Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de Lyon 2 stars

23 Avenue Pierre Sémard, 26000 Valence, France

#21 of 26 hotels in Valence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1162 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel really can fool you with the pictures on the web... The was a live lizzard on a reception wall, when I kindly told the receptionist he hesitated a lot. Tiny room, hair on the bed, stained pillows, no air conditioning so the room got hot, but when I opened the windows I had the noise of other room's AC machines. I get it that the hotel is not expensive but at least they should check how they leave the rooms after other customers leave, it could be a poor room, but a clean one.

    Really nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect small no-frills hotel right by station. I have used it many times, only complaint this time was that it was far too hot and it was not possible to turn the heating down or off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel absolutely needs renovation. There is unpleasant odor in the whole building. The bathroom is extremely small, it is like a plastic capsule put inside the room, unacceptable nowadays. The price is low however for sure you can find something much better in this price. Definitely I do not recommend to stay there. The place has a potential but it needs investment.

    Good location, near railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was full of little insects and the quality of the breakfast was very bad.

    The Location of the Hotel is very good, near to the center and next to the trainstation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor. It is an old town centre traditional hotel which needs some TLC. The ensuite was very small indeed. These days there is better value for money in France.

    Reception staff v.good. A few problems at breakfast but they were attended to promptly. Overall the whole place could just do with an update.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom and plumbing facilities were not good. I couldn't shower the entire time I was there and there were problems with the toilet plumbing system. My room flooding both nights I was there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the shower. the only thing the hotel needs is a air conditioner in the summer time, they could improve it doing example : 3 room in 2017 with air and charge more for this room, 2018 get more 3 rooms do it slowly, I know maintain a hotel is not cheap especial for a small price they charge.but if hey put air in the rooms will be a perfect dream hotel :) . But the hotel is good I would b back there.

    Excelente location, 2 min from the train station, 5 min walking from a park and old town with excelente restaurant near by, room is in a good size shower it very super small but is not a big deal water is hot, clean room. I arrived very late night arriving 1 am the stuff ave a room in the first floor that was ridiculous hot was summer the hotel hasn't air conditioner, I asked if they could change me the room they did it so all was fine in the end very helpful and happy reception :). I high recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Only a table fan provided. I booked 3 rooms. They were a bit small but you get what you pay.

    Good for overnight stays at very reasonable price. Near Valence SNCF railway station with safe and cheap overnight parking. Lots of restaurants nearby. Inside rooms were quiet but the streetside rooms were a bit noisy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A cruise ships bathroom is 10 times the size of the bathrooms in this hotel. Breakfast, a joke.

    You get what you pay for. Very very basic. Breakfast, very poor. Coffee undrinkable. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing is free, and the app booking doesn't show to you (the parking, the breakfast, the animals(if you have one, you have to pay). The accomodations are really small, the breakfast is expensive for what you can eat (no salty breakfast), and the bathroom is really really small. Very disappointing!

    The property was near the center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower rooms are extremely cramped, some more than others the breakfasts are unexciting and just adequate

    above all, the location - it has suited us to go there many times as a transport hub

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, vieuw absolutely nothing. Grey walls.

    Lady in reception was very friendly, though she did not have a parking for my car. I specific noted in my mail that i drive a 2 meter high car.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was not working. (the reception lady told me, there's no wifi for level two and three in gerneral..). the female stuff was very unfriendly. the whole hotel, besides the rooms, was smelling like rubbish. I don't know if they don't smell it by thereself.. anyways - it was really disgusting.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- dirty room floor, as if they did not clean it from the previous client. 2- i found a small cute bug in my bed, probably its normal in the Rhône area. 3- the toilet seat is always leaking water from within so you cant sleep at night from the sound of water unless you can imagine it as relaxing water fountain. 4- the shower head cannot be fixed, the thingy that fixes it is broken, and the shower gets filled quickly with water so you jave to be fast or there ll be a flood in the tiny room. 5- the tap from the sink literally collapsed when i first opened it, i had to ikea it back and be gentle when i open the water. Other than that everything was perfect!

    Totally worth the price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible good! Clean, nice staff, good breakfast and the price is exceptional for what you get. Once we will travel again to the south for sure we will stay overnight at this place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally positioned next to the railway station. Thee only problem I had was that the butter was frozen and couldn't spread on to my croissant. Othere than that very happy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room smelled like old smoke. - There was hair on the pillows. - The bathroom is tiny and if you've showered, you will step into water when sitting on the toilet. - The breakfast was croissants, some bland cheap rolls, apples, orange juice, yoghurt and coffee. For 8€, that's not a good choice and nothing tasted really good. Way too expensive. There is a nice-looking bakery a few houses down the street, I'm sure you'll get a much better value there.

    The staff was quite friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Why do people criticise when you basically know what kind of hotel you're booking in the first place?

    Stay over en route to Italy very good value for what it cost

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so small that the Queen-sized bed hardly fitted into it. I had to open my case on the bed as there was no spare floor space for it. The shower and toilet were up 3 steps (hazardous) and were also a tight fit and the basin was elsewhere in the room.

    It was open at 11 pm at night, which was a good start, also the duty manager spoke English (said he understood my French!) and was very pleasant. The breakfast was just passable (soggy croissant, no clean glasses for juice and coffee from a machine): not good enough for the price charged - though it was classed as a "budget" hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No window in room, well a very small one into a back yard at ceiling height. Room was like a cell. No parking, but public parking close by. Wifi did not work

    Okay, was tired so made do.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tiny bathroom - pre cast plastic just like on the cross channel ferries. over priced - charged €84 when the room price on the back of the room said maximum €66. bed linen had holes in it. bedroom had lino floor not carpet. carpet on stairway was dirty and probably at least 10 years old.

    very little. the man on reception on arrival was friendly. the woman on departure wasn't. this is the second worst hotel I have stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole room was an absolute disaster. It was dirty, it was really really smelly (cold smoke smell) and the room didn't look like the pictures at all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, musky room, bathroom the size of hobbits, no tissue or kettle provided and not even a bottle of water. Will never come back here.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small. Breakfast mediocre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient for me as traveling cyclist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road works continuing outside main entrance to hotel. Breakfast not worth the money . Very meagre offerings.

    Convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a dump The reception staff are rude Parking was requested Told to park at railway station

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes music at night until1 am

    Good shower. Mostly quiet. Supermarket and bakery nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom extremely small. Very basic breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower and loo was together, what i do not mind, but this one was just very, very tiny.

    Location - price ratio was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift a bit smelly, use the stairs

    Great value, comfortable and clean, 1 min from train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fair price for what it is

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more taxis/shuttle bus

    perfect hotel for the area. 10 minute walk to main town centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking room next door and we could smell smoke.

    Perfectly in the centre of valnce with a 5 minute walk to a beautiful park. Free secure garage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better for what it cost

    Centrai to old town and parking opposite hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window opened to a weird rooftop canyon.

    It was convenient and clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was wonderful. The location was great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi out of order in my room bad smell overall

    room was very quiet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cold at night.

    Easy, cheap, just fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit on the small side. But good value for the money

    Garage to put motorcycle in. handy for the centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was 2 nights. The first one was very comfortable, the second one I was in a room too noisy.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was happy with what I paid for. I am a bicycle traveler and would reccomend it to all others.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    images of rooms were a bit flattering.

    friendly staff, good location, room sufficient

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was Perfect from Friendly and V-Helpful c/in to my check-out. Only 1night but check-in and info was perfect after long day driving.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was difficult to use.

    The staff was kind enough to let me into my room an hour early

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & very helpfull staff, good location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed tiny hard and uncomfortable . Shower cubicle tiny. Whole place needs recarpetting and freshened up . Shabbiness prevailed

    Location useful as near to restaurants in old part of Valence. Did not much like anything else!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Directions to their garage are not clear, it is located on a different street.

    Location is fairly good & served the purpose of breaking a long drive. Decent restaurants locate nearby.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ensuite is, shall I say, bijou and smaller than Brittany Ferries and Premier Class.

    Location and price. Free parking (only takes three or four cars)

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is €7 each, there is a fantastic boulangerie a few doors down towards the kiosk. Go there instead.

    Location was great for the kiosk and the old town. Parking would be good if you're there all day or for a period of time. We were only there for a morning.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - No air conditioning - No elevator - Staff tried to charge more money than was agreed on Booking.com - Very small bathroom in double room

    - Clean rooms - 24 h reception desk - Free parking in street outside hotel - Reasonable price vs. quality

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    LACK OF HOT WATER IN THE MORNING IE COLD SHOWER

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no lift

    location

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a smoking room... And we don't smoke

    Very basic,

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    la situation centrale de l'hotel

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is very basic for 8 euros and the bathroom (shower) was very small.

    excellent location and very helpful friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Staff was helpful and friendly. Stay was good overall.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Couldn't use use the internet

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfasts are unexciting and not good value.

    room 206 as the shower room is large, also there are two folding chairs which are useful.

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: