Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Moulins Centre Hôtel de Paris 4 stars

21, Rue De Paris, 03000 Moulins, France

#8 of 12 hotels in Moulins

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 423 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! The young woman at the front desk on our arrival couldn’t have been more helpful and cheerful!! What a nice welcome! And the spa was superb - wish we‘d arrived in time for a massage! And breakfast was quite enjoyable, with fresh squeezed orange juice! The location was only a five minute walk to the city centre where we found a lovely variety of places to eat and relax - such a charming setting!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    The best hôtel in Moulins
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beautyfull view through the Windows... The restaurant is definitively closes. It was so good before !!!!

    Air conditionning so silent. Bed confort super good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant . No guest information about hotel or spa in room

    Perfrct location.Fresh orange juice at breakfast. The air conditioning in our room wasn't working so we were upgraded to a suite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    If the hotel policy is to put guests travelling with pets in tired rooms then it is a false economy.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel we were very disappointed. We paid the same price as other guests but because we travelled with our dog, we were put in a tired room. And then they charge a cleaning supplement on top! The bathroom was particularly poor & needs renovation. The photos on booking.com do not fully represent the quality offered to us.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    `we have used this hotel on several occasions, it has always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    `we have used this hotel on several occasions, it has always been very good, warm friendly staff and very well situated to walk in to town anveiw the sites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    The rooms are very comfy and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the hotel has been taken over by Mercure there has been a few cut backs on the little extras which give the feel of a bed and breakfast more than a hotel.

    The rooms are very comfy and a great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location but poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner average but very disappointing breakfast - croissants very poor and really didn't like the do-it-yourself coffee machine which gave very poor coffee. When you pay extra for breakfast this is really not good value. Only a duvet on bed - no top sheet - which made it very hot as you couldn't throw off the bedclothes.

    Excellent location and parking. Friendly staff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel and would definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little on the small side but okay for the overnight stay.

    The hotel is well located for exploring the town and close to many restaurants. There is secure on site parking at an additional cost, very useful as parking nearby appears to be limited. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the overall experience was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Still a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom - very modern, state of the art shower, which only seemed to dispense very hot water despite my fiddling with controls. Toiletries - Mercure gel. Old Hotel had nicer local stuff. Also, those who recall the magnificent restaurant of past years will find the Brasserie, fine as it is, a poor substitute.

    Still retains a lot of its old charm - I've known the hotel for twenty years - despite now being a Mercure, so now a chain. Deep windows, shutters etc. Public areas attractive, as are terrace and pool. Staff polite and helpful. Brasserie was good - choice, efficiency, service, despite its being a young team. Excellent location for historic parts of Moulins.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Shower was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many sun loungers, area small to sit in. Pool very small, only access via ladder. Air conditioning did not work. Breakfast expensive.

    Shower was very good. Key card for room very good. Secure car parking. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed visit
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathrobes,slippers,toiletries bottles of water in room...... no memember of staff to greet on our arrival.....definitely not as pleasant as our past visits and NOT four star value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel in central Moulins with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Th e hot water in the bath was not so hot, great hot water in the shower though.

    Very friendly welcome, great breakfast and large secure car park. Hotel is very close to the town centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast is expensive for what was available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive for what was available. Having stayed there several times, sometimes breakfast is very good (quality and variety), some others not so much.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    The bathroom in the family room very tired.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in the family room very tired. The bath has seen better days, would not even get in it. Holes in floor ! In a four star hotel there should be a coffee & tea maker in the bedroom especially family room needing hot water etc.....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Bar service was via reception and too slow.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service was via reception and too slow.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Wi-fi was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was poor. I had to pay same parking rate for my motorcycle as one would a car

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.0
    No restaurant, unable to open room window,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant, unable to open room window,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    It was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con

    We just used the hotel for a one night stay. No breakfast, no use of facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel in nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange small in my room

    Good patking and resteraunt. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Would use the hotel again if returning to Moulins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Comfortable room equipped to a high standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Recommended for a short stsy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except the room was a bit small

    Quiet comfortable and nice swimming pool. They also put some cool boxes in their walk in freezer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.7
    Staff untrained and incompetent totally ruined our 40 th wedding aniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff training a manager in attendance

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Traveling Chef's dream stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect including location! Excellent staff and stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    The BEST PLACE TO STAY in Moulins, France!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wishes we could have stayed longer!

    Traveling Chef traveling Moulins.. LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.5
    Quiet clean bedroom just right for half way stop to Alps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plastic cups for our cup of tea or coffee !!!

    Quiet clean bedroom just right for half way stop to Alps from Normandy .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cost of breakfast was high

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.8
    stopover on way to Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bad odour in the bedroom and stained wash basin.

    excellent breakfast. good position near centre of the town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    Le bruit de l air conditionne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Le bruit de l air conditionne

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in a romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our - very comfortable - room was on the ground floor.

    The building, the location, the nostalgic atmosphere. And breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bath wasn't shiny, it had lost all the enamel as it was so old that was our only disappointment.

    We enjoyed our stay. Good food in the bistro, clean rooms, duvet and pillows were so comfy and soft. Parking available at no extra cost.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    9.2
    We like the decoration in the bedroom and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not like that the shower did not work properly ie the water was too hot. I reported it to the reception when I left and was told that the shower column had to be changed. However, in the meantime, it is not pleasant to have a shower. As to the basin, water is not retained and keeps running.

    We like the decoration in the bedroom and bathroom. The bed is also very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The buffet was abundant and there was plenty of choice. The staff was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    8.8
    Central location, private parking, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed on Saturday night, but not too important as only a short walk to independent restaurants, but not so good in heavy rain.

    Central location, private parking, excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    Great location, extremely helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, extremely helpful and friendly staff. Luxuriously appointed en suite room, altogether excellent value for money. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    8.3
    Very good location from which to explore the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi almost useless!

    Very good location from which to explore the sights. Nice room and bathroom, parking facilities and good breakfast. Bistro served good food. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    State of the hotel; noisy floor boards - could hear noise from the corridor; air con did not work. Unfortunately we decided to have the gastronomic meal and it was a throw back from Sixties cuisine; not pleasant and very expensive.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful room (I received a complimentary upgrade to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful room (I received a complimentary upgrade to a suite!) and very friendly staff. Perfect location, just a few steps away from the historic centre. Parking available at reasonable cost.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    elegant old building recently refurbished with appropriate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast: wide variety available but hot food distinctly lukewarm because cover to serving dish kept open. Disappointing.

    elegant old building recently refurbished with appropriate decor, in historical quarter. We were in an annexe across attractive courtyard, with a small, unheated, swimming pool - but all excellent. A delightful stay - our sixth - and it is great to see the hotel develop so well. Dinner in the bistro restaurant was also very pleasant - obviously focus on making this a destination restaurant: well done!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    the location is very good as well as the personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a very small room for 100 euro/night. I have had much better deals. Breakfast is 16 euro which I think is quit expensive.

    the location is very good as well as the personnel. Very friendly and good English

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    excellent hotel, very professional staff and great care...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the swimming pool was inviting but access and lack of some privacy an issue.

    excellent hotel, very professional staff and great care taken at arrival. room and facilities top class and service exceptional. great central location and easy to find. excellent restaurant for evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.8
    Hotel had great style and character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Even though it was late July, the air conditioning was "out of order".

    Hotel had great style and character. Staff was very friendly. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Location was good

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    I stayed here several times, finally breakfast deserves its...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed here several times, finally breakfast deserves its price. Hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable. For sure the best in town. The small swimming pool is good for refreshing in hot summer, not for swimming.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    5.4
    Great design of the rooms, walkable location to the city,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Dust in the teacups and bathroom, unfriendly staff, stiff

    Great design of the rooms, walkable location to the city, although only open in the weekends good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Great pool and terrace - ate wonderful meal in bistro at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast bit pricey

    Great pool and terrace - ate wonderful meal in bistro at good value with friendly helpful staff - 2 minutes from historical centre .

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bad smell in the room (faulty plumbing), the unexperienced and not very polite girl that greeted us at the reception, the pool/spa is not in the hotel but in the basement of a nearby church (across the gravel backyard of the hotel)

    The location

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    The hotel upgraded our room and the result was sumptuous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel upgraded our room and the result was sumptuous. We stayed on a night when the main restaurant was closed, but we had an excellent meal in the brasserie. We were revisiting 34 years after our original honeymoon stay and it's as lovely now as it was then.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Just a chance booking on a cycle tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Just a chance booking on a cycle tour. We rarely stay at four star hotels but this exceeded all expectations. It turned out to be the best value by far. Could not fault the service or presentation of the hotel. Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    6.3
    Premium Room was nice and comfortable but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The secure parking cost additional €8. There are two restaurants in the hotel only 1 was open as our stay was on a Wednesday. I ordered a Steak cooked Rare it was over cooked, chewy and awful I sent it back uneaten, to the Kitchen - no apology or alternative was offered. (95€ total meal cost) My wife was also dissatisfied with her meal Checked out the following morning - The next day I discovered they had attempted two debits on my Euro Travelcard and a week later I and still waiting for the funds ( €292 ) to be made available to me.

    Premium Room was nice and comfortable but overpriced

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.9
    Beautifully refurbished old building in an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a room that was extremely hot and the air conditioning was not working in that room. The staff were not very helpful with regards to this and it took us an hour to get another room. This was very disappointing as we wanted to go out and explore and get something to eat but also they were trying to "fob" us off which is not acceptable. The room we eventually got was cooler but we were still very hot overnight as the air conditioning is done by computer from reception and so you have no control over it, therefore we had a disturbed sleep.

    Beautifully refurbished old building in an excellent location with secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Superb! Everything. Especially the breakfast. 5 stars!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Restaurant for dinner need improve quality of food for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant for dinner need improve quality of food for dinner, breakfast on the other hand was simple but quite good

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    The fact that I know what to expect, the secure parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that I know what to expect, the secure parking, always good food and extremely comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.8
    Fabulous bedrooms and bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only bistro style restaurant open food good but a bit tacky environment - plastic menus and paper napkins.

    Fabulous bedrooms and bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tv control not working. A bit too warm in the room, without temperature control.

    Very pleasant

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    8.3
    Room/Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi speed

    Room/Staff

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast - best hotel breakfast in the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast - best hotel breakfast in the region Lock up security for bicycles Modern comfortable rooms, stayed in the new annexe

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful, location good and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double bed was very small!

    The staff were very helpful, location good and breakfast excellent. Liked the bistro serving food on a Sunday evening.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location and wonderful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor maintenance in bathroom. Unnecessarily complicated shower arrangement.

    Good location. Comfortable and Characterful decoration.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was good. staff very polite. meal in the brasserie was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Excellent service, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent service, good food

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully furnished in traditional French style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully furnished in traditional French style.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    Charming property;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Climate control was not working properly- everything else was great!

    Charming property; excellent staff. Very comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.2
    The staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plastic undercover on the mattress which made us perspire.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was over at 10am - a little early after traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was over at 10am - a little early after traveling. Would have been nice if it was available until 10:30

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    Breakfast was very disappointing and not worth the money we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very disappointing and not worth the money we paid.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: