bathroom did not look or feel particularly clean. I suspect there was mould in the shower and other parts of the bathroom. The shower didn't function well and both of us ended up spraying water all over the bathroom. We could easily hear someone moving furniture around above us both in the evening and in the morning. The bed was a small double and the mattress was uncomfortably soft. The television wasn't getting a signal. The breakfast was satisfactory but not nearly as varied as others we have experienced in hotels in France. The coffee wasn't particularly nice. The stairwells are rather poorly lit and we could see no sign of lighting switches. (Luckily there is a small, external lift accommodating up to two people.)

    friendly staff and central location to the museums and historic buildings we wanted to visit - also close to shopping and not terribly far from the main railway station - reception was happy to keep our bags for us after we'd checked out and wanted to explore more of the city. There are some nice decorative touches in the reception area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Very good, I will certanly book it again by the next occasion
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing with breakfast is that it has a lot of sweet stuff (which is very delicious) but not too much proteins :) Although the coffee is very good and there are also delicious yogurts.

    Everything was excellent, the room was clean, the internet connection very good, the location is perfect. The stuff always ready to help in any metter. I've chosen this hotel the second time and would choose it again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Well-located, historic hotel recently modernised
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows hard ish; room a bit small (but for VFM city-centre that's unsurprising)

    Great location, old-fashioned charm with modernity added. 1st floor had a free internet-access PC !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Central hotel with basic comfort
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room - Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was just opposite to the "marché" and was really super noisy from 4am onwards. No sound proofing. We had some issues with accounting but this seems to be due to the booking.com website wrongly translating instructions. The room was clean but a bit outdated especially the bathroom. The heating regulation was not existing and it got really super hot in the room in this cold winter night. For the price I would have expected more comfort.

    Very central location in the city center. All best restaurants just around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel is alright.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower. The bathtub has a hand-shower, but no curtains so very inconvenient to take a shower.

    Hotel is alright. Good location in nice old buillding. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -The parking Victor Hugo is situated very close to the hotel but is very expensive (about EUR 25 per 24 hours). This obviously has nothing to do with the hotel. The hotel sells a voucher for 15 hours of parking for EUR 11 if I am not mistaken -The WiFi is rather erratic, but it seems to be everywhere in France, so this is certainly not the hotel's fault.

    Excellent location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel and I will definately return in future.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to a large party of other guests wanting to have breakfast at the same time, there was nothing left. The coffee machine had run out of all supplies and the poor lady looking after it all was "run off her feet". I saved time and had breakfast on route. Other days, I did't bother because a "Continental Breakfast" is not enough to keep going until the afternoon. Needs another brighter light in the bathroom.

    Bed very comfy, room small but adequate, central location. Staff very curteous and very helpful, nothing was too much for them. Good Air Conditioning in the rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Bed was comfortable and power sockets easily accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice if there was tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Bed was comfortable and power sockets easily accessible. Staff at front desk were very helpful and very friendly manner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    4.6
    Didn't like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the hotel rooms they're too small. There's no iron and no kettle to make our own drinks which other hotels do have. There's no facilities to charge your phone. The staff is not really friendly apart from some of the staff. Not willing to help when you need.

    I liked the hotel just because it was situated in the town centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.2
    Lousy: we had booked for four nights but had to get out ASAP.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room, the size of the room and bathroom, the décor, the size and quality of the bed, the thin sterlingboard cover over the bedroom window acting as a heater from the sun, the uncleanliness, the poor soundproofing, ancient airco, and above all the relentless noise at all hours of the night preventing you from getting any sleep whatsoever....

    Not much. The shower was about the best thing there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Loved the location but a a little disappointed with the small room that we were allocated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was surprisingly small. They looked much bigger in the photos on the Hotel website. Bathroom fittings were rather basic. Bath towels were small

    Excellent location Air conditioned room Bathtub

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.4
    Good location but noisy and small room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very noisy, low floor so I could hear everything from the street level. The rubbish truck came at 530AM waking me up both morning. When it wasn't the trash collection, I was woken by cars and loud screams and shouts of drunk people. Overall I wouldn't stay again, if I keep the window closed the room gets stuffy and the aircon makes it too cold and I can't sleep with it running. If the window is open it gets too hot and noisy. The room itself was very dark, in fact with the light on it became even darker!

    The location was ideal for the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    4.2
    Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, despite the double glazing, so we turned on the air conditioner to try and block out the din from partying masses on the Square. The bathroom could have been cleaner. Spartan room and hard pillow.

    Friendly reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    A wonderful stay in Toulouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The hotel is situated in a quiet street just around the corner from the hubbub of the central shopping area. The morning covered food market is just along the street. A beautiful tree shrouded square​ with restaurants​ is at the end of the street. Ideal location to explore Toulouse on foot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.1
    A little tired but great location. Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was a bit shabby with a couple of vacant buildings. But, closer to the square there was a high end chocolate shop and patisserie.

    Great location! Victor Hugo Marche was right out the back door and it was easy walking distance to the train station and all the sights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    A good choice ithe centre
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe update lobby

    Excellent location. I stay here whenever I need to go to Toulouse. It checks all the boxes. Clean. comfortable and helpful friendly staff. the price is great for quality and location. Free Wifi too

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    4.6
    Deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not what I expected. I could not wait to get out of there. There was hair in the bathtub when I arrived, and the rooms were dingy and run down. It did not look anything like the pictures.

    The staff were very friendly and would help in whatever way they can and location is great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.2
    Perfect hotel in the centre of Toulouse
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could offer more choice, however, the price for it is low and maybe it is a sort of tradition, which I'm not familiar with.

    The hotel is located in a lovely place, close to the metro station, staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and cosy. The hotel completely corresponded to my expectations.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    8.3
    Plenty on your doorstep...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fairly basic, and the room could have benefited with some music to create a nicer atmosphere.

    Easy walk to bars, restaurants & shops. Comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.0
    Location but oh dear!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark,dingy and very small. Shower was awful. Feel we got a sub standard room as booked well in advance of Euro Championship at a fixed price.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle

    The location was perfect and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed as not what I seen on advert. Staff friendly but hotel really needs brought up to date
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms. Lack of facilities in the room. No shower curtain and shower not attached to wall

    Staff were friendly but that’s it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    4.2
    La situation geo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation geo

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location and staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Disappointed when I complained about the noise had no sleep on last night, not an offer of a coffee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and no kettle in room was a major disappointment loved the location of the hotel

    Location and staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    the room is too small,but the location and the staff are not
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room,poor wi-fi

    the room is too small,but the location and the staff are not bad

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Basic hotel for good value for money, central location, clean, helpful stuff, nice breakfast, WI-FI
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Central location, helpful stuff, nice breakfast, clean basic hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location but don't expect any wifi
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    You advertise parking but there is not any at the hotel. We had to pay Euros 26 to park in a local car park for 24 hours.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    The sex
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sex

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Helpful and very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful and very pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.2
    Only location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms with its accommodations

    Only location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location for the heart of Toulouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The air conditioning was so good I needed a blanket, and the sound insulation was fab, I slept like a log

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesnt include parking- the hotel sold us tickets that saved a total of 5€ on a 76€ parking fee for three days...

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    6.3
    Too little choice at the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too little choice at the breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    4.6
    The room was too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too small

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.7
    Good place to stay in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single or Double Room - Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    small room, cramped shower and toilet

    location, balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    5.4
    VERY BASIC FOR THE MONEY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single or Double Room - Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    VERY BASIC FOR THE MONEY

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    4.2
    Only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirty, minute bathroom, air con not working, walls paper thin, hairs in bed, staff attitude on arrival, no coffee facilities not even a glass for a drink, dark dirty corridors. Tired dirty seriously poor.

    Only the location

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    8.8
    Very well located.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The special price at the nearby public parking Victor Hugo only applies for a specific period of time at night. If you exceed that period, they charge you the standard daily price: 27 euros/day! In addition, the parking cashier was little helpful and only spoke French.

    Very well located. Peaceful hotel. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    Very convenient location and close to almost everything...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of basic ammenities in the room like water, iron, and coffee

    Very convenient location and close to almost everything including public transportation, restaurants, and entertainment.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.9
    The location was excellent and the staff were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower head was not attached to the wall therefore difficult to shower or wash hair

    The location was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    It was perfectly near everything, so walking was easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was perfectly near everything, so walking was easy. I asked the reception if tgey knew of anyone nearby who did remiedual massage and they organised everything in my room within an hour!

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.8
    Location is perfect, check in easy and room clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish I stayed there longer!

    Location is perfect, check in easy and room clean and spacious enough. Excellent value for money. Staff is accommodating and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    On arrival the receptionist mistakenly told us breakfast...
    • Couple

    On arrival the receptionist mistakenly told us breakfast finished an hour later than correct. It was his second language however and we spoke no french. When we arrived 20 minutes after it had finished. The different staff members were very accommodating and still got us food. Lots of it too. The location and decor are fairytale.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.3
    Location is fantastic close to Place Wilson and a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    Location is fantastic close to Place Wilson and a short walk from place du Capitole and all the main sights. Staff really pleasant and helpful. Rooms perfectly adequate if a little short of storage space in bathroom. Breakfast in hotel though not good value.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.8
    The location is fantastic just a stone's throw from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a lit of refurbishment work going on outside the building, but in all honesty it wasn't a problem as the work started late morning when we were leaving.

    The location is fantastic just a stone's throw from the beautiful squares and the magnificent Victor Hugo indoor market. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    7.5
    Perfect loaction
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very bad noise isolation

    Perfect loaction

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    Ideal for airport shuttle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal for airport shuttle!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no shower facilities are minimal staff seem annoyed when asked a question

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    7.5
    good location, shopping and good restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no tea/coffee facilities in room

    good location, shopping and good restaurants

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    9.6
    Stylish, comfort, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stylish, comfort, friendly staff...

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    7.5
    Hotel location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel location is good. In the city centre

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: