Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Monaco

1 Avenue Pierre Weck, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France

#12 of 22 hotels in Cap d'Ail

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Again, covered our needs, but a bit of strain for older knees....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Third floor walk-up....and down...!! Street parking. Little supervision from additional guest parent's children during breakfast service in lobby....TINY Shower.

    Hotel attendant helped tremendously lugging bags to our 3rd floor room. Nicely appointed lobby. location doable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Comfy and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a B&B style. The bathroom is old fashioned and needs some work.

    Comfy and clean room It has fridge It is 5 min walk to the train station and the beach on the bottom is really nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    2.9
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To my great regret this hotel was an absolute disappointment and I would never come back there even for free. When I got into the first room I was allocated to, there was a puddle of water next to the entrants produced by dirty leaking AC supposedly from 90s. I’ve asked to change my room, and as a result I got a room two times smaller than the first one with AC as dirty. In the second room it was dusty, seemed like somebody died on that very bad I had to to sleep on. The bathroom was an absolute fiasco. It was an old, very small space with hair and excrements of the previous guest.... I’m not sure if the room was cleaned up at all before my arrival. Initially I was booking two nights at the hotel, but I’ve disappeared from there on a very next morning, and I will certainly never come back there again. Overall I believe that unlike description says the place was not actually fully renovated, may be just partially at the entrants. Pictures do not represent what rooms actually look like in reality. Sea is not 5 mins away - you will spend at least 10-15 as there is quite a steep hill. Going down to the beach is pretty fast, but going backwards is quite an exercise. To sum up, dear readers, i don’t usually leave reviews, but I want to alarm those of you who are considering of spoiling your vacation at that shet whole. Guys, don’t do it. My advise would be just check some offers from well known 4star hotels, which would cost you exactly the same, and dont experiment like I did, not to waste time and money. Have a good holiday and I hope that my review was useful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Small Civilised Hotel in Cap d'Ail (South of France)
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had no elevator so if you are on the 3d floor and you have heavy suitcases...The bedrom's closet could have some additional space for clothes if one stays more than a couple of nights it is highly likely that part of the clothes will have to stay in the suitcases. Last but not least they are building a villa in front of the hotel and during the week working hours it might be an issue. The Television had many channels in French, Italian, German and Russian but in English there were only Bloomberg and CNBC. The parking was on the street and there were certain hours when it was not feasible to find a place around the hotel as you cannot book any parking space in advance.

    I liked the small building carachter of the hotel (previously what the French call an "Hotel Particulier"). Located relatively close to two beautiful beathches and not too close from the centre of Cap d'Ail. The bedroom had a reasonable dimemension, high ceilings and was decorated in a simple tasteful way. The bed waas quite comfortable and the a/c was very efficient and not too nosy. Tha bathroom had a reasonable dimension and the shower was good. Finally the breakfast was worthwhile (which is not always the case in the South of France). The hotel has a good relation Price- Quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    I loved that it was near to the center of Cap D’Ails and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were super small , bathrooms had 0 Space I’ve booked my room 4 months in advance and yet was given one of the worse rooms in the building . My parenrts and I had 2 rooms , they had to check out before us , so i requested keep room 34 because all my things and dresses for the event i was at were a hassle to move to the other room , and i made sure that i was checking out the next day early morning .. the guy at the reception insited i take yhe other room because 34 was apparently “ pre-booked “ I asked for a room with double beds , i got a room with one bed !

    I loved that it was near to the center of Cap D’Ails and the elite beaches

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Super place 100% worth the price, good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmmm not much to say, perhaps the location but for us it was no Problem and also Breakfqst is supplement.

    Really nice place clean, biig, nice balcony, silent... 100% worth the price i payd

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was good, althuogh the table was too tiny to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to find a parking place close to the hotel. There was a bad smell in the bathroom. I think it is a little bit expensive.

    The breakfast was good, althuogh the table was too tiny to have a comfortable breakfast. Cooking and cleaning the egg for yourself wasn't the best solution. The bed was comfortable, and the view was nice from the room. Television was good with internation channels. Wifi worked well. Staff was polite. Close to Monaco, 10 minutes by car on beautiful roads.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Location to go to Monaco very easily is great !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissants and pain au chocolat are not fresh and not enough cooked

    Location to go to Monaco very easily is great ! Very clean rooms. The owner is a nice gentleman

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location, nice design of common areas
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room colud be more clean, a breakfast was modest and unfortunately coffee was really poor. There is no elevator so it's very hard to take lugguge on 3rd floor. Noisy renovation of a building in front of a room's window.

    Good location, nice design of common areas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    Pretty boutique-style hotel, super friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator, so if your room is 30-something you have to climb some 50+ steps with your bags... Re comfort: the bathrooms are really tiny

    Very nicely redecorated boutique hotel, convenient location for a stopover (less so for the beach)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Best small hotel I've ever stayed, go stay there!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one staff member although great was always on the phone in public so quite loud. Although did not spoil the stay was unite irritating.

    The room was very comfortable and clean and great views. Breakfast was excellent, staff lovely, location perfect as only a short drive to Monaco!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the bathroom should be renovated (especially the bathtub and the curtain to be changed)

    - good location for those who want to stay close to Monaco but don't want to be overcharged by its hotel rates, - beautiful decor - of the room and the hotel in general, - very comfortable bed, - free parking (2 spaces) next to the hotel, - walking distance to restaurants (try the Lebanese restaurant)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Mini oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect

    The ambience of the reception. As soon as you stepped inside, you felt transported to another world l

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail, beautiful and clean. Nice outdoor area at the back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location and view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Staff were lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wash room was small

    Staff were lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Parking not available as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not available as advertised. Parked several blocks away, so it worked out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The boutique and quiet atmosphere was most appealing. The host was extremely helpful and the hotel was just minutes walk from very good restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean comfortable and good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift which may be an issue for some travellers

    Great location, clean comfortable and good sized room. Near to Monaco

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern rooms, tea and coffee available in the rooms, 15min walk away from centre, everything was clean, Best price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More pillows and kettle in our room

    Entrance lobby is stunning, bed very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    excellent place to stay for a short break on the Cote d'Azur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quiet situation, short walk to beach, close to bus and train stops. Direct access from room to terrace. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Next to MC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reconstructions in next building

    Perfect location. Attentive staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    The staff and owners of the hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and owners of the hotel .. Top

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice design and smelt nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice design and smelt nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    very friendly Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly Hotel. Excellent Value - shame only stayed for a night !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.6
    Dissapointed never book through Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom no proper cleaning of rooms!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.1
    Under the bed sheet was other people's hair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under the bed sheet was other people's hair

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.8
    next time , i am going to go there a gain
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very good, breakfast, and nice behavior from the recreation

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    Yes
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Bathroom was very old fashioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very old fashioned

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    super
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly and helpful owners

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    8.8
    The staff were really friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no lift and the wifi was not working too well on a couple of days. The coffee was not great at breakfast. The bedrooms and furniture are clean but tired.

    The staff were really friendly & helpful. The lobby and bar areas were tastefully furnished and the location was quiet yet convenient for local shops and trains

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    very nice small Hotel, not far from the main street of cap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast very poor (specially the coffee not italian like!!). No elevator.

    very nice small Hotel, not far from the main street of cap d`ail and from this street goes the bus to Monaco and Nice (so you can be in 10-15 min. in Monte-Carlo). Nice rooms, small but comfortable. wunderful view of the coast.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    6.7
    The roomed looked really nice as we first walked in and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower curtain looked really dirty, the shower holder broke in my hands, the shower had literally no pressure so showering was not an easy task.

    The roomed looked really nice as we first walked in and it looked beautiful. The lobby of the hotel is gorgeous!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    3.8
    Cosy lobby
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No warning of lack of elevator. No mention of rooms being tiny. Website photo showing bay misleading (only sea glimpses from third floor top room). Mould in bathroom

    Cosy lobby

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful manager, beautiful decor, amazing view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful manager, beautiful decor, amazing view and location was within walking distance of many restaurants, try La Pinede its amazing

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    A nicely decorated hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A nicely decorated hotel in a great location. The staff were friendly and my room had a view of the sea.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift. Bathroom facilities.

    Great location. A very nice property. Home feeling. French style.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.9
    the location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no good coffee machine...

    the location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.5
    good por the price.
    • Group

    No elevator

    good por the price.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    4.2
    very small room, no elevator, extremely small bathroom, dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very small room, no elevator, extremely small bathroom, dirty

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.5
    Small but good room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room on third floor and no lift, but they did carry my case up for me. Very small bathroom

    Small but good room

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    6.7
    Rooms too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms too small

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: