Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel De La Cathédrale 3 stars

12 Rue Saint Romain, 76000 Rouen, France

#9 of 35 hotels in Rouen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1824 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people in the room next door were very noisy throughout the night. Their activities were heard through the wall.

    Excellent situation - very close to the cathedral. Pretty internal courtyard. Good room facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely city .. just a overnight stay ..no long enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Real hard to find!!! Hotel is tucked back on the street & limited signage ! It didn’t help that lots of street repairs going on in the city & lots of streets became one way or blocked ! Even the GPS in car had trouble with street blockage

    Location was wonderful! Lovely breakfast.. Light show at Cathedral quite amazing & worth staying up to 11 o’clock!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    The location in the old part of the city was ideal and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was on the small side and made all the more cell-like by the choice of an overall dark green/grey paint on all the walls.

    The location in the old part of the city was ideal and the entrance to the inner court garden very welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed. Lots of potential but needs significant upgrading throughout and someone who cares.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I was expecting a small room, it had cobwebs and a nasty brown bedspread that made my wife feel depressed. The carpet in the common areas was worn , peeling paint everywhere and the whole place looked run down. Very poor value for money and the pictures were very misleading as to the quality.

    The location was very central and convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful spot, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in rooms on the top floor that overlooked the street outside which was really noisy at night with people coming home from a night out.

    Loved the authentic rooms, the location was perfect for a one night flying visit as everything is on your doorstep. Beautiful place, pretty courtyard garden and a very friendly little cat!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location, disappointing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was shabby (despite apparently being a ‘superior’) and incredibly hot, shower was awful and there was mould in the bathroom.

    Situated in the heart of the old town, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Sleepless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on noisy street with no airco and impossible to open the windows. Was probably 30°C in the room!

    Location, although be careful not to travel with heavy bags as property is on walking street;

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Loved the city, hotel ideally suited for exploring as long as you don’t mind the dated feel of the p
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con or fan. Plumbing left a lot to be desired; cold water tap ran warm all the time. Too much clutter in the room. Bathroom was very dated, shower curtain very undesirable, felt very cramped. Outside areas had threadbare carpets, overall the decor needs freshening up.

    The location was superb. The hotel was quaint but dated. Staff were pleasant. Very pretty little courtyard that our room looked out onto.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    It was very nice to be located in the centre in a traffic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have been told about the location being in a traffic free area, because that meant carrying our cases as ther was no facility for dropping them at the dood

    It was very nice to be located in the centre in a traffic free street. THe staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    The location is excellent but we would not return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the top floor with no access to lifts; the stairs were steep and in places the carpet was worn. It was a struggle to get the luggage to the rooms and no assistance was offered.

    The beds were comfortable and the breakfast table was well stocked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    A fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was very handy to the town centre and just down the lane from the Cathedral and the histories of Jeanne d Arc. We do not speak French but the staff could speak both French and English. They went out of their way to help us. There was a wide variety of food supplied for the continental breakfast which was very nice. Our train did not leave until after check-out but the hotel had a room for baggage. There was also a lovely courtyard to sit and relax in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay & would return on our next visit to Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 28....despite a large bathroom, the separate toilet in this room was tiny & extremely claustrophobic. We would request an alternative room for future visits.

    Location was excellent, staff very friendly & helpful, with a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Location, location , location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and dingy old style French hotel of a type I used to stay in in the 1960/1970s. I thought they’d all gone. Small rooms not very well appointed.

    Location, location , location. Iconic building, rather eccentric, original French hotel, historical

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in being at the heart of old Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was slightly small, but totally functional.

    The lobby and public spaces are lovely. The location is ideal. The breakfast was very good. The staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location to see the best of old Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1950s plumbing. We had a large comfortable bedroom, but the loo was in one room off it, and the washbasin off another - very odd. . .

    Excellent location in the heart of Old Rouen, with an easy walk to all main sites. Lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. Pretty courtyard where we could sit and relax

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Bummer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff service and attitude.

    The hotel advertised that if you were to arrive after 9 PM, to call. We arrived 8:40 and the door was locked. We rang the bell and called the hotel phone, all with no response. We flagged down a national police car and asked for help and they tried, but no response from the hotel. Just when we were at our wits end an English couple who were staying at the hotel opened the door with the key that they were given for after hours entry. We still found no hotel staff but we did find our room and outside door keys hang behind the reception desk. When we told the receptionist in the morning what had happened, we got a one word response: “Impossible “.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful building and courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building and courtyard. Very historic and stunning setting near the cathedral. Great continental breakfast and friendly staff. Very clean and lots of character. Would definitely come again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    We liked this hotel, quirky, clean, friendly - great cat! - and we enjoyed the full breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to reach by car, necessary to drive some distance to park.

    Comfortable; very friendly; breakfast very good; staff cordial, courteous, knowledgeable, professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, wish we had been able to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is difficult if you don't plan ahead. there is a large car park nearby - Place de la Haute Vieille Tour, Rouen, 76000 The hotel is then a 5minute walk away , Approx 17 Euros for overnight parking. There is also some street parking but this gets very full.

    Great character, lovely staff and fantastic position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast looked a bit pricy at 11 Euros but was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room, right at the top of the hotel was a little small and in need of a deep clean and refurbishment.

    The breakfast looked a bit pricy at 11 Euros but was extremely good value. Municipal parking was near by and not too expensive. The courtyard, breakfast room and local environs amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had stayed a few years ago and had a different experience! Even though i booked one of the more expensive superiour rooms the room was tired and in need of redecoration. Room was hot and stuffy, bathroom needed updating and not fully enclosed so you could hear and smell everything! Breakfast basic and lacked choice. Cats allowed in breakfast room.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    The cat, location was great for the sites that we wanted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of electrical outlets, otherwise very nice hotel.

    The cat, location was great for the sites that we wanted to see. The breakfast spread was quite good and provided a good variety to choose from. Staff friendly and helpful the rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Overal a pleasant visit to an interesting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like so many hotels in ancient city centers, the rooms are small, but adequate.

    Modest, authentic mid-evil era hotel located right next to Rouen Cathedral. Easy walking to ancient city sights. Beautiful breakfast location and buffet layout. Desk clerk wonderfully helpful. Not fancy, but fits atmosphere of Rouen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Superb hotel downtown Rouen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel doesn't really have a parking, there was no fan in the room and it was quite hot.

    Very old building, with lot of charm and excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Not to be repeated
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcome, decor, facilities, comfort.

    The welcome was abrupt as though we were getting in their way. The toilet was in a cupboard (tiny, sliding door) with no sink, we had to open the door and cross the bedroom to the small shower room to get to the sink, not v hygienic. the view was of a grubby internal courtyard space (not the pretty garden in pictures). The sheets were clean, the bed pushed up against two walls. Decoration was tired and low quality. The ONLY reason to stay at this hotel is that it is just by the cathedral and on Sunday morning around 10am the bells sound wonderful. Overall though it was not an uplifting experience and we will not go again..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Au Coeur de Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location and breakfast. Room was tiny but cozy, great view on inner court which is very beautiful and authentic and where we spent some time chilling

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfectly located hotel, best to arrive by taxi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of safe secure parking and distance to parking with baggage.

    This hotel scores with the location. Although small the room was decidedly French with a charming window. A view of roof tops and the small courtyard but the sound of the bells made opening the window a pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast was probably the best we had the whole week in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra pillows in the room would have been the only thing I can think of to improve our stay.

    Breakfast was probably the best we had the whole week in France! Lovely breakfast room with a lot of variety. The location was also perfect, right in the middle of everything we wanted to see and do.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was old, very small bathroom and toilet, urgently needs an update to current comfort! Breakfast looks great, but almost all 'fresh' fruit was over the date and could not be eaten anymore.

    The location in the city centre is ideal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.2
    Salon de The was shut and wifi was too slow to connect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Salon de The was shut and having seen the photos we'd really been looking forward to a drink out there in the evening. Apart from the ground floor the hotel looked in need of modernisation. Our shower room didn't look at all inviting and the previous tiles had simply been painted over to give it a spruce up but the paint was starting to peel. Our bed didn't have a headboard so, the hotel room doors looked cheap. Wifi was so slow that we couldn't get a connection during our stay. Overall, everything above ground floor seemed like a student hotel which was disappointing as the photos looked lovely.

    The reception and the ambience as you enter were lovely and the location was very good but that's where it ended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Loved the courtyard of young maple trees and the blackbirds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needed some work done on it which they did- but one morning couldn't shower properly. Breakfast would have liked steamed veg. Or pickles or cut cucumber, prefer this to fruit.

    Loved the courtyard of young maple trees and the blackbirds that sang each morning, the cathedral bells, the lovely coffee and breakfast room. The evening quiet was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    2.5
    dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was utterly unbelievable rude, the wiring in our friends' bedroom was dangerous, the stairs were unlit at night and no fire extinguishers for the attic rooms, no diagram of evacuation in the attic rooms, the toilet was not fixed to the floor, noisy drunks all through the night

    the building was quirky

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent base for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    Excellent base for a couple of days. Basic but pleasant room with everything you need and no frills – as advertised. Very attractive courtyard and, although I didn't choose to have the breakfast, the buffet and dining room looked welcoming. The friendly cat a great bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect for walking around Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect for walking around Rouen. The parking was nearby and had to be paid extra. The breakfast was excellent with fruit, nice breads, good coffee. The courtyard was very charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    A quaint independent hotel with old charm in the centre of town
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds needed headboards and a valance to hide the legs. The room was boiling hot. The stairways were dimly lit.

    A recent redesign and redecoration looked great. The location was perfect. The staff were great when my dog had an accident in the foyer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable but not very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really very small and uncomfortable. The bathroom tiny .

    Very well located but unable to reach with the car. Very nice breakfasts in a good ambiance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice room with comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was temperamental and parking was a bit of a walk with bags, but €15 over night wasn’t too bad.

    Great location, nice room with comfy bed. Friendly staff and crazy overweight cat!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    This hotel is a good choice for a weekend stay for couples wanting to visit Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not equipped to reception anyone with a handicap or a very young child as there are steps to the entrance and the courtyard which leads to the room. The elevator was the size of my child's stroller, which made it difficult to squeeze another person in. The front desk was very reluctant to furnish a bed baby, though they had one available.

    The location of the hotel is in central Rouen, very close to many tourist sites of interest and shopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    good location, good access to the town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathroom very small, but expected with this type of hotel. Hard to access with car. Had to park a 10 minute walk away.

    good location, good access to the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Charming and well located. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It might have been our fault - we did find it difficult to locate. It was dark and we drove along narrow ancient streets.

    Excellent location with quirky charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    The distance to the central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked a double bed bedroom I intended for my husband and I to stay. I only find out the mistake of booking when checking out. The staff could have told me when we checked in and it would save my disappointment. The plastic plant and flowers in the room looked so out of place.

    The distance to the central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Lovely apartment in very centre of Rouen near cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was missing blanket in our room after arrival. No reception at disposal. Big con for us.

    Lovely apartment in very centre of Rouen near cathedral. Great value for money, ideal for one night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    Hotel hasn’t been updated in years.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel hasn’t been updated in years. Tired, worn and very ordinary. Room stank of cigarette smoke but freezing cold conditions meant I couldn’t open the window.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Over night city stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room next to lift shaft ! Noisy!! (room 12) Unwelcoming evening receptionist, couldn’t even smile Old outdated decor

    Location A* Setting Courtyard Resident Cat The morning staff were a different happy welcome to the evening receptionist Very good breakfast and lovely breakfast room Step out onto cobbled streets right in the middle of old area for shops and sight seeing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Very unique, overall a good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO parking :( Rooms a little tired.

    Brilliant breakfast, but for and additional 11 Euro's i would expect hot food for that. Great location in the center and is a lovely hotel however the rooms could do with an uplift. The hotel is very difficult to find, and there is NO PARKING close by. Parking in this city is a nightmare, so I would pre plan parking before you come.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    If I come back to Rouen, I'll stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice atmosphere, surprised in the beginning because the hotel was quite old and the bedroom simple but everything is clean, the staff is friendly, the hotel wal situated and the breakfast is great! An excellent price/quality deal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    Good central location but no parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed an update. We were concerned at having to leave our vehicle in a public underground car park overnight, when the booking stated Parking. That cost us an extra 15€.

    The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good and the central location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.8
    Lovely building, great spot, but still just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is a bit worn and needs some TLC. The breakfast was the least impressive of our two-week trip, but having said that it still wasn't bad.

    Standing at the entrance of the hotel: turn right and you find the Joan of Arc Museum, turn left and you see the most beautiful cathedral. The narrow, cobble-stoned streets of Rouen are absolutely spellbinding and the hotel is right in the middle of it all. We paid half price for breakfast for both our children, aged 12 and 14. We would have appreciated this at other hotels too, as our children eat like birds!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    Okay for one night only but remember the Cathedral is closed Monday mornings which we didn’t realise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd floor room, tucked away down a corridor. Bathroom very basic. Only saviour was that this room did have tea/coffee facilities but our friends did not.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Small and cozy hotel located in the center of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to cross the courtyard to get to my room and this meant getting wet wjeb it rained. The property also did not have any umbrella for guests to use. For a town that rains often, adding this little touch will go s long way for guests.

    Small and cozy hotel located in the center of the old town. Room was small but very clean and comfortable. Very helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    The staff were friendly and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our double bed was squeezed into the corner of our room so I had to climb over my husband to get out of bed. Although the description said there were tea/coffee making facilities in our room, there were none. When we enquired if these were available, we were told that not every room had them. The description also said there was parking available, this was in the local underground car park and cost 15E for the night.

    The staff were friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Great location and historic building.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was three blocks away and was difficult arriving late at night, however this is because of the great central location.

    Great location right next to the Cathedral.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    The BEST location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was on full with no way to turn it down, plus just 1 uncomfortable pillow each, so my sleep was not good at all. Breakfast extra🐕🐶🐾, dogs extra 10.

    The BEST location! In the most beautiful city ive ever seen....lovely building, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Character rather than practicality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A long way from any car parking. Not possible even to drive up and drop off. No lift. My room was at top of 3 flights of quaint but rickety stairs. Not a problem for me but would be for anyone with limited mobility. No bar or lounge area.

    Very central location, right next to Rouen's magnificent Gothic cathedral. Very close to many excellent bars and restaurants. In spite of this, remarkably quiet. No noise from cathedral's chimes. Beautiful outside courtyard (although weather poor when I was there). And the cat: very friendly but very, very fat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    OK, but not all as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just had a quick look before booking and made the choice because the photos looked nice and the hotel offers parking. The hotel is not accessible by car and our (normally very good) sat-nav sent us around Rouen for a while. Then it turned out that 'parking' actually meant a public car park a short walk away - this is not my understanding of a hotel with parking, I find this misleading. We also made the choice because of the bathrooms in the photos, unfortunately, we must have gotten a room without the upgrade advertised. It was clean and ok, but nothing like shown in the pictures. And last, we had a room to the little lane. The hotel being in a great location for visiting Rouen, it is rather noisy when you have a room on that side.

    Friendly reception and lovely and individual, albeit a quite worn decor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.0
    if no other hotel available for one night o.k.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room comfort less then 1star hotel cathedral side very noisy credit card not working, every where same, reception say. 5min later can pay my parking ticket bay card. room dirty special carpet parking 1/2 km away. No possibility for short parking by the hotel

    breakfast good hotel down town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is just behind the Cathedral so is conveniently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is just behind the Cathedral so is conveniently right in the centre. The front of the building is very old and the back where we stayed was probably 1930's. The room was fine for an overnight stay and was adequately furnished. The breakfast is served in a charming very old timbered room and the choice of food was enormous and was definitely the best we experienced in France. There is no parking but we parked in the underground car park at the Hotel de Ville which is about a 5 minute walk to the hotel. The charge is €15 for 24 hours

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    The location is excellent, near the cathedral and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was rather difficult to find. Our room was rather small but was OK for a weekend break.

    The location is excellent, near the cathedral and the beautiful church of St Maclou. We liked the old world charm of the building, especially the beautiful courtyard and stylish breakfast room. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Loved it. Really wish we could have stayed longer.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a nightmare, but to be expected in a city centre. At least I got to know the one way system very well (on my 10th journey round!)

    Lovely place, really atmospheric. Beautifully decorated, and right in the heart of the city. Charming cat owns the premises, but he is very, very fat - the croissants are obviously very good :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    More convenient than comfortable when taking the room into account
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understood (or obviously misunderstood) that breakfast was included in the €170 charge for the room such as it was

    Room No. 21 Top of house Bed linen didn’t feel aired on first night Bathroom facilities - very basic,especially WC.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Won’t book the hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supposed to be a superior room This was definitely not superior it was a very tired room with cigarette burn on bedspread poor lighting dusty room bathroom floor was warped every time you walked on it it lifted your foot up also the stair and hall carpets where a mess the cat would wander about the hall and dining room and sat on radiator in reception area above the guest setee WiFi poor

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Great location but otherwise just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a bit tired. Not very soundproofed but maybe to be expected in an old building. Bathroom and room very small (room 14). Lighting in the bathroom very poor. You're basically showering in the dark! Didn't feel like great value for money.

    Beautiful old building, amazing location and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold and the hotel did not look like it does in the photos. Towels were very hard and old. Hotel was very dated and could do with refurbishment. Rooms weren't cleaned daily.

    Location is very good. Courtyard was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Romantic hotel in heart of old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good, but plenty of places nearby for cafe au lait.

    Perfect location near many restaurants, bars and cafes. Great for enjoying old Rouen, St Maclou and St Marc Market. Very romantic place. We will be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional professionalism.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    I recently booked my Colleagues into this Hotel on one of their many trips to Europe for work. They have come back to me with excellent reviews on the property and the Owner, Angela, who put herself out (Angela was at a private dinner that evening) to ensure that they were received (they were late arriving) and comfortable before returning to her private function. My Colleagues were extremely appreciative of her professional attitude and attention. They would highly recommend this property for future business and private accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for a quick stopover with a good breakfast to send you on your way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was tiny and the shower room/toilet cubicle extremely basic and rather shabby. No air conditioning so if you want to sleep with the window open you will hear a lot of noise from the street below. Luckily it was a cool October night - I would not want to stay there in summer. I think our room was one of the cheapest so others may be better (but were not available when I booked).

    Excellent buffet breakfast in an attractive dining room. Lots of gluten-free options. Decent mattress. Pretty courtyard and good location in the old part of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Ok for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very damp had obviously had a leak the floor was bowed and the smell of damp was very strong. The staff did move us to another room which was a bit better

    The location was great very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    This authentic and cordial hotel is perfectly located for a sampling of ancient Rouen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is necessary to understand that parking is restricted in the old town. We had studied the situation in advance and parked above ground at the Haut VeilleTour, about 3 blocks from the hotel. The actual street in front of the hotel is restricted to pedestrians. The parking was 7 euros overnight.

    The location of this hotel was in the center of the old town, 2 minutes walk from the cathedral. The building is old, half-timbered, and perfectly maintained, with a sparkling receptionist who provided a warm welcome and was anxious to help with the dinner reservations. The breakfast was splendid, served on fine china in a huge dining room, with everyamenity including fine cheeses, meats, breads, and delicious coffee. The bed were comfortable and large and the bathing facilities would suit American taste.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Very cute place wth friendly staff and great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very accessible for the disabled and the parking was municipal about 5 minutes walk

    Huge breakfast choice,centrally located ,everywhere was within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Great location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no on site parking, but I was able to find street parking several blocks away. Street parking is free on Sundays.

    The staff was very nice. The location was fantastic. It was walking distance to everything I wanted to see. The room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Central location, but difficult to access by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to negotiate the roads, pedestrian areas, and tramway routes of Rouen makes the hotel difficult to reach by car, and parking is a nightmare. Decor is a bit tired.

    If you want to see Rouen, (and it is somewhere everybody should see) you couldn't choose anywhere more central. The hotel is full of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Location was great And staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the room was difficult with steep stairs, the lift is very small and only goes part way. We were charged extra for breakfast which was a surprise as it was not identified as not being included. Access to the hotel from the street was quite tricky, we drove with baby but could not stop outside the hotel to unload.

    Location was great And staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Quaint hotel in the heart of Rouen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although this was not the fault of the hotel, it was very noisy in the alley between our room in the cathedral in the middle of the night. The the grout of the tiles in the bathroom was also very dirty as well as the area around the bathtub.

    Fabulous location, people and breakfast. Despite the issues I had with the bathroom, I would still stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    OUR ROUEN STOPOVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room - shower could have been more modern

    Lovely old building with huge character, location was superb, room comfortablec- not everyone's cup.of tea but we loved it 😁

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Charming old hotel right in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy and characterful place to stay. Staff very accomodating - we arrived by bike and they let us store our bikes in the courtyard. Comfortable and extremely central - can easily walk to nice places to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: