Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de l'Aveyron 1 stars

5 rue d'Austerlitz, 12th arr., 75012 Paris, France

#1518 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2198 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very bare. Bathroom not very clean. Our view was of a rusty pipe! Breakfast at 5euros consisted of a croissant and dry roll, with a not very cheerful person on duty.

    Convenient for Gare de Lyon. Short walk to River Seine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel was not the most helpful.

    Spacious rooms with bath, much better than I expected for a 1 star hotel. Relatively cheap. Nice quiet area, although the walls are not the greatest at blocking sound.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Total indifference from the night manager 2. A bathroom so small that I had to step out to towel dry 3. Mould in shower 4. Uneven warped floorboards that cracked when walked upon 5. very cramped circular stairs to service four floors 6. Very thin walls. I was woken every night by other guests 7. NO WI FI in the room. I complained three times. Given a different excuse each time

    Close to transport and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room which really needs renovation. Bathroom was disgusting. Wifi extremelly slow. Noisy street. Only stairs - for us it was not a problem, we treated this like a gym, but if you travel with big staff it can be not very comfortable.

    Good location, close to train/bus/metro station. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They didnt change the sheets and towels although we stayed for a week. Unacceptable. We asked them to do so and they ignore us. We had to asked for soap and paper because they didnt put enough. Stay away.

    Nice location near metro and trains

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in the hotel, we were on the top floor so had to walk up 4 floors with our baggage on a very small winding staircase. On our second last day we weren't given any towels or toilet paper so had to go to reception and ask.

    Location was perfect. Only a five minute walk from the main train station, so getting around was very easy. Room was cleaned and bed made every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was at 4th floor and there was no elevator. so its really hard to take your babies and bag to 4th floor with uncomfortable steps. also when I requested for hot water for baby milk the staff was not willing to help. I should go to level -1 and prepare it by myself. no help and no kindness by staffs.

    location was nice and metro access was easy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise on the street, there was a party in a hotel in front, all night. Not so near of turistic places. Poor breakfast.

    Good price and clean. Enough for few nights. Near metro and train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clogged shower, hard mattress, had to go back down to get wifi code (then bad connection). Very narrow staircase, corridors with no lift and heavy doors. One staff was really nice, the other not

    5 min walk from quai de la rapee metro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and very small rooms.

    Similar to a hostel with a private bath. Rooms very small ( we moved from the fourth floor to the second) slight improvement. Clean but crowded for two people with carry on luggage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no WiFi signal in the room. Room was small, on the top Floor, with low ceiling, so we kept banging our heads against it even tho we are very small (1.62m)

    It is in a good place, near to the main attractions, personal were friendly , lobby was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked clean on first glance but when we looked closely was not at all. Toilet had what looked like dried vomit on it, sheet did not fit the bed well and mattress protector covered in hair was exposed, lots of mold in the shower. Staff not so friendly at check in and tried to tell us that we did not have a booking then that our booking was actually for the night before which it wasn’t. No lighting in stairway which made it difficult to go up and down at night. Lighting in the room was no good. No sound proofing between rooms so lots of noise from other guests. We had another night booked here for a week later but canceled and paid a little extra to stay somewhere else. Definitely not good value for money.

    Room was a reasonable size. Location was good for us as close to Gare de Lyon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location if you are looking for a hotel walking distance from Gare De Lyon train station. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was simple for 5Euros you get what you paid for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small bed, impossible for sleeping of 2 guys! Room too small and can not move inside! 4night without changing towels or taking out the trashs!!! No water in the room! No tea in hotel. The worst experience in my trip

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We recive a room at 5 floor..i think the reception missunderstood me or something happen there .but i told the guy if its possible a room not so up..and he gave me 5 floor on a narow staircase very little and dificult to go up with bags. Very noisy with tiny walls..i can hear the guys from the other room talking like they was in the same room with me. On my pillow was 2 spots looked like blood..i hope is not.. Wifi was not working,also no toilet paper provided. Was a mansard room so very little space to move..

    Design of the room pretty nice,Bathroom was clean and shower with good presure,easy to make the booking,very close to gare de lyon ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirt rooms. I found a socks under the bed. The breakfast is jut o é bread and 1 croassant per person. And 1 small cup of Coffee. Nothing more. No place to parking at all.

    None

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed, no towels, shower head broken, bedding old and tired.

    Bed was like a rock. Wouldn't recommend at all. Good location but other than that not a lot going for it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to inch ourselves sideways around the bed as it was so cramped! The room and bathroom were clean. The bed was comfortable, but not the pillow.

    CONVENIENT LOCATION AND IN A SIDE STREET, SO NOT TOO NOISY. NOT ROOM TO SWING A CAT IN OUR ROOM, HOWEVER!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no lift, so a little hard to manage heavy luggage on narrow stairs, and no coffee making facilities in room - but I did notice a coffee making machine in the foyer behind the front door as I was checking out.

    I had a single room with double bed which was comfortable.The room and bathroom were clean, if a little cramped. It was close to Gare de Lyon and shopping areas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold when we arrived but it did warm up later in the day.

    Just a very pleasant hotel in a quiet street with good beds. Clean, basic hotel but so well situated for Paris highlights and some nice restaurants and boulangeries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is slow almost non existent. The hotel could be better if there was an elevator.

    It was easy to talk to the staff. It serves its purpose as a place to stay. The location is pretty convenient too: distanced from the main street where it's quiet but easily accessible from Gare de Lyon with lots of great patisseries and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad beds, walls with punch holes in it, general state was unclean and value for money just missing. Couldn't do more than a night sleep there.

    Nothing at the hotel. Luckily the city was beautiful. Was within walking distance of Paris attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quality of the breakfast was ordinary, a breadroll, a croissant and a cup of orange juice. Having no access to a lift and having to carry a large suitcase up to the fourth floor of a spiral staircase was pretty ordinary. The bathroom was extremely small, the curtain was very thin and having a lino floor which didn't look clean.

    Proximity to Railway Stations and cafe's in Paris.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just to be fair with the hotel, majority of the building space in Paris are small so I won't be complaining about the room size. Nor I won't be complaining about the lack of elevators. But I like to complain about the cleanliness of the rooms. Our one table in our room are full of watermarks and looks like in need of sanding and a coat of varnish, at least. Several times we climbed down the VERY STEEP spiral stairs in pitch black darkness because nobody told us that the button with a bell icon is actually a light switch and not a room bell (at least post a small note beside it to inform guests). Toiletries are not being replenished and you have to inform them to do so.

    Location. The hotel itself is not that good but the neighborhood it's in make up for the bad things. It's close to Gare de Lyon and there are several bus stops around the hotel so going around the city is easy. There are two small groceries nearby (Carrefour and Monoprix) so you get easy access to cheap food stuff and other essentials. It's close to two good bakeries. We got the privilege to food shop in a bi-weekly neighborhood market just one street away from the hotel and got a taste of authentic Parisian food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and steep stairs.

    Convenient for Paris Gare Lyon. Secure - someone on desk all night. Adequate accommodation for nights stay before heading off south.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't know whether they're clean enough or not, yet there was this bad smell when I first arrive at the room; there was no elevator that you need to carry all your heavy belongings to your floor with stairs that are quite old.

    Well, honestly all that is great about this hotel is its location that is close to Gare de Lyon. Else, the hotel is quite pricy, when we first came there was this bad smell in the room that I don't know where it came from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior needs some TLC. There are no lifts and the stairs are quite steep so getting to third floor was difficult with our cases. We were given the key to Room 35 and having got there and opened the door we found that it was already occupied. This did not seem to bother the man on reception who said it was not serious! Only one glass in the room and when we asked for another one we were given two plastic cups until we threatened to ask for our money back. The room is very small and does not look like any of the ones in the photos on Booking .com. The floor is not even in the bedroom and the 'desk' was very unstable and the chair needed to be repainted. The ensuite was so small you could hardly turn round! We paid five Euros each for breakfast which consisted of one croissant, one small bread roll, one drink of orange juice and one drink of tea or coffee!

    Convenience to Gare de Lyon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial guy on the front desk, no one cleaned the room or changed the towels however when I asked for clean towels we got them It was ok

    Warm water available

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (4 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very basic and there wasnt really any place to put our stuff so we just lived out of our suitcases. There was one cabinet for 4 people which wasnt enough room and the chair was not usable as it was falling apart. We didnt use the fridge as it smelled bad but there is one. You have to ask for extra towels and toilet paper if needed and they only give you one small roll for 4 people. The staff was fine to us and we tried to always speak in French which I think they liked so they were friendly to us. I would have liked for some kind of safe or locking cabinet to put our electronics in but we didnt have any problems.

    It was a 5 min walk to the Lyon De Gare train station so extremely easy to travel everywhere we wanted. The building is very old and the rooms need updated but we did have a fine stay. The beds were fine and we slept well. I knew it wasnt a fancy place but we didnt need much more than a inexpensive place to sleep as we were out all day. It was clean and we didnt have problems that many have mentioned. We stayed in the downstairs unit on the main floor so didnt have to climb the spriral staircase. We didnt eat the breakfast there so cant comment on it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to haul my suitcase up 5 flights of narrow stairs. The ceiling was sloped so I had to bend down to walk round to the bed. The bedding and the paint in the room were shabby. There was nowhere to plug in a phone near the bed. The receptionist was unfriendly and had listed my name incorrectly on the list, claiming he had no room for me.

    It was near the Gare de Lyon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and building is quite old, if not to say a bit dodgy.

    I didn't stay very long, but the wifi was working well and the room was comfortable. It is situated close enough to the station to be useful when you have a train early in the morning but at the same time it is quite isolated so you don't hear the sounds of it. There is a really nice sushi restaurant right across the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First time visitors need to be careful to take the correct exit from the Gare de Lyon or you could get very lost looking for the hotel.

    The staff were helpful and the bed was very comfy. The hotel was near the rail station, Metro and a short walk from the Bastille Market.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nobody was in the reception when we entered then the guy came no Wellcome no hi nothing just whats your name. The room smelled so bad. Room is not like pictures. We were itching all the time from the dust or bugs I am not sure. different staff on the reception never said hi or smiled. at least say hi nothing more people. blankets and sheets did not smell fresh or clean. thanks god there was hot water. wifi is very weak. advice to others pay more and go to a better hotel cause this accommodation will ruin your stay.

    Hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, which is common in Paris. Best that staff helped us carry the luggage to the room without asking any tips.

    my experience was great, staff was helpful ! Definitely valued for money, i paid a bit more than guesthouse to enjoy proper facilities- private bathroom, comfortable bed. Go for it if you looking for stay near Gare de Lyon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Up 3 flights of narrow stairs. Should have been told that when booking. Breakfast included but not very good. Tiny room small bed with a plastic sheet. Very uncomfortable.

    In a good position.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so hard work lugging our full suitcases up 2 flights of a skinny spiral staircase. Rooms very small for 4 ppl

    Location to main train station was great. Japanese restaurant across the rd had delicious meals

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff gave me a little papre with wifi password,but i cannot see the numer on it! When I asked him to tell me, he did not turn to me and did not say anything!

    I am not satisfied with anything in this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there for 3nights but didn't get new fresh towel at all.

    Good location, easy access to metro, safe to walk alone at night. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotels does not have an elevator. The room is quite tight, not so clean and has a minimum comfort.

    The hotel is well localised, not far from "Gare de Lyon" and "Bastille".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled weird and it wasn't really clean. Close to the metro station and Gare de Lyon but far from the main Paris landmarks.

    Good room if you are only staying for a night or so or if you only stay in the room to sleep. Also, good wi fi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is really expensive, the staff was really unpolite, no stairs, room is too small we has only one luggage and we couldn't open it because we didn't have space and the bathroom was really really small. The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything! I wouldn't recommend this place, you can find something better for the same price.

    They have wifi and it's about 5 minutes from the main train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and poorly furnished. The toilet and shower were in darkness and could not be changed. The coffee and tea were lukewarm. we would not use this hotel again

    The hotel was close to hard lyon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was horrible. It was like sleeping in a boat. Every morning we woke up with headaches and back pains. I thought the mattress is heavily used and so it is making us difficult to sleep. But on the last day I found that the bed is broken. A main support had broken and that made the mattress to be sagging from one side. Offering a damaged bed for the customers is not acceptable at all. The hotel staff were able to reply my emails only on the day I reached the hotel for which I have sent two weeks before my stay.

    Only the location was good it is really easy to reach a main railway station in Paris (Gare de Lyon). The staff was ok. Nothing else made me happy about this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a smudge on the bathroom wall that looked like it was poop. Once I saw this I was very uncomfortable with the cleanliness of the property. We stayed here for one night and I would not stay for longer. It is in a very convenient location near the Gare de lyon.

    Free wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no elevator in the Hotel, adding the fact that the stairs were not comfortable as well, it was very difficult to carry our luggage in our case at the 3rd floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks really run down - the rooms are tiny and not very clean. Paint was chipped on the wall. Not sure the towels were really clean either

    The only thing that was good about this hotel is how close it is the Gare de Lyon -which is why we picked it in the first place (late arrival in Paris the night before and early start in the morning) however convenience is no excuse for the complete lack of everything else

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly it looked a little unsafe, because of the neighborhood and the hotel in general. The staff didn't speak English with us only French. We were situated on the third floor, and the stairs were quite an adventure to climb, even with a small suitcase. The hallway smelled of cigarette smoke and it was very hard to breathe especially because it was hot. The room was a bit dark, no carpet, we had 3 beds and one of them was pushed all the way to the window so we couldn't sleep with the window opened, even if we wished it because of how hot it was. The good part is that the window was facing g a gang where there was no noise so we could sleep well. It was ok for one night, but I would not spend an entire holiday there.

    The hotel was close to the train station, 5 minutes walking which was perfect for us as we had to catch a train early in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you're living in a suitcase for 4 weeks and they gave you a room to the highest floor with tiny spiral staircase and no help offered, then its unacceptable. It should been mentioned on the room's detail so at least guest can be informed and prepared for that. Also, the cover sheet on the bed is dirty and Blower is not working. I think this property needs to close down for awhile and do a renovation.

    It's close to Gare de Lyon so it's nice. Price is cheap.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tiny tiny spiral staircase to the tiny room. I also didn't like the flickering street lights that made strange noises that you could hear through the room. The room was not air conditioned so we had to open the windows and hear the noisy traffic and lights right outside of our room.

    I liked how close it was to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat broken, dirty glasses in bathroom, dirty & dusty bathroom, small uncomfortable beds with plastic mattress protectors.

    Close to Accor arena for concerts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was rundown and not particularly clean. Late arriving or visiting quest were very loud. Management made no attempt to moderate the noise.

    The property's position

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no towels or soap! A fan would have been nice for 37C without air.

    Croissants were good. 37C without air conditioning was too hot! Bedswerecomfy. Bathroom was modern and nice. It was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no air condition. dirty floor. there was one small window facing the stairwell of the building. no open air. 2 fans were provided. Front desk advised that there's no room was available to change. poor service and quality facility. we were told it was a 1* hotel.

    i am very disappointed about the room. it seemed that the room was converted to a living quarter from a storage area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small. After I took the shower, all the bathroom's floor was get wet. I almost could not sit down in the shower area. No lift. If you have big luggages, you have to carry on your own.

    The location is great. The room is very small but acceptable with the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All perfectly! Keep it up!

    Excellent small hotel. Friendly staff. One of the administrators even speaks Russian. Very convenient location. In walking distance, as all the sights, and the metro, the railway station, almost 24 hours shops and many small cafes. They were occupied late, they left very early. No problem. The administrators all told, prompted and in some moments helped.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, the room was very hot because the heater is still on, so we turned it off and we slept with windows open. It was like we were in the oven. 😊 No lift, our room is on the 4th floor. Not advisable for those with heavy luggage and for oldies. But we enjoyed it anyway. If you need only place to sleep, and your standard is not so high then you can choose this place.

    Near the metro, train station and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, offered very small room without window and next to reception. Then offered room on second floor. No lift so a struggle with suitcases on tight stairs. Double bed but no bedside cabinets. Very small bathroom with mold in shower. Very noisy due to a fire door slamming at the entrance to the rooms from the stairs and then frequent slamming of doors by occupants of those rooms. Had a 6.29 am train, so as breakfast was not offered before 6.30 had to leave hotel before sampling it. Based on the quality of the rest of the hotel, it would have been 5 Euro wasted. Finally, the hotel is located in a very tatty and seedy road adjacent to one of the main roads to the train station.

    Walking distance to Gard du Lyon

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift, but I had a room on first stare... Is it possible to have "french version", my english is not perfect!

    The size of the room was not important, but I was alone and it was enough to sleep, the bed was good..The street was very silent, the staff could help me very friendly.The location was perfect for me, less than 10 minuts (walking!) from Gare de Lyon. It was easy to walk to Arab World Institute, and to go with metro to Rodin Museum, and Orsay Museum with line 1 .Metro Station only 7 minuts walking)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is under renovations so there was building materials at the entrance, there are no toilets by the lobby. A total lack of attention in the room service, we finished the toilet paper in the morning before leaving for our tour and left the empty roll in the bathroom on the top of the sink. Once back in the evening it was in the same position and we had to go down (2 floors, no lift) to ask for a toilet roll. The 5Euros breakfast consists in 1 croissant, 1 mini baguette per person, self service of filter coffee, hot water for tea and warm milk. some cocoa powder on the little table where the drinks were and a jug of cartoon boxed orange juice. Conserves and butter. There was no attendance of personnel during the breakfast all the time but only in certain moments.

    Loved the position, the size of the room and the price was honest and appropriate to the structure. Good selection of conserves and butter at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not cleaned at all during our three night visit, no towels changed, no emptying of the pin. There was a clear smell of mold in the room, so we had to keep the window open all the time, even though nights were cold. Spiders and ant-like insects in the bathroom, that was in poor condition. The room was on 4th floor, no lift, so it was hard work to get there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and a very steep stairs. We were on the third floor a long way to carry heavy cases. No kettle to make a drink in our room.

    Close to Gare de Lyon ready for the early morning train.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fellow at the desk was surly at best. There was no elevator and only a narrow, circular staircase. The room was tiny. One of the reading lights didn't work. The shower curtain was too short so the bathroom floor became awash. We could hardly wait to leave in the morning.

    It was close to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no lift service! We need to take the stairs and it gets harder with aged people and luggage.

    The staff were very helpful. The rooms were as described in the information. Very good bakery shops around. Walkable from Gare du Lyon station. The hotel area has many bus connections around which is helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should provide the elevator. I have to carry the big luggage to 5th floor with the narrow spiral stairs. It's terrible for the guest with luggage.

    It's easy for Gare de Lyon.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floor has noise every time you are walking. I am having a hard time walking up and down the stairs, it makes me feel dizzy most of the time. Maybe because you are going around and the color of the stairs with its lining. There are no elevators so you need to go up and down the steep stairs.

    I like that the place is very near Gare de Lyon and other restaurants. Just minutes away from bus stop and metro. It is just a minute away from a Japanese restaurant which is open every evening so you can have dinner here late at night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rarely pictures have been misleading like here. What looked like a simple but nice hotel. Is rather a hole. I didnt even want to touch anything. Don't go there. Not nearly worth the money. Prefered not to stay and sleep somewhere else... felt unsafe

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person at the front desk was not nice at all. He saw me arrive all by myself with 2 big heavy suitcases and a back pack and he put me on the 5th floor knowing there's no elevator and the stairs are too narrow. Worst hotel and worst service ever. Don't waste your money here.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed rooms were very small. We were four people and hence asked for two separate rooms. Both the rooms were very small and there was hardly any place to move inside the bathroom.

    The location was perfect. The hotel is located very near to the Paris main station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some towels were not clean. There was no shampoo in the bathroom.

    Location is very perfect. You can reach easily walking with 10 min. Staff is very friendly and smiling. Bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very abrupt and unwelcoming, they barley spoke and didn't make you feel comfortable. The rooms were extreamly basic, the paint on the walls were bubbled up and looked very bad, the double bed was small and uncomfortable, the hairdryer was broken and the hotel had very steep spiral steps, no lift and no offer to help with luggage. We were woken throughout the night and all morning as the hotel seemed to echo every single noise and door slam from the other guests and cleaner. On our first morning we were woken very early from an extreamly loud drilling noise (the staff were fitting a window in the room directly next to us). We were jet lagged and very tired so we made a complaint which achieved nothing. We asked for our money back for the remaining nights so that we could move to a different hotel and was flatly refused. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a noisy place, the door lock was faulty ( I could not lock myself Inside the bedroom)and I asked 3 times to have it replaced without success. No space to store your clothes, only one electric pluc available and away from the desk table. NEEDS a lot of improvement

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was surely not worth 5 Euros. Furniture in room is very old and a bit damaged. Rooms are very very TINY. There is NO lift to go up 3 or 4 floors with bags. Very uncomfortable. Not recommended for family or couple.

    Staff is friendly. Location is near to Gard de Lyon station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For this price, I expected small rooms and questionable quality. So I was ok with that. But the walls were so ridiculously thin that when the people in the room next to me went to the bathroom, I heard them literally as if they were in my bathroom, and the door is open. It was weird. The hotel doesn't have an elevator. And the staff was very disappointing. I didn't carry anything too heavy, but I had many stuff and it was difficult climbing them up. And the guy at the reception didn't feel like offering help to a lady. Not cool at all.

    I liked the location, it's very close to Gare dy Lyon (like 5 mins slow walking). The price was the lowest for that distance to the train station which is quite nice if you are arriving late at night and don't feel like walking for more than 10 mins. The bathroom was ok, it was clean, had the standard stuff. Also, the location is surprisingly quiet. The internet was also ok, especially during the night. In the morning it was often disconnecting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very dirty. Rooms dirty. Bathroom was not clean proper since many many weeks. Falling paint from the celling etc. Personal was not interested if the guest are ok or they need anything. If you are staing for business purpose for one day is kind of ok but not recommended for long stay or vacation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift so my partner had to carry two 30kg luggages up the five levels of stairs. No offer from the staff for leaving our luggages at the reception either! The water pressure of the shower was worse than the tap - literally it was easy to wash my hair in the sink. No blinds in the toilet. Way worse than the air b&b we stayed in earlier.

    The power socket next to the bed so that it was within reach at night.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel de l'Aveyron traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: