Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De L'Atelier 3 stars

5 Rue De La Foire, 30400 Villeneuve-lès-Avignon, France

#1 of 8 hotels in Villeneuve-lès-Avignon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 529 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic staff, charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stephane (the owner) and his team were extremely helpful and accommodating - making all the difference in our stay. From booking us restaurant reservations to allowing our 3 year old to steal from the breakfast room at all hours of the day, we felt very welcomed. Our triple room (Room 11) was large, with a very spacious bathroom, and extremely quiet as it was off the courtyard and not on the street. The games room and all-day tea and coffee helped ensure this was a relaxing stay enjoyed by the whole family.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Diamond in the Rough , with amazing atmosphere and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Diamond in the rough!!! The location is just across the river from Avignon and it is easy to park and get to the city center with many ways of transportation or by foot. The Hotel is an old silk factory but has been transformed into a cozy place with gardens and sitting rooms AMAZING! The owner who is very kind is hands on which makes for a wonderful situation because he cares so dearly about the property and making sure you enjoy. He and his staff give great recommendations and are very accommodating. We will be back for sure. Best, Eric Gregg

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful stay. I will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a distance from Avignon and the bus was every 20-25 minutes at night.

    Staff were very helpful recommending restaurants and places to visit. Villeneuve a beautiful location and very safe at night. A lovely hotel room and bathroom with a view of the outdoor terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation. Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so helpful from start to finish. We were two woman travelling with two small babies looking for a little last minute summer sunshine. I was so pleasantly surprised about how accommodating the hotel was to us. Helping is with our bags and prams. Offering us rooms close to the courtyard so that we could actually enjoy a glass of the delicious wine that they recommended. The property is amazingly located in a gorgeous little town just outside of Avignon. There were couples from all over staying there, families and single travellers and everyone that we spoke to had a similar great experience. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    A Place of Character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    This hotel is located in the heart of the city and gives you access to all parts of the city in minutes. The front staff is more than helpful and always willing to answer questions. The lower lobby has art and comfortable chairs. It is a nice place to hang out. The room is older with character and one of the charms of staying here. This hotel is will part of another trip in the future.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.5
    Beautiful little hotel with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vehicle access to the hotel is through narrow streets with many one way and frequent congestion. There is no parking next to the hotel, but the hotel does have good secure parking a short distance away- but still inconvenient. Walking over to Avignon is not ideal, the footpaths are very narrow or non-existent in places.

    Beautiful courtyard behind the hotel for breakfast or just to chill out in. The surrounding village is very pretty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Provencal charm, lovely staff and period room. Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's not to like?

    Lovely room with bags of charm and original features. Spotlessly clean with lovely towels soaps etc. The room overlooked the courtyard and was better than expected. The staff were very helpful and pointed us in the direction of great restaurants as well as letting us leave the car in their car park well after check out so that we could visit Avignon on foot. The location could not be better too and Villeneuve is a stunning little town overlooking Avignon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was very nice and rich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very nice and rich.. The room was very cute thgough a bit small but it was an old building which makes it understandable... I left my iPhone'un charger in the room and they phoned me up and then sent it to the next hotel ı was travelling.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location walking distance to Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms are very worn and in need of decoration. But then if it was all new I wouldn’t be able to afford it! The positives out weigh this.

    Location excellent, good value, pretty outside seating areas. V helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    In short, a very relaxing and extremely pleasant place to stay for a few days. I wou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely location within Villeneuve. Very tastefully and stylishly decorated throughout. Lovely indoor and outdoor spaces. Breakfast on the terrace was very enjoyable and excellent value for money. Complimentary tea, coffee, water and biscuits are available throughout the day - a very nice touch. There is also a bar service available. In short, a very relaxing and pleasant place to stay for a few days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    A Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found travelling by bus problematic - the number 5 was rather elusive! I suggest arriving in the day time when the Office du Tourisme will be able to help.

    The hotel is lovely. A period building wonderfully well converted. I loved the facilities in the bedroom such as the bedding, lighting and air conditioning. The hotel has a relaxed ambience with books and magazines, sofas, little snacks and a garden. I also enjoyed breakfast with fresh fruit conserves and a homemade cake. I would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Perfect hospitality in a perfect little oasis - strongly recommend a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing ... all just perfect

    This hotel is very special ... a little oasis ... a stones throw from Avignon. Everything about it is perfect. The lovely lounges, the beautiful garden, the terrace, the bedrooms, the breakfast and of course not forgetting the little treats left every day to nibble on

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    We loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a bath and hand held shower attachment but this is typical in older French homes and we have got used to it.

    A beautiful old stone house with a charming bedroom and bathroom overlooking the back courtyard. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts were superb and there was also a sitting room at ground level providing tea, coffee and pastries all day. There was a garden and a large outdoor deck and courtyard for relaxing in. We loved the place and really felt at home here. A lovely little town to explore too and don't miss a visit to Fort Andre. Check out the local church too. It's beautiful. Avignon is only a local bus ride away for additional sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The hotel is charming, the service is outstanding, staff are extremely professional. Nothing is too much trouble. We have already rebooked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    A gem of a boutique hotel in Villeneuve-les-Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stephan was a great host. The hotel is beautifully furnished, retaining its Provençal character. The courtyard garden is amazing. Lovely breakfast. Just a great place to stay in Provence. Last but not least, Ratatouille the cat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, very hospitable and kind owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful rooms full of character Very kind owners Very good value Wonderful touch of having biscuits and croissants and tea in offer Beautiful terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Super place to stay owned by nice people . well done Hotel De Atelier .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a pity that the town centre is not car free . cars all over the place .

    Excellent hotel in a very convienient location , short walk to restaurants . Owner and staff very friendly and welcoming , very stylish homely hotel . Great place to stay . Well done all .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Really love this place and have now stayed several times.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really love this place and have now stayed several times. Great location and Stephane is very accommodating and goes the extra mile to help make your stay a success.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Front desk manager was so friendly, helpful and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk manager was so friendly, helpful and informative. Lovely property! Enjoyed our stay very much! Very authentically provencial furnishings but modern conveniences.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely small comfortable hotel - very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable and very clean The owner was extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful Tea, coffee and home made cake on arrival a lovely touch Breakfast excellent value Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly and gave good recommendations on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tight and not easy to park a larger car.

    Staff was very friendly and gave good recommendations on restaurants and sights in the area. Charming little hotel with a relaxed atmosphere and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The location was excellent. Although it was 15min from city center by walk, it is highly recommended to stay there because it's very quiet with intersting local market, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very helpful. A great neighbourhood that makes you feel you are in a small town, although it's a very short bus ride into the centre of Avignon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    We stayed for five days to explore Provence and enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a bit small and a bit difficult to get into the bed on one side.

    The owner, Stephan, went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. A very pleasant hotel a few minutes by car from the center of Avignon. Many restaurants in walking distance from the hotel and Stephan helped with reservations. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful and charming hotel with incredible hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is fantastic. It's location is perfect to explore Villenueve-les-Avignon (right over the Rhone from Avignon) and Avignon. It is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous and very clean rooms. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was large and comfortable and very charming. Stefan, the owner (I think he's the owner), is an incredible host - he is so helpful and attentive, and made our stay even better. The other staff we encountered were also really great. The breakfast is fantastic, and worth the extra euros if you want to fill up for the day. We used the private parking, which is easy to figure out. Overall, I would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Memorable stay at a charming French boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tight but very charming. Bathroom was very nice but a shower hook was missing.

    The continental Breakfast had a big spread and we loved the cheese selection, fresh breads, croissants, and granola variety. The hospitality and service was exemplary and the area and hotel is very quaint.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    "French village hospitality"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I couldn't fault it.

    Everything - it is a charming, typically French, small hotel in the heart of the village. Very tasteful and very well appointed with a beautiful small courtyard/garden where guests may eat during warm weather. This is my second stay here and, again, I was pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of my room and bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable relaxing hotel. Owner and staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quiet location, staff friendly and helpful. Easy to find. Complimentary tea, coffee, water and snacks available all day. Good selection of reading material in various languages .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place. Nice hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all but you have to schlep your bags up several flights of stairs. Also, the bus is not that great of a way to get around. Ended up taking a taxi several times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    We will be back ; it was such a relaxing place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed atmosphere. Anything you wanted was made available. Breakfast was terrific - and whenever you wanted to have it ! Loved our stay and will be back! A great find!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    It was excellent in every way! Just a little niggle re the shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't much care for the shower facility as it was attached to the bath taps. Don't like to shower sitting down!

    The staff were welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was cosy and typically French. It was well sited for the bus to the city and the amenities in the town itself.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Rustic charm in an excellent area of Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not up to the standard of the hotel.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, secure parking within 250m of the hotel. Avignon is a 30-40 min walk from the hotel and there is also public transport. Villeneuve-Les-Avignon has a wide range of excellent restaurants and is a fantastic location for a quiet stay outside of the main city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Really lovely hotel near Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really lovely hotel near Avignon. Staff were very helpful and the rooms were very good. The complimentary tea and coffee was nice, we ended up taking ours up to the roof terrace. There is also a really friendly cat that strolls the premises.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Stayed here in 1984. Still a charming very old former silk factory. Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Charm. Tres French. Staff extremely helpful. Excellent location for touring Avignon and surrounding regions. Easy to catch bus into Avignon neAr Papal palace. Nice restaurants nearby. Public car park nearby gratuitous. But had to park and pay Wednesday and Friday nights because an excellent open air market occupied public lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Rustic charm in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of breakfast was not in-line with the rest of the hotel. For instance, there were no cold meats and the cheese was in packets. This can easily be addressed.

    The attitude of all of the staff was extremely customer focused. The location is excellent. Although Avignon is a 30min walk, the hotel is situated is a quiet, clean location with plenty of good quality restaurants. Secure parking is 200 m from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Perfect Avignon hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This was the best place we stayed on our whole 3 week trip. We loved the atmosphere of the place, and all the quaint common areas we could sit in and read/relax/enjoy a coffee. The owner is very friendly and helpful (and speaks English - which was a big help to us). The room was comfortable, clean and had a small balcony (not all rooms do). We opted to pay for the optional morning breakfast, and are glad we did - there were a lot of options set out for us, including fresh fruits and breads. We only stayed one night - but we wish we had booked this location for more time. It's a great location - right across the river from Avignon, and we found Villeneuve-Les-Avignon to be even nicer to walk around than Avignon (but both very nice walks). We came by car, and there is free parking very close to this hotel (and you can park for a few minutes right in the front of the hotel while you unload). There are lots of travel books/brochures to read about the area - or just ask the owner if you have a question.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.4
    Would not recommend this hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommadations not up to date. This hotel is old but it could be updated and it would be much better to stay there. The people and staff at this hotel are very helpful but the hotel needs work.

    The bathroom has no privacy, it is located in the room completely visible to everyone in the room. There is a folding wooden partion that is used to hide the person taking a bath or shower. This tub is very old and difficult to get in and out of. Would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    There is something better than perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had Stéphane not been as effective I might have grumbled, as another guest did, about the croissants not having been replenished. Guests should not allow replenishment to become a moot point. The standard is, in my view, that every item of breakfast must be kept up or replaced with something very equivalent in kind and quality. From the evidence, I believe l'Atelier in principle and henceforth in practice would be up to this standard. The door-closing mechanism of our room was ferociously powerful and needs easing off.

    The proprietor, Stéphane, was most correct and generous in response to a request and comment of ours, as to our preference for a softer, more rustic décor in the room than one that appeared on the booking.com site, and in agreeing that the replenishment of a buffet breakfast must sustained in detail for the stated duration of the buffet and then tweaking staff performance in this regard. The mellow stones of the region that formed the basis of the architecture and the typical garden, courtyard and terrace. Excellent, peaceful ambience and a lot more good points, such as the games room (Scrabble etc.) and books.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    really nice place in a good provencal style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    we liked everything.

    We liked every aspect of our stay there. Hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Their attention to details was impressive. Room was clean and breakfast was really nice. Hotel premises, garden and terrace was charming and the decor was carefully chosen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Stefan was a lovely host and provided excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stefan was a lovely host and provided excellent recommendations for near-by places to dine and the vineyards and towns to visit by car. He was so helpful, and genuine. The hotel, and room were charming and peaceful, and we were sad to leave. We thought the location was great, and would recommend to our friends planning on visiting Avignon and the surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Perfect - English spoken but town and hotel very French
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful Teas/coffee/biscuits always available in reception rooms, lovely touch Beautiful patio are for breakfast/drinks/lounging Situated right in this beautiful town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Delightful hotel, a short walk from central Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming staff. Beautifully decorated in a quirky French style. Offsite, secure (gated) parking available at an extra cost of 9 Euro per day - well worth taking up as the street parking is challenging.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Lovely boutique hotel in Villeneuve-les-Avignon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every room individually designed. Quirky. Very clean, good air conditioning. Clean, good bathrooms. Staff all delightful and very helpful. Parking on street outside, for free. Easy walking to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    It's a great choice to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not located in the center of Avignon, it takes about 15 minutes by bus to go to the Palais des Papes. There is only one casino near by.

    It's a great choice to stay. It's really comfortable and pleasant. They prepared everything you need and the staffs are really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Our room was very tastefully decorated with a view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very tastefully decorated with a view of the square in front of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable. Although we didn't get to use them, the multiple guest facilities around the hotel are thoughtful extra touches. Breakfast was delicious and the courtyard where we had it just beautiful. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Amazing find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints, I loved everything.

    The hotel is a beautiful building with lovely gardens, terrace and lounges. The staff were super friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Awesome place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The decoration of the hotel is really pretty and elegant. The garden is perfect for breakfast and hangout. The hotel is really centrally located in Villeneuv les Avignon, several steps away from all the restaurants. All the staffs are warm and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Delightful old town house with lots of character and charm.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we drive a large van and had to park in the market square which was a short walk from the hotel but, as Villeneuve les Avignon is full of narrow streets, the square had plenty of other vehicles parked in it and this parking proved to be safe.

    The delightful old town house had a great deal of charm and was located in a quiet side street, just a short walk from the town centre where there were plenty of good bistro type restaurants in the square. At the hotel there was a little courtyard garden with tables and chairs as well as a small seating area in the centre of the ground floor where you could help yourself to a selection of teas, etc. Our room looked as if it had just been refurbished and was superclean and, although a little small, very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    The best small hotel I have stayed at in France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel was excellent. The comfort, facilities, the location to a local bus to the gates of Avignon, the sitting room and library of books and breakfast, on tap coffee and tea. Our hosts were keen to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with helpful staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small thing: couldn't find milk at coffee table after hours.

    Friendly staff, comfortable beds, lovely shower. Free biscuits, coffee and tea were a nice touch. Great view out the window. Really easy to get to tourist sites with number 5 bus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    a beutiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is rather matter of taste, but we found our first choice of room on the street front a bit loud and changed after the first night to the back front with garden view, to remark here the first room was bigger with better view...here again our thanks to the hotel for enabling this! The garden view room had the disadvantage of being smaller but the advantage of having a bigger bathroom and a nice terrace. Unfortunately, the wifi did not work everywhere, probably caused by the otherwise beautiful old stone walls. Personally, we found the stylish interiror unfortunately not always comfortable. Parking is virtually not possible on the street, the hotel owned parking place is a solution though a bit complicated to use.

    A superb location in the village center, absolutely friendly and helpful personnel, friendly atmosphere, common room with cookies, water, coffee and tee for the guests free of charge, nice and quiet garden on the back front. Room interior with the flair of the late Belle Époque.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Great little hotel - real value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking could have been better

    Great location in Villenueve Avignon - could easily access and walk around this small, charming town. The hotel was well done with typical European room size. The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful. We had a great stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Shhh! Don't tell anyone else about the secret of Villenue les Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to our room...getting older and next time I'll ask for one one the first floor.

    Peaceful! Loved the terrace, the town was a pleasure with good restaurants and the owners were spectacular. They were so helpful with our questions and any concerns. Stephane offered advice for touring the region. Other International guests were interesting and friendly. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Avignon May'17
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent reception and assistance by owner and staff. Nice breakfast , beautiful facility and area to relax, explore, use as home base for area travels. Heartily recommend !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Quirky place with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking could be better but there is not much the hotel can do really.

    Very quirky. The building itself is very old and so everything else was added in afterwards. This means that nothing really matches up. The stairs lean outward and then there are some rooms that are slightly higher or lower than the floor they are on. The hotel cat is great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Charming hotel in the centre of Villeneuve Lez Avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our companion's room was a bit small but comfortable . It would be nice to have a tea and coffee making tray in the room but there is a sitting area in the hall with everything provided as well as biscuits and fruit.

    Breakfast in the courtyard - excellent selection of fruit, bread, croissants, eggs, hot and cold drinks and more to serve yourself. Staff were very helpful with booking a superb restaurant and parking arrangements. The room was charming, clean and comfortable. The hotel is a very old and interesting building situated in a small square and within walking distance of all the local sites.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    This exceptional boutique hotel was a highlight of our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short a stay.

    Friendly and attentive staff. Bed was very comfortable with cozy bedding. Fantastic bathroom facility, especially the shower! Great breakfast with indoor or outdoor eating areas. Just a wonderful and unique hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with great village atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is hard to think of anything serious.

    What a joy to be staying here. Pleasant room with shower. Lounge with all day tea and coffee available. Interesting reading rooms and play room for children. Peaceful courtyard gardens for relaxation and for breakfast. This town is a gem, less tourists and within easy access to Avignon. Take the number 5 bus at the tourist centre just 150 meters away. Villeneuve les Avignon has everything to make your holiday a great one and the hotel is right in the centre of it all. There is a laundrette just down the road several pharmacies and small but well stocked supermarket and many really good restaurants to chose from. Stefan and his staff are a delight and made my stay something special. They responded to all my special requests - it felt like being home. No wonder the hotel scores high marks with nearly everybody. Will stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Savvy Choice - Stay Here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can seem a challenge, but there are savvy solutions provided by the manager and staff. And you will be so glad you stayed!

    This is a special place to stay in every sense. Close to everything but away from the hustle and bustle. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are intelligent, conscientious and helpful. If you want a quiet few hours or a day relaxing with a book - this is the place to go! It would be hard to choose between the gorgeous outdoor courtyard and the most comfortable of lounge areas with quality teas and local biscuits. When travelling, I think small touches like this make such a difference and indicate the care and thought of those running the place. The local market was great too! I loved my stay, thanks!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly, comfortable stay in lovely, very well-restored hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old building, very friendly & helpful owner/staff, wonderful terrace (very comfortable stay, large bed & good shower.) Villeneuve-les-Avignon best place to stay, & then visit Avignon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel with friendly staff in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a lovely hotel but just be aware of smaller staircases which can be hard to carry larger luggage up!

    Very friendly staff, beautiful unique hotel with bags of character,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.6
    A real fun little place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a short walk away, and the hotel was difficult to find at first. It wasn't in the heart of Avignon, which was both nice and not, as it was about a 45-minute walk to enter the city.

    This place felt like home almost immediately. We were sad to have only stayed one night. Stephane was incredibly helpful, recommending and calling restaurants for reservations for us, and providing fantastic information for parking and the best ways to get to the sites in Avignon. The breakfast was large and varied, and very tasty. We loved the antique style of the building with giant doors and locks. The room had a lot of character.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.5
    Loved the area, staff and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not know of the difference of Villeneuve Les Avignon and Avignon. Had we gone with only Avignon we would have missed out on the lovely area of the Villeneuve area. We happily were able to enjoy both areas.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.6
    a very unique and charming property in a good location, enhanced by the graciousness of the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the innkeeper was very gracious and very accommodating and helpful in providing advice and directions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A little gem in a beautiful village and would definitely go back and highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were wonderful and caring I would recommend this hotel anytime Excellent location Thank you Hotel de l'Atelier

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful with directions and cab

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in a beautiful French town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location with brilliant staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Good value , great location and excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. A great location and atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    It was cosy and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was cosy and quiet. They offer free tea and cookies.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Idyllic and very quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Stay there and you have a happy holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything. The people, the hotel, the breakfast, the village. This is a place to be when you are visiting Avignon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well planned accommodation, careful attention to detail, quirky, close to wonderful places to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing and happy place within a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cramped.

    Very relaxed atmosphere but staff v efficient and helpful. Lovely outdoor spaces and peace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    L'Atelier is a good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good

    Staff very helpful. Garden beautiful. Very comfortable and welcoming. Close enough to Avignon by bus

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: