Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de la Bretonnerie 3 stars

22 Rue Sainte-Croix De La Bretonnerie, 4th arr., 75004 Paris, France

#403 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    218 euros per night for a double room is A LOT for a 3-star hotel. And it doesn't even include the city tax or breakfast. + The double bed was actually 2 single beds pushed together.

    Comfy bed and large room (by Paris standards); great location in the heart of Marais; metro station a few minutes away (Hotel de Ville); a supermarket just nearby which is open until midnight; several cafes / restaurants in the area that offer breakfast; walking distance to Centre Pompidou & Notre Dame.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC

    Very busy and congested area of Paris. We stayed here because we knew the stores and shops would be open on Sunday. The room was small and no AC. Bring a fan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better towels

    On first arrival, I thought what have I booked into. But although the room was a little small (like many London and Paris hotels) the place grew on me. It was so close to everything and in the centre of gay life.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was too small and there was no comfortable seating area. Also I do not like paying in advance.

    The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They went beyond my expectations in organizing the room and some gifts for my brother as a wedding gift. They were extremely impressed. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sadly, next door neighbors kept opening their window to smoke at all hours of the night, even though these were nonsmoking rooms.

    Loved the hotel. Centrally located and nice staff. Sadly, next door neighbors kept opening their window to smoke at all hours of the night, even though these were nonsmoking rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is perfect:metro, restaurants. museums,shoppong, lively neighborhood. The hotel is well run, with real character, and our room was great (#7).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no power points near the bedhead - as like most people I now use my phone as my watch and alarm clock this was quite irritating, as it (of course) also needed charging overnight. Most annoying feature of the room, however, is the lack of a proper shower. A bath with a hand-held shower-head just doesn't cut the mustard in 2018!

    The hotel is really well located in central Paris at the bottom of Le Marais. Pleasant greeting on arrival and no problem arranging an early taxi in the morning (it was a one night stay). 24h front desk useful as no need to carry the bulky door key with you. Hotel was clean, room average sized for a small Paris hotel and the double bed was large and comfortable. My room was set back from the road and very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nope - nothing I didn't like.

    It was an extremely quaint and very Parisian experience. The staff were super lovely and the location couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental breakfast was pretty minimal and the coffee was weak. Fresh OJ though!

    Great location and nice room. Hard to do better, especially for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location in the heart of the Marais district was fantastic. Close to all the main spots in Paris ( hôtel de Ville, Notre-Dame cathedral, ....).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we paid an extra fee for a better room, a so called "charming room": we were given at room under the roof; at one side the roof almost reached the floor, a wooden bar in the middle of the room was so low that we bumped our heads every time we had to walk across the room. and in the bathroom there was no fastening at all for the shower handle, so it was completely impossible to take a shower in a comfortable way. at the end we were told we each had to pay € 15/day for breakfast; a price that we consider too high for what they offer: tasteless coffee (like a broth), no fresh cheese (only factory prepacked slices).

    in general the hotel looks nice and charming; the staff is mostly nice and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt like we were staying at home. We loved the experience of staying in a former Paris mansion that had been converted into a hotel - it was very tastefully decorated and the attention to detail left the integrity and feel of hominess intact while allowing many people to be there at the same time. We never saw more than one other person in the lobby, and we never heard our neighbors. It was a fantastic stay, and on our next trip to Paris, we will stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV which was due to rainy weather!! Welcome to the middle age!

    Cute and quiet hotel in the heart of Paris. Gad a nice old fashion room with high ceiling. Close to the subway in a small quiet street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is Paris so things can be cramped, however the toilet was quite narrow, and you could not open the door fully if the lid was down, fine if you it was open, but then it was a squeeze to get the door shut with you in it. A mild inconvenience for us adults, more for our younger children who found it a challenge especially if they were in a hurry.

    The room was far bigger than I expected (for Paris) and in this weather, all I wanted was cosy warm and fit us all in! It did that and more! The room was oddly shaped, however the nicely finished bed under exposed beams, balcony and clean appearance made all the difference. The staff were very obliging and polite, we had a lovely experience there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. everything was as usual. not my first stay at La Bretonnerie, and definitely not my last one.

    everything, as usual, was great. except for a minor problem with the internet in the floor, my stay at La Bretonnerie was as usual excellent. also with the internet problem, when i reported it to the reception, Oleksandra and Claire went our of their way to try and help me solve the problem, and when it didn't work out till the next day, the hotel offered us complimentary breakfast on our last day which was a very nice touch. i will definitely stay there during my next stop in Paris.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booked on booking.com Said breakfast included. Once there was told it was not additional 15€ each per day. Then construction under our room. The noise we dealt with for 2 days. The next day all the dust and unknown debris were pouring into the room through the lights overhead. They could not move us until later in the day. And I mean pouring in. Had to deal with that until we were ready to go for the day( woke us up. And I have video of this) don’t know if we were exposed to toxic dust like abestos, etc... no compensation other than changing rooms after the fact. New room tv didn’t work until we got Matience. Was better but not compensated for any inconvenience and booked with free breakfast through booking.com ( that was deciding factor in choosing hotel) yet not honored and was told no. Tried to pay for room from beginning. They wanted us to pay on check out. Also construction below caused a power surge in the room that killed my flat iron and cell charger ( both in use at the time). Still not compensated. Area amazing! Disruptions horrible. Cat adorable. Had it not been for lack of communication with booking.com, and unknown construction to us and lack of any compensation other than changing rooms hours later and frying out my electronics. It was a pretty place. Had been given what ordered I’d do 5 stars. All the issues and I still paid full price and was lied to about “special deal” from booking.com. Hotels lack of any compensation for the noise ( which I could deal with) but all the smoke and debris from tearing down walls beneath and in ability to move us for hours and unsure what I was breathing and still lack of compensation will keep me away. I’ll stay in the area again location is great. Just not there. Disappointed in service all around.

    Loved the location. Great access to everything. Hotel kitty was so sweet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff informed us breakfast was included. Check out staff said we had to pay an €15 per person for breakfast. They waived one charge but we would have gone out for breakfast had we known as it was nothing special in the hotel. Would use hotel again tho. Was very clean.

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks very, very tired and could do with a serious makeover. The TV in the room had no English language channels.

    The location was terrific and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no coffee service in the room and no possible way to get coffee at the hotel or in the surrounding area before 7:00

    Excellent location in the heart of Marais

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...everything perfect

    The location was fantastic. Hotel room was clean and comfort. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel and will book it again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi down everywhere in hotel for two days. They didn't even set up a temporary modem in lobby. And the desk staff - we speak French - couldn't care less. Even by Parisien standards, a truly tiny - if lovely - room.

    Great location in the wonderful le Marais. Well maintained property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning, but there was a fan. With the windows open it was noisy, even late at night there seemed to be noises and loud voices below our room on the street. The outlet did not work in the bathroom, the wifi did not work and the tv was not cable so we could not even watch the BBC. Breakfast was 15 euro each, we did not eat there because the breakfast didn't look that great or worth 15 euro. Honestly I would not stay there again.

    The bed was comfortable, the linens were nice and the accommodations were clean. The location is good near the Marais and easy walking to metro, Notre Dame, Latin Quarter, basically easy to get anywhere. It was a small room but I guess that is to be expected in Paris.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the room a little cramped for 2 people but we managed. Closet space for hanging clothes but no drawer space for other pieces. We worked out of the suitcases daily. These unfortunately became obstacles in the room. 3 out of the 6 power points didn't work, so I had to lose the bedside table lamp in the evening to charge my phone. Lamp lights were very soft, so with less light and less than excellent vision I really needed a bright ceiling light to read maps and relevant literature for our daily itineraries. Good job that I always travel with a flashlight so we used this to complete our daily planning.

    Absolutely loved the comfort of the bed. I had 5 fantastic nights sleep. Ensuite bathroom was cleaned every day. The water was hot and skin friendly. There were drinks and snacks available in the fridge. More water could have been available. The staff were extremely helpful with every request and query. The breakfast staff was extremely caring, jovial and polite. Lots of literature available for getting out and about and enjoying Paris.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television did not work, wifi was weak, no air conditioner meaning the room was hot

    I have stayed several times at this hotel as I like the location, staff are helpful, entrance lobby has a nice reading area including daily newspapers. The rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too hot - no air conditioning and ventilator not sufficient. thin walls - noise can be heard from other rooms

    excellent location, good bed, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like that the breakfast is 15 euros per person per day, we think it's a bit overpriced. Also, the room was very warm. We slept with a tiny fan on and the window open and we were still sweating. In the bathroom it was even worse.

    The location is perfect; close to Notre Dame and Centre Pompidou. Also, it has a lot of bars and restaurants around so it's perfect to try at night. We also loved the view from our room and the bed was comfortable. The decoration in the bedroom is really lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air-conditioning, and it was very hot in Paris that week; the electric fan helped.

    Freshly squeezed orange at breakfast Small library in reception, complete with friendly cat We were offered the use of a small kettle, which was much appreciated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower is very low and height cannot be adjusted. Wish they had tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There is a mini bar, but a kettle would be great!

    Lovely room in good location. Easy access to cafes and shops. We upgrade to the bigger room, which was wise as the cheaper one is very small.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Karen - our lovely desk person

    We absolutely LOVE the hotel for the past 30 years. Our only complaint - it lacks air-conditioning which could be a problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good location for metro, restaurants and shops. Quaint hotel with lift, check your room size carefully as being an older building they vary greatly. No Airconditioning and we were there with some very hot days..a fan was provided.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    The room was very Parisian, clean & comfortable. It had an elevator which was a great joy after Amsterdam & London. The female staff spoke good English & we're very helpful. The location was brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of aircon which we appreciate is difficult for an older style hotel.

    Extremely helpful staff, particularly Karen who was able to answer all our questions. Late checkout for our late departure was a real bonus. Avoid room 19. Charming room 10 smaller than charming rooms 25 and 35.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smack bang in the centre of Paris, great location, nice stylish hotel. Good room; smallish like they are in Paris. couldn't get the Junior Suite, that would have been better.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were fairly small ,Needed a small Mirror above the table so the ladies could do their makeup

    Loved the Location loved the friendliness The beds are very. Comfortable !! The Staff is great 👍🏾 and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one PowerPoint to charge devices and use fan. Difficult charging devices at night as room too stuffy without fan on. PowerPoint poorly located. Wifi intermittent in room, fine in foyer lounge. No PowerPoint in bathroom. No overhead shower. Appreciate hotel is old but we had hoped for better room facilities

    Lovely ladies on reception who were most helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location and room enough for a family of 6, between two rooms. The rooms were charming and comfortable, and breakfast was good and convenient. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Really the only problem. Hotel's front desk is claimed to be staffed full time, all the time, 24 hours/day. It isn't. Result : sometimes you might be locked INTO or OUT OF the hotel. Both happened to me. I was locked IN for about 45 minutes. Yes, it was very early in the morning. I wanted to go out and take photos in the early morning light. Couldn't get out. The desk clerk was napping in a little room off the front desk. Drag.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to have tea and coffee in the room - but there were lots of nice breakfast places within a minute's walk of the hotel, so this was by no means a dealbreaker

    Lovely, characterful hotel in fantastic central location. We loved the fact that it was a bit quirky and very different to large chain hotels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has made a conscious decision not to have air conditioning, on environmental grounds; on a fairly hot day the room did feel very stuffy and I wouldn't recommend it in high summer. A large fan is provided, but opening the windows made it noisy at night.

    The position is ideal for seeing both the popular and less well known areas of Paris. It's close to good restaurants and shops, in a thriving area with a sense of 'village' community. The room was comfortable with an excellent bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room became stuffy when the weather warmed. Hotel might consider providing fans.

    Ideal location in Marais section of Paris. Easy accessibility, either by walking or Metro, to most of the major tourist attractions of Paris. Staff were extremely helpful and attentive. Many excellent cafes within minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Mold on the shower walls. Dusty along the edges cog bathroom and bedroom. The one day we asked for eggs we were told they were not available. It happened to be Easter Sunday.

    The breakfast was mostly breads and fresh juice but very fresh and tasty. We liked the location and the neighborhood. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most comfortable, but again for the price was acceptable.good hotel for the price

    For the money, very good, must know that for the price it is u do not get any luxury Location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    The decor of the room was sumptuous and plenty of space. Breakfast in a converted wine cellar - great ambience :) Location was wonderful. Very close to many sights like Hotel de Ville, Notre Dame, Saints-Chapelle, Conciergerie and Place de la Bastille.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bed room very small and very hot, so impossible to sleep at night. Carpet needs changing. Staff are very French in their idea of customer service.

    Good location- walk out of hotel and being in Le Marais with all boutiques and restaurants is wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They let me check in at 7am-really appreciated it after a night flight. The receptionist was so accommodating and helpful. Very comfortable and clean rooms and great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What's not to like?!?!?!

    HB is a gem in the heart of Paris. from it's decor, ambiance, its rooms and above all staff. everything is amazing. Its location in the heart of Paris nearby public transportation and key attraction sites makes it a true gem. the whole staff is amazing. when i arrived, i informed the reception that i prefer to change rooms to have a more quiet and private room. the next day, my new room was ready before noon and i was able to move in and enjoyed a really quiet private room. When i mentioned it on my departure, Karen informed me that whenever i am visiting i could request the same (or a similar) room, and if available it will be mine. it's such actions that makes a property like HB adorable: the personal touch that its family gives to their guests. made me feel really surrounded by friends and not by hotel staff. I am not a big fan of the morning Breakfast, so i can't really comment as i didn't take it at the hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone who would visit Paris. Special thanks to Karen, Ludivine, Oleksandra (sorry if I missed anyone, but i will do my best for next time to memorize all the names of the staff).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing.. i was expecting more..

    Old style hotel 😍😍, charming and very comfortable. And a great location in the middle of Paris.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I do have allergy to carpets, and the room has a carpet but I guess i forgot to ask for a no carpet room.

    Decoration is really cozy, staff really friendly, location is superb, supreme!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast not worth the money. Lots of eating places in the neighborhood. The rooms were a bit rough around the edges of the walls and carpet, but very clean.

    Great location close to a metro stop, walkable to Notre Dame and Louvre, and lots of restaurants. Restaurants included Asian and Italian as well as French.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower. Just a very narrow bathtub with hand held shower head. One of those terrible wall mounted hair dryers that barely blows any air.

    Full of charm! Large bathroom. Location was excellent. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    the Location of the hotel is great. in the heart of Paris and close to public transportation. the staff was amazing and friendly and very helpful. would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Climate control could use some adjustment.

    The best feature is the chief Concierge who personally advised us about the best restaurants and attractions in the area and the city that we might enjoy. She then followed-on to hear what we experience and then suggested others base on our reaction.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to use the shower being a tall person, because it was connected to the bath taps. Also the water wasn't very hot.

    Beautiful hotel/room Great location near to Notre Dame cathedral

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Nothing!

    The OJ was fresh, bread delicious, croisants yummy and coffee to die for!! Our room was a good size and quiet if you kept the window closed, the bathroom terrific, the bed comfy to sleep in. All staff friendly and helpful. Good selection of restaurants with good prices.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, breakfast should be included. I baulk at paying 60 euros for a family of four to eat breakfast. To compound this, there are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.

    The room was adequate but for a 'junior suite' I would have preferred for my children not to be sleeping in the corridor to our bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con! I knew this when I booked the room but I didn't anticipate 28 degree weather in mid September! Luckily it cooled off at night, I don't do very well with heat

    Very charming and comfortable room. Great staff and excellent location in an awesome and vibrant neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - perhaps access to tea n coffee

    Felt 'typically' French but also international enough for very un-French hubby. Great location with access to every where

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The directions were hopeless! Not hotels responsibility. We got off as instructed at Chatelet. It went pear shaped from then on. Map didn't seem to align our instructions at all. We walked along with cases, before We asked two different (very helpful - but wrong people and got diverse information). Easy way. Go to Hotel de Ville. Take Labou exit. Then Choose Hotel de Ville not the Magazin one or you end up in BHV (department store). Once on street level Rue de Archives is opposite side of the street, walk up 3 blocks to Rue Sainte Croix de la Bretonniere about 3 blocks along. Turn Right into street. Hotel sign visible in front on l h s.

    Loved the location. Very convenient to Metro, lots of restaurants in every direction. Easy walk to lots of attractions. The hotel itself, lived up to its great photos on the net (have had experience in past that this is not the case). Staff very helpful and spoke English. Couldn't even practice my school girl French! Charming room with beamed ceiling and a good size Bathroom which was twice the size of some of my previous stays in other hotels. I have no hesitation in recommending it. I am going to make it my "go to" hotel in Paris.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very small, but this is very typical of most hotels in Paris. We travelled with two small children and had two adjoining rooms which was just perfect.

    The hotel is in a fantastic location in the Marais district, close to lots of cafés and restaurants. Despite being in busy area, the hotel is in a quiet location (or at least our bedroom was). The rooms were comfortable and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel is excellent! You easily walk into the Marais with all nice shops and restaurants around. Close to metro and bike stations. And the bed was lovely after a busy day in Paris!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the noise from the street and heat of more than a couple of weeks in summer - air conditioning would be a welcome addition.

    Front desk, especially Karen, were helpful and knowledgeable. Great croissants and fresh OJ at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air conditioning but we knew there wasn't any when we booked and it would possibly spoil the traditional features of the hotel

    Our room was perfect! The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi spotty upstairs.

    This is my new go-to spot when in Paris! Very Wes Anderson-y hotel, welcoming to my french bulldog as well. Excellent location/ value/ staff (who all speak English well)/ ambiance. :) Cannot wait to return!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the most amazing time stating there, the people were wonderful and helpful no matter how little French we spoke. They wanted us to feel at home!!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Didn't realise that there was no air-conditioning for our trip in July but just slept with windows open and let the sounds of Paris wash over us.

    Brilliant location within walking distance to major attractions and close to a Metro stop. Wonderful, obliging staff. Great bakery at the end of the street and small supermarket just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old fashioned small hotel that still exists has a very good atmosphere. It may has no air conditioning in rooms but you barelly notice. First class location and nothing to complain about due its magical air. it's not perfect but very sweet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dated and smaller than they look in the photographs. The towels felt old. No A/C in the rooms! Luckily the weather was cool. Location was good, Close to all sights. But not for the families unless you want to see drag queens or men kissing like there is no tomorrow!

    The staff were lovely, check in check out was easy. Location was good Close to all sights. But not good for families if you don't want to see to men kissing like there is no tomorrow!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has this unique old european feel Loved the neighbourhood . The cobbled roads n restaurants n cafes .... old world charm. Walking to the riverfront .... 5 mins Staying 10 mins walking from Notre Dam was awesome .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be a great choice in the fall, spring or winter but was too hot in summer. The room felt stuffy and due to noise and privacy, I could not keep windows fully open. Internet was a bit slow at times.

    Very friendly staff. Good location. Fresh squeezed juice at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowhere on Booking.com does it indicate that there is no air conditioning. Fortunately, the afternoon temps in Paris on the day we were there was just under 80' and the nights were in the high 60s. We opened the windows but they either would not stay partially open and if opened fully you ended up walking into them. However, we managed to tie them up with the curtains and there was a fan so the night was comfortable. Would be great in spring, fall and winter but if it got any hotter and/or more humid, it may not be comfortable. So we paid $300 per night for a large room with no airconditioning. If we had made the decision to stay here knowing that, it would be okay. But that information was not available.

    We had a wonderful room with twin beds. It was large for a Paris hotel. The bathroom was large, the tub having a partial glass enclosure minimizing water on the floor. There was bidet and two sinks. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the lounge downstairs comfortable with plenty of books and travel information. Wonderful location in the Marais, walking distance from Rue Vieille de Temple with its shops, restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfortable and beautiful-great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charming Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above

    The hotel is lovely - BUT in summertime it is not air-conditioned and the streets are very noisy early in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In summer it is not Air Conditioned

    The location was fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the quaint parisian feel and the age of the building. Would absolutely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de la Bretonnerie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: