Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De La Loire 3 stars

2 Quai De La Loire, 18300 Saint-Satur, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Saint-Satur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 266 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Good, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was the closest to the bridge over the Loire, a bit noisy because of all the traffic. A room at the other end would have been better.

    Lovely staff great location right next to river and golf course. Good sized rooms with interesting themes, we stayed in the Georges Simenon room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location by the Loire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel, but it would have been nice to have found a bar open when we arrived mid afternoon.

    Perfect location by the Loire. Charming and spacious room. Restaurants just opposite or almost next door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st day we were down after 9 for breakfast but the meats and cheese were not replenished so we could have only what was left which was minimal. We only knew because 2nd day we were first to breakfast and everything was available !

    Cozy, welcoming, spacious room with fantastic view (superior room). Lovely village, great wine and beer, lots of choice for restaurants. Nice themed rooms. Owner very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Loved this hotel. Comfortable bed, clean room, air conditioning (for a very hot day!), and very friendly owners! We have stayed at hundreds of hotels throughout France, and would love to come back to Hotel De La Loire! I honestly don't know why the overall rating on Booking is not much higher.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a great location. AC in the room !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only coffee on offer is basic, filtered black coffee. No espresso based beverages.

    Friendly welcome upon arrival. Air-conditioner in the room. Very unusual anywhere in Europe. Location alongside the river and close to two restaurants. They welcome pets. Fantastic croissants at breakfast. All the basics were covered. Bathroom clean and in good condition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    always a pleasure staying here....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    on street parking but we have never had any issues with security. It is a shame that it closes over the New Year, otherwise this would be used 100% of the time we travel to our holiday home.

    conveniently reached from the autoroute but in a lovely location next to the Loire. There is supermarket fuel available near by which is far cheaper than the autoroute services. The hotel is a good example of a local, family run, hotel but is a 'cut above' many others in terms of quality and attention to detail which makes for a very pleasant and rewarding location either for passing through the area or as a base. All staff are delightful. Breakfast is great - good quality and eat as much as you need. The Ship restaurant which is 2 minutes walk away serves great evening meals and has, no surprise, a good wine list.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    A great French hotel, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great French hotel, very comfortable. The owner went out of her way to make our stay pleasurable. She was fantastic in helping us travel to Paris. A train strike meant we had to catch a bus. She assisted us with purchasing our tickets then got her husband to drive us to the bus station. He dropped us off, the bus was delayed so he came back to check we were ok and made sure we caught the bus. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable stay in nice , small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fairly simple but OK. No cooked or hot food available.

    Pleasant simple hotel in a small village on the Loire river. Staff were helpful and several languages are spoken. Rooms were all themed and quite fun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    A very good hotel for a stop over. We stay there a lot on our way to and from the UK.n
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the breakfast room is drab, but the rooms are quite excentric.

    We really like the service from the managers. The hotel has an excellent location on the banks of the Loire. Le Ship, the restaurant and bar next door is very good with a very pleasant owner. The best rooms facing the Loire are quite spacious and en suite facilities adequate. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location alongside the Loire from which to visit Sancerre wine region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic view over the Loire river, room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our short stay. 10 minute drive to town of Sancerre and its wineries. Several restaurants located within 5 minute walking distance of hotel, we really liked "Le Ship" next door, great food and a cosy "English pub" atmosphere. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    another great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the parking is on the street, albeit outside the hotel. Leaving a fully loaded vehicle kerb side is never to my liking for fear of thieves but we have NEVER experienced a problem here. Otherwise nothing untoward to report.

    our usual stop-over whilst traveling back from the Pyrenees. The usual high standards applied across the board - a very pleasant and reliable location. The restaurants virtually next door compliment the hotel well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.8
    Not as pleasant as in previous years
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No longer any access to outside sitting to enjoy a glass of wine. The quality has fallen off with the change in ownership.

    A hotel we know and have used for many years that is convenient for wine pick-up, located right by the Seine and close to two restaurants of reasonable quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    lovely view over the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We felt that 12 euros for breakfast was a bit steep.

    lovely view over the river there were several lovely places to eat nearby we brought our bikes and were able to store them in a shed at the back of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Worked great for our bike trip along Loire.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was right on the corner of two streets, and also right next to the hotel's front door. So it did not offer any privacy, and there was some traffic noise. Still not a bad room and it served our purpose. Not sure I'd stay in that room again, though.

    Worked great for our bike trip along Loire. Staff was super welcoming and helpful. The room we got was quite large and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Lovely location close to the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing Really

    This was our second visit to this hotel. The location by the river is lovely. The hotel is very enjoyable to stay in. There are two very good eating places on the nearby river bank which make for a great stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay while visiting Guédelon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location directly on the bank of the Loire, charming decor of the themed rooms, aircondition works well, but also nice with open windows. Very good restaurant across the street directly overlooking the Loire.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    a geme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    secure parking is available at E5, but parking can be available across the road free of charge. Depending upon your nervousness in leaving a fully loaded car road side, parking could be a concern unless you pay.

    The staff are very friendly and keen to help. At the time of writing we have stayed on two occasions and the rooms were excellent, suggesting that other rooms should be of a comparable standard. We like to use The Ship restaurant which is 1 minute from the hotel's front door - take an aperitif on the riverside terrace and then retire to the restaurant for a meal - ideal. We will be using this regularly as a stop point to/from the Pyrenees but also plan to stay longer on at least one occasion to explore the local area - it looks beautiful and has some great wines to appreciate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent short stay hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a pity that a modern concrete bridge spans the river to the right of the hotel which spoils the ambiance of an otherwise delightful spot to stay in.

    The breakfast is excellent with fresh coissant and bread with cured and smoked ham, a boiled egg to make for yourself, fresh fruit and much more. The rooms are quirky and comfortable, particularly if you book a superior room. The walks along the Loire just outside the hotel are very pleasant and a bistro and more formal restaurant are located next to the hotel - staff will book these for you if you request it online. The famous wine producing town of Sancerre is a short drive away and the villages of Chavignol and Bue are nearby to sample some of the best wines of the area. Above all the staff of the hotel are exceptionally friendly and efficient. All in all an excellent choice for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    an excellent hotel, we will gladly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - being picky, car parking on the road but there weren't any issues - and its free! - parking by the hotel may prove difficult during the summer when all of the restaurants/bars are open - I'm guessing at this as we visited during January - when the restaurants/bars are fully open there is a chance that the hotel could become noisy - I'm guessing at this as we visited during January

    - clean, well decorated rooms - excellent host, very friendly - ample breakfast of good quality - good wifi - excellent restaurant next door, the ones across the road facing the river were closed during January but the choice would be exceptional

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    A really good hotel for a one or two night stop-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the views of the Loire are interrupted by a single story building in front of the hotel.

    The bedroom was comfortable, and individual in style. The breakfast was excellent with freshly made boiled eggs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.1
    A good stop on the Loire next door to Sancerre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View of river spoiled by restaurant on the other side of the road. We were missing a few light bulbs i our room, but if nobody had previously mentioned that to Reception it's no wonder they were not replaced. Coffee at breakfast not very French. Very weak.

    Pretty hotel on the Loire. Lovely window boxes ablaze with flowers. Cheerful lady at reception. Pretty frothy romantic room Several restaurants nearby. Nice to have a walk along the river before dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower. Very noisy air conditioning

    Comfy bed.Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff; very stylish breakfast room, made a good start of the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty average

    The view of the river

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent value if you visit surrounding area including Sancerre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City not interesting. Toilet cisterne slow to refill.

    Kind staff. Nice furnitured spacius room. Airconditioned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing visit to area of Sancerre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty room overlooking Loire. Very friendly, helpful staff. Restaurants nearby. Good walking and cycling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Location very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Location very nice. Great breakfast. Spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Lovely people, lovely hotel, and a caring concerned staff that was warm and welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of a thing to improve it.

    Delicious croissant with soft boiled eggs. Was lovely here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Location was great with deck overlooking Loire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great with deck overlooking Loire. Also very close to the Loire museum and observatory.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful & convenient stay along the Loire River
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not easy to connect.

    The lady staff was very friendly and informative. The view was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.0
    Hotel is quite old fashioned with a steep stairs.No air-conditioning and the weather was very hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of welcome.

    The lady at breakfast was very nice and the food was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Good value ***.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value ***.. nothing more nor less ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Will love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Quite place with short distance to restaurents.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed needs renewing

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Picture perfect little inn on the banks of the Loire
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi strength - didn't quite reach our room

    Very comfortable, roomy and pretty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Good hotel in a lovely spot on the Loire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View of the Loire. Friendly hotel staff. Secure storage for our bicycles

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.8
    This hotel is ideally located, right on the Loire River and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is ideally located, right on the Loire River and in close proximity to several good restaurants. The rooms are quirkily decorated but very clean and with good facilities, and there is ample car parking nearby. Sancerre is only a 5 minute drive away, and Pouilly (across the river) is a pleasant 10 minute drive. Bruno, the proprietor, is extremely helpful and knowledgable, and arranged a visit for us to a wonderful small winery at Pouilly. If you are travelling by car then I recommend this hotel rather than paying high prices and searching for parking in Sancerre.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    Friendly welcome, clean rooms, choice of breakfast, car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms have a theme (ours was Indian) and are a little on the extreme side. The bedroom was a little small but in general, it was satisfactory for staying one night.

    Friendly welcome, clean rooms, choice of breakfast, car parking. The village offers about three or four restaurants, depending on the day of the week.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.9
    Immaculately clean, with individual decor, overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was nice, but probably not worth the 12 euro a head extra on top of the room rate, maybe a slightly lower cost?

    Immaculately clean, with individual decor, overlooking the Loire Valley. There are a couple of restaurants right next to the hotel, which are quite good. A convenient spot for visiting the Sancerre region.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    The room was very comfortable and with very traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was very comfortable and with very traditional French furniture. Good ambience. The breakfast was adequate but we did have to ask for things which were running low. Overall we were made welcome. Our room had a lovely river Loire view.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    Personal care by Bruno,with solid knowledge of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal care by Bruno,with solid knowledge of the surroundings including the villages of Sancerre and Chavignol.The hotel is next to the Loire and easy access to the Poully Fume area and express way from Paris.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.6
    A friendly, riverside, boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A friendly, riverside, boutique hotel. Views of the River Loire. Very clean, quiet and comfy rooms, individually themed. Well located for Sancerre and Guedelon. Free parking. Home made jams for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice quality hotel with a friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited WiFi through-put and limited volume of (too small) modern TV. No international (other than French speaking) channels.

    Nice quality hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Good location and good free parking. Great breakfast. Friendly and attentive host.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.3
    Warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First thing we had to do on arrival before getting to the room was pay. Perhaps it was because we were on a motorbike. Also had to pay extra (€5) to park at the rear of the hotel.

    Warm welcome. Rooms were qwerky and themed which was interesting. Nice restaurant across the road by the river but get there early or book in advance.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.3
    Location next to the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Location next to the river. Easy to find. This is the second time we have stayed here. It is a quaint hotel and a refreshing change from modern chains. We had a superior room which was very comfortable with good air con. The steep stairs are not good for people with mobility issues as you have to carry everything to your room. The breakfast was average. Coffee luke warm. I always find hotel breakfasts too expensive for what I eat. Good restaurant opposite without having to drive, a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    The hotel is lovely, our room (Chambre Anglais) was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is lovely, our room (Chambre Anglais) was really spacious and the views of the Loire from our room were wonderful. The owner and staff were very helpful and accommodating - we asked about.buying some of the wonderful honey we had at breakfast there and they organised 2 jars to be brought to the hotel for us to buy. Faultless service! We highly recommend the hotel and would go back if ever we're visiting that area again. And a big plus is there are 2 really good restaurants across the road from the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.1
    One of several 3-star spots over a three-week visit to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of several 3-star spots over a three-week visit to France. Nothing negative, just unexciting and more dated than other stops.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    9.6
    High quality older hotel with lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    High quality older hotel with lots of character

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.1
    Decore is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Corner room we were in is to noisy with passing traffic.

    Decore is excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.5
    Style of the room was innovative and quirky, location, next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was mundane and not value for money

    Style of the room was innovative and quirky, location, next to the river is very good

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Clean, white bedding and bath towels was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean, white bedding and bath towels was fantastic. Helpfullness of the staff. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. Location is great.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Lovely room with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet,No atmosphere

    Lovely room with great view

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.3
    Bruno's ad hoc wine tasting and Elliot the labrador
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bruno's ad hoc wine tasting and Elliot the labrador

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    Loved the quirky rooms and the view of the river from our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved the quirky rooms and the view of the river from our room.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    Location, clean sheets, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, clean sheets, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Riverside location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather a lot of stairs in a bit of a rabbit warren.

    Riverside location. Availability of river-side restaurants. Access to Sancerre

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and very helpful staff, in a prime location on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and very helpful staff, in a prime location on the edge of the Loire

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    Nice owner nice dog !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room on small side but did have the budget option this time

    Nice owner nice dog !

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.9
    Pleasant walk to Sancerre but quite steep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant walk to Sancerre but quite steep.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.6
    Very handy location for Sancerre, restaurants next door and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very handy location for Sancerre, restaurants next door and opposite, beautiful room, friendly owner, all delightful.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.5
    The view of the Loire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant opposite the Hotel (no connection)is poor and very expensive.Pictures on the menu board deceiving .

    The view of the Loire

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.6
    Lovely clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything but we thought breakfast was a bit poor for the€10.50

    Lovely clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    6.3
    It was lovely and warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds and pillows, breakfast basic.

    It was lovely and warm

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: