Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de la Plage 3 stars

Promenade Jacques Thibaud, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France

#4 of 23 hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 144 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    An excellent base from which to sample the delights of the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discovery Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to book a room with a balcony.

    This is a super little hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff, from the boss to the breakfast ladies. It is well placed for the train and bus stations, shops and restaurants and of course the lovely beaches. It is clean and quiet. There is a good choice for breakfast which is buffet style.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Well located comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When it rained (and at high tide?), a sewer odor was present in the room. The staff confirmed it when visiting the room but said it had not happened before. We were a bit skeptical of that statement as this seems to be a building piping/sewer/foundation problem that is probably not new. Parking was also located at a 5 minute walk from the hotel but that was to be expected given the excellent location of the hotel (and the obvious lack of room for a parking!)

    Nice location on the beach and near many good restaurants and boutiques. Friendly staff. Comfortable and clean beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discovery Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would agree with a previous reviewer regarding the pillows!!

    Ideal for all amenities i.e., restaurants, beach, shops, transport. Our room was located at the city side of the hotel which was lovely and quiet with two little balconies letting in plenty of light. The room was small and compact but perfectly adequate for our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    I wish the weather had been better! But, we still had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 102 lacks privacy as it is overlooking the promenade just one floor up. Bed too firm. Towels too thin. A bit spartan! The weather was unfortunately not on our side and tea /coffee facilities would have made the stay more comfortable when we hunkered down out of the storm.

    Staff were lovely. Location great, right on the promenade. Breakfast good enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    We chose a successful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discovery Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small

    The hosts, the proprietors, were kind and welcomed us. The room is small but clean.The dinner was delicious and the location excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable and well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discovery Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only suggestion would be better pillows!

    The hotel was very nice with a much larger bathroom than we expected. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was also great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Our room had a balcony overlooking the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a balcony overlooking the beach! It was lovely to have our wine out there. I especially enjoyed leaving the balcony doors open enough to hear the surf while I slept! The valet parking was wonderful! The breakfast was perfect! There is nothing that we didn’t like about the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    The Hotel de la Plage was excellent in all ways and in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discovery Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have already suggested a grab rail and non-slip mat for the bath/shower.

    I loved the large bathroom which had a window with small balcony and the mirror had a beautiful frame. The bedroom was exceptionally quiet although at the back of the hotel. The decor was very restful. The staff were unusually helpful, especially someone named Laurent who found us a free parking space when the hotel parking was all full and recommended some excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel in a great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff really lovely and very helpful. My husband had a broken arm. The staff couldn't help enough. Nothing seemed too much trouble. Lovely room in a stunning position. We had a balcony with a sea view and loved it. Ideal position for everything. Private car parking service excellent. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Exceptional hotel with exceptional Staff - a real gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We were delighted with everything about the hotel. The Staff were friendly and very helpful and we had a lovely room overlooking the bay. The valet parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay, best accommodation we have stayed in so far on our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discovery Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Everything was super at this hotel. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    the heating never worked although I complained 3 times
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the heating never worked although I complained 3 times

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely place right on the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Charm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Discovery Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the beach,very good restaurant,exellent food,friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Right on the water -family friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discovery Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and finding it

    Location on the water. Really helpful front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Positive !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge. Street parking impossible. Garage = 13£/night.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Beautiful beaches.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    fantastic seaside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Discovery Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing worth complaining about...

    the bed was so comfortable and huge, i had to txt the wife for a kiss!..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    What a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not good.

    Location, location, location. Laurent on reception was so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Very pretty place also very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Discovery Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really just a bit pricey then so is all this area

    Very nice property A1 location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Right on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking off site

    Balcony room directly looking at beach Very helpful staff Elevator

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Just beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Best hotel and location in Saint Jean de Luz

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel, friendly staff and one of the best locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast time at 7h30, couldn't have my breakfast since I had to leave earlier everyday.

    Nice hotel, friendly staff and one of the best locations.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.1
    The position was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room. bathroom cold and uninviting. Images on ads and booking .com make the hotel seem as if it is in a quiet location with hills beyond..truth is..it is very built up and no parking available except at extra cost and not accessible easily.

    The position was very good

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little difficult to unload luggage since the hotel was located right on the seaside promenade.

    Location was fantastic. Staff extremely nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location directly on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints, but I would advise booking early and paying the extra for the sea view. Our room was very comfortable, but no view other than the walls of the buildings across the narrow street.

    Perfect location directly on the beach. Very warm welcome from the efficient and helpful staff. Special thanks to the ladies who served breakfast and cleaned the rooms who really went the extra mile.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.6
    The hotels two best points are its location right by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotels two best points are its location right by the beach but also in the town, very close to bars and restaurants and secondly the staff who could not do enough for you. We didn't have a sea view but saw a room that did. We would recommend you pay the extra 20 euros as its a great view. Room was nice, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    We had a lovely stay at Hotel De La Plage, location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    We had a lovely stay at Hotel De La Plage, location was perfect close to the beach with many restaurants and shops close by, the room was spotless and very comfortable, decor very modern with a big bathroom and great shower, staff very nice especially Laurent at reception, we had a lovely experience there!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    On the beach with immediate access to good dining and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative was lack of mini fridge in room

    On the beach with immediate access to good dining and shopping as well as major sights. Lovely small town but with plenty going on

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    The view from the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room

    The view from the bedroom

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Th location right on the beach, the bathroom was huge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Th size of the bed - it barely fit 2 people.

    Th location right on the beach, the bathroom was huge and very nicely decorated.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    9.6
    Good dinner recs from staff, parking spot in front to unload...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Good dinner recs from staff, parking spot in front to unload luggage, quiet, clean

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.6
    We like everything about this hotel, especially the view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We like everything about this hotel, especially the view and the helpful staff. A further plus is that on arrival the car is put away till departure

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    10
    Wonderful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Suggestion. Include breakfast in room rate like many French hotels.

    Wonderful room. Light and airy. Opened to the sea with wonderful little balcony.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: