Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domaine de la Foret d’Orient – Natur’Hotel Golf & Spa 4 stars

Domaine de la Forêt d'Orient - 5 Route De Géraudot, 10220 Rouilly-Sacey, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Rouilly-Sacey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1478 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Stay at the hotel but don t eat on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very disappointing. A lot of waiting time and the worse food I ever had compared to the price we paid for a fish way too cooked and some pasta swimming in oil.

    THe family room was spacious, clean and confortable. The staff friendly. We did not try the spa, the golf or the swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Excellent - would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Great location near the 3 lakes d’Orient. Good sized room with good insulation - very quiet despite the hotel being full whilst I was there. Very good service and food in restaurant with plenty of choice at different prices. I would definitely return if I wanted to stay in the area again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, well laid out bedroom. A well placed hotel with beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of being able to book in spa treatments and the unhelpful spa staff. That were dismissive and arrogant.

    The extras for my wife birthday were discretely supplied and made the stay all the better. We had aafantastic meal in the restaurant and found the room to be comfortable and had an added bonus of nesting swifts in the corners of our windows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great for our one night stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tired of omelette salad and chips for dinner but was my only veggie dairy free option. It was bery well prepared

    Croissants were delicious Soya milk available

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    Most unsatisfactory
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was average but as with all our stays very pricey. You may get a good booking deal but you end up paying through the nose.

    We were there in exceptional heat. The air conditioning did not work and despite 2 visits from the technician still did not work. Impossible to sleep. Ruined out stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Food was excellent in particular
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism of he hotel (which was excellent) but roads aro Nd the hotel have been very badly repaired with loose gravel - several miles at 20kph to prevent damage!

    Food was excellent in particular

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.2
    Too hot and the place is just old tired and over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside is old and tired. Cheap plastic bath. Old tired bedding. The ac did not work at all. It Said they won 4 star on 2012 looks like they never spent a penny on the place since

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant enough, easy to find, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant menu quite limited with a very French emphasis (to be expected in a non-tourist location). Difficult to find something to our English taste

    Lovely setting, great swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    3.3
    Underwhelming hotel, overwhelmed by corporate groups with indifferent staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is certainly NOT a 4 star hotel. It is barely a 1 star hotel. - Very very very very noisy, despite requesting a quiet room. - Arrived to various corporate-type away days with activities that had taken over the entire grounds, which meant no parking until they had finished, and could not even walk around the grounds as they had taken over whole areas. Large groups of people shouting and running around all over the place. - 'Animation' which consisted of loud drumming underneath our room (though the BOOM BOOM BOOM could be heard all over the hotel), which went on for 1.5 hours in the evening (again, despite our request for a quiet room). Reception utterly indifferent to our complaint, and said this was just something that they had on daily - no mention of this when we booked, or on their website for travellers looking for a quiet peaceful stay in the country. - Staff playing football outside our room at 23.30 at night, kicking the ball against the building, shouting and talking to each other, until we complained (again) - Sharing restaurant with enormous noisy conference group having a buffet, indifferent restaurant staff, not great food and overpriced - Walking trail impossible to walk on as obviously cut up by vehicle use - Truly horrible toilet/bathroom, sticky floors and barely any room facilities. Laptop safe could not fit a small laptop. Other than that room was fine, if basic. - Marquee with blaring music in the evening time over the pool side of the hotel. - Had contacted the hotel in advance to say we would have our dog with us, but told he could not join us in the restaurant due to 'health and safety reasons', but when we arrived were told he could come in with us. It seemed reception staff did not know what the policy was.

    Nothing - a terrible hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel - very beautiful surroundings
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lost electricity in the room and had to go downstairs to reception in pijamas to ask for help. Rooms start to become a little dated.

    Nice hotel in the middle of the woods. Very quiet. Nice heated swiming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Standards have dropped since the property left the Best Western Group and became independent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public areas were not very clean. Sofa in Privilege Suite badly stained. Buffet breakfast supposed to be available from 7am but nothing was set up or available, waited in restaurant for several minutes to ask a member of staff but nobody about?

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    The restaurant is pricey, but the hotel is very nice and if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is pricey, but the hotel is very nice and if you’re interested in golf it’s a lovely quiet area as it sits right instead a national park area. Family split level room was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful and staff friendly and cooperative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was poor. My tuna was black and stringy and I sent it back. The next piece was as bad. I couldn't eat it. It wasnt cheap!

    Peaceful and staff friendly and cooperative. Room and bed good. Great if you are a golfer or like massages.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Just what we needed as a stop on a long drive through France and Italy.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - this is our favourite hotel. we stay a few nights each year.

    The rooms are a good size, they suit us as a couple with two moderately large dogs. Breakfast is generous and enjoyable, and is delivered to our room with no fuss. The dinner menu is reliably good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was great, edge of lake and in a forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the hotel drinks pricing. The coffee and coke was more than 30% more than elsewhere we'd stayed.

    Location was great, edge of lake and in a forest. Lots of things to do and beach over the other side of the lake from the hotel. Lovely village next door and just right for a walk/cycle around and back to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent and very relaxing very good for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just liked everything about this hotel, being English can be hard in France but the staff tried really hard to understand and there were some staff who spoke English which was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient for the journey between UK and Cote d'Azur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected the bathroom to have been renovated since Natur took over from BW, but they're still outdated. Our heater didn't work and initially the staff seemed to think we were just being stupid, but eventually they moved us to another room.

    Convenient for the journey between UK and Cote d'Azur. Good restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    A spacious, comfortable hotel set in a beautiful, quiet woodland location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities are provided at an extra, hourly cost, which is not clearly published. This is frustrating and disappointing. I'd prefer to pay a slightly higher room rate and get the use of the facilities. This practice is less common these days and can be self defeating.

    This hotel is spacious in all respects, with plentiful parking, large reception and bar area and massive bedrooms. The food in the restaurant is excellent and fairly priced. Breakfast is equally as good and the restaurant staff are warm and attentive. We used this as an overnight stop, but can see that it would be a pleasant place to stay for several days, especially with a family or as a golfing break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A superb place to enjoy for a prolonged weekend as well as week's holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really to mention here

    Room cleanliness is a super plus here The tranquility of the environment, and the nice fresh atmosphere The welcoming staff - and they do speak english Choice of activities - golf, pool, walks, laser arena, paintball Super food (well done chef) and well endowed restaurant Availability of parking space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    nice place for get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is not enough parking place, especially when guests arrive during the day, most of the parking is occupied by people playing golf

    the hotel restaurant is quite nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool had only three chairs around.

    We were there to enjoy the forest and so it was the place to be. The restaurant offers no vegetarian food! but the breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    The restaurant was busy so we couldn’t book a table until...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was busy so we couldn’t book a table until 9pm, however we were unable to get seated until 10pm, poor organisation in the restaurant lead to very late seating. As the hotel is remote no other options available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Shame about the air conditioning. It spoiled a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly our son had to sleep on the floor on our level. Hotel is in “winter mode” so sadly no air conditioning only hearing which is silly when weather is hot. Should be able to change. Room was oppressive! Shame as everything else super.

    Excellent room for a family. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel for a one night stay - would liked to have stayed longer to enjoy the golf!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - hot food was not replenished very quickly and the Danish pasties and croissants were not replaced. The hotel was busy but with so many people it would have been nice to have the full choice of breakfast available.

    Children enjoyed access to the swimming pool Good sized rooms and comfy beds Quiet hotel and grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Poor to Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were understaffed. The pillows were so uncomfortable. The bedroom was too hot. The pool was too deep for kids. There was no furniture on the patio. We had to get it our selves. Dinner was a nightmare as they were understaffed. The food was over cooked and not particularly nice. What was on the menu was not what arrived on the plate.

    Breakfast was quite nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice family room and rural location, menu and room service not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner booking available when arrived at c 5 pm and hotel isolated so no easy alternatives. Menu is quite limited and only Room service was offered which took nearly 2 hours to arrive after 2 calls to reception and a visit to chase in person. The order was cold and incorrect when arrived by which time children (and parents!) interest in food had passed. However, the issue was acknowledged in the morning without a need to complain with a good discount and the breakfast charged waived. It seemed a combination of short staffing and over booking may have been the cause. Given professional apologetic manner it was dealt with we would be prepared to stay again as a stop over.

    Location for stopover, pool, parking, family room size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    As a stopover to break up a long journey it was adequate but the beds need refeshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was much too soft so did not sleep very well. The wall mounted hair dryer is a joke. The TV did not work despite staff trying to reset it.

    Excellent breakfast and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    freindly family hotel with great food and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd like to have the ability to have a cup of coffee without having to have the breakfast

    we have regulary stayed at this Hotel because it has a great atmosphere, a great location and amazing food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    I don’t think we will stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor - too many people and not enough staff in the restaurant at breakfast. The food was only average and the choice was very limited. At the end of our stay we settled the bill and left the hotel. We then had three further phone calls from the hotel to tell us firstly they had got the bill wrong, then that it was right and finally that they had got it wrong and then an email to say they had taken the extra money from the credit card without any discussion with us. The whole thing seemed very disorganised. I have stayed at this hotel several times before in the last few years but found it very underwhelming this time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Shame they were building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had extensive work going on in the hotel - even the front entrance was closed and being worked on and we woke up to drilling - such a shame as the place was otherwise really great - luckily we were only staying one night and they gave me a discount - i would stay again BUT will check if the building has stopped!!!

    Place was really nice - epic surroundings and the premier suite was really great / comfy - happy with my dog

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    I would stay here again but would be nice to have the use of a pool. Great house wine. Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor Swimming pool out of season! To use the sauna incurs a €17 fee per person per hour. Not enough table space for dining in the restaurant, we did get offered a 2130 slot but this was too late to be eating for a family. 1 lift but the stairs were fine and wide and it’s only 3 floors high.

    The free parking of which there was plenty, free WiFi for the children. Pool table in the bar area. Bar staff friendly and quick. Quite remote and therefore quiet. Felt secure and safe. Good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Location and hotel is lovely, good size lounge/bar area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried and not enough bar staff in the evening. Breakfast was a joke at 13 Euro. Coffee machine wasn't working correctly. ran out of hot food. we have stayed 4 years now and this has been the worse service at breakfast we have had.

    Location and hotel is lovely, good size lounge/bar area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Nice hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very clean and tidy, and our family suite room was perfect for 2 adults and 2 young kids. Very spacious. Food in the restaurant was very good, and there was a pretty good continental style selection at breakfast. Hot food choices were limited, and didn't look all that appetising.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Great for our overnight stop off, about 15 mins drive from the motorway but well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little oasis, what a great place for a very comfortable overnight stay. We travelled with another family, the hotel contacted us in advance to book a table for dinner (advisable as it really is in the middle of nowhere) food was good, staff very helpful. Beds were very comfortable, we had a split level duplex family room, loads of space, would definitely come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    A comfortable stay. Will be wonderful in the summer when the pool is open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had to send the chicken back at dinner as it wasn’t fully cooked. The money was taken off the bill though.

    Great breakfast. Beds and pillows very comfy. Great for families.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    The rooms were large and the beds comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were quite noisy. Could hear next door and above at most times of the day and night. The hotel staff were keener to look at the carpet than say hello. There were lots of unruly misbehaving children in all the public areas with few parents to be seen. The hotel might want to think about asking parents to be more in charge of their children.

    The rooms were large and the beds comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Great stopover, very spacious clean and tidy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We turned up at 12:30am and left at 6:00am wasn’t enough time to check the place out. Not the fault of the hotel! It was purely a stop over on the way down to the Alps.

    Lovely sized family room, much bigger than expected. Clean and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location. Would be lovely in the summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that we didn't know the pool wasn't open prior to arrival, but perhaps our mistake at not realising that it was outside.

    Excellent room if you have older children/teenagers. Privacy for both in a family room. Dinner was very nice and service good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value Alpine journey breaker
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed that covered pool in closed is Winter - this was not very clear in the description; No early breakfast option

    Efficient check-in; Spacious family suite with mezzanine level; Powerful shower; Excellent on-site restaurant; Proximity to motorway

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Food in the restaurant was excellent, and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Swimming pool was closed. Given that it is covered, there seems to be no reason not to have it open 12 months.

    Food in the restaurant was excellent, and good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Convenient stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our meal in the restaurant was not as good as previous stays at this hotel. Our room was noisy being on the 3rd floor opposite the lift shaft.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely surroundings. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    A convenient overnight stop en route to Italy.
    • Couple
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our duplex room had a lethal internal staircase

    A convenient overnight stop en route to Italy. Nice grounds and location. Accommodation and food are of a good standard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice sleepover venue if you can find it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to the hotel were a challenge, particularly driving in the dark. The restaurant's menu prices are too high for the establishment.

    The location set within a forest and golf course is very nice. Rooms are spacious and include a separate toilet, as opposed to having the toilet inside the bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    A really go place to stay, either to visit Foret d'Orient or as a half way stop to the Alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi signal a bit patchy, but if you speak to the desk, they sort this out

    Hotel restaurant is excellent, serving a reasonable range of options at fair prices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Worth a visit but on the less good value side
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite remote and limited dining options mean you generally have to eat in the hotel restaurant which isn’t the cheapest or best value.

    The Lego pit is great for the kids as are the family rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable but could use a thorough cleaning and better choices at the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Building was dated, one could smell old cigarette smoke, there was mold on the window frames due to heavy condensation every night. Bathroom towel heater did not work as the batteries for the remote wall unit had expired. Toilet bowl was not securely fastened to the floor. Hotel restaurant had limited options (not-vegetarian friendly), we needed to drive at least 15 minutes to find a restaurant.

    Friendly and helpful staff, spacious room, nice location to get away. There is a golf course on premises with beginner courses and a separate forest laser game right next to the hotel. Spa was okay but it was small but not quiet due to the layout. Decent breakfast. Very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stop over point with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note. We had a good over night stay.

    Excellent evening meal. Friendly restaurant staff. Comfortable large family room. The additional dining/breakfast area is a good idea for peak seasons.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Best Western at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave.

    Good sized room with seating area, tea/coffee making with china cups/saucers. Bath with shower over. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Meal not cheap but worth every penny. All the facilities you could want, golf course, spa, heated pool, gym. 1st class hotel with staff to match.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Restful, enjoyable and very good food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the food is of a very high standard, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the hotel was pet friendly. We stay there quite often. It is our favourite hotel in Europe for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast, lots of choice including local produce...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 (a la carte only) restaurant of 2 open & too busy for capacity/number of staff. Guests had to wait for tables. Staff turned tables quickly but were rushed. Restaurant doubled as breakfast room, so ambience not great with self-service counter. Food good, but over-priced for content and quantity

    Excellent breakfast, lots of choice including local produce and a bit different to the norm. Good location for breaking journey from SW France. Reception staff pleasant. Comfortable, well-furnished room, & bathroom with quality toiletries at reasonable rate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great quiet location with excellent restaurant for a stop-over after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunate issue regarding insects (house flies) congregating outside the room windows which subsequently flew into the room when a window was opened.

    Quiet countryside location with excellent dinner menu.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu at the restaurant is very French and some of the dishes may not to liking of many other European nations. A more international menu would be appreciated. The meals we had were good. The addition of a set menu could provide better value.

    It is a very friendly place to stay when travelling through France,it is comfortable and the service is good. We have stayed there three times previously.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Like the curates egg ... good in parts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee is usually excellent in France but they had installed a machine which dispensed poor quality coffee (by French standards) I wonder if this was a best western thing but the staff seemed poorly trained and supported by poor quality internal processes. The evening meal was over ambitious. Complex recipes that were not well excecuted and served cold. We were told off by the night receptionist for using the hot water machine in reception for making tea (with our own tea bag). Poor treatment of guests even over minor issues really undermines the stay.

    The room was spacious and the area was beautiful. A good break point on a long journey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Well-priced and pretty place on way home but the facilities and staff could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff could have been more informative. We asked for nearby restaurant recommendations and they offered none! The swimming pool area did not seem to have towels (though we may have missed them), and it had no changing area other than a tiny partitioned section for one person in the corner of the pool area.

    The bedroom was very comfortable. The waiter in the restaurant was friendly and the food good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for stop over and visit to Troyes
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinks in fridge.vending machine on landing very limited. only 1 bath sheet - 2 adults in room. Maintenance in bathroom required.lack of sockets

    Food.local countryside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Very busy hotel in the middle of nowhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked dinner at the hotel , and was given the wrong time by reception to be told we didn't have a reservation in the restaurant, we didn't appear to be the only guests this happened to .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    although away from main roads it is worth a detour for a stopover by car - would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing that comes to mind

    great place -for car travellers only - in the middle of nowhere , but this is the appeal of this place. comfortable room and services.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely pool. perfect stop over on way from/to Calais
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the T's and C's on Booking.com saying that all children under 16 stayed free, the Hotel tried to charge us £25 for an additional bed in the room. After a little discussion, they waived this fee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a family room but there was only two double beds... not great for two children sharing a double bed. Room was very warm as the AC was not working very well.

    Great location for the family cycling. A great hotel, ideally located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Really convenient stop on the way to the Alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived about 5pm to be told that the restaurant was full for that evening until 9pm. We have 2 little (ish) children who couldn't wait until then and there isn't anywhere to walk to get another food offer. Room service was average at best.

    Really convenient stop on the way to the Alps.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay would use again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff at a the bar could have been a little more welcoming.

    Clean and comfortable rooms nice and bright. Good restaurant both the evening meal and breakfast to a good standard. Staff waiting in Restaurant very helpful and friendly. For families nice play area for children and pool open all day also spa menu and prices looked good but didn't have the time to use it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Not sir I would stay here for more than a night, average hotel could be much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff had an issue with my booking that caused them stress, the restaurant food was tasty but very small and the golf course was in bad condition

    Location is good and the hotel and restaurant ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was a bit high considering that it's quite off the beaten path. But no complaints per se. Equally, the dinners were a bit pricey, as high as the price you'd pay in a fine restaurant.... while in the end, this is a hotel and a family dinner nearing 100 euros is a bit much, considering the quality of the food we received (steak was chewy, kids' fish was overcooked, although to be fair, the fish was replaced).

    Very large room, everything worked, very clean, staff was pleasant, breakfast had everything we needed. Good swimming pool, the kids enjoyed very much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Remote but peaceful location . Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of a scrum as not enough food for number of residents .

    Great facilities and friendly staff .very peaceful location but very remote.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place for a longer holiday but location inconvenient for the overnight 'pit-stop' traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The journey from the motorway to the hotel took longer than anticipated.

    Great staff. The public areas both outside and inside were spacious and airy. Good restaurant with excellent choices and good value. Rooms were large, comfortable and well appointed. The golf, spa facilities and swimming pool made it somewhere to consider for a longer stay than the overnight stop we made on route to Chamonix.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Good place for stop-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot comes to mind

    Nice hotel in middle of nowhere with good facilities and decent on-site restaurant for dinner and hearty breakfast. Our 12 year old son loved the mezzanine bedroom with his own double bed and large TV

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.0
    Quiet location in the middle of a large forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is outdated, rooms are very hot, airco was very noisy and not cooling. We noticed the reception 3 times about the problem with the airco, but nothing solved. The hotel main focus is on the golf court and their members. The hotel is 10 km away of restaurants or shops.

    Quiet location in the middle of a large forest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    The stay was alright. The employees are the ones that earned the positive ratings for the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool really was a huge disappointment for this type of property. It smelled overwhelmingly of heavy chlorine, was in an enclosed unit, and did not do justice to the property itself. Also, I was not able to get any sort of massage service at the spa, and there was also a fee to use the spa. I realize this is becoming the norm, however, with the disappointing swimming pool, it would have been nice if my husband and I could have used the spa - it was only open until 8, and we were a bit anxious, given the state of the 'outdoor' pool.

    The staff were exceedingly friendly, although the bar and restaurant employees seemed like they were understaffed. The food in the dining room (dinner) was very good, as well as the drink we had at the bar. The bar area does have a nice fire place, and seating area, as well as some nice large screen televisions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    overnight stay in a nice hotel, with good staff and facilities, but food menu is limited & expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is a little too fancy and expensive, and not much choice if you are not into french cuisine.

    off the road location was good for me, nice pool and lounge area and generally pleasant hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    A very handy mid way stop off if you are heading for the Alps but on this occasion not the best stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a bit of a Jekyll and Hyde Hotel. We have stayed many times and enjoyed it but on occasions you seem to get a poor bed. We also stayed at the beginning of our holiday and to be fair we couldn't fault the staff or the hotel on that occasion . On the way back our family room seemed a little tired and the air conditioning was very noisy and very ineffectual. The fire alarm went off during the evening and I although I understand it turned out to be a minor issue in the kitchen the response from the staff from my point of view seemed to be non existent. I was in the car park when it went off but I was able to make my way up to the third floor collect my family and make my way to the external stairs together with other guests without seeing any sign of a staff member whilst the alarm continued to sound. It was another guest that eventually told us that the issue was in the kitchen a short time before the alarm final went off after several minutes. The breakfast is usually very good but on this occasion items seemed to be running out without being restocked unless specific request were made. Hopefully just a one off night!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect stopover hotel for families, very friendly and relaxed. Super comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the rooms have updated bathrooms which are gorgeous - but not a show-stopper if you don't get one, but perhaps ask for a room which has been updated?

    Loved the feel of the hotel - it immediately made you feel relaxed. There is a good mix of nationalities staying at the hotel which made for a good and fun atmosphere. The evening meal was lovely, and the restaurant were accommodating with adapting menus for teenagers (not just for ours, but for about three other tables in the same situation!) - which was appreciated. The beds are super comfy - the best hotel beds we've slept in. Breakfast was busy but great - kept us going all day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but expected more
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food only available for short time periods so nothing available when we arrived at 3pm and no shops or outside restaurants in walking distance. Breakfast and dinner were very expensive (€25 for a burger!). Pool was quite cold though heated and there were flying ants everywhere! One small changing cubicle in the corner.

    Spacious room- had 2 storeys so great for families, though no stair gate for toddler. Massive bed and tv! Lovely dog walks around lakes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stop off location but I think also a good destination to discover the area.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I were being picky, I would say a gym would be really good and Tesla Superchargers even better.

    Everything really. The setting is spectactular, the food was really good, my room was clean and spacious. The staff are always helpful (I have stayed before). I didn't use the golf course or the pool, so can't comment on those. The area is great too, you can nip down to the beach at the lake, the surrounding villages are lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    The location was ideal on the trip back from the Alps, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to improve just continue with the same service levels

    The location was ideal on the trip back from the Alps, the service was excellent as usual and the food was well prepared and well presented

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel and excellent for a stopover
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor A requirement for business travelers goes lacking Doors noisy at night

    Plenty of places to walk the dog Good room size and comfortable Good for a stopover

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: