Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de Toiras 5 stars

1 Quai Job Foran, 17410 Saint-Martin-de-Ré, France

#3 of 9 hotels in Saint-Martin-de-Ré

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful room, excellent breakfast and superb staff. This is a 5 star establishment and worthy of its status. Above all the staff were excellent. Engaging, friendly and helpful. Many top hotels are overly formal and can be a bit snobbish. Not here, we felt very comfortable with everything and really wish we could have stayed longer. Recommended unhesitatingly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only criticism i would have is that the bathroom was dark [it was on a mezzanine] and it would have been very helpful to have a light for the make up mirror.

    The staff were super friendly and very helpful. The hotel was in a brilliant location, right on the front. The bed was very comfortable and the room generally nice. the breakfasts were excellent and we ate in the hotel too and that was very good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without doubt Hotel de Toiras is one of the loveliest hotels we have stayed in. While we have travelled to many places and stayed in many fantastic hotels, this is the first review of a hotel that we have been inspired to write... but we wanted to thank the hotel, and the team of people working there, for what is a truly special experience. The building is beautiful, decor gorgeous, food delicious and every single person working at Hotel de Toiras is delightful... nothing was ever too much trouble. We are frequent visitors to Ile de Re (we stay in a house in St Martin every year). We always thought the hotel looked like a lovely place to stay... it more than lived up to our expectations... and was a wonderful way to end our month on the island. We’re already planning our return in 2018!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant couldnt accommodate every guest staying in the hotel as it was very small. Also we were staying over three nights and the restaurant was closed on two of those nights.

    Location was perfect - right on the harbour

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked reception to book a restaurant for our 2nd night which they confirmed. When we got there, there was no booking. Went black to the hotel who explained that they had got the day wrong and so booked a different restaurant without even bothering to mention to us!

    Location good, nice property,but in my mind, very expensive for the facilities offered. Didn't try breakfast as at 24 euros each, far too expensive so had at local restaurant for 14 euros between us for the same food!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel very upset paid a 5star premium for a shoe box claustrophobic dark room like cupboard. No bedside table glass water bottle on a tiled floor. Every one walked past room in morning - had to keep curtains closed for privacy. No room to get dressed. Feel ripped off. Bad experience. This room should be no more €70/100. Staff didn't care & blamed booking.com for not providing information on room size and not saying there isn't a bar - it's 5 star?!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was very good, as it should be, given the cost. But, the outstanding feature must be the Staff who were all excellent, friendly and clearly trained that nothing was ever too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark as hell and had one tiny window which you would have to stand on a chair to look out. Wouldn't have wasted my money if I had known I would be put in a room with practically no windows. Expected a lot better from relais et chateaux.

    good location, lovely reception area and patio area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premiere Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a hotel of this price i expected a little bit more service and staff.

    Perfect location and really nice hotel. Staff friendly and with nice recomendations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing for value for money. What we saw on website was not delivered. No swimming pool and tiny courtyard. Appalling smell of toletsvnear room 25. When we asked what could be done about it she replied' nothing, it is from the restaurant next door. Dinner had a slightly 'faulty towers' feel to it in that there was one waiter for the entire restaurant serving 8 tables and one chef alone with no help in the kitchen. Breakfast was very disappointing. Very limited choice for the price and you paid extra for a bowl of fruit when normally it is inclusive. We asked for an extra croissant for breakfast and they had to send out to the bakery for it.

    Nice room and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight disappointment at having to wait for the room to be cleaned when we returned to the hotel for a rest in the afternoon

    Excellent. Beautiful room.Most comfortable bed we have had in a hotel. Perfect location with good selection of restaurants very close by. Expensive but worth the money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastically attentive and thoughtful. The breakfast and dinners were wonderful. The garden and pool at villa clarisse were very relaxing and a world away from the port.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had such a wonderful holiday staying on Ile de re. Hotel de Toiras is gorgeous hotel with a kind and friendly team. We had a very happy time cycling, relaxing at the pool, exploring the beaches and eating seafood and ice cream and will be back again. The food in the hotel restaurant was incredible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Definitely not a 5* hotel in our view. Price reflects location only. Decor tired 1980's style, lots of flouncy fabric and rich colours, tired bathroom with curtain for door, loo handle hanging off - in dire need of a contemporary update. Cheap toiletries (same as 3 star hotel) and conditioner already half empty, no tissues in room.... sounds picky but expected more for 5 star! Breakfast at €25, eek! Go to Boulangerie 2 mins stroll and sit next to the quayside for €8.

    Location was 100% fabulous. Staff trained to remember your name, nice but not worth the cost! Lovely resident cat....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV selection and the movie channel, all French, but thats a small quibble

    The staff were great, the food was the best we have ever tasted, wine superb... the room was amazing, so comfortable, the air conditioning worked great, we loved the laid back feel of the place, it felt very relaxing. The courtyard was incredible - full of greenery and birdsong, great attention to detail, like closing our shutters a night because there was a storm forecast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premiere Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location right on the harbour and easy walk to the beaches, shops and restaurants. This is a boutique hotel offering high quality service including restaurant and breakfast garden. The nearby sister hotel offers a swimming pool and lounge garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything including the cat..

    The staff were totally incredible ! The room was lovely. They booked a spectacular seafood restaurant which was small and stunning. We would totally recommend the hotel it's worth the spend..,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apples in the room were not replaced and there were no tea making facilities. The room was very comfortable but not as big as on website photos. Breakfast way too expensive so we had our breakfast in local patisserie.

    The cosyness feel to the hotel. The staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive. We loved the hotel cat who took to us and visited us each morning. We would happily recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have an evening meal in the hotel but the chef was away Got good advice on where to eat Breakfast was lovely but thought 24 euros was a little steep

    Room was luxurious Staff could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The style of the hotel is so old and so French , really beautiful. The bedroom was beautiful, housekeeping regular with towels continuously replaced . Staff are very considerate and helpful. Location and restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premiere Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave too soon!

    Beautiful suite overlooking the harbour. Very tastefully done. Could not fault it. The staff were simply the friendliest and most professional that we have ever encountered.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not included in the rate and for us represented a profound disappointed as the costs were eye watering. We had good breakfasts minutes away at a local restaurant and a view of the harbour.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to bring a very dusty wall to their attention but someone must have had a blind spot because there was still far too much dust after they were meant to gave cleaned - but in other places!! Very tired decor. Staff sometimes just wanted to be too helpful so the service just got in your way, instead of being invisible, especially in the restaurant.

    Great view over harbour. Staff very willing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was very uncomfortable. Not value for money - breakfast at €24 for coffee/ croissant was not acceptable.

    Wonderful location, lovely and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff on arrival couldn't have been more helpful and the breakfast pastries were to die for. Rooms lovely too, would definitely go back for a weekend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in retaurant not as good as it should be Needs bringing up to date with more fresh fish dishes

    Very good service Great atmosphere ,very tranquil Pool good at Villa nearby

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The location of the property is perfect, close to everything that we wanted to do, the staff was so helpful with all our needs. They gave us a wonderful room however one of my friends has a hard time with stairs so they transferred us immediately to a sunny, quiet room in the downstairs garden area that was perfect, smaller but still roomy for the two of us. They also helped us changing our rail tickets and even arranged to drive us to the Gare with a stop to return our rental car. The gentleman from the hotel even put our bags on the train! Amazing. I had stayed at this hotel a few years ago and remembered the perfect location and my second stay will guarantee a third visit in the years to come. Bravo Hotel de Torias - well done.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    This wonderful hotel is in the centre of St Martin but retains a peaceful ambience. The staff are excellent under the highly professional direction of Pierre Gaillot. This is not a hotel for lots of children but is a great oasis of civilisation on the Ile de Re.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we felt the restaurant menu was rather expensive and a bit too over the top. we would have liked some simpler and more affordable choices.

    the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were really great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fault for ordering a cognac without asking the price and gulping at it on the bill so this is more of a tip to check before ordering drinks from their beautiful cabinet

    The hotel bedrooms were spacious, with great views and oh so comfortable beds. The staff were cheery, friendly and helpful and we loved every minute we spent there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pool was at the sister hotel so we didn’t get there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Code to get in with the car

    Nice people, nice place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costly extras!

    A home from home with extra comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent. Location good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Dominic is a real star

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here on our honeymoon and the staff made the stay extra special. A great hotel in a great location - we will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dining room. No on site parking.

    Excellent position and general comfort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced average hotel with a rock hard bed in an overrated resort

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premiere Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff excellent. Decor beautiful. Location right on harbor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast should have been complimentary,considering the cost of a night at this hotel!!

    Staff,location,comfort,cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper shower only over dangerous slippery bath no hand rails

    Expensive cofinental

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Beautiful Courtyard garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing that I did not like

    The staff were superb. The location was great. The room was as good as it gets. Loved the place!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quiet warm, needs better air-conditioning 👍

    Staff excellent, Very helpful, nothing to much trouble 5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was excellent.

    Fantastic staff were so attentive.. We had a super 4 days there. Dominic at breakfast was brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for money (over rated location)

    Location superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing I can think of

    the welcome and attention

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premiere Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room was amazing!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and beautiful hotel right in the port

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had a tiny window Pool in another hotel

    Excellent service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities like pool, gym etc. Pool was 5 min walk. But it was beautiful

    Friendly people!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited facilities. Staff hyper obsequious. Very very expensive for what it was. Overrated .

    Great location. Smart place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked tired

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cozy. Classy hotel. Perfect location. Friendly staff. Daniel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premiere Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La atencion del personal es la mejor que jamas recibi. Exquisit restaurant Best staff ever Chic atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff excellent, bed big and comfy and position in town is great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, fantastic room, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was fine but very dark. Possibly improved by lighter decor.

    Excellent breakfast. Courteous , friendly staff. Superb location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I'm being really picky but.... I like to wake up with a coffee in bed, so a coffee machine in the room would be a welcome addition.

    We loved everything about this beautiful hotel. If we have to highlight anything for special praise it would be the faultless service. The staff are exceptionally well trained and achieve exactly the right balance between discretion, restraint and friendliness. Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. Not cheap at all but it was delicious. Lovely breakfast too. Will return!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed could have been softer

    Centrally located, beautifully furnished. Very helpful friendly staff who speak faultless English. The island and Its capital is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old, historic building but the mix of dark, antique furniture in the suite - mainly in the lounge area - gave the room a rather gloomy feel.

    The staff - so friendly, warm and helpful. The location is very convenient and although the suite had no view it overlooked a lovely courtyard. It exuded a comfy, intimate atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff defines impeccable service at this exquisite property. very good food in a lovely intimate restaurant setting overlooking charming garden. Room was beautifully furnished with lovely welcoming personalized note and fruit plate. Remarkable facility and great experience. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really; could do with a couple of bottles of water in the room but that didn't reduce the 10 score for us

    Very comfortable and luxurious hotel, picturesque location; beautiful and tastefully designed rooms and lobby; very friendly and knowledge staff; first class service. We couldn't fault it and would certainly like to come back

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was far too hot and stuffy Shame the restaurant menu was expensive,during our stay the restaurant was always empty.

    The staff added a very personal touch and could not have been more helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What they didn't tell us was that the chef was taking two days off - exactly the ones we had booked for. So the restaurant was closed. That was a real shame as it was one of the main reasons we booked... They could have told us...! But did give us a good upgrade.

    Very well positioned friendly hotel. The one to go for in St Martin.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was beautifully decorated and furnished and in the best location. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in for customer service.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was approached through the tiny garden area and up a flight of narrow wooden stairs perhaps 20; another flight upwards to reach other rooms. This could have been a problem if heart troubles or disabled and was not mentioned to our knowledge upon booking. There was a lift in the main area. However, this was not a problem for us but coukd be for some: this approach to a charming room regrettably removed a star for me making it 4 stars. Aircon, although it worked, it could have been a tad cooler as the room got very stuffy during the night; it was fixed to a certain degree. VERY expensive breakfast for what it was: served at the table as no room in the small eatery for a good buffet. The actual breakfast however, was fine and served with a smile. A kettle in the room for tea/coffee later in the day would have been helpful as no normal bar facility. So definitely 4 stars in our long experience of hotels: we do realise that because of the age of the hotel there are certain limitations.

    The charming property is in an excellent location: very quiet even though on harbour side. Room 17 is large with sitting area. A good large bathroom with bath & separate shower area & separate. WC. Breakfast was up to lunchtime as no lunches served. Valet parking as the parking was 10 mins walk away. The staff were polite, attentive and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning was faulty but luckily the temperature was in the low - mid 20s - it was nice to have a sea breeze in the room at night.

    We had a beautiful suite, tastefully furnished and decorated overlooking the harbour. Facilities at the sister hotel were excellent too. Staff were extremely helpful, knowledgable and friendly. We didn't dine at the hotel, but staff made dinner reservations for us at local restaurants each evening.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were surprised and delighted to have such a large and well furnished room and with an amazing view of the harbour. the staff were always smiling, helpful and completely delightful.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plumbing was playing up in our room , it made horrendous noises and aromas in the middle of one night. The staff were very apologetic and the plumber was called and rectified it

    Superb location . Bedroom overlooked the bustling harbour. Use of swimming pool at villa Clarisse was a huge bonus

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb attention from impeccably trained staff who genuinely cared and went the extra mile to make sure your stay was all you could wish. The Toiras is in the very heart of St. Martin right on the harbour and yet is a cool oasis of perfection in which you can relax and be pampered.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing I didn't like about it. I wish the swimming pool had been in the hotel.

    Love the hotel. The staff were excellent we didn't want for nothing I would highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was fine, but I didn't realise that the pool was not based at the actual hotel, but at the sister hotel around the corner.

    Staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Amazing views.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: