Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel De L'océan 3 stars

2, Rue Plage Des Sables Blancs, 29900 Concarneau, France

#8 of 12 hotels in Concarneau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The maitre D was rather sniffy, rude and unhelpful. Plus there was a nasty smell of sewage in the corridor outside our rooms

    The meal was excellent and the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    opposite a lovely beach and only 15 minute walk to town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1 rude waiter/staff member

    opposite a lovely beach and only 15 minute walk to town centre. nice pool with jacuzzi and sauna. the majority of the staff were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Everything else was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at dinner. Waiter extremely discourteous. Long wait for menu, order to be taken, main dish (which was lukewarm and insufficiently cooked. And even longer for desert menu and finally the order itself. The dining room was busy, but not frantic

    Everything else was fine

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Stunning view with great surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small thing, there was no seal at the bottom of the shower door, so bathroom floor flooded each time shower was used & no tea/coffee facilities in the room - a little surprising for a 3 Star......

    The restaurant evening menu was excellent, swimming pool was very good, staff extremely friendly & helpful, all with a good level of English. Would deff stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location with an ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Duplex Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a restaurant right at this hotel - but the staff there was very strange, unfriendly and ridiculously "slow" on both nights. E.g. never smiling, taking 40 minutes to bring a pre-ordered dessert long after everyone else has walked away. We could not understand their point. But this has nothing to do with the hotel, breakfasts at the same restaurants are fine, and as for dinners - there are good restaurants within a waling distance nearby.

    Excellent location with an ocean view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel with stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a kettle in our room for beverages. Although there is a fan unit in the bathroom, there is not one in the bedroom and it was very hot at night. We did open the patio doors but the noise of the traffic too loud in the morning.

    The room was beautifully located overlooking Concarnau. The hotel room was clean and beds comfortable. Staff are very friendly and the hotel food in the restaurant was excellent. We would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    The location at the beach is convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the rooms during hot weather is not bearable. The room is not fitted with air conditioning, something which may be expected for this price in the year 2018. The room’s facilities suit a budget hotel, but not a hotel in this price range. Despite room availability on the cooler side (sea view) of the hotel, the staff was only willing to offer another room against additional cost. I would certainly not recommend this hotel.

    The location at the beach is convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Modern, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot during our stay, as there was no air con, we had to leave the window opened, but the road in front of the hotel was very noisy; hence little sleep. Also, we had to pay £8 a day for parking, the receptionist on arrival informed us that we would have to pay to park anywhere else in the town. We subsequently found out that there was free parking 50m away. The beach nearby was very smelly. Pity! The bathroom was very cramped and no extra shower gel was provided on our second day.

    Modern, clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    The Manager in the Restaurant was rude, dismissive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Duplex Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Manager in the Restaurant was rude, dismissive and unfriendly. There was also a couple watching football in their tablet. At one point the couple went out to take photos of the sunset and I asked the Waitrose to turn the volume down on the unattended tablet. This was not fair on the other guests who were trying to have a relaxed evening meal. Need to get your restaurant etiquette sorted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Group of middle aged Motorcyle riders touring France
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/ a

    Welcoming smile from Hotel receptionist,who spoke very good English excellent hotel with well stocked bar and menu selection We enjoyed an impromptu swim in the outside covered swimming pool after our journey my motorcycle from last stopover point. Recommend stay would book again when visiting the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant hotel and had more facilities than we used.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a little farther from the centre of town than we realized when booking. But was nevertheless only a short journey by car, and there was enough parking in town when we were there.

    Quiet and very easy to access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Average hotel...difficult to say more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 123 had smell of tobacco. Strange, but room with twin beds (mean not for couples) has a window to the room so one in the bathroom is visible by fellow guest. Bathroom has no lock. However we found it common in hotels on France

    Clean and renovated bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No food in the hotel (not even a bar of chocolate!) from Sunday breakfast to Monday breakfast and nothing local to the hotel. You need to go into town to get anything to eat. Didn't like the arrogant unhelpful attitude of the restaurant manager.

    Nice quiet hotel. Excellent evening meal on the Saturday night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    good location short drive along coast to restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the restaurant was open the evening of our stay but the menu was limited choice and expensive.

    good location short drive along coast to restaurants and shops room very pleasant despite choosing one with no sea view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed it and would use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price of breakfast we thought was expensive, so we went to the small bar next door which charged half the price. A fifteen minute walk into town for any other restaurants, if you didn't want to take the car.

    Plenty of safe parking. Food in the hotel restaurant was excellent with a marvellous view of the bay. Most of the staff had a better grasp of English than we did of French, and were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice spot to round off our holiday in Brittany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't think that some of the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

    Hotel is in a nice location with balcony overlooking the sea. Lovely 30 minute walk along the seafront to the centre of Concarneau.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location and worth the extra for sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful sea view from our room, spacious and very clean, with comfortable bed. Good on site parking and nice walk to town with plenty of eateries and good quality shops. Would definitely stay again at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel get new man on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got to hotel on motorcycle very wet day tried to book in early meet nice girl she said half hour called back man at reception told us to go away for three hours asked to change out wet clothes showed us to toilets not nice to us at all

    Just had breakfast good choice lots of it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant spot. Have been to Concarneau before but only the centre. Hotel idealy placed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the weather!

    Both up to expectations. In fact the Hotel its self was brilliant. The wine list was a bit over priced even for France, but the wines were ok. All in all we were all pleased with our stay. Good choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Quiet and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is NOTHING to dislike. The hotel is everything you could want.

    It couldn't be in a better location. Across the road from the beach, and a lovely short walk along the coast to the centre ville. Excellent hotel. The fact that we are allowed our dogs in the room is an added bonus. Breakfast is wonderful, so much choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    One of the best family holidays we have had. Super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic balcony view over Concarneau bay; relaxed breakfast in restaurant with lovely views of the sea. Hotel very clean. Children loved the pool and large jacuzzi-good for days if weather not so good. Staff friendly. Would come here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location for both the beach and exploring the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach was very busy and the walk into the old town of Concarneau was further than I expected but it only took 15 minutes

    Seafront location with the bonus of an enclosed/outdoor swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location in lovely resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Whilst the cleanliness was good, on the third day we had to ask for clean towels in the bathroom as these were not regularly changed. With further regard to the breakfast, this seemed expensive for what was provided.

    The situation of the hotel was very good on a seafront location. A superb beach was a short stroll along the sea front with life guards in attendance. The hotel car park was on site with plenty of spaces. The overall cleanliness was very good. We only ate breakfast in the hotel which was ok but strictly self service with no hot food available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    The receptionist was very helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For me, the ceiling of the shower was too low.. So I couln't use it.

    The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. The food was very good. Nice room with a private parking space in front of the Hotel. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good restaurant, excellent food and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the bedroom. With the sea view you also get the occasional smell of roting seaweed.

    Very good restaurant, excellent food and good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    A very nice, clean hotel in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate elsewhere as the restaurant menu looked a bit expensive. It was closed at lunchtime on the Thursday that we arrived. However, it did get quite busy in the evening and was obviously popular.

    Welcoming staff, great value for money and lovely view of the ocean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    less noise from room above

    clean everywhere pleasant staff..good views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people using the the toilet in the room above

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    A room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located facing the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.0
    We would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at dinner where the courses were served too rapidly. The waiters were disinterested and unhelpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maitre de was not too helpful

    Good restaurant for dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Not for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff, inside the hotel very dark poor lighting

    The room was ok but that's all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Duplex Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    As an overnight stop from Roscoff it is well placed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grumpy waiter for the evening meal

    Close proximity to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.1
    EOh, l do like be beside the seaside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/ coffee making facilities in room. A long way from town centre.

    The view from the window.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no outside bar and terrace

    Balcony overlooking Bay of Concarneau swimming pool at hotel a bonus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay for 2nd year running
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Duplex Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later breakfast

    Warm welcome

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Glad to return to Hotel De L'ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    Ease of access, location to town, quiet nights, very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    3.8
    Very bad
    • Couple
    • Family Duplex Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over rated & over priced middle Class hotel!

    See view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.3
    No comment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not go looking for trouble and mostcerntaily I am not a person who looks for trouble

    Restaurant whilst quiet was of an excellent standard

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    One of the best of our 8 night drive round Brittany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the restaurant and breakfast looking at the sea. Everyone was very pleasant and it was a pleasure.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Food is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing not to like. Bar decor could perhaps be brighter but its a minor point

    Food is excellent. Staff are delightful. High standard of cleanliness. Comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    We liked everything,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We liked everything, The staff were friendly The hotel is in a great location, close to town and beach, very comfortable, great food, Good value.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    Overlooked the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No facility to make hot dink in bedroom. No bath in our room. Told me that as I had booked through an agent breakfast was not included. If I had booked direct it would be included free as the agent had taken commission. I thought that was both petty and rude

    Overlooked the sea. Good walk to harbour. Close to other points of interest

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    5.0
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The busy road lack of ventilation in the room. The dirty jacuzzi and the green algae on the side of the pool, needless to say we did not use either!

    The location. The pool and the jacuzzi which was the three reasons we booked this hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Location, views, food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the waiters was surly and arrogant. We arrived at 8.40 pm and this particular waiter made us hurry to order all three courses as the restaurant was closing at 9pm. He made us feel uncomfortable, as if we were in the way and an inconvenience for him. He did not appear to treat other guests in this way.

    Location, views, food was very good. Guy on reception was okay and made us welcome.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    6.7
    location opposite beach, pool, clean rooms, can cook own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lazy, not bothered attitude of staff - hotel was understaffed during our stay therefore guests waited too long for problems to be fixed e.g. to checkout when only staff member present in hotel was also setting out breakfast, nonchalant attitude when informed by guests that wifi was not working

    location opposite beach, pool, clean rooms, can cook own boiled eggs at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have always enjoyed the warm welcome. The location is great with ample parking and is close to lovely beaches, interesting places to visit and excellent restuarants. We will return!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    5.0
    Just the location, overlooking the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shabby 70's hotel, non-renovated. Wifi not working, and staff replied it was not his business... Fast to forget

    Just the location, overlooking the bay

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    10
    The hotel had great people working in the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel had great people working in the front desk. Provided excellent customer service. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a great view of the ocean. The location of the hotel was perfect place to find some relaxation. The food was delicious I especially liked the fresh seafood!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    Close to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool shut early. No tea coffee making machine

    Close to beach. Pool.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    7.9
    Nice sea side location, quiet area, plenty of parking, clean...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was all good

    Nice sea side location, quiet area, plenty of parking, clean rooms, comfy bed, good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    5.8
    A bit old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit old. It gave me the feeling to be at an old aunty's house. Charming, but...

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.8
    Situation en front de mer / Sables blancs (1,5 km...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situation en front de mer / Sables blancs (1,5 km environ de la ville close de Concarneau)

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    9.6
    German Television
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was pisplayed at 07:15 and be ready at 08:35

    German Television

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.2
    Sea view from bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sea view from bedroom. Outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Great hotel oppositr beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet was temperamental

    Great hotel oppositr beach

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    The pool and other facilities were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed too hard.

    The pool and other facilities were good. Location of hotel and the staff were very friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    Overall, everthing was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit disappointed with the evening meal. Duck a little chewy and bread no up to usual French standard.

    Overall, everthing was good

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower screen was too short.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Shower was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    5.4
    Clean room, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated decor, Sea view across a fairly busy road. Stuffy room, no AC. Open the window for car noise.

    Clean room, comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.3
    it was quite hot when we stayed there and the room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was quite hot when we stayed there and the room was very hot, therefore air conditioning would have been good.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.3
    Location, pool and sea view from room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, pool and sea view from room. Nice airy restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    incredible view next to the ocean awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experience !

    incredible view next to the ocean awesome location

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.5
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location

    good location

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Hôtel De L'océan traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: