Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de l'Europe 3 stars

87, rue aux Ours, 76000 Rouen, France

#11 of 35 hotels in Rouen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, great location and a fun decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit pricey, air circulation on a hot day is limited.

    Clean, comfortable, great location and a fun decor. Nice shower gel in bathroom. Elevator!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location near to key sites in Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected the hotel to be more modern in style, especially with the themed rooms but the bedroom and bathroom were rather dowdy, except for the wall with the film posters. Furniture was really old looking and old fashioned. The 'mini bar' consisted of a fridge with no shelves and three bottles of water! This isn't the standard I have come to expect from hotels on Booking.com.

    The location was the best thing about this hotel as it is situated in the old town near to key sites. Our bed was very comfortable. There was public parking nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located at a very central location in city center. There is also a public carpark very closed to the hotel which you will pay EUR10 for 16 hours of parking. Good accommodation for short stay-over.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Great guy Michael serving us drinks at the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Signature Comic Strip
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit unclear about parking. was under impression that guests get some preferential rate for paid parking but it wasn't the case.

    Great guy Michael serving us drinks at the bar. Had a lovely chat and he gave us recommendations for where to go the next day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    A good choise for visiting main tourist attraction of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast for 14 EUR, extra payment for wi-fi.

    Very good location, parking just around the corner, walking distance to the main attractions, very comfortable hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    Could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed for 4 nights. There is no aircon. Not enough lights inside of the room. The first day the elevator was damaged. They do not write the WIFI login name and password anywhere in the room so you have to call the reception to get it. The hotel is small. There is no paper to hang on the door to indicate them that you do not want to be disturbed. Very disappointing...It seems a bit like an improvised hotel.

    Location is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location but the rest was just OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room decor was tired and it was very hot in the room even though it wasn't overly hot when we were there -- No air conditioning in our room. Noisy at times with the window open. Another issue: This was a biggie for me but may be minor for others -- It was impossible to put on make-up in the bathroom as the mirror is set more than 1 foot/ 30 cm BEHIND THE BACK OF THE SINK. Add in the depth of the sink (2 feet or 60 cm?) plus the additional 1 ft or 30 cm for the set back mirror and you have a 3 ft/almost 1 meter to the mirror. One other issue was the parking -- We were charged 50% more for parking because the front desk didn't give us the information needed or card to park at the hotel rate in the public parking lot (No on-site parking here). Make sure you get this information from the front desk BEFORE you park. The hotel will not allow you to bring any food in the room (a bit crazy) -- Breakfast was too expensive for what you got so we just grabbed a pastry from the place across the street for our morning breakfast.

    We chose this hotel for it's location, not for the room -- in the historical part of the city and the ease of getting in and out of Rouen from here (We used Rouen as a base for day trips out of Rouen). The location is perfect for this. We had breakfast elsewhere (see section on "what we didn't like" for explanation). There is a pastry store across the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    The perfect location for a swift visit to Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, and no coffee making kit in the room,

    This was the 2nd night of 3 we were staying in france for a short driving trip from uk. From the outside this hotel looks bland, walk in the front door, "boom", and it gets better the further in you get in. Staff could not do enough, great guidance as to parking (off site and only 15.00 euro for 18 hrs safe parking, plus choices of restaurants. We were up graded to the comady strip room, which was a lot of fun to use for the night. Location was perfect, 5 mins walk to the core eating places and 5 minutes for the parking. Great coffee and lovery bar and breakfast area .... perfect for the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    3.3
    Rude front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Signature Atelier
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel has no A/C it was about 95 degrees in our room and completely miserable to sleep. We paid extra for the signature room.. not worth it at all. Our week in France was great this was the worst place we stayed and it was mainly due to how RUDE the man at the front desk was to us. Luckily the taxi driver gave us a map because the hotel did nothing to help you. The wiFi did not work at all. When I asked the man at the desk about it he literally yelled at me for bothering him I would never stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    Clean, comfy, good value & location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking tricky. Was very noisy (in the street). People yelling at all hours in the early morning but hopefully that was unusual (Was a Sunday night with public holiday Monday).

    Excellent location and clean comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Good location with underground parking a short walk away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could use a little sprucing up. It just seemed a little tired for the price.

    Good location with underground parking a short walk away. Breakfast is served in the bar that is part of the hotel and was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Great location in Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is very small (one person plus bag). Just be aware if you are coming with a group.

    Great location. Friendly staff, room was simple and had a large/clean bathroom. Parking available in a garage just around the corner and they give you a voucher so it's free. Also there is a really nice beer bar around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    boutique above average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and parking charged extra so made visit a bit pricey

    Great central location right near loads of bars and restaurants nice boutique style hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    GREAT LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, have to use public parking station about 75 metres away. Hotel reception will provide parking ticket (at cost) which makes the process a little easier.

    Easy to find (with GPS) and excellent location, the main city sights are walk-able from the hotel. Friendly welcome. Comfortable rooms, maybe a little "tired" but clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. Bathroom to embellich. No air con.

    Location. Staff. Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location for centre of Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The run was a little tired

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. When I asked for an other room I got 2 options to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Larger room but we were OK.

    Location was very good for visiting Rouen. Close enough to walk to the train station. Close to the market/restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Very good location, easy walk to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the quadruple room (2 kids) and the double beds were small.

    Very good location, easy walk to city centre. Very clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Large room for European standards. Friendly staff. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    The location and friendly personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and friendly personnel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    adequate for1 night .couldnt even park outside for 5 minutes to take bags in . rather poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking ;;;;;

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    Friendly and very adequate hotel in a brilliant location for the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the pop art room - not exactly to our taste

    Comfortable beds - we did not have breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    The room smells cigarette
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells cigarette

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Clean and very comfortable beds. Right in the center, but quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small.

    Position. Few steps from downtown pedestrian area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to park in near by car park. But all worked well and it was secure.

    Good location very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel at a perfect spot in Rouen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Signature Comic Strip
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thema room comic was brilliant!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Double Room Signature Backstage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of done with air con

    Everything .location .the lady on receiption was wonderful and a credit to the company.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good stay experience. hotel is near city center. staffs are very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Decent place for a weekend in Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included. WIFI was not free

    The bed was comfortable and it is close to everything. The owners and staff were nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location. Receptionist very helpful when we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    One of a kind....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Signature Atelier
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 501..... fantastic view and private roof garden. Very creative decor

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.2
    Une nuit magique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Signature Comic Strip
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pas de late check-out possible..

    La qualité de la chambre Comic Strip

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We don't do late nights, so the basic channel all-French TV was a bit of a drag.

    Great location. Helpful staff - good guidance around the city. It's a small privately run hotel, great if all you need is a place to take a break or sleep (though it can be noisy when the bars close). And it's a short walk to some great bistros and restaurants. Set your expectations properly and it works.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.5
    Georges is a lovely charater and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    well I am in France the home of the Croissant and Pain au Chocolat. No excuse for running out sorry.

    Georges is a lovely charater and very helpful. Shower pressure superb. location perfect and parking not an issue.Enjoyed the individual décor making a refreshing change from the sterile chains.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    7.1
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a breakfast that was a bit pricey for what is was. No one ever came back to get more coffee refills or hot water for tea. No one serving and no-one was in the room after our first cup of coffee. No self serve either. The woman who first greeted us was very nice and tried to speak english. the man who also works there was rude and unhelpful. When we asked to use an iron he said 'NO." No irons in the rooms.( No food either.) We asked about a laundry and he said ,"NO." You can't do laundry. The we asked him about a laundromat nearby he said NO again.

    Centrally located. Close to main sightseeing.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The man in the reception wasn't nice with us , also they didn't give us the WIFI because we made the reservetion from Booking so we should buy 7 € !!

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    What a great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    What a great hotel! We felt so welcome - even before we arrived the confirmation email was personal and welcoming. Our accomodation was excellent - above and beyond what we had reserved and most comfortable. The owner was so welcoming - providing us with a local map and information about what was on in the evening. Lovely breakfast. We had a really memorable stay in Rouen and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a good place to stay in the city.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    V friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    V friendly owner. He helped me plan the bedrooms by email to suit our 5 children in the best way prior to the trip. Family room was a decent size and sofa bed fitted our 5 year old twins beautifully. Décor of rooms was good. So close to the cathedral and restaurants. Managed to park outside on the street. If there had been a kettle to make a cup of tea in the room it would have been perfect.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    6.3
    The staff were welcoming when we arrived and the room, while...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The price for 3 people on billing was jacked up when we arrived which was very disappointing - at 7.30-8pm you don't have many other options. Tea making facilities in a good, city centre hotel would also have been nice.

    The staff were welcoming when we arrived and the room, while small, had most things you would look for. The double bed was very comfortable and the sofa bed for our teenager was comfy but on a slight slope.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendly, English speaking staff, clean, comfortable rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was roasting hot early August and the absence of aircon made for a pretty toasty room, cold flannels weren't perfect.

    Friendly, English speaking staff, clean, comfortable rooms, conveniently located in the heart of the city with parking very close by.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.2
    Extremely friendly owner and staf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely friendly owner and staf. A wonderful flexibility in service of the kitchen and drinks and small plates late at night!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    Welcoming, friendly, English speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Welcoming, friendly, English speaking staff Central location with easy underground parking very short walk from hotel Quality of breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    location and car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was quite basic.

    location and car parking Bars shops and restaurants are close by.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.0
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    Great location and pleasant, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room needed to be redecorated.

    Great location and pleasant, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff was very courteous, attentive, and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very courteous, attentive, and helpful. The hotel was very clean and centrally located to all the sites I wanted to see.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.3
    The medieval buildings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can be noisy during the night .

    The medieval buildings. The restaurants. That ambience. The hotel was ideally situated.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    7.5
    wish have tripe singles and one double beds for 5 people in...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    wish have tripe singles and one double beds for 5 people in one room

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I need elevators

    Good location

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: