Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De France

50 Bd Clémenceau, 50170 Pontorson, France

#7 of 10 hotels in Pontorson

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 297 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception really is in the nearby hotel, so go there directly. Hotel is in Pontorson, which is still quite far from Le Mont Saint Michel, unless you have a car. Bus for Le Mont is leaving from the train station, however, check the timetable - if you want to see the Mont during night, there is no public transport to bring you back to the hotel (unless you have a car, of course).

    Close to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing, pontorson is not convenient to visit Mont-Saint-Michel. Better to stay near Mont-Saint-Michel.

    Actually this hotel was closed and they provided us other hotel, which was better than this one. Clean enough, near from pontorson station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean and comfortable. The management and staff pleasant and helpful .The choice of breakfast was good with different things to eat. Though I went out of season there are places where you can eat and drink around the town. Only 2 minutes walk from the railway station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very bad, it was pretty much unusable. There was a little bit of noise up to about 10 but it then calmed down and it was good. No problem at all.

    This was an inexpensive room and I was a bit worried until I got there. The room was top notch. Very clean and nice. Had a big bathroom with a smallish but perfectly functional shower. Water was hot. Great stay. Nice people. Was a bit hard to find but no big deal. Would recommend without hesitation. This is the place to stay if you want to visit Mont St Michel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all fine.

    We were upgraded by the Hotel to the Hotel Ariane - which had a great restaurant and very nice rooms. So, we never saw the Hotel de France, except at a distance. They seemed to be connected as businesses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire door on our corridor, which was on the top floor, did not close due to there being a lump under the carpet. Our bedroom door did not fit the doorway properly and was hard to open once shut. GPS directions took us to a different hotel which turned out to be the reception for the Hotel de France but there was no sign on the other hotel to say, this was rather confusing.

    Buffet breakfast was good. Good price, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the price I paid was a little to much, however I received value for every cent.

    Cute and humble hotel with super nice facilities and exceptional and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We actually had a reservation for Hotel de France but because it was closed, we were transferred to Hotel Ariane. So this will be a review for Hotel Ariane. The receptionist was really nice and spoke English very well. The hotel doesn't have their own parking space but we parked in front of a hotel, on street. The room was nice and clean, just like a bathroom. Only a bathtub was a little bit funny because it was really tight. But it was still good for showering. The hotel is on quiet location and wifi was working great. Breakfast was amazing, buffet with a lot of varieties of different foods - also local ones, like cheeses, ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is served in the sister hotel 100 m away.

    Good option to stay for visiting Mont Saint Michele. Easy to find. Free parking. Close to the center and restaurants in Pontorson. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No email explaining the change.

    We were upgraded to hotel ariane so comments apply to that hotel not de France. Both hotels convenient for exploring the town, we were charged the same rates for what was an upgrade.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception of the hotel is located in the "sister hotel", same for the parking lot. We didn't know that, so we had to walk the distance with our bags to our room. The window of our room faced a rather busy street and the nearby train station. Since there was no ventilation in the bathroom, we had to keep our window open after taking a shower - it was thus quite loud in the evening.

    The breakfast buffet was quite nice. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were to stay in rooms away from the hotel and when we arrived we were informed that the room may be too small for 3 adults and were given a room in the hotel which was bigger at no extra cost. We added breakfast and this was very good. Staff were very friendly and hotel was very good value for money. We will book this hotel if we are in the area again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Big room, comfortable bed, lift, friendly, helpful owners and staff, good position for the station, the shuttle-bus to Mont Saint Michel and cafes, shops and restaurants in Pontorson (which is a pleasant little town - far nicer than MSM). Price compares well with similar establishments.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confused at first, had to go across the street to check in and there apparently were no staff at the hotel during the night as we had to use a door code to enter the hotel.

    Across the street from the train station. The bus to Mont Saint Michel was located at in front of the station. Pleasant and kind staff to help with a few kinks when checking in to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Small room 2. Adjacent to road, so noise during night 3. Breakfast option was there, but its on the expensive size compared to the property.

    1. Near to Mont St.Michel 2. Restaurants around, so plenty of options

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room, nice bathroom, near train station. They also let me check in early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote location,

    Stay at he Arianne hotel instead

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    clear, near station and center of the town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    good location, nice room and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ate elsewhere. Local coffee shop allowed me to people watch

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It does not have good air circulation, the window is very small

    Nice room, beautiful bed, I rest very well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like pictures - it's not 5 minutes to le mont saint Michel as described in bio, it's over 35 minutes

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place to stay in Pontorson. Convenience and close to bus station to Le Saint Michale. Good service!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for what you get, rooms could do with a good makeover

    Near town centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow internet wifi connection

    Clean, functional and modern.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff and the Place did not match description in booking.com

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You can hear the trains, but they didn't wake me up (I'm a heavy sleeper). The room was a bit musty and dark, but it was good value and comfortable and clean enough.

    Close to the station and good value for money. Friendly check in staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception was like a cold shower: We encountered a delay during a long drive and the first thing the lady said when we arrived at 10.30 pm was "you are lucky I have not gone to bed yet". Room was in an unmarked, separate building across an active rail track. She left us at the bottom of the stairs saying the room is on 1st floor on the right. She did not add the lights were not working in the corridor. Issues with drains triggered smell; Long wait for hot water. Rooms need investment (e.g. beds)

    Close to where we needed to be. Mt St. Michel at 15 min drive.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The train station is opposite and the trains are loud, if you are a heavy sleeper you will be ok.

    Close to the station and very affordable for Pontorson.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mattress was in poor condition, one could not rest even on it. The shower' doors did not slide to close. One has to let the water run a long time before getting warm water. The water also got stuck in the shower. One has to empty it with a plastic glass before taking a shower.

    The location was good: not far away from the Mont Saint Michel.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good staff. Comfortable place

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi available. Staff told me that they would work on it.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It didn't have Wifi

    The personal was friendly and helpful. I was

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: