Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Paris 2 stars

18 rue Gargoulleau, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#33 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 578 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location for a short stay in La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a very basic 2 star. No sound proofing so can hear noises, conversations from neighboring rooms, corridors and from the reception desk downstairs. Only 6 rooms with balconies which are a little bigger than standard rooms. No air con. Difficult to control hot and cold water in the shower. No local information given on check in.

    Excellent location, near the bus station, the market. shopping and the port. Hotel was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Cycling friendly,great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff, fantastic location. I turned up on a bicycle without asking if I could keep it there. Staff were only too happy to allow me to lock it within an inner courtyard. Charming street with market outside. I’d happily stay there again. Many thanks 👍

    Cycling friendly,great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Far too noisy, there are rooms at the back which seemed to be quieter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.

    Bad location, no a/c or fans, street facing room noisy all night, cigarette smoke drifting into room during the night, we had to have windows open as it was very hot. Bed not too bad. Staff and breakfast better than room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    As always fantastic place to stay for location, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As always fantastic place to stay for location, comfortable and staff extremely helpful. Have stayed here three times now and always most enjoyable and relaxed. Free parking just 5 mins walk away and never had a problem. Highly recommend this hotel. Thanks to all staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful And relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as far as I am concerned wonderful

    Fantastic situation.in the town everything’s needed close by 5 minutes. To bus station. 10 minutes. To harbour. 5 Minutes. To fabulous market. Hotel staff. Very kind and helpful. Nothing to much trouble. Even carried our luggage upstairs. Just a fabulous hotel in a lovely old French house can’t thank the staff enough for their help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Great La Rochelle "centre ville" hotel find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy guests and adjoining room's TV but really nothing to prevent my staying there again!!

    Very welcoming staff. Considerable character features in hotel coupled with unusual art display. Super convenient position close to Market and Place Verdun with Airport bus stand. Much more pleasant than modern formula type hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn't stay again. Worth paying a bit more for a better quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic room, double bed with only two pillows, no tea making facilities, bathroom very dated, no shower curtain. Loud plumbing noises from other rooms. Cheap retro decor.

    Central location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Reasonably priced hotel in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They can't fix any point: 1. Just be aware that there is no elevator and room 12 was up 3 floors. Lugged the bags up and down. 2 Old town traffic and narrow one way streets with parked cars makes accessing to off-load luggage difficult. 3. Paid underground parking is relatively close but free parking was full on Saturday afternoon and further away.

    Location in old town and on a market street. Wifi was good and we needed it to rebook the end of our trip

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location - a little more thought would help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wetroom was very smart, but not much thought had gone into its design - when used the room filled with water and couldn't be accessed without getting wet. At least they could have provided a mop! The washbasin tap worked by being lifted, but there was a shelf immediately above it which made this very difficult.

    Very nice ground floor room (as requested) with a little terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and location, great staff, very private room to the front, a little small, great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blind on my window was broken which meant I couldn't open the windows to the street - big disappointment. Staff offered another room which I didn't take as it had smaller windows onto the courtyard so I stayed in first room.

    I loved the location, the staff were absolutely lovely and I loved the long windows in my bedroom with a view to the street. Great shower. Nice courtyard to sit in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew there was no where to park the car when I booked but as I booked 6 months before the trip I had forgotten. Unloading and parking the car was a nightmare

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast was fabulous, and so we're the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were noisy, you could hear everything in the next room. Our bed was uncomfortable and squeaked with every movement

    The breakfast was fabulous, and so we're the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.2
    Crap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    paper walls. when your neighbour goes to the loo, you'll wake up, when he talks, even softly, you'll hear it too. Nightly noise from the street also penetrates easily into your room. No airco, shower doesn't function properly. Price is way too high.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    I contacted them by phone, were very helpful, booked a taxi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I contacted them by phone, were very helpful, booked a taxi for me in advance and called me back to confirm. It was nice to be able to arrive late (23:00 p.m.) and leave early. (Unfortunately I missed the breakfast, though).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    A nice hotel near the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator (but the receptionist helped with our baggage). The room was very hot.

    A nice and small hotel with reasonable pricing near La Rochelle's old town. A public parking garage was quite near. The market (marche) which is held a couple of times a week starts right in front of the hotel :) Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Don't rely on parking near Hotel de Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving at a busy time, parking is a nightmare. Can quickly drop luggage into hotel but then a convoluted one way drive to very expensive public parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect city centre location without noise and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit dated and no fan but clean and shower hot.

    The staff here are so friendly. They will do anything to make your stay more perfect. Breakfast very good and reasonable. You chose what you like from the range of items set out. Location is 10 mins from old port and 5 mins from underground car park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very dated

    All okay needs a bit of updating especially the bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful really central and parking up the road. could do with tea and coffee in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.5
    Love La Rochelle and this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason our room was not serviced one day Also the wet room bathroom floor didn't slop sufficiently towards the plug hole so puddles everywhere! Nothing major though just niggles.

    This is our 3rd or 4th stay here so they must be doing something right if we keep going back!!! 1st time we have had a ground floor room which was a lovely bonus as got our own little terrace Staff always very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.6
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive. Around the corner there's some shops to find a pastry much cheaper.

    Great location, very helpful and friendly staff, great room. There was a door code to get in after nine. I like the security.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    Two-star hotel for one-star price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to any floor so be prepared for 2 flights if on the second floor. Rooms smallish and in need of freshening paint-wise but clean. Basic buffet breakfast - but other options in the same street.

    Location excellent, walking distance from the old port and other tourist interest. Staff super helpful and freindly. Wifi acceptable for streaming. Quiet (we had a courtyard room).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    Surrounded by market.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit on the hard side. Bedrooms a bit tired but evidence of ongoing work.. Coffee cold at breakfast but staff happy to do something about this. Otherwise breakfast good.

    Staff wonderful. The location trumps all. Centre of La Rochelle in little market street. Evening and morning surrounded by wonderful market stalls. Chic shopping and old harbour very close. We would use this hotel again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    3.8
    Worst hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel tired and shabby. Broken tiles on bathroom floor, mouldy shower, bed bugs! Breakfast rubbish. Bathroom door would not close. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in, and not cheap. Think fawlty towers without the fun.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    4.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very tired looking.our balcony which overlooked an overgrown courtyard has not been swept for weeks, Ted flowerpots full with cigarettes ends and a rusted through chair.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Free breakfast for children under 18, staff very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast for children under 18, staff very friendly and helpful, excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host. The place was tired. No lift. Small rooms. No aircon

    The town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Arty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite basic

    The eclectic decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    La Rochelle is a beautiful place & this hotel is perfectly situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking, no bar!

    Great location,, clean & freshly decorated, nice sized room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice weekend in La Rochelle.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the supplement for a pet of €6.50 a bit excessive.

    Location near centre of the town was good. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Just one night in La Rochelle but the hotel was perfect for it. Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very friendly staff, good breakfast. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable. Would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had a mind of its own. Not good

    Helpfulness of staff. Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    We were going to stay longer but booked out after one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped rooms - rooms on the street side were extremely noisy - all night.

    Location within the central area of La Rochelle

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Position close to the center and market place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking, no lift.

    Position close to the center and market place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Great little hotel in the centre of La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really, good comfortable hotel

    Very good location in the centre of La Rochelle. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin so you can hear your neighbours talk, snore and have sex. Every night! :(

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all as expected

    Very convenient for shopping and port areas

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    4.6
    Needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very thin walls, poor breakfast, not clean.

    location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.3
    We were given a ground floor room as requested since there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a ground floor room as requested since there was no lift. The room seemed to have been recently renovated and the bathroom would be suitable for guests with limited mobility. The bedroom & bathroom were both a good size, and the room was clean. Wifi was good. We had a small 'balcony' on the courtyard where we enjoyed some food from the nearby market, and staff were happy to give us hot water to make hot drinks. Location was nice and close to the market, but a longish walk from the railway station.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    4.2
    Balcony with access to fire escape overlooked pleasant inner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception area, breakfast area and stairwell all open plan, so no sound barrier between front door on street and poor sound-insulating guestroom doors. Loud party of women in breakfast area 21h00 - 22h15 drowned out fixed TV volume in room! Shrieking party returned 00h45 - 02h15 when sleep impossible! Why was this permitted? Two bedside chairs with padded seats were very grubby with several large stains which suggested that previous guests had weak bladder control! No waste bin in guestroom. No notice in guestroom of services available or general regulations.

    Balcony with access to fire escape overlooked pleasant inner courtyard with mature trees. Effective security and sound/light insulation from balcony given by double-glazed doors and metal shutters.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.8
    It was a good location with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms were a bit dated and creaky but all part of the surroundings.

    It was a good location with very friendly staff. Rooms was bigger then expected and clean. Only stayed for one night but am looking at returning all will use this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    4.5
    we booked this hotel 3 weeks ago we arrived and they said...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we booked this hotel 3 weeks ago we arrived and they said they were full and could only offer use a family room No 15 don't go there no curtains out of date furniture and a minging shower, they said we cannot park outside and had to go to the underground 7euro, the parking in front in the morning was full of FRENCH cars, breakfast was a joke

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    9.2
    central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no hairdryer, kettle, plates/dishes in the room

    central location large room with balcony jalousie on window very quiet good wifi no need to fill in a form at the reception or sign anything

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    9.6
    Excellent friendly, warm, welcoming staff who were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent friendly, warm, welcoming staff who were very helpful. The room was great for the price and the breakfast for 7E was amazing, so much food and a smiley face serving it.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.9
    Superb location, friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our bed in room 9 was VERY squeaky until we moved it then it was fine The bathroom was a bit tired, cracked tiles on floor, dripping sink tap etc but nothing too major.

    Superb location, friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    The spacious room, the parking close by, in a lovely little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like was the weather, it never stopped raining so we left after one night but that wasn't the hotel's fault!

    The spacious room, the parking close by, in a lovely little pedestrian street in the beautiful old town

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.3
    easy for car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the picture of hotel looks as though its in a pedestrian walk way but its very busy with traffic so very noisy during night not much sleep and the room was to hot could not open window because of traffic noise shower needs to be sorted and toilet dose not flush properly

    easy for car park. nice walk down to the harbour and through the cobbled streets

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff at the hotel gave us a warm welcome and were helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff at the hotel gave us a warm welcome and were helpful with restaurant recommendations and directions. The hotel is in a great location, on a pedestrianised road close to shops, transport links and the beach.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location in the heart of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a bit creaky!

    Excellent location in the heart of town. Friendly helpful patron. Room plain and simple but nice and quiet, with everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.3
    Location is ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's okay for the money and the staff tries hard to please. The bed was hard, toilet didn't work, but these things happen even in a home. In their behalf, they did say they would look into things.

    Location is ideal

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    3.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was damp. A strong citronella smell on entering the room - it became apparent it was masking the damp. Clean sheets on the bed but it felt damp to lie in. The shower did not work properly and simply soaked the bathroom. We stayed in room 18, the 'garden room' so I cannot comment upon the other rooms, but this room should not be rented out. The laminate floor had 'blown' with the damp. It had swelled and popped up in places and was not clean. I did not wish to have a difficult confrontation with the owner when my French is limited, so simply put it down to a very bad experience. I think it is unacceptable to be taking money from customers when the owner must realise that the room is in a poor condition. A poor show for La Rochelle.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the centre of the old town, close to the market and the Vieux Port. We had bright sunny rooms on the second floor, each with an attractive balcony. We very much appreciated the courtesy and efficiency of the manager and staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    5.4
    a fairly good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi fi is non existent in room or in reception. I could not even get a signal to sign in. Overall the room was 'tatty' with doors not closing correctly ,shower head unable to face downwards and various sanitary items chipped/broken. I was not told of any outside space being available. We chose not to have breakfast as we had no faith in it being up to much

    a fairly good location

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic staff, lovely and clean room in a brilliant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic staff, lovely and clean room in a brilliant location. A wide variation of shops right on the doorstep and such a short walk from the port and its restaurants. Would definitely recommend and I will likely stay here again in the future!

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    6.7
    Central location, Nr bus stop from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room at the front of the hotel was surprisingly noisy into the early hours.

    Central location, Nr bus stop from airport. Friendly host. Clean. Fair value for money.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.3
    It was a great location, very close to the verdun car park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi was very intermittent - apparently Orange network doesn't work when there is "weather".

    It was a great location, very close to the verdun car park where we left our car overnight (very reasonable price) and pretty much straight into the heart of the town shops. La Rochelle is a fantastic place to visit and The Hotel de Paris is a good base - basic but clean and all we needed to enjoy such a wonderful town.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location and the Place de Verdun car park is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi didn't reach my room.

    Excellent location and the Place de Verdun car park is very close, so I parked underground and the charges were reasonable. Staff were very smiley and friendly and went out of their way to help. Also very clean and the street outside is quiet.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    The location is convenient, public parking is nearby and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The street in front of the hotel is very noisy, one cannot open the window during the night.

    The location is convenient, public parking is nearby and it is a 5-10 min walk to the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.5
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    To replace or make-over the tired bathroom shower could be a good idea. If not, then the cleanliness ratings may not improve due to its grubby appearance. Breakfast. Save time avoid chaos and try any nearby patisseries instead.

    Location was excellent. Reasonable price for summertime.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.8
    The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I stayed with a young family and the stairs were not good for young children we also had a very rude comment from one lady who worked there about the baby's crying which put me on edge all holiday and I spent my time wanting to be out or home! I felt like they were doing us a favour and we had payed good money to stay!

    The location was good

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    I loved the location of this hotel - a short walk to the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the location of this hotel - a short walk to the old port and just minutes to a beautiful daily food market and main bus depot. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    5.8
    The location was very good centre of town lot's to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very steep stairs I have a heart condition and had an angina attack after climbing two very steep flights to our room on second floor.

    The location was very good centre of town lot's to do

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    6.3
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    cant connect wifi on 2nd floor; No aircon. Its too hot with the window shut and too noisy with the window opening If you stay the rooms facing street. You have to ask for toilettries each day. The cleaners never replaced them.

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.6
    The location of this little hotel is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All good. We were very luckly getting a parking space so near the hotel.

    The location of this little hotel is fantastic. We stayed in a family room which was better than expected and great value for money. It was very clean and quite. Staff were friendly and breakfast was far too much for allof us!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    7.9
    Loved the location, the balcony, the cleanliness of the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tree in the courtyard could be cut back (not cut down as lovely pigeons nesting in it!) so to let more sunlight in to the balconies and courtyard.

    Loved the location, the balcony, the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Good location within a bustling area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location within a bustling area. Beautiful city, plenty to see. Hotel lovely, impressed with the decor and the signature swan sculpted from towels. Breakfast was excellent and abundant!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Staff very helpfull. Excellent location just two minutes from the main bus stop. We were allowed to leave our bags even though we were not leaving till the afternoon. Bed very confortable. Staff spoke very good english.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    Location very close to Central area, car parking and other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift.

    Location very close to Central area, car parking and other areas. The room was cosy and clean The service was very good, friendly and efficient. Excellent value for your money

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.1
    Well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Their internet did not work for me. It was incompatible with my Windows 8 machine as well as with my Blackberry cell phone. (liked apple machines). The owner could not solve the problem (he tried his best). The soundproofing is rather poor (there was baby crying loudly in the middle of the night in another room and it felt like the baby was in our room).

    Well situated. Ten minute walk from the harbour. We really enjoyed La Rochelle

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    7.9
    Great location in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    An echoing courtyard and no sound-proofing meant that it was an "ear-plugs night." A little decoration would spruce up drab, basic rooms.

    Great location in the center of the city. I liked having a balcony.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.8
    easy to find and handy to park up our motorcycle outside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we arrived tired and needed to freshen up. We were told our room would take 30 mins so we went for short walk. We came back an hour later and still not ready but we insisted that we needed to get changed. We were given a better room for same price

    easy to find and handy to park up our motorcycle outside the police station around the corner in Place de Vendu

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    8.8
    extremely friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not great sound proofing - some noisy guests one night but i think they were asked to be quiet about 11, which they then were.

    extremely friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.8
    This is basic 2 star accom with charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water took a long time to come through - had to run tap/shower for ages. No lift and we were on second floor.

    This is basic 2 star accom with charm. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice balcony by a tree over courtyard. Comfortable bed. Great location - walking distance of shops/port/transport. Back room overlooking courtyard was very quiet and peaceful..

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    6.7
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was broken but still worked.

    Location is good. Close to main shopping district. Had a room at the back so was very quiet. Markets every day near by. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.2
    The lady who welcomed us on arrival was extremely helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing!

    The lady who welcomed us on arrival was extremely helpful about where to park, hotel info etc. Breakfast was good value and staff very friendly. (I have rated the comfort and facilities lower only because it is a 2 star hotel, we were very happy!)

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.6
    Easy to find, parking in Place Verdun well signposted on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find, parking in Place Verdun well signposted on approach roads, not expensive (approx. 7/8 euros per 24 hrs). Local market, shops, restaurants all within easy walking distance. Quiet location even tho' in centre of town. Near to quai, seafront. Would recommend and will stay there again. Great value for money, clean and well decorated.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: