Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De La Poste

1 place des Arcades, 50140 Mortain, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Mortain

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 349 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    I won't be going back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel should not be on Booking.com it's, awful, ( apart from the restaurant which is O.K.). The rooms are from the 1950's with broken furniture to match. No milk provided for the one T bag or coffee stick. Decor old, smelly and disgusting. Room 101 to be avoided. Paper thin walls and interconnecting door. I had to ask to change room because of the noise intrusion. Restaurant service hurried by a man in jeans and T shirt.

    Food O.K. but nothing thrilling. Typical French offerings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Could have been brilliant if we could have a drink and a swim when we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a hotel in the true meaning of the word. It advertises as having a Bar and Swimming Pool. You will only get a drink when the restaurant is open and if you have not booked a table, you have to sit in the reception when there is a huge terrace to enjoy. The Swimming Pool is only open when there are staff members around and as that is only when the restaurant is open means its use is very restricted. These 2 things spoilt our stay and the managers reaction to our displeasure was equally disappointing.

    The rooms were great. Good value for money. The restaurant was fantastic and the breakfast more than adequate. Valentin, who seemed to work in every element of the establishment was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    veryhelpful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although very clean Rooms / ensuite could do with a coat of paint

    veryhelpful staff . "crispiness of the moment" and "part of the butcher " on the menu made the evening meal interesting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Stayed for one night but would not stay for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould / mildew in the wardrobe. The room was smaller than anticipated. The bathroom was tiny & the toilet seat was broken. We had to advise when we checked in as to the time we wanted breakfast. At the time we stated 9 am however the next day we were up earlier than expected and went down at about 8.15. There was no one around & the breakfast room was closed. We had to go back to our room to wait until 9 o’clock. Also the front door was locked and had a padlock wrapped around the handle which, from a health & safety point was a bit of a concern We arrived earlier than the stated check in and were advised that, as the hotel did not have insurance cover during the period from when the hotel restaurant closed in the afternoon until 5.30pm no-one was allowed in the hotel during this time. We were given the keys to our room but could not check in until 5.30 and had to wander around for a few hours which, after a 6 hour car journey, was the last thing we wanted to do.

    The member of staff who waited on us in the evening and at breakfast also checked us out of the hotel and he could not do enough for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Would not come back or recommend this hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms that we were given are not shown on their website and we know why. One of the rooms had absolutely no comfort, no curtains at the windows and it was like staying in a hostel. The other room had a toilet in a cupboard, bath in another cupboard and the sink in another cupboard. The rooms smelt of smoke and were musty. I would never recommend staying in this hotel to anyone.

    The staff spoke no English but they were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable accommodation- excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    be careful when booking if you specifically want twin beds instead of a double room. We were nearly caught out. It's not clear when booking exactly what you are going to get. The staff kindly sorted this out for us on arrival

    Comfortable accommodation- excellent breakfast. Arrived with two bikes and were able to park them overnight in a garage on the property grounds. That kept them dry and out of sight

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    It's location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 202 was disfunctional, the beds were uncomfortable and the room felt cold and damp. Towels were too thin to dry on, a very disappointing experience for what paid.

    It's location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    4.2
    They seem to have nice rooms that have been redecorated, as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seem to have nice rooms that have been redecorated, as well as terribly old ones. Unfortunately we were given an old one..... Uncomfortable bed, shower screen fell apart, no towel rack etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    A comfortable and enjoyable stay in a lovely spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some information in the room about the opening times of the swimming pool for guests would have been helpful as it is not such a straightforward thing to ask about unless one has better French. Some milk sachets for tea on the room tray would have been nice.

    Excellent location- easy to find, good car park, lovely terrace and outlook, near to the Petite Cascades walk, easy access to friendly drinks places and first class patisseries. Comfortable bed, good desk and daily tidying and cleaning of room. Really appreciated the kettle in the room for tea and the little daily madeleine cakes on the tray.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely room with balcony looking over the valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool open times. Seemed to be 11.30-3pm then after 5.30. We booked so we could use the pool at anytime!

    Lovely room with balcony looking over the valley. Great food in the restaurant and good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Bed and bed sheets uncomfortable - Pictures describe the property as shabby chic/ vintage; /but it's just very old, with old furniture, strange paintings hanging on the wall and flaky wall paper - Smells from the kitchen travel through the whole hotel (luckily not the rooms) the smells were not very pleasant... They tried to mask it with a very strange perfume I think. - I had informed management at what time I would arrive at the hotel, but they were not present. I had to call a phone number and the front desk told me to return to the hotel later on, I was waiting with 6 other guests outside the property because they had locked the door... - No curtains in the bathroom (apart from a lace-like very see through curtain) - Was told that the swimming pool would close at 15h, which is very strange to me...

    - Beautiful view from the room - Close to the waterfall - Nice swimming pool - Clean room - Nice looking terrasse (did not use it though)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    Good for overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of a refurbishment. Room was very basic. Bed not very comfortable, rather lumpy.

    It was easy to find. The staff were friendly. View was nice. Kettle and tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi was difficult to get and to maintain.

    It's a traditional hotel with traditional values. The evening meals were lovely and the dining room felt like a proper hotel restaurant. Nothing fast food! The bedroom was fresh and airy and although I was facing the road, so it was a bit noisy, the church opposite made up for it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Short Stay For Motorbiker Couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Location right in centre of town. Handy for visiting surrounding areas (we had gone to see friends). The staff were all helpful, pleasant and friendly. We had expected a 'standard' room as per our confirmation but found we had been upgraded to a 'suite' room with terrace and view across the whole valley. We are a mature 'biker' couple and bike stored in garage at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice old hotel for a 'real France' experiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They came to clean our room about 11, we ware not ready to go. Some small details in the room need to be repaired. Amount of sockets is very low and not user friendly located.

    The view was great, like asked during booking. Personnel was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    The evening meal was excellent - quality of food & value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was excellent - quality of food & value! The patron was friendly & professional & the little extras included in the menu were much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Excellent location and fantastic restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The most difficult curtains to draw ever but such a small thing we laughed about it!

    Fantastic restaurant at the hotel - so good we ate there every night. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    Short on the details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not match the description. En suite poor design and incomplete execution. No bathroom condiments i.e. No shampoo Or shower gel. Shower light intermittent. Free standing towel rail inadequate. Shower leaks onto bathroom floor. No bath. Extractor fan not working. Pool shut for winter. Only Continental breakfast offered. No milk in the room but teabags and coffee were provided.

    Bed was good. Room large. Car parking okay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    3.8
    Cycle touring overnight stay in Mortain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service from staff. Turned away from hotel at 4pm as told not open until 5.30!! We had cycled 50km with panniers and not even offered some where to park panniers. We had to find a small bar until hotel reopened. Reception very poor bikes garaged around the back of the hotel not secure used bike lock. When requesting an aperitif we couldn't sit on the terrace we were directed to a small room with two sit up chairs. We took our drinks to our room!!! Bit weird to say the least. The young we presume manager, had no personable skills. Couldn't wait to leave next morning. The room had a lovely view at the back of the hotel. However it was next to the extractor kitchen fan and directly above the smoking area. Noisy and smelly went off at 11pm. Will not be stopping in this hotel or Mortain again.

    Small bed reasonably comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Good place to stay for visiting my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked tea or coffee making facilities in room. No mirror in room to do dry hair and do makeup.

    Stunning vIews from room, staff friendly but spoke very little English

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Fresh croissants
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not open till 18.00 hours.

    Fresh croissants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Small family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small family run hotel. Older but the charming staff were outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Good place to stay if you are in Mortain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Redistricted hours for the restaurant and bar

    Evening meal was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Good stopover and convenient for cyclists on PTM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meal was not very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Group
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    The room was damp, dirty and no curtains at the window as the pole was falling off the walll!!! Horrible experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice, honest price, well located and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, honest price, well located and cozy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Value for money. Nice view, good restaurant and breakfast. Bit rundown. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotelrooms have had their best time. A bit run down.

    Friendly staff and a Nice restaurant. Very nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    Cheap accommodation but wouldn’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated room decoration, & no lounge for us to sit in downstairs

    It was close to where I wanted to visit relatives

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice restaurant in the evening.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not check in until 6pm. It was locked up before then.

    Nice restaurant in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.0
    A well located hotel with great restaurant
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on bathroom ceilings

    Great restaurant / location and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    All good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good. Rooms at the back have excellent views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive for the standard of hotel Decor all a little tired WIFI poor

    Warm welcome Helpful staff Nice breakfast but no hot food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    The food was good and staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good and staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good meal

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little basic, but it was great value for money and the staff were very happy to help. The breakfast was also very good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    There was a strange smell in the hotel, a musty build up on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strange smell in the hotel, a musty build up on the ceiling of the hotel room, and they tried to overcharge us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    A welcoming hotel with excellent food in an outstandingly beautiful and interesting area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very basic and the bathroom was very small. They do have better rooms though.

    The food was superb, and excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.6
    Evening Staff on arrival excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and towels provided inadequate When checking out they tried to charge double quoted price.

    Evening Staff on arrival excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.4
    the pool, terrace views, and restaurant.
    • Family with young children
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows, small bed, towels, tired decor and bathroom shower not functioning correctly.

    the pool, terrace views, and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water damage inside the toilet (roof, shower)

    Great staff! Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Good enough for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nice place, worth checking out if you're staying in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable property with swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable property with swimming pool. Food good and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    the hotel shuts from 3 o`clock to 5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel shuts from 3 o`clock to 5.30

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    L' ensemble de l'hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Le café machine.

    L' ensemble de l'hotel .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.4
    Good restaurant but room shabby (not chic)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tired looking - needs complete refurbishment.

    Good restaurant with courteous staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.4
    Simple rooms and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical sockets only one, rooms ok but basic. Very late check in not possible before 6pm

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Super Hotel with a good restaurant and very nice staff 👏
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpfull

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was very small. Very difficult to have a shower without knocking the tap & turning it off

    Lovely food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    You must stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff Excellent food Really great stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Very quiet at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer did not reach mirror. Toilet window did not open. Room rather cool and could not turn on heating.

    Very quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no spare blankets

    All good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Relaxed, friendly and delicious food!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was closed

    Relaxed, friendly and delicious food!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    4.6
    We weren't made to feel welcome, especially at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't made to feel welcome, especially at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food ok but not exceptional

    Good value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.2
    re: nice place, warm people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people and with deep sense of hospitality. There is inside a beautiful garden!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Nice little village,ideal hotel for site seeing around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel shuts from 3 o'clock to 6 o'clock .

    Nice little village,ideal hotel for site seeing around Normandy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    Great place as a base to visit the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very helpful staff, couldn't do enough for you. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.1
    Will
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rate too high for standard of room

    Great people operate this hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    nice and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe the menus could be in English as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.3
    Great restaurant.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely little hotel opposite the tourist bureau, the restaurant serves a really great evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.3
    Hospitality of the employers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classique Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality of the employers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    8.8
    Simple hotel with good restaurant.
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was wrong, it was just a bit tired with dated decor.

    Simple clean hotel with a good restaurant in the centre of the town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Friendly welcome, large clean room, and one of the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Friendly welcome, large clean room, and one of the best dinners I've had in many years visiting France. Wild boar in wild mushroom sauce - wonderful - and a fabulous cheeseboard followed by a delightful red fruit dessert.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    6.3
    The room was clean, fresh clean bedding on comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The décor in the entrance, reception area, looked like a child's school classroom. Brightly coloured squares all over the place.

    The room was clean, fresh clean bedding on comfortable bed. Good selection, Plenty to eat for breakfast, although this cost an extra 9 euros

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    10
    Lovely welcoming staff made us feel like valued house guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely welcoming staff made us feel like valued house guests. The hotel is spotlessly clean inside and the food especially in the restaurant was divine. Our room was newly decorated and immaculate with a balcony with lovely views. Instant hot water with good shower and bathroom was warm. New HD TV and good wifi. Underground secure parking and 24hr access to hotel very helpful as we arrived late. Mortain is a quiet town as with most of the area so don't expect to go clubbing here.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.8
    The staff couldnt do enough for us, even made us a meal when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff couldnt do enough for us, even made us a meal when the restaurant was closed... a super breakfast and very pleasant stay... thanks very much

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    5.8
    Friendly staff and great view (if your are not on the street...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel from the inside is dated and smells very weird. It is probably a thing that they are aware of because the have permanent air freshners situated on the walls in the hallway. The shower in my room was a small bath that I had to stand in and the shower head was mounted on the wall but was completely loose. I was hold by one screw that was hanging half out the wall. I had to make sure I didn't pull it out by accident. It looked like it was like that for quite a while and couldn't care less to repair it. The showerhead was also placed at the far end of the bathtub so there was no way I could take a relaxed shower without having to hang in the shower curtain and not wet the whole bathroom. I am 1.92cm tall and the showerhead is placed at a hight of 1.75cm. Go figure! The breakfast is very standard with not a lot of variety.

    Friendly staff and great view (if your are not on the street side)

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.5
    Nice pool, lovely terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't access room until late in the day. Rooms and building very tired.

    Nice pool, lovely terrace. Very good restaurant - exceptional value. Undercover storage for bikes but not particularly secure.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Spacious double room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything good.

    Spacious double room. Comfortable bed,. good shower pressure, EXCELLENT food, service and choice at in-house restaurant that has elegant ambience. Friendly and helpful staff, good Wifi..All in all real value for money! Strategic location for getting around the area.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    4.6
    The restaurant attached to the hotel had the best meals that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worn decor, the hotel needs a spot of paint. There was a patch of what we assumed was cleaned up sick outside our room which stank out the hallway despite the valiant efforts of our hosts to spray it with air freshener. The hotel is sited by a main through way, so you will get heavy trucks driving pass your window. There is also a bus stop and a church opposite, so bring your earplugs.

    The restaurant attached to the hotel had the best meals that we had on the entire trip. The set menu was four courses including a cheese board and was reasonably priced and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.7
    The dinner was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was shut when we arrived at 4pm, and didn't open till 6. That gave quite a wait after a hot day travelling before we could get cleaned up. They didn't start serving breakfast till 8.30, so we went hungry in the morning with our early start.

    The dinner was very good.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Helpful, friendly staff, excellent parking, super dinner in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a little small, but at the price we paid nothing to complain about this.

    Helpful, friendly staff, excellent parking, super dinner in elegant surroundings every evening. Chef made GRANDE SALADE that was subtly different each time. Wifi excellent and made stay all that more comfortable. Many lovely places to see around Mortain. .

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: