Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel La Monnaie Art & Spa 4 stars

3 Rue De La Monnaie, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#16 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1559 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    We were fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scale of the room and the corridor was small, and fitted carpets could have been better.

    We liked most the very kind service in the hotel. Also the location was something we liked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for an overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small but it is where it is.

    Great location for the restaurant area and away from the main noisy front the hotel has car parking but we parked in the harbour public one right by hotel for a fraction of the cost and all was fine. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    No problem having breakfast in the room - the food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem having breakfast in the room - the food and selection was excellent- however a table and chairs would have been a good idea; there was certainly room as the room was comfortably large.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, suburb location but no view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a ‘garden view’ and got car park view. The ‘toiletries’ on offer were one small bar of soap. No milk with the tea and coffee. Bill came with added breakfast even though we didn’t have it.

    The room was very nice. Superb shower and very clean. Very comfy bed and lovely linen. It was in an excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    A quirky, interesting City Hotel with some larger rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't use the air con and so had an open window, which means that City Life noise intruded with a bit of screaming and shouting at various hours and our sleep in was finally overruled by the sound of Harleys arriving in the car park at the back (outside our room) at 08.30. It's a city street Hotel, so don't expect much in the way of views, but hey, they are just a few minutes stroll away as is the Centre and the Parks and the Harbour. I worry for the peeling paint on the outside windows and hope that they have budgeted for repair and upgraded glazing. Greys and blacks for walls are arty but do suck the light out of corridors !

    The hotel is close to the Vieux Porte to the East, the western Beach of La Rochelle West and round the corner from Les Tours (the towers) of the harbour. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable with a newly refurbished shower room. Clean and super to use. Separate WC. Hotel furnishings are arty and deliberately so, quite fun and witty. It has a spa which we didn't use as we were overnighting. Breakfast was ample and help yourself (and extra, as was city tax). Externally, a faded grandeur and the windows will need attention very soon. A quirky, interesting stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and relaxing but not what we were expecting .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't see how it can advertise itself as a spa hotel when it has a tiny sauna, a couple of hydro massage beds, a broken jacuzzi and no showers !!!!!! Very disappointing .

    Great position for old harbour, restaurants , shops, but still in quiet location. Clean room , if somewhat small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Characterful and brilliantly located
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Despite being told breakfast started at 6 am, virtually nothing was out until 6:20, at which point we had to leave. In fairness, the cost was removed from our bill after complaining.

    - Lovely rooms - Fantastic location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    This is a well positioned hotel to walk into and see La Rochelle, and it has a car park!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    The bed and bedding were good, and the room was quiet.The lighting was designed well but as usual in hotels, never bright enough for my wife to do her make up. The breakfast was above standard, the scrambled eggs were good and better than standard cereal/oat type breakfast provided. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Our stay there added to the pleasure of our anniversary meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slowish automatic lights in the corridors

    Room was immaculate. Bed was perfect.Staff were truly helpful.Breakfast was excellent & parking was convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Great weekend, great location and overall a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a twin, and the beds made up as so, however as the bedside tables were built into the wall there was no way to split the beds apart.

    Great staff and very clean hotel in a perfect location. Didn't make it to breakfast but those in our group that did said it was good value. Nice touch with the fruit bowl at reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice break to blow away the cobwebs on winter beaches and enjoy the local restaurants.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small, although very clean and good walk in shower. Breakfast was good but rather over priced for what you got. Carpet in room was a plastic type of material which was uncomfortable for my dogs and made the room hot.

    Bed was huge and very comfortable, room was quiet and a good size. Check in staff were polite and efficient and spoke English. Location of the hotel is brilliant as has beach and green spaces really close by, but also within a short walk of fab restaurants and shopping area. Had a carpark on site, which is a huge bonus in La Rochelle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location, modern meets old French architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities in the room were fairly basic considering it is a 4 Star hotel. There was no kettle / hot drinks facilities, no international channels on the TV and toiletries were very basic. Having booked a four star hotel I didn’t brings. Any shampoo or conditioner as expected there to be some. Just little boggles but things to epxtsct from a four star hotel.

    Loved the location of the hotel and staff very helpful and friendly with good English to male up for our poor French. Hotel is extremely modern which works reasonably well in the lovely old building. Our room faced onto the courtyard and you could just see the top of the Tour de Lantern poking over the top of the roof. On arrival we were allocated a ground floor room which was dark due to time of year and the grey colour scheme didn’t add to the ambience. We checked with reception who quickly allocated us a room on a higher floor which was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    we didn't even mention the room service as the rest was so good!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite "La Sirène"
    • Stayed 1 night

    the quality of room service was poor. Food was cold and not as advertised. (when ordering a pasta dish getting potato instead).

    amazing room, amazing staff, room service quality a little poor to be honest but everything else about the stay was faultless.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Loved everything about this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault was I personally felt the pillow was too hard.

    Loved everything about this hotel! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, decor contemporary and cool, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast, had a lovely relaxing massage as a special treat, can't fault the place! Would love to return here and to La Rochelle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value, comfortable accommodation, excellent breakfast and helpful staff. Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the public parking.

    Great location next to the vieux port even if parking was difficult. Fantastic breakfast, helpful staff and very comfortable, clean room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Really nice hotel. Great Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heat in our room was not working. But staff brought an electric heater.

    Staff is wonderful. Great location. GPS directions to hotel are not accurate. A little tough to find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa not really well kitted out. Small towels and A sauna and a couple of deck chairs (in a room that was too cold). Facial my girlfriend said was excellent though

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    La Rochelle is a lovely town especially in the off tourist season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the one way streets and walking street, it was difficult to get to the hotel, even with directions.

    We were especially pleased with the service given by Gabriel. He was a great source of information. There was also a young girl from Australia who was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointing - hotel looks very spacious on website, it is actually very cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very unhelpful in dealing with failure of electricity in the night due to room entry card failure. Also due to warm temperature, we wanted air conditioning which we were told had been switched off, only heating available as it was late October.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic spot, and everything we wanted in experiencing...
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic spot, and everything we wanted in experiencing French hospitality and culture. Very close to the cafes and restaurants. The history of the harbour which is right on your door step is awesome plus it is set right in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Most enjoyable. Would stay there next time, but look for other parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel parking was disappointingly extortionate - 25 euros for 24 hours . Breakfast was lovely, but a little overpriced. Shame there wasn't a restaurant for dinner.

    Staff amazing. Hotel quirky, but immaculate. Great breakfast. Lovely view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel but have breakfast elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a real let down. Expensive and badly run. One coffee distributor for about 20 tables and the hot food gone and not replaced by 8.30!

    Very modern fittings, wifi, tv etc and extremely clean and well appoinred room. Well converted house and extremely quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice and easy right and breezy
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a lot of French hotels theses days they've gone for uber modern design over functionality it seems crazy and often lacks charm instead the go for funky, so I might have loved it if I was in my 20's- saying that, plenty of mature guest there! And in La Rochelle, hotels like this have gone for this look.Totally not singular to this hotel, but it just feels a little 'too much' corridors where painted black car park, with fire doors and delayed auto lights, made the feel a bit weird and nightclub by when coming from the car-park.the rooms don't show the beauty of history of the building, or reflect the old La Rochelle charms..the courtyard does as it's restrained, but I'm sure that's just the style the French like at the minute as this in your face funky ikea style seems to be everywhere without temperance.

    Breakfast in bed was great addition, staff where very friendly, efficient and helpful. Location fabulous, exterior decoration and hotel design nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It'a a question of style. It is a little weird. The elevator is very dark and seems to have shag carpet and odd walls. Slightly disconcerting. The halls are narrow and dark. The rooms are very modern, but have everything you need, although probably not a lot of room if you intended to unpack your suitcase for a longer stay.

    Nice location. Helpful staff. Rooms are adequate for short stays.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent! I had forgotten my phone charger and they helped me out, and gave me great advice on where to go for a run. Got loads of sleep and had a comfortable stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel has a very claustrophobic feel to it with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a very claustrophobic feel to it with extremely dark and narrow corridors that become narrower the further round that you walk. If this is a problem for you I would recommend asking for a room beside the staircase.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There a few things that spoilt this hotel On entrance reception desk all chipped Very dark corridors like walking through a haunted house Poor Ventilation in the bathroom leave a damp smell constantly in the room Been next to the service door which banged on morning when you wanting to relax been on holiday Tried to order room service to inform on the menu which was limited that was it as they get it delivered in and reheat to serve to rooms not a good selling point Also the 60 euro for ONE Hour in the spa thought was a little expensive I did explain to the reception staff on desk when he asked if I enjoyed my stay I did start with the room smelling due to the bathroom but like check in it was a rush job not interested. I have came away feeling disappointed however this hotel could be amazing with some adjustments and there was a man quiet a happy man walking around and on departure was doing the garden who I thought maybe the owner as you could see he cared a lot about the place.

    The building was nice and court yard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Quality hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late checking in, room wasn't ready and we were shattered after long ride. Need to sort door lock as ours needed a good shove with hip to open!

    Brilliant staff, superb decor and nice ambience. Good breakfast and a great location. Super cycle storage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    A superbly located and well managed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One way system in the town is an absolute nightmare for satnav.

    A superb location with friendly helpful staff. A super breakfast setting you up for a days touring.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay for a short trip to La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is perfect for walking around the old town and harbour. Restaurants are in easy reach as is the harbour to get one of the boat tours

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Bed was super comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in our room wasn't working so it was very hot but the staff provided us with 2 fans.

    Bed was super comfy! Hotel decor is amazing and right in the centre of town. I would definitely return and recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    Just Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked because in town centre and had private parking so booked on this understanding but when arrived were told no secure parking available for our car so we have to park our car on public car park over night. As the car was full of stuff we would NOT have booked this hotel if we new this previously, the details on the web site are misleading.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    A great location in La Rochelle, friendly and helpful staff and good rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticism at all.

    The receptionist, Gabriel, was very helpful during check-in and with parking our motorbike in the basement. Also recommendations of where to eat etc. Our room overlooked the courtyard which was a pleasant view and bed very comfortable. Air worked without being noisey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Great for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the underground carpark was 25 Euros for a night and was quite difficult to manoeuvre a large car down the ramp and into a space. Apart from that we had a good one night stay.

    The beds were very comfortable and the location fantastic for exploring La Rochelle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    exellent, wish we had stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better taxi / public trasnport info from the airport (eventually phoned the hotel and they arranged a taxi - a good tip for future visitors arriving by air at L Rochelle)

    everything was just as expected, would stay there again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it is marketed as a spa hotel and it falls extremely short of that. Be careful as they will charge you to use the "spa"!! Booking.com still show pictures of a jacquzzi on their site which no longer exists!!!

    Comfy beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location - shame about check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor check in experience. Obviously a shortage of housekeeping staff. Waited an inordinate amount of time before our room was ready.

    Great location in central la rochellle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Elegance in historic La Rochelle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    All corridors very "designer" sombre black and dark. Our room overlooking rear courtyard/private car park was OK - not sure about the "seagrass" carpets - even in the toilet! Designer shower tray has got to be a little difficult to clean properly. Private car park was convenient, but very expensive.

    Cool elegance of interior, very "boutique-ey" and designed - happy to accept the dog despite this! Lifts to upper floors. Staff friendly, efficient and attentive. Five minutes walk to main quayside along historic Rue sur les Murs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    The room upgrade was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the old port is closed it is difficult to find by car.

    The room upgrade was great! We booked a standard room but we were given a suite. The location is perfect with the beach, harbour and restaurants nearby. It is nice and quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Our stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing a outside sign. Decor is way too modern. This is a historical building and should have been treated as such. We dislike the decoration.

    It was very nice and convenient. Confortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some more comfortable seats in the courtyard would be good.

    We like the location, perfect for restaurants, shopping, sight-seeing. The room was very comfortable and clean. A good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    the atmosphere and art and spaces are unusually quirky and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No member of staff mentioned what spa facilities were available or where it was. not sure about flooring in the bathroom being hygienic

    the atmosphere and art and spaces are unusually quirky and good. The staff were very helpful. Gratis flavoured waters were welcome and refreshing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful gem with wonderful staff and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator but staff will willingly carry your bags to and from room. In our room air conditioning didn't work but they did provide nice Dyson fans to keep the room cool.

    Location was close to main town area and parks. Best shower we had in Europe. It was HOT, it was adjustable strength, really nice. Facility features two outdoor patios which are beautiful. Our room was the Triple room which had a small separate room for our son. Very nice. Customer service was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful, lovely staff but gridy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite "Albane"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just can't get used to the fact that one has to pay 25 eur to park a car and another 26 to get breakfast ! Parking and having breakfast for 2 is more than 25% of a suite room price... just don't get the logic of this. It sorts of kills the principles of basic hospitality to welcome you into pure business world. This is not specific to this place but still sad.

    The location, the building and its history, the suite and the size of it, the fact that you have proper windows that you can open to get real air (getting rare these days).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking st hotel very expensive and underground car park difficult to access. Corridors very darkly decorated- difficult for visually impaired

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking isn't very well signposted but once we rang for help the staff were helpful. Possibly a little over priced for the facilities available.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, close to the harbour and the parks. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The bedrooms were very clean and the air conditioning was a blessing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Boutique luxury at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slightly wider entry to the underground car park would be great but not possible! Large cars will not get under cover, but there is parking in the grounds.

    Great breakfast buffet. Beautiful courtyards to relax in. Fantastic art and decor. Staff are extremely attentive, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Absolutely fatastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were welcomed brilliantly and the hotel was beautiful and the staff could not do enough for us.The breakfast had the most wonderful selection.We could not fault this hotel and will certainly return again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Excellent establishment in historic district of La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location in the historic port district of La Rochelle. Close to everything. Good blend of the old (the historical building) and the new (interior entirely redone).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.1
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed uncomfortable. Not convenient for parking and to reach by car.

    The position is really nice, close to restaurants, sea and park. The staff was available and professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location, modern rooms with a good bathrooms, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the art painter, that they used, is definitely mentaly sick person :)) as well as the owner that choose him and his sick "paintings"

    Great location, modern rooms with a good bathrooms, free parking around the corner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.9
    Short stay in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is not really so. No pool and 60 euros per hour to use sauna or what I believe may be a jacuzzi. Never even saw that part as no information about it at the location. It is not 4* in my opinion. Bar was actually a few seats in the foyer! Bit too dark for my liking. All corridors are black! Park at Jean D'Acre car park. Cost us 17 euros for 2 days but it's 25 euros per day at the hotel!

    Staff were lovely. Breakfast nice but expensive. Well placed for vieux port! Was very clean and bed lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    5.8
    Basic but convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lights wouldn't stay on. Could hear the people upstairs snoring etc. Was very basic, I had expected more. Will go back to our usual place next time.

    Bed was fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Between a park and a street full of restaurants, paradise.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From welcome to departure one was made to feel at home. The exterior is traditional and the interior and bedrooms are modern and stylish. Just down the street are so many restaurants that you are spoiled for choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    3rd year wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite "Albane"
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirrors in the salon section of the executive suite, so you could do hair and make up in good daylight

    Comfy bed, location was excellent staff spoke English

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel and staff in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As with most French hotels they need to put coffee and tea facilities in each room. Parking at the hotel was expensive but you could park for free a short walk away. I thought the sauna/spa was expensive. I just wanted a sauna and it would have cost €60 for myself and my wife.

    Nice hotel with excellent staff and great location. Nice clean room and a good size. Nice shower/shower room. Plenty of socket outlets with the amount of charger you need now they were ideal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    6.7
    Well located, small boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not 4 stars worthy. The room we were in had a strong moist smell, the bathroom was not well thought in terms of airing..

    Well located, small boutique hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    Great value and ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very dark, the room was supposed to have a garden view but it looked on to their car park. Shower floor is metal, like a grate and really is quite uncomfortable on your feet. Our bedroom hallway light would not turn off and the room as it overlooked the car park was very noisy in the early morning.

    The location of the hotel is excellent very easy access to the harbour, aquarium and other sites. Beds very comfortable and staff were helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    The staff are always super friendly and nothing is too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    The staff are always super friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had 2 hours late check out as a Genius perk which was great as our flight back home was really late. We discovered the garden this time and had a peaceful afternoon out there reading. We're always sad to leave this hotel and La Rochelle!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking expensive at the hotel although if you're lucky there is some on street parking not too far away.

    Modern decor although a little tired around the edges. Comfy bed, good shower, good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    this hotel offers class with style
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the aspirator obviously refused to work on jour de noel ....

    the obliging service, all was very ,very good and the bar prices were exceedingly fair and offered a very good choice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tight turning access and egress to the hotels underground car park.

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Reception Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.1
    Not La Rochelle's finest...definitely not a 4-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel needs a significant update as it appears to be tired and riding on the coattails of its 'artsy' vibe. The hallway smelled like pot, the elevator was downright creepy, and the buffet breakfast was seriously overpriced (i.e. a tourist trap). We even discovered a rotten tangerine in the middle of the buffet fruit selection. The first crib we received for our baby was quite used and turned out to be broken, the second one was worn out as well. The photographic graffiti art in the dining room was from NYC; we would have greatly preferred a showcase of local French artists. There are better hotels out there in La Rochelle, sorry!

    The staff was very attentive, polite, attractive and friendly. Definitely the hotel's best asset overall.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.7
    Location was excellent and the staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hallways were very dark and needed some new wallpaper.... The hotel was not as nice as in the photos. My expectations were higher.

    Location was excellent and the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Relaxed ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed to find there was no evening dining in house. Room service only. Not everyone likes eating in the bedroom which was not large enough for relaxing. I mean you don't want dinner in bed!!

    Breakfast was great. So much choice! Loved the bed. Staff were so helpful Massage was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely Artful Comfortable Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a few faults. One door was missing on the shower and this led to water in the bathroom (carpet) and some mould appearing; The fitness room was locked when we wanted it and you need to ask to be let in. We did nto get to see it in our two days.

    The Bed and Pillows were great; The staff were extremely friendly and helpful The location is perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, perfect location and welcoming and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor quibbles but we hadn't realised that you had to pay for the use of the spa and accessing the carpark wasn't easy on arrival as it is gated. Also (minor point) the wet room shower floor sloped the wrong way and so instead of the water going down the drains it covered the whole of the bathroom floor, we had to lay towels to create a dam.

    From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and lovely with our young children. We splashed out and went for a suite and it was enormous. We had three large rooms and a bathroom and the beds were enormous and so comfortable. We loved the fun décor and the large windows opening onto the courtyard area. The staff were very informative and able to advise us on where to visit with the children to allow them to run off some steam after a long journey, they also advised of where to get food during the early evening. We had breakfast in our suite and it was amazing! The quality of the food, with freshly baked pastries and freshly squeezed juices were exquisite. The location was peaceful yet centrally located and La Rochelle was just beautiful. The modern décor of the hotel fits beautifully with the historical features of the building and we absolutely loved every minute of our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Reception staff very helpful, amiable and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff very helpful, amiable and efficient. Nice interesting decor and artwork in the lobby. Great location close to restaurants yet far enough removed from the busy area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff thought it unusual that we would require use of an iron and board to press our clothes during a two night stay after they had been packed in a suitcase whilst travelling! To be fair they relented in the end and let us keep a board and iron in our room - but we had to be a little persistent!!

    Very peaceful, close to harbour and a few steps to great restaurants and bars!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We couldn't fault the hotel - even if things were not right, the staff put it right as quickly as they could and without any fuss.

    The staff were the most lovely you can expect - they were always there to help and remembered everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    6.7
    Not clear that the complete SPA is at a fee!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa was not available, it was also chargeable 60 Euros, is totally unacceptable for an electronic massage table!! The spa was closed due to lack of water I booked some weeks ago when I assume the Spa was working, it is not clear that access to the complete SPA is at a cost, i understand that access for certain extras is always at an additional cost, but the hotel is advertised as a SPA hotel!!!!

    Entrance area, decor, service, outside areas

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Excellent massage, great location, but don't expect to get parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't expect to get parking if you have a car. After booking the room, I received an e-mail (in French) from the hotel telling me the parking was full. I went to one of the external parking lots pointed out by the e-mail (took me one hour to find one that was not full). When I told the staff that I was unpleased by this, as the room was supposed to include parking, they shrugged it off as "you received an email, if that was not OK you should have canceled your booking". The other person checking-in at the same time as me didn't get parking either, so I'm guessing their parking lot is much smaller than the number of rooms.

    The massage was really excellent: a wide variety of techniques and very attentive staff. Also, the location is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.9
    Although the booking specified a proper single bed along...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the booking specified a proper single bed along with the double, what we got was a very hard put-up / sofa bed, which provided very poor nights' sleep for my daughter. I tried it out and barely slept at all. The double bed was on the contrary exceedingly comfortable. Upon enquiry, I was told the other triple rooms had proper single beds, which we had missed out on because we had booked through booking.com. This should have been specified. Had we stayed longer, I would have requested a change of room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Top drawer city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Garden Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor negatives only - the underground car park was pretty tricky to get into and out of.

    Pretty much as perfect a city hotel as possible. Staff were polite, attentive and numerous, the room was bang up to date and clean, there were several little areas to have a coffee and there was a night porter who fixed us up a couple of very late night cognacs in the garden. Location first class, 5 mins from the centre of town on foot and within a minute of good restaurants. Inside tip - even though there is an extra charge, do try the spa as it is very cool and worth a bit of extra money to have it privately.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Great for bar and restaurant hopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is very tight in the above ground area. My car is a large two door sports coupe and when we left I had to climb in through the passenger side to get behind the wheel. I could have made a fuss but decided not to.

    The hotel is very well situated so that within 30 seconds you can be among all of the bars and restaurants you could ever wish for. Pleasant staff and nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: