Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De La Cloche 3 stars

42 rue du Faubourg Madeleine, 21200 Beaune, France

#23 of 43 hotels in Beaune

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1353 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location spoilt by smelly room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Design of room poor, toilet / shower to rear the extractor fan not working so whole room smelt damp / musty. Also dark as only windows on one side.

    Location, 5 mins to centre. Paid extra for larger room with sitting out area. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Not bad but could be great with modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast was poor especially given the cost. The room although large lacked normal 21st century facilities, eg safe, mini bar, sufficient storage, no English speaking TV channels not even CNN

    Location, the size of rooms, the large open car park

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    One night stop, just as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows old . bed linen didn't fit the duvet. TV too small and difficult to see. Coffee maker didn't work. Very indifferent reception when we arrived.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.0
    A great overnight hotel especially when you book the comfort room !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed at 11.00 and had leave the lounge area and return to your room! The breakfast was expensive so we went across the road and got it there for €7.5 as opposed to €11.00!

    It met our expectations walking distance to town with plenty of parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Beaune Hotel De La Cloche
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dark in the room even with lighrs on.

    Extremely comfortable and spacious family room with two twin beds and one queen bed. The en-suite bathroom was huge, bright, and clean. The room was quiet and parking was free, either right across the street or on the hotel property. Charlene at the front desk was extremely helpful and easy to communicate with. Our cellphones weren't working so I emailed her and asked her if she could make dinner reservations for us. She replied promptly. Breakfast was delicious with freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh breads in a basket. Also included were cold cuts, cheese, yoghurt, and an egg boiler for poached or hard boiled. Coffee was awesome and the server was gracious and quick. This hotel was a 5 minute walk from most of the restaurants and stores in Beaune center. Definitely would stay here in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Great spot near the shops and restaurants with ample parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit basic and could have been a little better.

    Room in the garden was nice with some chairs on a little patio. Nice toiletries such a nice change from the big bottles fixed to the wall in other places. Great location near the main streets and restaurants of Beaune.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    nice hotel close to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice little breakfast, hotel is old, but clean and offers dedicvated motorcycle parking in the backyard. personal is very friendly in walking distance to city center with bars and restaurants Will nbook again if we are there

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay - but don't take the ride on the tourist train ( not value for money!|)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay 20 euros for "cleaning" after the dog! Our dog is very clean & well groomed. The room showed signs of previous canine inhabitants so maybe the 20 euros had not been previously used.

    Location lovely, public parking very good, air conditioning in the room good, character of the building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Charming old fashioned hotel with welcoming , multilingual...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming old fashioned hotel with welcoming , multilingual staff, comfortable rooms, great location near Beaune centre, ample parking on site and a traditional French breakfast served to your table in a “proper” breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Location, room size, parking, staff all good but desperately needs modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The breakfast was poor quality especially for 12 euros and the breakfast room is well overdue a refurbishment and modernisation, the "buffet" facilities were frankly a joke, it all felt miserly and cheap. The whole set up is in a time warp of 30 years ago. The large and comfortable room which cost 128 euros a night, did not have tea/coffee making facilities, a safe, a mini bar, a chest of drawers all things that you should expect in 2018 given the charge. The service of a bottle of wine in the room as an aperitif was very good, but be early for this as they only have 4 wine glasses in the whole hotel (and these don't match).

    Good location for access to the town, and plenty of open parking. The size of the room was very good. All the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t worth 12 Euro.

    Location was excellent and although we had to pay for parking it was worth it. Room was nice and bathroom was good - bath was small but it was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Big room and big bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception. A bit seventies...

    Big room and big bathroom. Nicely furnished room Very clean Friendly staff Very nice garden and outdoor public parking spot. Recommended the rooms on the garden side. Great location five minutes walk to Beaune city center but without the inconvenience to drive and especially park in the city center. Great restraurants (including a star Michelin) and food shops (fromagerie) on the street to place Carnot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Ok location & secure parking & found nice brasserie near by with excellent dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a quiet room but there was a lot of work going on below our room until the early hours of the morning! Reception was not friendly when asking for recommendation where to eat. PS: just noticed this should have got into the box below

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Beaune is beautiful and full of charm. Use Greeters.com for a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff seemed so busy...often the reception area had no one so I struggled to find out information in the town. Bureau of Tourisme did not extend itself beyond handing out brochures and booking a few activities. Disappointed that bike tour was not possible because I was a solo traveler. I discovered on my own a parade and ceremony for May 8 ending of war in 1945. Why wouldn't this be noted at hotel or tourism bureau? I attended.

    Room 11 is located at top--no lift BUT staff carried my suitcase up and down. Charming room with skylights that open and ancient beams.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not on cool, no individual control. Tea and coffee facilities in room would be a nice touch.

    Central location, the staff members were very helpful. Superb reasonably priced car park for a town centre hotel. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Period Hotel with character in Central location of picturesque Beaune!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy at night as we had a street side room (which was lovely) but nearby bars were very lively to early hours of the morning on Saturday

    Perfect location, supper friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Location and private parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in shower in family room. Had to pay for parking despite booking 2 rooms. Breakfast expensive even for children- €12

    Location and private parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, very convenient located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked nicer in the pictures than in real. The bed was two separate mattresses and quite uncomfortable.

    Good location. Reception staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very soft and we both sank into the middle of the bed. The bath was extremely narrow & the shower pressure was poor.

    The breakfast was nice. The hotel has a lot of character. Great location with a large free car park opposite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    This hotel is in the centre of Beaune, but has ample private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park entrance is a little narrow but will accommodate most wide cars. You may have to approach from the other side of the roads as turning can be tight.

    This hotel is in the centre of Beaune, but has ample private parking and despite it's location is very quiet. Loads of restaurants, bars and shops on the doorstep with a variety of menus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    If I could stay in the outside rooms I would stay there again immediately. Excellent location.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first, they put me inside the old hotel in a dark blue room with old blue carpet,that was absolutely unacceptable and not what booking.com advertised. The inside of the old building has NOT been renovated, steps were creaking and I would never have chosen to stay there. It was by accident I saw the rooms outside - which had been shown on booking.com, but not what I had apparently booked. Cost 10 Euros more per night and was worth every penny.

    The "comfort room" that I finally got was excellent private and very quiet. Excellent because of the little garden in front where my dog could go out to relieve herself and of course I cleaned everything up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Clean, close to center, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When was clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They let us stay extra time and park her car in the back after we checked out in the store I luggage for us. Super breakfast .I would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Very clean, well appointed, comfortable and a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities or toiletries in the room. A little bit pricey for the night and parking was extra.

    Very clean, well appointed, comfortable and a good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    - friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - room on the last floor with no lift - wifi requires to log in every few hours - the breakfast choice is limited

    - friendly staff - charming old building - large room and bathroom - a few minutes walk from city centre - comfortable parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    A big difference in rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a comfort room overlooking either courtyard or garden. We were given a room facing a wall and the driveway into the car park. Room was spacious but smelled very musty even though it was clean. The hotel was full so we could not move that night, but were told we could move the following night to a garden room. So this was a stay of contrasts. The first night was probably the worst in the hotel and the second was the best. Yet the price was the same for both..

    The fresh orange juice at breakfast was nice. Staff hardworking and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    An excellent, well-managed hotel, providing a great introduction to Burgundy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious, interesting room overlooking the courtyard and very large comfortable bed. Very well located - 5 minutes walk to the main historic centre, which is charming. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    The location was fantastic, close to restaurants and late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit rustic, the breakfast could have had a few more options - the egg cooker didn't really work.

    The location was fantastic, close to restaurants and late night bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant location, good value, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like.

    Room was clean and comfortable. The off street parking and location of the hotel were brilliant as was the ease of finding it. Lots of good restaurants in the area and great shopping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    To conclude, a nice experience for me to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right in front of a main car park so it was quick noisy. I had to close all windows for that but then the room became stuffy.

    The room was bright, spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a central location in Beaune.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice comfortable quiet room, looked to have been recently refurbished. Car park locked at night. Just outside the main old town centre so easier to access by car, but still within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    I will never return due to the dreadful management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked 2 double rooms for 4 adults and 1 twin room for 2 children aged 13 & 6 years, having added the ages of the children to the booking I was very upset to find that we were on the third floor of the main building and the children we outside in a room off the carpark. I found the young lady on arrival very helpful but the gentleman my husband spoke to the following morning was so rude, we were actually told that we would better suit an Ibis! Our only issue was not being comfortable leaving the children in a completely different building! The Children did not use the room which we still had to pay for. The accommodation was average when you consider the high standard throughout France. We stayed at 7 B&B's/small hotels on our travels and everyone has a delightful tale to tell except for here! Mistakes, misunderstanding all happen, but the managers approach to dealing with the situation was completely disgusting.

    A basic hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    A pleasant hotel with direct access to the lovely town of Beaune
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although authentically French, the room could do with some modernisation and the restaurant looked dark and unattractive.

    The location of the Hotel was good with a short walk into the beautiful town with its many historic sites, bars, cafes and restaurants. The room was comfortable for a one night stay and the on site car park useful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good stay , free parking opposite hotel or pay for parking behind hotel ,very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has no hot food apart for boiled eggs and breakfast costs 11.50euro.

    Staff very helpful and pleasant. Hotel situated in good location in the Main Street very quiet. Rooms are large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Delightful property but make your own breakfast in your room although everything including croissants, pain au raisin and brioche are supplied fresh hanging from your door handle in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location, a few tweaks and it would be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning seemed to actively make the room smell stale, but opening the window to the street meant we were woken by traffic noise. In our particular room on the front of the building the morning sun rose to shine directly behind the curtains and onto our pillow waking us early. There was no fridge in the room and the breakfast perhaps was a bit expensive perhaps.

    Location was really great: just a short walk into the old town. The back car park is easy to use and there is a nice shady table in the small back garden which is very quiet. We also discovered that the public car park right in front of the hotel is completely free (unlike the hotel car park).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Quiet & convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware there's no lift in case you're travelling with people who have difficulties with stairs.

    Good location very close to centre. Quiet. Big public car park next door + parking in hotel available for 5€/night. Good breakfast for 11€. Big supermarket next door and many shops further away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a little disappointed with our room, which was on the ground floor off a small courtyard and was rather gloomy due to lack of light. No comfortable chair in the room and the bed wasn't great. However, some rooms looked much nicer, although probably more expensive (ours was a standard room). Also we had to pay for parking - we knew this in advance but this hotel is not cheap and I think parking should be included in the price.

    There was a nice little garden to sit in, with table and chairs so you could have a picnic lunch. Easy walking into the centre of Beaune. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Good value, convenient, basic hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled slightly of cigarette smoke. The hotel is older but well maintained.

    Great convenient central location, good value, adequate breakfast and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant in Beaune
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gate is very tight.

    This is the 4th time we've stayed here & it's improving all the time. It's an excellent base to explore Beaune from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Loads of charm with good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A charming setting with a nice room opening onto a lovely small garden. Hotel was in a great location with convenient parking opposite. Nothing was too much for our host Jeremy. Willing service any time! His recommendations for buying wine and choice of restaurants were spot on!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Stopover on way to Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the car park is a brute with a big car & has to be taken very wide , causing problems in traffic. Not a luxury hotel but no pretensions either.

    The location is excellent and the Hotel pleasantly quirky. very dog friendly as we have two large dogs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was well over-priced for the choice available and the local bread was a bit chewy!

    Short walk to town centre. Good size room. Large spacious bathroom with cupboards to store our wash things.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    dont get a ground floor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first room was noisey from toilet upstairs.bed was tiny. not fun. however hotel staff were fantastic and we were able to move rooms, for an extra fee of course. after a sleepless night. the new room was worlds apart and so much better. breakfast was ordinary . basic and expensive.

    great location to explore beaune.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful garden setting with private terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only drawback was that it borders a large supermarket at the back, visually not a problem, but with some noise during opening hours.

    Beautiful garden setting with private terrace. Property very nicely renovated historic building, just 100 m from the old city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    We have stayed 10 times and will again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The refrigerator was under repair so only a limited breakfast was on offer. Only temporary the usual buffet is fine.

    Consistently high standard based on many visits. Refurbished spacious rooms. Private car park closed at night. location excellent. Dogs welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Good location , friendly staff, excellent room, good car parking, what's not to like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above.

    The room was very comfortable and nicely located at the rear of the hotel in what appeared to be a tastefully converted building that may well have once been a stable block. The room appeared to be freshly decorated and was immaculate. The main hotel building which we only visited for breakfast appeared slightly tired and in need of updating to match the bedroom. Breakfast was OK but we have eaten better during our recent trip, it was functional rather than something to get the taste buds stimulated!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was great however it had no door so all of the water went across the bathroom floor making it very sloppy and dangerous. We also asked for a red wine and we were told there was none which is surprising in the middle of a wine region!!!!!

    The location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    Quirky accommodation in beautiful Beaune
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room was fine for one but would be tight for 2. Breakfast was limited.

    Location excellent, property old & charming with quirkiness due to age, very clean & staff very pleasant & helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and coffee

    Bed was not very comfortable , pillows were good. Coffee was not great , breakfast was ok, could be more choice for people who don't like bread or cereal! Location fantastic . Cave Madeleine , nearby restaurant , small With great service and fantastic chef!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.5
    Location really central, easy to find, parking (free or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    High room - cold night - heating control understandable but couple of degrees more would have been nice Breakfast a bit formulaic (i.e. limited choice)

    Location really central, easy to find, parking (free or paying) within yards

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel in a good location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like - this is a good 3 star hotel

    Good hotel in a good location with secure parking. An easy walk into town and staff recommended good restaurants. We stayed in a comfort room which was spacious and excellent bathroom. Straight onto the garden which is great when travelling with dogs. We have returned here several times

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly , the standards rooms small but just enough for the purpose as we wanted to visit Beaune and were out all day . The hotel is very well located with a parking just in front . Nice breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Great time. Helpful staff. Beautiful grounds and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more options. It was good but not everyone wants sweets/bread for breakfast. Hotel should realize there are out of town guests that ant more cereal and protein options that are warm and healthy.

    Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Location was great and room was perfect. Value was right on for what was needed and provided

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    3.8
    Worst hotel in Beaune - and perhaps in France!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gloomy, dark room. The most awful bed - my back still hurts. Staff mostly absent. This hotel is to be avoided! Once we saw the dark blue, sinister room, which just gave us the creeps, we asked if we could have another. No - all sold out. Could we then shorten our stay? No - we should have done that 48 hours prior to arrival. Now we regret that we didn't just pay up and booked into another hotel regardless of the cost. It is the worst stay we have had in any hotel! The bed was a nightmare - sagging so much in the middle that we woke up with pains in our back. We probably got bitten by bed bugs as well. The hotel was a disgrace and ruined what should have been a nice weekend in Beaune. Avoid it at all cost!

    We liked absolutely nothing!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely, comfortable room with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is close to the road so there could be a bit of road noise but it was not a bother. We took advantage of the parking lot across the street for free instead of paying for parking and did not take breakfast at the hotel as we wanted to explore and try other places. Wi-Fi was spotty.

    Very quaint property that is well located and an easy walk to the town centre and all the shops. It is an old property and the pictures in the lobby show the hotel and what it looked like from the street. The room was large and the shower was updated with modern amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the parking was convenient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    4.2
    Position & history alone, not enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, tiny, grubby room with stained floor coverings, up 3 flights of steep, rickety stairs. We had to put a chair in the wardrobe so we could move around the bed !! We had asked if we might have a ground floor room but was told "all rooms are on floors" - (we are about 80 yrs, quite active but prefer to pay for more comfort if offered now, I.e., e.g. not so many stairs) . We were told to "next time book directly through the hotel!" Very basic standard room - we have stayed in better 3 star rooms in 3rd World Countries. We have used Booking.com many times before and always received exactly what we expected or sometimes more. Of course there was no room safe, bar frig. or tea/coffee making but we were aware of this before - BUT, not even a shower cap!!?! -(didn't really need the shoe cleaner supplied !!). Will have to read the reviews more carefully in the future although to be fair, I don't think anyone had ever reviewed OUR room before. Although not offered, I believe there were actually better rooms available.

    Position - very close walking distance to everything we wanted to see and get to. Great restaurants nearby. Excellent breakfast for which we paid extra.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    We thought the location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the reception staff could do more to interact with their guests. For the most part they are polite, but they don't engage and are rather distant.

    We thought the location great. The hotel is old-fashioned in its decor but comfortable and clean. Can't comment on the breakfast as we ate out each morning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.1
    Very well located, a great value, and staff is helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an old building (probably almost as old as the Hospices), and the room wallpaper and carpet were quite dated. The room had an odd smell, and a towel had to be stuffed under the shower seal to prevent flooding of the bathroom.

    Very well located, a great value, and staff is helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Fun in Beaune
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to room 12

    The bed was very comfortable and petit déjeuner was excellent. The location was great for exploring Beaune and gave us the chance to explore more of the city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Great reasonably priced hotel near historical centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A simple room that was comfortable, quiet and value for money. A great location with an excellent restaurant Belena in the square at the front of the hotel. Easy free parking was also in the square. The Historical centre of Beaune was only a few minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Traditional, characterful and very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all.

    Central location, easy parking, walking distance to everything. Real traditional feel to the hotel, good facilities, great breakfast and helpful staff. Beaune is charming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Comfortable, clean, enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Private parking option, nice size room, Windows blocked out noise when closed, good split air a/c in room, clean and nicely appointed bathroom. Polite effective staff, English speaking. Location was very good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice place to stay just on the edge of the historic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room with a window towards the front where there was a bright light. It took a little finagling to block the light at the edge of the curtain. Not a big deal.

    Nice relaxation grassy area behind the hotel. Large comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was pleasant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were travelling with a small "clean" well behaved dog and felt that for this reason we were given the shabbiest of rooms but charged the same rate never the less. Dog owners can be good customers too!

    Breakfast was pleasant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mention of wifi access on arrival and no details in the room. No kettle, tea, coffee in the room. No complementary bottle of water. Breakfast expensive so go out.

    Good location. Car parking good although an extra charge!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.8
    Very cute hotel, and everyone was very helpful and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little old and small. No elevator which is very hard for people with heavy luggages.

    Very cute hotel, and everyone was very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It woud have been nice to have a complimentary breakfast like so many other places where we stayed.

    The rooms were small but nicely decorated. I liked that this hotel was in a very, very old French building that had been remodeled into modern rooms. There is plenty of parking which is always good in Europe.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    4.2
    really noisy floor, very small bed, without safe on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    really noisy floor, very small bed, without safe on the room, Second day of stay I left my second wallet with 450 EUR, 5000 Czech Crowns and spare credit cards in the room, In the evening I find wallet without 450 EUR, the Czech crowns and credit cards stayd on the same place. I annonced it In the reception and only reaction was that the manager is out from the hotel for whole our stay (we stayd there for 3 nights) and all people work there for long time. It was my mistake to leave the money in the room, but there was no safe in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    6.3
    Clean room but very expensive and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very expensive but very basic with no facilities for making drinks. The property charges extra money for parking onsite. The charge for breakfast was also quite high.

    The property was located 5 mins from the main town centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location with excellent private parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A refrigerator is always a welcome addition to a room, but this is minor.

    Great location with excellent private parking. Rooms were tastefully decorated and clean. A lovely garden to the rear of the hotel was very welcome. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Very kind and warm staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-fi connection rather patchy.

    Very kind and warm staff. Comfortable bed in a nice room evoking centuries of history. The garden was amazing as a relaxation spot in the evenings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay in burgundy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    just a little old... but isn't that the whole point?

    everything! awesome location, cute little spot. if I go back to burgundy I'm staying here for sure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.9
    Great location for stopover
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast €11.50; no help with luggage (despite us being a couple one of whom is heavily pregnant, clearly with many bags); no space in the private car park (€5.50); staff quality variable- I had already given them an approximate check in time but the receptionist called to check again which adds stress when you've travelled there from England that day, and when we arrived she wasn't very helpful- no offer to help with luggage, information of where the garden was for the dog or on the wifi etc- but she did give us a map of the town and the morning receptionist was lovely.

    Perfect location- just a short stroll to be in the centre; quiet; looks lovely; very clean; liked our room- en suite looked quite new, high beamed ceiling, adequate size; small but pretty garden; ample free parking just over the road; very easy to get to from the motorway as a stop off between Calais and Provence; accept pets and have a small garden (€12 charge).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.1
    Good location when visiting Beaune
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    insufficient choice of cereal at breakfast, Poor quality cheese. Room whilst surface clean needed a good deep clean. No lift.

    Good to have individual breadbaskets at breakfast and good fresh juice, Good clean bathroom. Staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Perfect location for town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Excellent location, rooms were at the back, ours off the car park, my parents in the new block with a little terrace opening to the garden, which was lovely. Due to this position the rooms were really quiet and the comfy beds meant a great night's sleep! There is free parking in the large square outside so we didn't pay to park. We chose to go out for breakfast as previous reviews on here were mixed. Had a deal at the cafe across the road. Would highly recommend this hotel if you're going to Beaune.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: