Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel & Spa Greuze 4 stars

12 Avenue Gambetta, 71700 Tournus, France

#3 of 14 hotels in Tournus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stopover point between Cote d'Azur and Calais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Used the hotel before as stopover point en route to Cote d'Azur but the bathrooms have been improved (now walk in shower etc.). The private car park is spacious and is tucked away privately from the road (if you're concerned about theft etc.) in the grounds of the hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Rear of the hotel has a little courtyard overlooking the Abbaye - breakfast in the morning sunshine here is a treat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a proper shower (handheld only). Also very small bathroom. Expensive breakfast.

    Location. Ease of access from motorway. Next to abbey. Onsite secure parking. Delightful staff & comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a very charming French town on the Saone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing with the hotel - Mondays in France are very quiet (in small towns particularly) not much open when we were in Tournus unfortunately.

    Staff were amazing - people on the front desk did everything. Hotel was very quiet however (not many guests) Breakfast was great but not used to the "sweet" cappuccinos you often get in France (from a machine) Simply asked for regular coffee - not a problem. Bread basket was delicious as was the French yogurt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Expected more for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired. Although clean and functional it is evident that bathrooms have not been updated for some time.

    Comfortable bed. Great linen. Friendly staff. Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Definitely the best hotel to stay in Tournus!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had stayed before in Tournus, as it is convenient for a journey to the south of France, in different hotels, but this is definitely the best place to stay. Lovely staff and location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    excellent location, pleasant stay, good massage and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    20 euro charged to two of us for privatizing a spa room. I think it should be by the room and the period of time spent rather than how many people would use it.

    Spa, massage, staff, parking, recommendation for a good restaurant, charming little village

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Make a point of stopping here - it is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good

    Our second stay in this lovely Hotel within a stones throw from the cathedral. Not too far off the motorway if continuing on as we were. Very welcoming. Courtyard for an afternoon drink and exceptional restaurant almost alongside. Breakfast is superb with excellent choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Great spot near ancient buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd setup in bathroom that will likely have you stubbing your toes several times going to the toilet.

    Location and old building with charm but quiet.comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything.

    The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful. The room and property were beautiful. We had breakfast on the terrace, it was absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to break the journey south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great position in the old part of the town which is very convenient for the autoroute. Hotel itself comfortable and well appointed. Outstanding restaurant of the same name - not to be missed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    6.7
    Nice but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities are very limited . A lovely fire but no armchairs to sit by it . Breakfast expensive and no restaurant

    The bed was very comfortable and the fire nice .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    10
    Receptionist came out to greet us with luggage trolley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast expensive. Menu confusing. I asked for French Toast, not toast made by French cook.

    Receptionist came out to greet us with luggage trolley. Parking space excellent. Love the mirrored bathroom with the thickest, softest towels. Separate toilet brilliant. Also able to program English language on the films and series. Walking distance to tourist attractions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Looking forward to a longer stay here next year
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really can't thing of anything to improve on.

    We had a perfect overnight stay. Great location, very comfortable, charming staff, excellent breakfast. We arrived after a 8 hour car journey and were delighted at our choice, so much so that we are planning next year's journey around a stopover here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Hotel de Greuze is an elegant gem in Tournus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet space was very cramped, being enclosed within an average-sized bathroom.

    The staff were wonderful, having the right balance between being friendly and professional. The terrace where breakfast was served was a delightful space with a view of the ancient abbey.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, efficient and very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Le Greuze has a well deserved reputation and it lives up,to,it every time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We only had breakfasts which were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Exceptional in every way

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    excellent location, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location, comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Only there one night very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ShowerOnly

    The room and the bed was comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Stayed here several times and always had a excellent time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all very pleasant.

    Quality room and very friendly staff and also it is right by the centre of this delightful small town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Quiet comfortable hotel with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet comfortable hotel with good service What else is there ?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Quiet, comfortable, clean, good continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet was a bit too warm (personal preference is for blankets), WLAN was weak in the room

    Quiet, comfortable, clean, good continental breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the money, AND they overcharged!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price, the facilities, unusual cramped toilet ,lighting. no restaurant. Overcharged.

    Not Much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    I love the service, the people at the desk are super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant find anything negative!

    I love the service, the people at the desk are super friendly and couldn't do more to help

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice but tried place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place, good good, but too tired and without aircon, which is very bad for summer days

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stylish hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent shower room and very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Very nice traditional hotel with welcoming, professional staff and very comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff go the extra mile to be helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having only one night

    Very friendly and helpfull staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    The place to be!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI could be faster

    Friendlyness, good place to be, it is our favorite place to go, when travelling through France.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Traditional, very well maintained hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traditional hotel with all the good features, very large bed, safe parking, directly in the vicinity of the abbey - the highlight of he region

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great bed, great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame the restaurant was closed

    The staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    Friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better wifi

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel with riverside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room. Very attentive, but not over attentive staff who spoke excellent English. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Lovely character hotel with delightful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely character hotel with delightful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.9
    Very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on site at. Night

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect gourmet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Good room with view of abbey. Excellent breakfast. Very stylish hotel.greuze restaurant is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top restaurants in Tournus all closed on a Monday evening....bad scheduling.

    Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    9.6
    Great Stopover!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stop over, half way through France. Nice area too. Car parked off road which is a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    Excellent position, both for charming and historic Tournus,...
    • Couple

    No niggles to report, though we only stayed overnight.

    Excellent position, both for charming and historic Tournus, and for the autoroute. Set well back from the road, with secure parking in the courtyard, and the abbey across the lane from the back of the hotel. Very quiet and peaceful. Close to Cluny in the very heart of Burgundy.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    7.5
    We really liked walking around the town of Tournus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I realize we had booked a room at the last minute on our mother-daughter adventure through France, but, considering the price, I would have expected a better accommodation than the upper floor former "servants' quarters." To be fair, they were well-appointed, but the sloping roof and tiny window were disappointing when I considered the lovely long windows on the floor below. Also, the lack of a true shower (bathtub only) is one of my pet peeves when traveling so my shower was not as satisfying as it might have been. Small disappointments to be sure, but that's what we took away from our night here.

    We really liked walking around the town of Tournus. Nice shopping street -- we found a fantastic pastry shop. The exterior of the hotel was fabulous, inviting a guest to imagine the long history the hotel has enjoyed, and while the interior ground floor was cozy, it was not very inviting since there was no one about but the man at the reception desk. It felt sadly empty. The windows in the one window in our room were thick enough to keep the road noise out so we slept well. Also, the room was clean and nicely furnished and parking was conveniently right in front of the hotel. The man at the reception came out in the rain to greet us and to carry in our luggage. That was a nice touch. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.8
    A little old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A chocolate on our pillow would have been nice....... if that is all to complain about then it has to be good

    A little old world charm. We stay here regularly as the location for Tournus is great, the staff are very friendly and courteous. Slightly old fashioned in an age of slick plastic decor so called chic. Tea out on the terrace (both front and rear) is to be enjoyed Dare I say a nice class of client all with cars having all body panels the same colour !

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.2
    The room was very comfortable with a sitting area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was a la carte only, it would have been nice to have the usual French style buffet.

    The room was very comfortable with a sitting area. The bar had an open fire which was welcoming. The location on the way to the Alps was superb just minutes from the Autoroute.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    9.2
    This is a very good place to stop for the night on the way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a very good place to stop for the night on the way up or down the A6. The town is close to the motorway, has a few sights and some good restaurants, and the hotel is quiet, well situated and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    Arrived by train , so could not be more convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived by train , so could not be more convenient. Our room was spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable. The staff were helpful, friendly & spoke excellent English. There was secure accommodation for our bikes.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    A wonderful, little hotel right in the middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    First person whom we met was clearly unhappy taking us to our rooms (also was not familiar with that aspect) but warmed up more during our stay. Rest of staff was fabulous!!

    A wonderful, little hotel right in the middle of town. Next to everything. Breakfast was excellent and brought to you with a smile. Next door to an outstanding restaurant so commute back is easy.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    Great and helpful welcome and really friendly and attentive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Great and helpful welcome and really friendly and attentive service at all times. Lovely ambience in hotel and in the town. It's a lovely old building but rooms are very modern and well equipped. What a gem of a place

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.8
    We always stay here for as comfortable and peaceful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is too full of itself. The staff are prissy. The breakfast is not the ordinary buffet usual nowadays but neither has it a written menu., This means that one gets a gabbled verbal description from a rushed member of staff so that one ends up with a measly breakfast for an extortionate sum.

    We always stay here for as comfortable and peaceful night's sleep

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    The location of the hotel immediately adjacent to the Abbey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location of the hotel immediately adjacent to the Abbey is superb. The town is a gentle stroll through the rear of the hotel with plenty of restaurants and coffee shops. The river is just around a five minute walk. The hotel staff are very friendly are do their best to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Second time of staying and not disappointed in the least. Will certainly return

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    5.4
    The welcoming made us feel like we were in for a treat -
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was not consistent - our room had 2 single beds pushed together - we were charged 4 euro for an expresso - I feel @ over 500 dollars Australian per night that was just silly. Lots of tables and chairs everywhere outside for entertaining yet never asked if we wanted a drink - a lift offered if you wanted to take the stairs you had to in darkness or attempt to find the light - we were never told about how to operate the tv - when we did - they didn't know -

    The welcoming made us feel like we were in for a treat -

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    The staff are brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are brilliant. Sitting in the courtyard with a cold drink and nibbles. We stage thru here at least once a year. The restaurant next door, not part of the hotel, is worth more than a visit. Superb Michelin starred cuisine. Charming helpful staff who speak excellent English.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited dining options available in the town when we were there (early April).

    Helpful staff. Good quality, recently renovated rooms, appealing building in a great location for those travelling through France. Very happy to accommodate our dog.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    10
    A well positioned hotel which radiates warmth and comfort on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only criticism is that breakfast does not include fresh fruit or yoghurt unless you pay a supplement.

    A well positioned hotel which radiates warmth and comfort on a cold winter's night. Helpful staff who recommended good places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    We were made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    NA.

    We were made to feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and well laid out. Breakfast was excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom without shower, only bathtub and a shower you have to hold in your hand! Rediculous for a 4 star expensive hotel Breakfast quite expensive for what you get. No buffet

    Location friendly staff clean

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast. I was able to have a bacon omelette and gluten free bread! Central location in the town and safe easy parking were good too.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    Maintained character but with modern comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maintained character but with modern comfort. Tastefully decorated

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable room and friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor lighting in bedroom

    Comfortable room and friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    comfortable, quiet and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    comfortable, quiet and pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    10
    Location with easy access to Abbeye & town through rear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location with easy access to Abbeye & town through rear entrance. Extremely helpful staff. Good off street parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    Great welcome and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great welcome and service.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Friendly, well-informed and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, well-informed and efficient staff. Airy, well-appointed and comfortable room. Hotel set well back from the road with secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Everything about this Hotel was wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike ..

    Everything about this Hotel was wonderful !! A little gem of an Hotel and Town..

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fabulous place

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    Very nice welcome from the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is small.

    Very nice welcome from the staff. A fantastic one star michelin restaurant next door. A beautiful abbey to visit next to it.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Wonderful comfortable bed in very quiet room in beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful comfortable bed in very quiet room in beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.6
    Attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attention to detail

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.2
    There are four Michelin starred restaurants in Tournus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are four Michelin starred restaurants in Tournus

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    7.9
    Very helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A rather noisy main road close to hotel.

    Very helpful, friendly staff. Very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, free parking, the bathroom also great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, free parking, the bathroom also great, spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, parking in the courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilette was definitely too small!

    Very friendly staff, parking in the courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    10
    see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    see above

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.1
    Excellent position just off the motorway traditional hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent position just off the motorway traditional hotel some aspects a little tired staff very good and helpful

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: