Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De La Basilique 2 stars

18 Rue De La Visitation, 71600 Paray-le-Monial, France

#4 of 7 hotels in Paray-le-Monial

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 370 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two large beds instead of one. However, they were so comfortable.

    The room was large and the bathroom spacious. The hotel restaurant had excellent service and food, we came to see the Basilica and the religious sites as pilgrims. So convenient and the staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything . It was across the chapel of St Margaret

    We were very pleased with the helpfulness of the staff. The room and amenities were very satisfactory. Dinner at their dining room was tasteful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, with a view of the Basilica from our room. While maintaing an 'old' feel, the hotel is very well maintained, and our room had a very good, modern bathroom and spacious shower. In general, the hotel is remarkably good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The town was an unexpected gem - we only booked an overnight stop here en-route to the Dordogne but were very pleasantly surprised that the hotel and town were so lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    plastic shower gel packs that no human can open without scissors!

    Large room, large bathroom, great view, quiet, great location for this town, excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a double to twin beds.

    Room was spacious, ensuite good. Restaurant meal was lovely. There was a lift. Centrally located. Nice traditional French provincial hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything good.

    Very traditional hotel with nice decor throughout, bedrooms modernised. Fabulous dining room featuring wine bottles from region, lovely furniture, fabric on walls like in a chateau, very good breakfast. Street terrace in front directly opposite Chapel of Apparitions. Basilica close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very Hot in the room, even with open window ( no wind) ; would have been better with airco or ventilator

    The Nice bathroom , the clean room, Very Nice breakfast , the garage for the bicycles.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directly opposite the Chapel of the Apparitions and a stone's throw from the Basilica, the hotel is full of character and French charm. I was very glad of the elevator for my heavy suitcase. The restaurant served tasty French fare with flair.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems at all (we travelled in late May, not yet high tourist season).

    Excellent location in the middle of the old part of the town of in Paray-Le-Monial.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Level Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room is centrally located, hence cannot be adjusted in one's room.

    The location of this hotel is suited for those on pilgrimage. The food and service in the restaurant is excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all. All met or exceeded expectations. A real unexpected but good surprise.

    Welcome was nice. Having access to the garage to keep the bikes overnight with a lift going almost direct to the room was a bonus. Room was a really good size and very comfortable. Great choice of meals in the evening, great location in town and good breakfast. Really enjoyed the short stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful time staying in this quaint B and B. Pascal was a gracious hostes. She let us drop our bags off early as we headed to the beach which she encouraged us to go to. The rooms are darling with lots of charm. The breakfast was just right. Fresh coffee, quiche, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. If we travel back in that area again we will definitely be staying there. Oh yes...I almost forgot. Pascal had a collection of corks that she gave us so we could take them back to the United States and make a souvenir of our trip to France. So kind of her.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely clean modern room in a traditional building. Central location with free parking close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent storage for my bicycle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The history & peacefulness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely welcoming and friendly. Great room,with beautiful view of the Basilica. Everything about this hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. That is not unusual in this area but it was quite hot.

    Very good restaurant. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the classic style of the hotel and the pleasant manner of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A nice little family style hotel in a great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals at the hotel were wonderful. The wine was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Terrific dinner, great value. Very helpful reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location for visiting the Basilique of Paray-le-Monial

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise drain in the shower , which was in my bedroom!

    Clean and pleasant room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was spectacular!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent friendly service. Great location, meal, comfort and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff and private garage ideal for motorbikes

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant en plus de l'hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was just across from the Chapel... perfect position.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food and lovely room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lobby is a bit shabby and needs updating.

    Restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location - directly across the street from the Chapel of the Apparitions. Very friendly staff, excellent dinner. Rooms were large and well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent accommodation in a lovely town. We were going to eat at a restaurant in town but a massive thunderstorm stooped us getting there. The hotel allowed us to eat in the restaurant at very short notice late in the evening and the food was traditional with a modern presentation.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel restaurant. Hotel is very traditional almost old fashioned. Caters well for cyclists with a secure garage for bicycles including bike racks, tyre pump.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is just across the church, which regardless of your faith it's impressive. The rooms are tired but very spacious and so is the massive bathroom. The icing on the cake however, is their restaurant. Exquisite food and service. Overall, a great choice in this town.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's nothing negative I can write.

    We stayed for one night on our journey to Limoges. It was a very good choice. I don't know why it's only rated a two star hotel, should really be more. Staff was very kind, the room was large and very clean and as nicely decorated as the whole hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we arrived late - 10 PM - restaurant was already closed and in the whole village there wasnt any shop / restaurant that was still serving food...

    We just had a stop over for the night rather then spending the night in a hotel along the highway. Much more relaxing

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was spotty in room but good in common areas.

    Room was very modern and comfortable with excellent bed. Shower & bathroom were spacious. Hotel was across from Visitation Chapel & 1 minute from Basilica.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Group

    Nothing to criticize. Everything was perfect.

    The location, and the very excellent hotel, the service, including the punctuality of the taxi driver who picked us up upon arrival and departure, was more than we expected. The restaurant was also very clean. I raved over my escargots, but not so much the lapin.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Wonderful situation with a great view of the basilica from our room. A really unusual room with huge brilliant shower beautifully done out and we were given a choice of rooms including ones dearer than we were paying for since it was a quiet time. Attentive and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely room with plenty of space; wonderful shower; fantastic dining room (ie food)

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful when my husband was not well.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom in needof a little updating.

    Lovely room. Delicious eveningmeal.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good food moderately priced. Helpings a manageable size. Very close to the basilica. Car park close by.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC

    Terrific location next to the basilica.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful town and wonderful hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hospitable family run hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: