Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Au Grand Hôtel de Sarlat 4 stars

93 avenue de Selves, 24200 Sarlat-la-Canéda, France

#24 of 26 hotels in Sarlat-la-Canéda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 219 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location for Sarlat and usual Logis excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A one night stop over and, as usual, the Logis experience was a good one. Excellent location a few minutes walk from Sarlat medieval centre, a very welcome outdoor pool and private parking around the corner. the receptionist was extremely helpful and spoke good English and even helped me find a bar to watch the England game in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Sarlat is a lovely place to stay and this hotel offers easy access to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although there was a kettle there was only 2 coffee sachets and 2 teabags 1 bottle of water on the first day, 2bottles of water each day would have been better.Although we were told the balcony /terrace rooms were full they did not appear to be unoccupied. The pool was supposed to be heated but was very cold.

    Large rooms lovely comfortable four poster bed , good linen plenty of pillows, Large bathroom with plenty of toiletries .Easy access to pool and hot tub.On street parking was fine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    The room was comfortable and very clean but a little small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and very clean but a little small for a four-star family room. We were there with our fifteen year old son who slept in one room with two single beds and we slept in the adjoining room with a queen bed. Bedding was super comfy and soft. The bathroom was gorgeous with a walk in shower. Lots of fresh towels every day. Room made up beautifully. However, we were disappointed with the tea/coffee making facilities - paper cups and poor range of tea (1 bag of black tea). Milks were not replaced each day, but when I asked the night before for a small jug of milk they were happy to give that to me to put in our little fridge. They also gave me some black tea when I asked but I shouldn't have to ask at a 4-star hotel! We didn't use the pool and jacuzzi area. It looked ok. One thing to be aware of. We booked the 11 euro a night parking. When we got there the lady directed us to the parking garage which unbeknown to us till we checked out was 14 euros a night. She never told us that there were 2 parking areas, one outside for 11 euros and one in a garage for 14 euros. That annoyed me and there was no apology. The staff were nice but not above and beyond. Just fine. The location was great. A short walk to the bustle of the town and quiet at night. We were going to book a 2-star opposite this hotel but ended up splashing out on a 4-star and I'm glad we did as I'm not too sure how the 2-star would have been. Pretty basic probably. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, loved Sarlat, and would stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    We should have booked for longer. The staff were helpful and the hotel was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking can be a bit awkward as there's only on street parking and getting to the pool is a challenge due to the stairs from the first floor (Tall guests will understand the problem of a low roof on a spiral staircase)!

    A lovely hotel in a beautiful town. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel facilities are very good although we didn't eat there. This was only due to the numerous options available in the town itself and is not a reflection of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    We disliked it so much we cut it down from 3 nights to one and moved to another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures on the site were not the ones of the actual rooms. The overall level of the hotel was very largely substandard of a 4 star hotel. It was barely better than a Ibis hotel.

    Apart from the location, absolutely nothing was at the level of a 4 star hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Great stay, we are ready to repeat the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been delighted by our stay at the Grand Hotel. Excellent location and accommodation. Very good breakfast and great staff. Close to the beautiful Sarlat center, but strategically located out of the way and crowds of tourists.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    The staff were great and accommodating, allowing us access...
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a four star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. It needs an uplift at least and a complete overdo at best. HIghly overrated at four stars and thus, highly overpriced.

    The staff were great and accommodating, allowing us access to the room early.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet room quiet air conditioning ensuite toilet separate to ensuite bathroom nice bar swimming pool garden lovely breakfast easy parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfy sleep and great location for marché.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy sleep and great location for marché. Think we must have booked at right time and got lucky (re. Price)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean ,functional and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service wasn’t that friendly

    Clean ,functional and well located

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Very expensive for a small bedroom with only one chair and a small bench. Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wanted a Double and a Twin, staff not helpful and as the Booking stated Either a Double or Twin, would not help.

    Location and Parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location with easy access to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff a little abrupt.

    Great location as only a short walk to the old town. facilities looked good but didn't have time to utilise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    In my view this is not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant Amateur staff Poor garage parking

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A fantastic hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    6.5
    Hotel in a decent location just a short walk to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was reasonable but modest and arguably somewhat underwhelming for the price we paid for the hotel. Lack of parking a bit of a problem

    Hotel in a decent location just a short walk to the main town. We used this as a stop over on our journey home

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.0
    We liked the Peruvian young lady who helped us with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was musty, noisy and the shower drain was blocked for our stay. The "free parking" is a joke! The lady who checked us in said the free parking was on the street. Parking in the hotel garage was 13€. The wifi did not operate.

    We liked the Peruvian young lady who helped us with the downstairs printer. The hotel is convenient to a couple of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.3
    we were visiting friends who live in Sarlat and therefore...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst the bed was very comfortable we found the pillows to be lacking in support.

    we were visiting friends who live in Sarlat and therefore did not use many of the hotel facilities but enjoyed what we did use.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    7.1
    Easy to find and parking in the street behind was easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt a bit pricey for the standard, albeit Sarlat is a bit of a honey trap so probably reflects that. Need to arrive early if you want to use the pool in August!

    Easy to find and parking in the street behind was easy. Reception staff seemed friendly. Straightforward and largely flat walk into the historic centre..

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    Nice crew.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall, everything was good. Just the breakfast didn't seem to be clean or fresh, somehow the fork was a bit un-washed, also the fruit was over-ripened.

    Nice crew. Quiet room. Good service. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    very friendly staff, good swimming pool, great location on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    expensive for an outdated hotel , rooms need to be upgraded , breakfast is expensive for what is offered - it's much cheaper to walk to town for a local breakfast.

    very friendly staff, good swimming pool, great location on walking distance from Sarlat medieval centre

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.8
    Stayed several times before, excellent location, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed and unhappy with cleanliness of bathroom and toilet. Washbasin was dirty and badly cracked. Bath and shower needed a deep clean.

    Stayed several times before, excellent location, very helpful and friendly staff. Good car parking and vastly improved breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    5.4
    Beautiful town but very touristy nice local restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were only given one key to start with, room very small for price, bathroom cramped

    Beautiful town but very touristy nice local restaurant close by good air con

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a thing! It's a super hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Sarlat!

    Very friendly staff. Super location. Spotlessly clean. Fantastic room with a balcony. Nice buffet breakfast. Excellent underground car parking.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    6.7
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant. Bar & lounge service inconsistent. Breakfast poor. All looking a bit tired. Hasn't changed or improved since my last visit 2 years ago!

    Convenient location. Very pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Easy walk to centre ville.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy walk to centre ville. Parking. Swimming pool. Comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location for the town and market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi needs improvement.

    Great location for the town and market. Excellent staff especially at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    very close to town walking distance of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very close to town walking distance of everything. great restaurant within 2 minutes

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Very pleasant hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant hotel with helpful staff. Pool with closable roof meant it could be used whatever the weather.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.3
    The sauna in the basement was a pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The sauna in the basement was a pleasant surprise. Staff were only too happy to ensure it was pre-heated for us.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.8
    The staff were great, we enjoyed the pool and hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were great, we enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The hotel had easy access into Sarlat itself. We found Sarlat a very interesting place.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    7.1
    Nice hotel, nice place, staff very nice indeed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No Restaurant Room cold and heating did not work No extra blankets etc (but loads of pillows)

    Nice hotel, nice place, staff very nice indeed.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.5
    Good location, easy to find, lovely court yard, indoor pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bathrobes and slippers in room though the hotel has a sauna and pool.

    Good location, easy to find, lovely court yard, indoor pool, sauna.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: