Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De L'univers 3 stars

12 Place Chateaubriand, Intra Muros, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#34 of 69 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1859 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location right in the main square with a good terrace for drinks and excellent coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was on the top floor and was rather small and a bit dark. However to be fair many hotels in Saint Malo don’t even offer single rooms and it was perfectly adequate for the time I spent in it. It would be improved by being painted a lighter colour.

    Hotel very central and the room and public areas were extremely clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Kilkenny guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked tea making facilities in the bedroom. While the bathroom had a nice big shower area the water kept spilling out onto the floor. Also the bathroom door kept sliding open.

    The location was excellent and the room was very spacious and bed was very comfy and exceptionally clean. The hotel had a really good lively bar with great beer and cocktails. The bar staff were very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    It is a wonderful location within the walled city and we enjoyed our time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small and we had trouble finding a space for both suitcases. finding a carpark was quite stressful.

    Very modern and a great location. We enjoyed using the adjoining bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location for beach, shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the side of the bath very high - definitely not for anyone with a hip disability, of large proportion or the vertically challenged.

    Excellent location for beach, shops and restaurants. Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Good place to base ourselves for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent and cheery, hotel was clean and fairly well equiped and in an excellent location within the old walled city of St Malo. Room was okay for size and we werent bothered by noise at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Wonderful staff and café bar and lovely accessible beach but room too small for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room for three people called superior was too small. My husband who is slightly handicapped could not climb into the shower/bath. I should have requested a handicapped room.

    The café bar and the staff were great. They served a delicious café crème and crosissant in the morning for only 3 euros. I prefer that to the buffet breakfast at 12 euros. You can walk to the beach!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    We stayed there in the night of victory of France in World...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed there in the night of victory of France in World Cup . Absolutly fabulous experience. We won't forget the atmosphere of the hotel bar! We thought we were in real headquarter of the celebration. Hotel is in perfect location to the stroll on the ancient city walls, parking place is three minutes of walk from there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right above where cars of goods were unloaded. It made alot of noice riding over the big stone street.

    Room and bathroom very clean and spacious. Nice to have a terras were you can drink in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Old tired hotel that is centally placed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a problem, outside the city wall and pushed up the costs a lot. Its a bit old and shabby, dark with a leak in the roof near breakfast area. Rooms were dark and dreary, the lift was a tiny cupboard that I would put my elderly mother in and then run up all the stairs to let her out at the top.

    The location of this hotel was good. Very centrally placed and I'm sure it was a lovely hotel once upon a time. Breakfast was Ok, a nice fruit salad with lots of fresh fruit. a selection of cheeses with breads, cakes, etc. Staff were fairly polite and amiable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Loved our stay, close to all beach, location in the walled town was excellent. L
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 steps to entrance, so had to drag cases up !

    Great position, very friendly staff, comfortable bed, great breakfast. Close to restaurants and beach.Would stay there again.👍😎

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Very plesent, will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a problem with the raised steps out of the room door and into the bathroom, I fell into the bathroom and the corridor hurting my toe, and my young Grandson did the same, very dangerous.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely love the location of this quirky hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely love the location of this quirky hotel. Bars, beach, restaurants and shopping within a stones throw of the hotel. Hotel bar is a great place for watching the world go by with a glass of vino 💕🍷😎

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Good size triple room and stylish bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    English speaking staff would be helpful. Very noisy late into evening, and because it was so hot we had to keep our windows open. Need a larger lift- only room for one and a case! Breakfast was really only continental- no cooked breakfast available except boiled eggs.

    Good size triple room and stylish bathroom. Good location within the intramuro. Good place to sit outside drink and people watch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    The bathing facilities were good and the bath was big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow cases were dirty with dark black marks. As we were English, the language barrier made it difficult to check in, even though a sign said they spoke English. The room was €100 and in all fairness, it was a big room but we couldn’t leave the windows open due to the noise from the busy bar and restaurant downstairs and there wasn’t any air conditioning in 28 degree heat. It was late at night when we arrived and due to travel, we just wanted to sleep. The mattress wasn’t the most comfortable either. I felt that the price exceeded the facilities provided and will not stay there again.

    The bathing facilities were good and the bath was big.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    We have stayed at L’Univers several times, great location for St Malo
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised to find towels were quite old and worn thin, this was disappointing for what we paid. The room was very spacious with a good seating area but could have done with more comfortable furnishings

    The room was spacious and the bed ver comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    All told, a comfortable, pleasant and airy hotel, and will go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We weren't able to get into our room until 45mins after the due admissions time. Also, laundry lorry with huge metal trolleys clattering over the cobble street outside the window at 5am each morning was a tad tedious. And the smell of cigarette smoke (although guests can't, of course), seemed, somehow, to pervade the air!

    All very comfortable, and the breakfasts excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel disappointing. Everywhere smelt of stale smoke. Although bed and bathroom clean, the smell was horrible. Very noisy outside all night. Room gloomy. Shower good but raised up quite high so not easy to get out of if you have any mobility issues (Room 112). Wouldn’t stay again.

    Location - central to old town St Malo

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait at the cafe for breakfast which was only a croissant and a bread roll with coffee and an orange juice - took about half hour to arrive. Rooms were too small and tripped over the step to the bathroom. The shower door was broken and didn’t open / close smoothly.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    I had a surprisingly free upgrade in one spacious and wonderful room, with the fireplace, a sofa, three large windows and the romantic view on the castle. I wouldn't be more happy and satisfied. Fast Wi-Fi and strategic intra muros location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    I had a Good night sleep and a tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is small can only get one person and a suit case in it with a bit of a squash, but I will always stay at the the L'Universe it a smashing Hotel, the staff are lovely.

    I had a first floor room which had walk in shower which was great as I have arthritus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    It was a very short stay but nonetheless it was a very pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints at all

    I have stayed here a number of times as it is so covenient for the restaurants and shops which are on the doorstep and also the train station and the port which are only both about 15 minutes walk away and on the flat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    All of the corridors and our room stank of cigarette smoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the corridors and our room stank of cigarette smoke even though we were in a non smoking room. Even we smelled and so did all our luggage after sleeping there for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The receptionist Nina was very helpful on arrival and tried...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist Nina was very helpful on arrival and tried to get our room ready for check in as early as possible since we said we had just arrived with the early morning Brittany ferry so she gave us our room already at 11am instead of waiting until 3 pm. Other reception staff were also very friendly to give information about finding spots in the town. Hotel has a fantastic location in the midst of the town, could have some tea making facilities in the room but otherwise very comfortable for an overnight stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for an overnight stay close to the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You had to climb up to the shower. I have a dodgy hip so this is not suitable for me

    We had to leave before the advertised breakfast time. The hotel served breakfast early for us which was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. 20 minute walk from the train station and 10 minute walk to the ferry terminal. Plenty of restaurants around. Friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Relaxed and satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant, especially for dinner, though there are many close by. Perhaps a warmer bedroom.

    Friendly, family atmosphere. Simple breakfast but no restaurant. English language television news and the wi-fi worked in the room. I hope to visit again this year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are pretty thin, we can hear other guests moving around.

    The staff was very helpful, the room was clean and the location of the hotel was great as it was near restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    The building of the hotel is in nice traditional style in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building of the hotel is in nice traditional style in a very picturesque part of town with a view on the city walls, very friendly stuff, there is a pleasant bar as part of hotel and many good restaurant just every where around, so it is very friendly and vivid atmosphere. It was easy to access it with a car all though it is inside of the city walls.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Great location! Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was very small but it didn't bother us. We used the stairs.

    The location was great! Just in the centre, walking distance to all restaurants, shops, point of interests and facing to the historical city walls. Hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but it has a great bar and there are plenty of nice restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    A little bit of decadence in winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spot on.

    This place for us was a step above our usual accommodation. It had a lovely room. Great bed and heating. Even had some English TV channels. Located right in the town. Bit of a walk from the train station but manageable. (even in the blustery wind). Has a cute bar and yes the snacks they bring out are free. You can tell we aren't used to this.... It was super cheap as it was in the low season. Our room looked out onto the oldest building in town!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Superb position within the Intra Muros, friendly staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb position within the Intra Muros, friendly staff, good atmosphere with the ground floor bar and exterior terrace, plenty of public car parks within a short walk, and a highly-recommended associated restaurant the Jacques Cartier five minutes away. The hotel is agreeably old-fashioned, with bags of atmosphere. I will be happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.0
    Location is great, half way from train station to ferry...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold rooms, insufficient heaters. Very noisy all night and day due to lack of noise isolation. Internet system is not working most of the time and when it does, it's the slowest ever. Couldn't even access my emails. Needs to be improved. Owner seemed very angry about me doing the reservation through Booking.com and getting a better rate. Well...

    Location is great, half way from train station to ferry terminal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Attentive staff who greeted you on sight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Creaking floors from guests returning to their rooms, but "hey" at £60/night for two (excluding breakfast) I can live with it.

    Attentive staff who greeted you on sight. Excellent bar and very comfortable beds. The hotel does not have a restaurant but is flanked by several good/excellent eateries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, off-season in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little better in terms of juices etc - we went out to eat after the first day. The baggage room was not locked and did not seem very secure. Staff are helpful but not over friendly.

    Location was fantastic, right in the main square of the old walled town. Handy to have a bar and restaurant attached. Prices in November were very reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    A welcoming location after a long drive up through France
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location just inside the ramparts - parking across the street or round corner (pay during the day). 5 minutes drive from the ferry. Very welcoming staff, pet friendly, jolly bar and within crawling distance of half a dozen restaurants. Highly recommended, great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    L'Univers is right in the centre of the old town, making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    L'Univers is right in the centre of the old town, making it easy to choose from the many restaurants nearby. It also has a friendly and interesting bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location in st Malo and a lovely hotel. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was only tepid in the shower which also was a bit dangerous due to its height off the floor. Also shame there’s no kettle tea coffee etc in room.

    Very clean room with excellent comfy bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room With Castle View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Free wifi is appreciated but it is a little annoying to have to get a new password every 24hrs for EACH device (i.e. phone and laptop).

    Amazing location right on the main square, just inside the gates of the old town. Very friendly staff. Was sometimes woken up by suitcases rolling across the cobblestones in the early morning hours but otherwise things quieted down at night. Someone who is particularly noise sensitive might want to request a room facing away from the main square. Tip: there is a Carrefour grocery store a few blocks away where you can grab some inexpensive breakfast, snack or lunch items so you can save your $ for nice dinners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Not spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel reception stinks of cigarette smoke all the time, the outside eating and drinking area also stinks of smoke and is like sitting in an ashtray.

    The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.8
    A very run down large hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    A very run down large hotel. Shambolic reception/breakfast room area. Hospital type rubber mattress protector under sheet. Bathroom needed updating. Cheap at E75 per room, but it needed to be.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault it!

    everything about the hotel was just perfect for our short stay to Saint Malo. The location is in a perfect location for bars and restaurants and as its situated in the corner within the walled city its a great starting position to walk the walls from start to finish and for exploring the many streets of shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Too short
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift. Small and cosy, max. 2 persons. Would not have liked to share with a stranger!

    Situation in busy, lively corner of St.Malo. Well positioned for walking the ramparts and taking in the splendid sea views. Marina nearby, Fairly easy reach of Jersey ferry. V.G. restaurant La Duchesse Anne close Parking OK

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Uncomfortable, noisy and reeks of smoke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at the hotel around 3 pm to be told that the room wouldn't be ready for another hour. So, not the best of starts. There were 2 women on reception and they couldn't raise a smile between them. They were both quite surly and clearly couldn't care less that our room wasn't ready at their own recommended time of 3 pm. When we eventually ascended to the room we were met with a terrible smell of old, fusty smoke in the hallways leading to it. The room itself was ok size-wise. However, there was a window which opened directly on to a flat roof meaning that guests from adjacent rooms would be able to enter our room if we left the window open. Not exactly conducive to a sound sleep. The shower room was tiny, and the sink was one of those that takes 30 minutes to drain. The bed was the equivalent of sleeping on a pile of rocks. So uncomfortable we both suffered backache when we managed to clamber out of it. Not that this discomfort seemed to affect the guy in the room above ours, who managed to bang his headboard lustily against the wall as he conducted some energetic manoeuvres during the night... and into the early morning. Creak, bang, creak, bang, - just the lullaby we needed. Maybe the hotel should invest in better sound-proofing, a thorough defumigation of the hallways and some new mattresses. On the bright side, the lady who checked us out was very, efficient, friendly and courteous. She could teach the previous sour-pusses a thing or two about hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in Intra-Muros, ideal for the numerous cafes, restaurants, bars etc. We only stayed the one night but the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Looking forward to many more stays
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We usually love having breakfast here however this year seemed rather disorganized , plates would be better in food area not on tables , the fresh coffee ran out and the layout of food didn't seem to work although food was fine.

    Love this hotel and have been coming for about 15 years , its very convenient for ferry and is in lovely area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was pretty poor. It was a buffet style breakfast but not much available and at 12 euro a head I would expect more.

    The location was great and the hotel bar was very good. Staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and of a decent size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    A comfortable hotel, just a few steps from a lovely beach. Excellent staff, great bar. Not our first visit, it will not be our last.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Good view in the end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial room was dark with no view, looking on to aircon equipment. I need to pay an extra €20 to be given a room with a.view. No tea or coffee in the room.

    Good view in the end.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Looks fun but poor value for money and disappointing level of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On first impression the location looks fun and interesting in the St Malo old town. However most of the bars and restaurants appear to be of mediocre quality and poor value. What particularly annoyed me about the hotel was the attitude of the night receptionist. I was sharing a family room with my wife and two children. We had not long gone to bed around 10pm when a party of people returned to their room above. For the next couple of hours they kept us awake with their noise. We called the night receptionist two times and asked if anything could be done to quieten the party above. The receptionist gave garbled nonsensical responses and refused to do anything about the situation. He claimed that he didn't speak English although it was obvious to me that he understood but could not be bothered to act. It was like a being in a youth hostel apart from the price.

    The family room was smart, clean, large and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Right in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is exceptionally small, you would struggle to get more than a person and their luggage in.

    Great location in the old town. We didn't bother with breakfast, a takeaway can be had for a fraction of the price in the square. Rooms were relatively quiet considering its location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    great location in the heart of Intra Muros
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no hotel parking so its a bit hit and miss - we found a park around the corner at 25 euros/day

    the location - brilliant to be right in the heart of things in St Malo. Staff were very friendly and the terrace bar is fun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable but very overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road sweeper very early in the morning. Lift.......joke..never seen one so small health and safety...

    Nice view during the day of the museum and square area and nice at night all lit up

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant & surprisingly quiet after midnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the breakfast - if you don't eat much at that time of day. Also we did not see the price advertised or were told. However it was left to one's conscience to say if you had breakfast!!

    Breakfast choice was very good. Bathroom was great. Bedding & pillows were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Great central location and a decent bar outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room which was expensive for what it was (maybe that's just St Malo prices). Also, very little water pressure in the shower. For a cheeky weekend away though, it's not bad.

    Great central location and a decent bar outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    People watching paradice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and the shower had been renovated more times than Joan River's face.

    The bar's and the 19th century dumb waiter that was the elevator - quirky. The view over the square and the Hotel du Ville - priceless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location to explore from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If it's very hot then the rooms get warm in the absence of air conditioning. If you have young children request a room off the front: there's a lovely atmosphere in the square at night but makes it noisy when windows open.

    Location. Delicious breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    good stay in St Malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was polite and efficient but not particularly welcoming

    excellent location in the heart of Saint Malo, clean and comfortable. Perfect for a short stay to visit the town. We had a room at the back so it was very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel and staff and would definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a kettle in the room for tea and coffee The window didn't close properly which didn't matter because the weather was warm but it let in the noise and the smell of smokers from the outside bar which would have been a problem if I had my children with me

    Very clean and comfy bed Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice enough hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in the room and the weather was very hot. We had to leave the windows wide open every night and we both got bitten by mosquitoes in the room! We thought the hotel was quite expensive and breakfast was not included.

    Nice enough hotel. Good location inside the old city walls. Saint malo is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Very small room for the price and extremely unpleasant desk lady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I booked a SUPERIOR room, price 149 euros/night: they offered us a max 10 sqm room. When I asked for another one - meaning for what I payed for - they (she) gave us the key of a room for handicapped persons, meaning 3 beds and a huge bathroom equipped for this purpose. Not a holiday place... I refused and returned in the tiny room Nr 306: the desk lady was extremely nervous and told me that she already gave the room to another person and that she has told me to bring immediately the key, which I did, but clearly not quickly enough. So we stayed for 6 nights - 900 euros -in a such small room that it was really difficult to get out of the bed and not hurt yourself.

    The bar of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Ok. But wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Loud. Tiny bathroom. All feeling scrambled. Felt like tourist sardines on holiday.

    Fun location. Charming woman from Denmark on reception who helped us get a better room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel rely on location not service..!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift facilities ,reception not very helpful, lack of communication guaranteed rooms twice with credit bank cards ..? Disabled room with wet room 3rd floor..??

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Very convenient, friendly and accomadating. Would recommend to a friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was stone walls. Not sure I would have been happy with this at full price.

    It was a very short stay as arrived late at night( welcomed with a smile) and left early morning( very friendly and efficient receptionist). All went very smoothly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. Only stayed one night with a friend but any more and we would have been tripping over each other. Warning to those used to North American hotels - twin room here means two very skinny single beds, not like two queens you get in Canada or US

    Room faced the back and was nice and quiet. Location is absolutely superb within the old walled town and among restaurants and cafes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny lift - so claustrophobic in fact that it was impossible to get one person plus luggage into it. Hotel décor very tired. Our expectations of staying somewhere 'nice' within the historic walls of St Malo quickly disappeared.

    Lady who checked us in was friendly and efficient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Experience a medieval city by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The description gave the impression it was near the train station. It would be wise to know that it is about a mile and a vigorous young person, which I am not, could make the walk with luggage. We took a cab.

    The location of Hotel l'Univers is with the walls of the St. Malo fort. Here you could sample lots of restaurants, walk the ramparts, go to the beach, or just relax and watch the artists set up their work every day. I loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel - excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no tea/coffee making facilities. Parking in St Malo!!!!!!! There was no available parking on site and we eventually managed to park quite near outside the walls in a public car park - parking around the walled town can be a bit of a nightmare in busy summer periods.

    We had an overnight stay following a few weeks driving around Spain and France, prior to catching the early morning ferry back to the UK. We have stayed in St Malo many times previously but this was our first time in this hotel which is ideally situated within the walls overlooking the impressive town hall and in the centre of many bars and restaurants. The receptionist was very friendly as were all other staff we came into contact with. We paid for a superior room which was situated on the first floor at the front of the building. Room size was massive with a lovely old feature fireplace. Bed was comfortable and everything was clean. Well worth the money - we will stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Loved the location and looking out over the square and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had everything but was very cramped. Great for me alone. Would be a real squeeze for 2! Elevator was so tiny I didn't dare use it! But good for stair walking

    Loved the location and looking out over the square and the Hotel de Ville

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfortable beds. But only 1 tiny bedside table. We had a room for 4, and an extra bed had been put into a 3 bedded room - so it was a little cramped. But overall it was good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location, pity about the smoking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They allow smoking inside the covered terrace of the bar. The smoke rises and fills inside the bar and gets into the hotel.

    Great location, busy hotel, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    The above says it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We did not eat at the hotel but all the surrounding amenities were fantastic. Food drink and beaches could not have had a better few days break.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful, historical building with very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easier staircase or better lift but it is on an old beautiful building which brings its own limitations.

    Breakfast was good and easy to sort out, the room was spacious and full of history. Lighting was a bit dim but was not too much of a problem En suite facilities were satisfactory but for us , as older clients, the small access steps were a hazard

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great place for a few days away - or longer to explore further
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope, can't think of anything

    Whole experience was ideal. We've done this a trip before and it's never disappointed! Staff, facilities, location - all were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Booking for 3 rooms was made at short notice for 1 night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking for 3 rooms was made at short notice for 1 night stay. Used secure underground car park a couple of minutes walk from hotel. Location within walls of St Malo is a great location for the hotel and nearby restaurants. Really good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    super stay in st malo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Castle View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    would have liked tea making facilities in the room ,but we knew there wasn't so brought them with us. everything else was even nicer than we expected,and it was excellent value for money.

    size of room and facilities were super,nice views,didn't eat there but sure it would be very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: