Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de la Tour de Nesle 2 stars

2, Quai Louis Durand, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#38 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 723 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    3.3
    Terrible, don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were told to move after one night as they wanted to repair the bath, in our new room the shower head was damaged and the toilet kept flushing, very noisy it was during the night. There was no air conditioning and boiling hot so we kept the windows open, the street entertainment right under our windows carried on well into the evening, the street cleaners started at about 6.30 am, very noisy. One receptionist was down right rude, very unhelpful when I asked for an extra code for the Wi-Fi, I really had to push her for this. She was generally surly the other times too, the others were much more pleasant. Breakfast is very basic, croissant, bread, confiture and apple sauce, no cheese or ham.

    Only the view over the harbour

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    location right on the front was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was exceptionally hot, very hot weather but the heating pipes were on all the time, no air con so had to sleep with the windows open so got all the noise from the street all night , Hotel needs a lot of tlc. The road and sea front area around the hotel is being re built which has reduced parking facilities, there are free bays for motor cycles outside the hotel but are open to anyone passing by.

    location right on the front was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location, provided you don’t want to actually sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper-thin walls, could hear everything from the next room. Room was far too hot, and no fan provided. Street noise was WAY too noisy! Partying didn’t stop until the morning. So much screaming & shouting. Couldn’t get to sleep until 5am due to the noise. Had to keep the window open because the room was SO hot, and no fan was provided.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing and frustrating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny with hardly any room to move. Breakfast was sparse and served so couldn’t have more, and no meats or cheese. Noisy overlooking road, roadworks and bars. Dreadful to get to by car due to roadworks so took a further hour to eventually get back to it whereupon we parked across the street in a car park but only by driving in through the exit!

    Central location (but see noise above). Nice stroll in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Met up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, though adequate. There was a pervasive smell of diesel or something similar in the hallways, but not in the bedrooms.

    Excellent views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    I’m not a robot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Very good experience, the staff communicates well and shows great professionality and patience before our arrive. Room with very good sight and my grilfriemd appreciate it a lot. Surely my first choice next time in La Rochelle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Clean basic accommodation in a great location, don't expect any frills!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the shower basic, though clean. The wi-fi didn't work for us at all. When I asked a member of staff to find us some info about train times, she suggested I phone a number - not very helpful. When I pressed, she did google the info for me. Also, one night there was a lot of noise nearby from a group near the hotel, which went on until the early hours.

    The room and bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room lock was temperamental and the door needed a strong shoulder to open it. The breakfast wasn't worth it - I wish we'd gone for something better and cheaper a few doors away.

    The staff were friendly. It's very central. Nice views over the dock area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy even if the windows are closed. The WiFi worked badly, I was "thrown out" ever 2 minutes. For the breakfast better to go out, there are plenty cafes nearby.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    The location was excellent, walking distance from all of La...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are very small and the walls are paper thin. We got complained for making noise but you could hear everything other guests said from the next room.

    The location was excellent, walking distance from all of La Rochelle. We had a view of the Marina from our large bay windows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Bring earplugs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms should have shampoo. Rooms need air con as hotel is in an extremely noisy area at night Students yell outside the hotel at all hours. Rugby supporter start chanting at 5am! Breakfast is a bit expensive. Better can be found cheaper a few paces away.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Hotel is perfectly placed for access to port, shops, bars etc. Extremely clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location , friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little small and accessories I,e, shower/shampoo , need to be upgraded from sachets Parking for offloading bags very limited . It's important to pre-book parking which we were unaware that you could do . Public car parking 6/7 minutes walk away.

    Good location , friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really noisy at night. It's a student town and when people spill out onto the streets, on a weekend night, the noise is deafening.

    Central and functional

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Terrible acoustics - you can hear anything happening in the other rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building has some serious acoustic problems: we could perfectly listen to conversations from people in the room above us and next to us. Occupants in the room above ours were also particularly noisy and made the night a quite uncomfortable one. The flush from the toilet and shower upstairs were incredibly noisy and disturbing, especially when trying to sleep and people kept using them for the whole night. The staff was kind but unable to help with basic questions, such as telling us where could we get a taxi to the airport, or how could we rent bikes. We nearly missed the flight due to the staff inability to book a cab or give any reliable information. We also had some electronics in our luggage that went missing. Room was fairly clean, but the shower size fits only slim and tiny people - one of the smallest showers ever.

    The only positive thing about the property is the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.6
    The hotel facilities are rather dated and our stay was very much overpriced for the room/facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low price value relationship.

    The hotel facilities are rather dated and our stay was very much overpriced for the room/facilities you get. Beware! Awful breakfast. Tasteless Coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Perfect place to stay in the centre of La Rochelle, they can provide parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise at 2am when the bars closed and children on the adjoining room trying to open the door at midnight. (More a parenting problem than a hotel one.)

    Ideal location right on the harbour front.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location by the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the location to the port it was a tad noisey late into the evening, and then early morning with the roadsweepers and bin collectors

    Great location by the port

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not practical a very strange design and the parking was a considerable walk but very secure.

    Excellent location as we were there for the July 14th celebrations we were right in the Notre of everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location but that is about all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was 200 metres away hard to find and you had to pay for it.

    The location was excellent ,but it was very noisy at night. the room was small and very little facilities no air con so had to to shut the window , that made it very hot and stuffy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Good location but difficult to park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking facilities. It was full when we arrived and very difficult to park on the street nearby. WiFi not very good and we have to ask for an additional password as they only give you one. No one in the reception after 9 pm and neither some time during the day, you have to knock the door till they appear.

    Good location but difficult to park

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location, and a nice view of the Port.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not mentioned that the parking is 700m away following a complicated on way route system. Breakfast very boring. No plug sockets in the bedroom, when I complained, I was told to use the socket in the bathroom, spent a pleasant hour sat on the bathroom floor trying to catch up on work.

    Great location, and a nice view of the Port.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    Great view but hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the port there was a lot of noisy revelling which went on until the street cleaners started.The windows shut most of the noise out but as there was no ac we got very hot. Plastic mattress protection made for sweaty nights

    Good location and view Lift Double/triple glazing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.7
    A night in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, no fans and a really hot night. Too noisy to open the windows.

    The bed was comfy and the breakfast simple but good. The hotel was very well located for walking out into the town and harbourside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    3.8
    Do not stay here if you want to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I could give this place a nice rating. Unfortunately, we couldn't sleep at this hotel. We are a young, professional and very well-traveled couple with reasonable expectations. We simply wanted to sleep after exploring the city all day. This was not possible due to the extreme noise outside of our room from midnight until 5am that included incredibly spirited singing and shouting from literally bus loads of people hanging out on the street below our room. Yes, we had the windows closed. Yes, we had a white noise app playing. Nothing could block out the noise. It was awful. We would have been better off sleeping in our car for the night.

    The hotel is charming with modern decor in an old, refurbished building. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable and had a very beautiful view of the old port.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    6.3
    Great location, but very small rooms with no air-con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door was so heavy we could barely open it, the room was very small. We got the room on the side of the street and as much as it was ok during the day, at night is when the party started! The street had a festival till 12am and then till 5am there were young, drunk French crowd screaming loudly outside. Unfortunately as there was no air-con or even a fan in the room, the choice was to either keep the window open and be woken up every 15 minutes or suffocate. Suffice to say we hardly slept after a long tiring journey.

    Great location close to the centre and the aquarium and welcoming staff. You can purchase your tickets for the aquarium right from the hotel staff to avoid standing in long lines which is very convenient. Option to have breakfast for an additional fee, which we didn't.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    4.6
    Not up to standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was very small for a double and bathroom was tiny. The bed was not a double, but a 3/4. No electric points for charging phones etc. Hole in the wall where electric socket should be! WiFi was very poor and slow. Hotels at 50 euros a night have better facilities in bedrooms.

    Location was good. Hotel was clean. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.1
    Great location, beautiful city to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic hotel and car park around 10 minutes walk away not well signposted !

    Location was perfect, although a little noisy in the evening ! Pleased we were on the fourth floor. Staff were also helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    We can't wait to go back....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on the top floor, too far away from the wifi, and couldnt get a decent signal.

    the staff were fantastic. breakfast was delicious, and generous portions. the view of the port was phenomenal the room was spacious and comfortable with a good sized tv.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    It was very comfortable and i's really enjoy .
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very comfortable and i's really enjoy . There is fantastical view from window

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great start to our holiday and very much appreciated the upgrade in room- thank you xxx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good

    Dinner- fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Basic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The veiw and the location were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The veiw and the location were excellent..and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Hôtel is in the centre of La Rochelle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean the room Problem with wifi

    Hôtel is in the centre of La Rochelle

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    Only the location would justify to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly staff. Difficult outside parking

    The location with harbor view is stunning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    La Rochelle is a great destination and the hotel is well situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New one way system makes access to the hotel by car difficult

    Staff were good very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff were excellent. Only drawback was the parking - but not really a big deal as underground car park 5 mins straight walk from hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    A really pleasant stay in a typical French hotel.. Booking parking if you are in a car is a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea food in and around the hotel was excellent..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed. Convenient parking and easy walk to downtown.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    The views from the room were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, tired rooms, not very clean & the bed was very uncomfortable

    The views from the room were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant staff, great location, hotel averall a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size, breakfast, secure parking was a long way from the hotel.

    Location,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.6
    Great view. Poor quality room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service. The standard of the room very poor

    The View

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.8
    Hotel Rewiew
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy ,no A/C, room very small room

    Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant location and staff lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If room had air conditioning.

    Location and views from our room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Central for la Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking entrance did not work first time, difficult to find exit and then the entrance for pedestrians when picking up car.

    Central for la Rochelle

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy Bed, Amazing views, lovely service, lots to do. Very happy travellers :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Lovely place, nice staff and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely place, nice staff and a great location. Just really nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Location, very clean, staff friendly,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities, would be great

    Location, very clean, staff friendly,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Great little La Rohelle break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and great location. Fresh and tasty continental breakfast. Will come again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    great breakfast, lots choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great breakfast, lots choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Great location ,good value, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager particularly helpful, friendly & kind

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    La Rochelle is really fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not always avIlable

    Excellent location, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.1
    Ideal location for strolling around La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park hard to find first time. Cleanliness was ok but not great.

    Staff very pleasant and location excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great, overlooking the harbour and easy access into the city. Parking wasn't a problem in the surrounding streets. We would highly recommended this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    6.3
    Great location I doubt you could get better in the middle of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Other than the bathroom there was no where to charge my telephone no sockets I could get to in the room. Room was very compact ! shower was only just big enough to turn around in, room was tired, breakfast was basic no cheese, no meat, no eggs. Having said all that I would use again & take my wife there due to the great location.

    Great location I doubt you could get better in the middle of the Harbour area, Breakfast was served which was a nice change. Had a good night sleep.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.8
    The "Boss" is more than hospitable, full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is a little old fashion as far as the decoration of the rooms, yet comfortable.

    The "Boss" is more than hospitable, full of information, what more can you ask for?

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.6
    Central location in vibrant town, 200* balcony view stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location in vibrant town, 200* balcony view stunning in the day and after dark, secure parking 5 minutes away, friendly helpful staff who spoke fluent English and recommended a good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    Friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficulty of access to wifi

    Friendly, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    7.9
    Comfortable warm rooms with very flexible breakfast times!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Looking a little tired in places and could do with a spruce up.

    Comfortable warm rooms with very flexible breakfast times!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    Great location for exploring La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location for exploring La Rochelle

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.8
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plaster coming off the ceiling not very clean the whole hotel need refurbisment

    Position

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.5
    Location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit noisy during the night with the young revellers at the bar next door

    Location was very good

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    7.1
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is a bit tired and in need of refurbishment.

    Location location location!

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.2
    The staff were super friendly and the location second to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were super friendly and the location second to none.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    7.9
    The views are stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls are a little thin though, and sound carried.

    The views are stunning

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: