Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de L'Opéra 2 stars

35 rue Esprit Des Lois, Bordeaux City-Centre, 33000 Bordeaux, France

#60 of 69 hotels in Bordeaux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1668 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Local bars and restaurants are VERY expensive for the quality of food and choice of drinks offered. Beware ! London prices without the service or quality!

    Fantastic location. Room fairly small but got the balcony and view we asked for. We would stay again for location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for city stroll, opera, good and typical restaurants, evening life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is at 6-7 minutes walking. Reception is not in the hotel, but at 1 minute walking. Breakfast was a little bit too simple.

    very central location, opposite the Grand Theatre, at walking distance to the old city full of restaurants and bars, and also to some monuments. Preferential daily fee in the parking garage not too far from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Amazing location, but that's the only reason to book, nothing else to recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms weren't great, there are no faciliaties to speak of, and no aircon (and it was painfully hot the weekend we visited - we hardly slept). The location is amazing and is the only reason to book this place. The photos look better than the hotel actually is.

    The location is amazing, but that is the only reason for staying here, it's very basic and unimpressive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Staff members and location were great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not sleep well due to hearing people talking in the other room. The reception staff were very helpful but the reception is not in the same building with the hotel. You need walk to another building around the corner each time you need to go to the reception. This was inconvenient.

    Staff and location were great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel without air condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO air condition! When it's 30 degrees outside it gets really hot in the room even at night... The reception is in the other building and we didn't get the information beforehand.

    In the middle of the city! Very clean and a good bed. Fine breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    I came, I slept i left...........
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit shabby and threadbare, but its cheap.

    No reception at the hotel, you have to go round the corner to another partner hotel to pick up your key. Hotel is right in the centre town but very basic. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location. Very well connected and walkable distance to most monuments and sites in the center. Pretty much next door to the Tourist office. Staff was very helpful, very accommodating as I asked to change my room to a lower floor. Great view of the Opera across the street if your room looks that way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Bordeaux is definitely worth visiting, however the hotel was very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of sewage every day which was seeping into the room was disgusting. Staff were not so friendly and not very eager to help with directions.

    The room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay. Hotel good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was poor. One morning they ran out of bread 45 minutes before end of breakfast. No staff in hotel.

    The location was excellent -near the city centre and within easy reach of trams and taxis

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Door key old, parking 1km away, and spider bite in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lock on the door is old and did not work properly...being stuck in between doors late at night is not very pleasant.. Management should invest in a new lock or combination instead of old fashion key. Cant stop in front cause of taxis, had to register at the sister hotel 1 block away with no parking in front either, then go park at 1km away public underground parking and walk back.....you can get lost not knowing where you are at! Very ackwark and stressfull. the price is cheap, but next time will pay a little more to park in front to drop off, working front door and the parking 1km AWAY. Woke up that morning with a spider bite infection, and landed in the hospital 2 days later.

    Good location, that is it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately one of the worst experience in my 22 years of travel. The hotel is located inside a build without reception . Rooms ( at least my one) is as indicated in the picture. My question is “how can potentially 4 persons cold stay inside that room without wardrobe...whit a shower for child ? Room smells of dirty moquette and the only electricity plug is just close to bathroom. I paid 8 euros for a self service (breakfast )? Very very poor and finally as a cherry on the sweet cake at 8 o’clock on Monday morning a workman smoking a cigarette was painting the corridor window..I do not know how this can be called hotel .

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Faded gem in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were really small.

    This is an old hotel which has seen better days. The room and bathroom are very small but the location is just great . It is easy to access by local tram, taxis are outside the door as is the Tourist Office. The breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    The location is the main recommendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not have a reception but you have to go to a hotel around the corner. Room 14 was through the wall from a nightclub and you could hear the music until it closed about 4:30 am! The waitress had to hoover ants out of the breakfast room while we were eating!

    The location is the main recommendation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No reception at hotel: the fact that you had to go to another hotel around the corner to get information. The room was so small and the carpets was stinking

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Clear instructions of where to check in with sister hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clear instructions of where to check in with sister hotel and a nice lady on the desk. Great venue and fabulous value for very central location. Really cannot fault it for what we paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Expensive for a 2-star hotel, although this is France and the location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that reception is elsewhere is annoying.I even sent an email to ask for directions, and even then the reception story was not mentioned. So you schlep your luggage, find the hotel, only to start looking for reception, which is close by, but you don't know that and start checking maps etc. Is it so hard to include this info in the main web page??

    Central location and TV in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location but far too noisy at the front of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise!!!! Couldn't sleep on saturday night as there is a night club next door. The noise didn't subside until 5.45am. Had room 11 right next door and it was the room above the entrance door to hotel which banged all night as people were coming in and out.

    It was a really fair price for the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Supercentral stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, but don't expect any luxury. If I have to find something: Should you come by car, parking is tricky nearby. On street limited to 2 hrs during the day (except Sunday), parking lots around 20 Euros/24 h (as mentioned in the hotel description).

    Location, location, location. If you want a view try to get the rooms with the number ending in 1 or 2 on each floor, they overlook the grand theatre. We had a room on the 5th floor, which turned out to have a shiplike small round window that still provided the view and could be opened to let in the air. The bed was comfortable, the room clean, the bathroom tiny but sufficient. At the price we paid a bargain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice location and staff, outdated, run-down facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is actually managed by Hotel de 4 Soeurs. They are actually located around the corner, so it was difficult to find when checking in. The decor inside was very out-dated, and I don't recall seeing any A/C. The bathroom is tiny. Unfortunately, there was a sticky liquid in the elevator, and it wasn't cleaned up very quickly.

    Excellent location in downtown Bordeaux, with many restaurants to choose from. It's conveniently located near the tourism office. The staff were very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    On the whole it was very pleasent, with good staff, room, and facilities, except the desk manager!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A evening desk person, I think his name as Fernando, was rude and made problems for me to get a delivery to my room. He was really upsetting, and the complete opposite of all the other staff. Made me feel like leaving!!!

    The whole room was a good size, and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Didnt match the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture showed huge windows with a view of the opera house, we ended up with a tiny round window and had no light. I imagine it would have been satisfactory if we hadn't been put on the top floor with the tiny windows. There wasn't even a quilt on the bed, just a blanket.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.5
    Disgraceful and upsetting experience never to be hopefully repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was situated in a side street around the corner from a main hotel.... this is not made clear on your web site and the photographs shown maybe for the main hotel but certainly do not reflect the true condition of the room we were allocated. The property containing the rooms was dirty.. the carpet was sticky and frayed at the edges.. the whole set up including the room smelt damp and very strongly of urine!!!! When we returned to the main hotel reception our concerns were not taken seriously .. I made the receptionist aware of my health condition....Asthma but the receptionist appeared to us as if she couldn't believe that we were questioning the quality and condition of the accommodation. To add insult to injury we had paid for the room and breakfast on arrival as instructed before any keys could be issued only to be told that we wasn't able to have a refund until we had put our concerns and arguments in an E Mail to the hotel manager.. who was not available at the time. This is still ongoing. We then had to travel further afield to find alternative accommodation for the night...not acceptable after we had been travelling for 8 hours..... The following day we received a telephone call from the hotel asking us to return the room keys...these had been left at the reception but once again we were left feeling that this was not being believed.

    Nothing at all as we didn't stay at the hotel Reasons listed below

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.8
    Will never recommend or stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to like...the cleaning staff were the best thing about this hotel. Dirt and dust under the bed though. No facilities in the room. Nothing to help our stay to be pleasant. No toiletries to speak of. It was grimy, dirty and most unpleasant.

    Nothing to like. The accommodation was the worst we have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Great little hotel, great breakfast, nice staff, fantastic spot in the heart of Bordeaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which (although didn’t put us off could have been terrible for, say, people of my parents’ age) was the fact that we were on the side of the nightclub’s entrance and, although we didn’t hear any music, the noise from the people queuing to go in was tremendous upto about 4am.. Didn’t spoil it for us as we were tired but...just a point.

    Croissants were excellent. Breakfast was great. Good choice. Lady behind the counter was sweet...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Quiet comfort in elegant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very obliging. Happy also to find that there was a lift to get up to the 3rd floor. Quiet and comfortable. Plenty of places to eat and easy to get to the main attractions on foot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Minimal but overall great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in could've been more pleasant. We had to go to a neighbouring hotel (1-minute away, but was raining A LOT) and were asked to wait some hours because we arrived early though we suspected they could have accommodated us at noon. Curtain in shower is too long, so might be a bit dangerous - tripping hazard. No facilities in room other than phone (didn't use it) and TV (but all in French). Didn't try the breakfast because it was too early for us (7-9:30, but I guess that's standard). Overall, could be around 20% cheaper.

    Does the job, cute, GREAT location. The Quinconces (one street away) is beautiful and a tram hub (without being too crowded). Lots of great restaurants within a 5-minute walk. Quick and safe luggage storage if you arrive early or have a late flight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Best location, creepy bathroom and installations but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To do the check in you must walk to a closest hotel, as this one doesn’t have its own reception desk (weird). It’s just around the corner. No plugs on room (only one) so hardly difficult to charge/branch several electronic devices at the same time. The bathroom stinks (but it was clean), and the shower is so small and the faucets very bad placed (if you turn while on the shower there might be a chance to hit the faucet by mistake and turn the water into hot/cold). And the showers curtain is so long that you’ll be always touching it while showering (I find this discurting). There is a discotheque on the neighbors basement, so unless you get a room on the top floors you might hear the noise during weekends. And the walls between rooms are not that good isolated, so there might be a chance to listen “passionate couples” on their ecstasy... earplugs are recommended.

    Location; the hotel is placed close to the city centre (5 min walking)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    it's just ok. A bit too expensive for the type of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the toilet was clean, there was a smell that if I'd leave the door open the whole room would smell awful!!!

    The location is the best!! in the heart of the city!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay for short visits.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was extremely narrow, one could hardly reach the foot inside the curtain. Otherwise the bathroom was OK.

    It is really in the heart of Bordeaux.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Spot on for a 2 star, no frills hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hairdryer was like an angels breath with as much power - if a powerful dryer is your thing - take your own. No fridge in room and absolute basic toiletries - bar of soap and 2 small bottles body wash.

    This 2 star hotel right in the centre does exactly what is says on the tin. No frills, no fuss. We had room 14 on first floor at the back. No view, no basket of toiletries but it was clean, incredibly quiet and had the basics all there. The room is individually heat controlled with your own easy to operate radiator. Towels were not changed during our 3 day stay but we folded them up on the rail each day as we felt they were fine to use again. Only 2 plug sockets but we managed. Breakfast at sister hotel is only a bread based continental style so we went out. It's very basic but you cannot fault it for what it is.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Basic rooms with grand theater views
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located, right across the Grand Theater. Tourist information office and public transport stop are right around the corner. Room was very basic, shower a bit small, but the view from our window of the grand theater was worth it. Staff was courteous and our room was cleaned daily. WiFi signal was reliable. Cafe Napoleon 3, just around the corner, had a great breakfast, with the best omelets we've eaten - big enough to share, for 8 euros! Le Bar a Vin was a great place to try out the local wines, with a glass of wine starting at 2 euros.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a room with a view onto the Grand Theatre (Opera House) and the hotel accommodated us at no extra charge. We were on the third floor. Staff friendly. Room cleaned and towels changed daily. Excellent central location for a budget hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Budget hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room basic and a bit dowdy but ok for price and location. Think budget hotel not romantic weekend for couple.

    Basic room in budget hotel but better value than neighbouring hotels. Very central and nearby tram stops. Check in at nearby hotel but staff at other hotel were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    It is right next to the Opera.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very smelly and the shower stand is tiny

    It is right next to the Opera. Very center and near to the tramway directly for the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    The best thing about the hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was facing the Opera which was really nice but at the same time very very noisy. We had to open the window to sleep because there is no ventilation and we woke up several times every night because of people talking downstairs. The breakfast is not really good, for the same money you can find something nicer elsewhere.

    The best thing about the hotel is the location. Is very central and very easy to come and go at anytime. Staff is very friendly even though most of them just speak french.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.0
    Extremely rude receptionist as i walked in he didn’t even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely rude receptionist as i walked in he didn’t even say hello and ask directly for name But at the end what do you expect from french people...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Short break for New Year, Hotel in a great location right in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have a view from room but did not really matter as only used room for sleep.

    Short break for New Year, Hotel in a great location right in center of a beautiful city. Did not eat breakfast in hotel as many lovely local cafe to use, although some can be pricey. Would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.2
    i dont like
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are very old, coverals are not enough for winter. even it is close to city center. enterance are realy complicated, even it is close to center.

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    Good, basic hotel in an excellent bordelais location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with some loud guests, but the hotel kindly offered me a reimbursement and room change.

    Location and customer service. V friendly and professional people at reception and throughout the hotel. The hotel is situated between the Grand Theatre and Monument des Girondins, right above a disco (Le Cercle) and a taxi stand.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is in a great locaion.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a great locaion. Bed is comfotable - the deco in the rrom is rare - looks more like a hostel. Staff great - very helpful. Overall a good placve to stay - anytime again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    4.6
    i do not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a very small window, almost without light, everything was very old, it wasn't the room I booked by booking, i do not recommend

    Only the location was good/ lokalizacja

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    In the heart if things.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was badly lit and I had to find a nearby coffee house so that I could get some work done. The air conditioning released a weird smell, because I think it had been turned off for very long.

    Super large and comfortable bed, with a good, soft pillow. The hotel is right next to the Opera house, smack in the city centre. Very good hair dryer and personal hygiene products available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Good stay overall notwithstanding disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like having to check in at a hotel around the corner. No staff evident at my hotel. Lack of choice at breakfast, which was also sparse.

    Location of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.0
    If you arrive there is no repcetion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrive there is no repcetion. You need to go to another hotel to ask for the key and pay. I wasn't aware of this and needed to call a phone number who explained me. If I had no battery in my phone ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent Location in Bordeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was at a sister hotel around the corner, which took me a while to figure out. (If I had some French, it would not have been a problem.)

    Can't say enough about the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    Small basic room at an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room: extremely small. Not much space for luggage. Check-in strictly at the mentioned time. (No possibility of early check-in) Keys: keys to be obtained from another hotel close by. This hotel does not have a reception of its own. (But this isn't much of a problem)

    Location: at the city centre and at a walkable distance to most of the sightseeing spots. Extremely close to the Tourist Information Center. Reception staff: polite and helpful. We could deposit our luggage at the reception when the rest of the day was free after check-out. Room: clean (but small)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Location of the hotel is a huge bonus, restaurants and tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and you can hear people talk sometimes.

    Location of the hotel is a huge bonus, restaurants and tram stops in walking distance. It is in the city centre and the ground floor is a night club but i did not hear any noise during night. Room a bit small but you got what you need. Perfect for one.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    This is a small hotel bang in the centre of Bordeaux. The room was not big but adequate. It was clean and tidy. Comfy bed. Enquire fine. Good shower. It was a bit noisy in the night although we had the double glazed windows shut. The windows were south facing so as we're on the third floor we left them open with the curtains drawn in the daytime. The chambermaid did keep closing the windows despite us leaving a note. Reception was helpful and let us leave our luggage until the afternoon on the day of our departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confusing that you had to go around the corner to book into the hotel. If the cafe at the side was not open we would of had no idea. Need information putting on the hotel front door.

    We all thought the location was perfect. Very clean. Basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    The room is adequate for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room interior looked old. Also, we got 2 double beds instead of a single large bed, which proved to be inconvenient.

    The room is adequate for the cost. Also, the location is great - it is well connected by tram and other public transport options. The immediate neighbourhood is good, as it is right next to the Opera, and a few minutes by walk away from the Girondins monument and the Water Mirror.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Value-for-money hotel stay in Bordeaux, but let down by being located near a very noisy night club
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was located one floor above a night club called Cirque, which was noisy on Saturday, Wednesday, and Thursday nights. Consequently, between 1200hrs-0400hrs every night the club was open all you could hear was a "boom-boom" of the bass of the music as well as noisy people walking in and out of the club, so we got no sleep until after closing time at 0400hrs. At no time were we informed that we were located just above a busy night club. This experience ruined an otherwise excellent holiday.

    The room was clean and cosy and the hotel was well located in central Bordeaux, close to all attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Simple hotel, bang in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is rather basic; internet was not very stable and quite slow. Late at night, some sound comes in from discotheque downstairs.

    Simpel hotel in the middle of the Bordeaux center, close to trams. Room is clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.3
    Location is the only plus. If you have extra money, I would upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c, noisy fan, carpeted bathroom, no place to put soap or shampoo, smelly curtain, bad internet, awkward step up to shower, key had to be replaced/worn. Good price but I will spend more to have a/c and more upmarket facilities.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.4
    Great location but cleanliness not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no visible staff, just at reception in a separate location. The cleanliness wasnt the best, there were stains on the side of the bed.

    The location is fantastic. Windows open onto a really nice street. Everything is close by and easy to get to from the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay however wouldn't go back because of the smelly drain situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower too small. Drains in ensuite very smelly.

    Fantastic spot to stay. Rooms very clean, bed very comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but it can improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived at the address specified in the reservation the door was closed and there was a written where was indicated where to go (the main door was in another place). It wasn't possible to use the kettle in the breakfast room (locked). The elevator was quite old.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location and the view from our room was wonderful. The room was clean and tidy. It was possible to use the computer to do the check in and print the boarding passes for free. The staff was kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed a little small for 2 persons and not very confortable Small bedroom but acceptable for 1 or 2 nights

    Excellent location and very nice view on the Opera, clean bedrooms and bathroom, helpful staff. Hotel located in the city centre but not too noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location, good value. Room a little small for two people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, and check-in a little inconvenient as you need to go to a different hotel around the corner to do it. This could be made clearer in the booking confirmation.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in Bordeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The downsides to this hotel are the noise from outside if your room is in the front of the hotel should you leave the windows open. There is a nightclub directly below and the road is constantly noisy from traffic, bin lorries etc throughout the night. If you close the windows you can't hear the noise outside as much but without air conditioning the rooms are very warm. You are provided with a fan which helps a little.

    Hotel L'Opera is a small, basic hotel, the rooms are clean, bright and comfortable. The beds were made up, the bathroom cleaned and fresh towels provided daily. The hotel is in a great location for busses and trams with Quinconces terminus being just around the corner. Bars and Restaurants were just a few minutes away. The reception is just around the corner in Hotel Quatre Soeurs and we found the staff there friendly, helpful and obliging.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location on a budget, but room size to match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is small, round the corner from the reception of the sister, check in hotel, and rooms accessed by the tiniest lift I've ever been in. Still, we did get both us and our luggage in, so it was adequate. The room was small and the bathroom also tiny.

    The price was at the budget end we were after and the location was first rate. As a first time visitor to beautiful Bordeaux, we couldn't have been better placed for walking to attractions and good places to dine. The view from our little balcony was terrific.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location so able to easily explore despite small lack of facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size is rather smaller than we thought and the shower is not up to modern standards. There was no complimentary tea/coffee on offer in room.

    The location was excellent and the room ok and the prices was reasonable for a 2 star hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Simple, 2 star accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in is at the sister-hotel around the corner, the room was very very simple, and the shower stall was tiny- It was very inconvenient.

    The location is very convenient, and the building has a lot of old character, including very high ceilings, and large windows to let in fresh air and natural light.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Utilitarian room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No A/C in the summer was rough, but a fan was provided. Old carpet on the floor and a tiny shower with the dreaded shower curtain that touches every part of your body when showering was not fun. BUT, you get what you pay for and the rate is reasonable!

    Great breakfast spot, central location, easy accessed through public transportation, right by a cab stand that has a reasonable rate to the airport, and the concierges were all helpful and gave us a recommendation for a delightful restaurant in walking distance. We stopped in Bordeaux for one night because the airport has the cheapest tickets for many destinations, but we absolutely fell in love with the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Loud music 2 storey up at 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great but if you are a couple or older or pregnant do not go in there as u will not sleep at night

    Loud music 2 storey up at 1.42 am and reception did not answer the call although they were supposed to be 24 hours

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    One nigth stay in the amazing City during "Europe auto trip 2017"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one, the reception of the L'Opera is in another hotel (partner) so after hours of driving it was a little bit not easy to park the car, find reception and check-in

    Greate location of the L'Opera hotel is the hit. The room is compact but clean and everything is available and works (we took hairdryer and iron on the reception), design of the room is interesting. Very good for all bad, we got great relax after promenand. Window is oriented to the internal yard. I had nice feeling staying so close to the Opera and other Great places in beautiful City. Parking is close to the hotel, we used public one without hotel discount just because could find free place for car ti stay while check-in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    5.0
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from 3 storey up with loudest music and no contact to reception no one answers terrible exprerience it's almost 2 am and I can not sleep

    Terrible terrible experience it's 1.42 am and I can not sleep because some idiot is listening to the music out loud 3 storeys up I tried to call reception to complain no one answered I am 8 months pregnant and I am really suffering Terrible experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Amazing value, perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly nice and capable and the location was simply perfect. The room was clean and comfortable. The view of the balcony was priceless and we had a restful night there. Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get in to as shared reception with another hotel and confusing directions so went around the block a few times with heavy bags.

    Location and was reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Compact central in Bordeaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities.

    Spotless - comfortable bed and great bathroom if not a bit small. Perfect for single traveller like myself. Great location close to all that Bordeaux has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dated interior. Very small shower. Had to check in and collect key from a different hotel nearby which I didn't realise, so took some extra time to check in (not a big problem, but would have been helpful to know that in advance)

    Great location, comfy beds and dark curtains

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Stictly overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has no reception; it shares with the Four Seasons hotel round the corner. The receptionist at the Four Season was very helpful with providing a place for us to store our bicycles, but this was on the first floor, steep steps and no lift. We did not have breakfast here because of the poky little breakfast area.

    The hotel had no air conditioning but at least they provided a fan which was useful. The hotel is in a prime location for sightseeing and the tour bus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Ideal for a short stay in an amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated in an amazing location — right next to the Opera in Bordeaux, and is quite cheap as well. It's a stone's throw away from all the tourist attractions, but also there is a Carrefour nearby to allow for a more budget dinner. The staff were very nice and patient with my broken French. The room was clean, though it was a bit dark inside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't know we had to go round the corner to a different hotel to check in and get the keys to our rooms. It could be more clear and all the websites it's advertised.

    The location was amazing! Right in the middle of town, so close to public transport, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Everything here is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator speak France. The floor in bathroom too old.

    Everything here is good. The reception he is really nice. Sorry I can't to write his name. He name is Ja.... he is a kind and help me :) This hotel is old and classic. There are have just some flaw because here is old but it's not my problem

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.3
    bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bad smell in the hole hotel. Also in the room. The bathroom donst look very good. Neither the room, the bed. Too old for a "modern" hotel. Bad towels. I choosed it for the location. In the booking presentation looks much better then the reality. Too bad. I stayed 1 night. I personaly dont recomand this hotel. The staff was ok, but to checkin you need to go on another building on the corner at another hotel. That was very strange. Also at the first view it looked like it was permanently closed.

    Near the center, near Opera

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: