Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel de Verdun 1 stars

4 Rue De Lourdes, 58000 Nevers, France

#19 of 22 hotels in Nevers

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. We were travelling by bike and we could park them in the garden inside the hotel. The room and bathroom were huge, very comfortable, very clean. The staff was super nice. The location is close to everything, a lot of supermarkets and stores near. We loved our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For an over night stay the room was adequate, though the bathroom is dated.

    Quiet, clean, well situated, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpfull owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small bath and shower. With my 1.95 it's impossible to have a nice bath or shower. There is no shower curtain and hook for the the showerhead. There was a lot of noise in the morning.

    A window what could open completely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Efficient, but not very welcoming, receptionist who churned out a lot of info. about the hotel and the town, but at a speed and in such a mass that nobody could retain it all. He reminded me of a schoolboy spouting a poem he has been made to learn, but hasn't understood at all. There was less than half a roll of toilet paper, which I found extremely mean and inconsiderate. On the whole it was pretty good, but, somehow, I didn't feel quite comfortable, because of the number of annoying little things, like those I have mentioned and the check-out being an hour earlier than stated on the booking confirmation.

    The room was comfortable and very well equipped, though the wallpaper was peeling off in a number of places. I liked having a side door (with code pad) near the room so you could get in and out without having to go back to reception. The setting was very good, facing on to a park and it was 5 minutes walk through the park or along the road to the town centre. I was aware of the cats in the public areas, but didn't find them a problem at all. Good value for money at the early booking rate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower unit. It was overflown while I was having a shower

    The price was much higher than I thought, the bed was great ,Not enough towel for a shower,The Breakfast was very poor, not a lot of variety to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was clean and fresh. Breakfast was excellent. Location very good. Hotel owners were very helpful and spoke sufficient English to aid my rather poor French.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, a rather lot of in hotel cats created a bit of smell issue. Also, the room was very warm and no fan was provided or ability to safely leave the interior window open.

    very pleasant owners and greeting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment for room was taken before arrival and no receipt was given . Hotel very dark and gloomy, not very clean and smell of cats pervaded everywhere. Poor breakfast. No window curtain - only an old , dirty net curtain .

    Able to store bikes safely in courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel covers all the bases for a pleasant stay - large rooms, comfortable beds, a cozy courtyard for relaxing, a location across the road from a lovely park and a great place to park bikes safely overnight. It is located close to the old town and also to a very modern large supermarket. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful. It is not fancy but it is clean and offers excellent value for cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was lovely

    The room was basic but had all you need. Tv, kettle, comfy bed and good shower. The owners greeted us like old friends and pointed out the best sights to see in the area. Welcomed us and our dog it was nice to stay somewhere so welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a modern hotel with all the accomodations that one could get if one pays the double. The presence of the cats makes you think that you 'smell' them, but I think that's exaggerated. The hotel just smells of an old, basic hotel. Again: if you don't like that, pay more for another one.

    Considering the fact that we only payed 52 EUR in August for a quiet double room with bathroom and a simple but decent breakfast in the heart of a very fine and old burgundy city with plenty of parking places and a few good restaurants, I would not complain too much about some minor details. If you don't like cats (and the owners definitely consider them as kids) you can get the same quality of accomodation minus the presence of cats in other hotels in Nevers for 100 EUR.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We noted the place was 'cat friendly' when booking and while I don't mind cats.... the smell of something trying to cover up the smell of cats in the lobby was very unpleasant and I feared for what the room would be like but it was great - no smell upstairs.....

    The room was a lot better than I expected .... It had everything you could want terrific value for a one night stay The breakfast was the first on our 9 day trip to offer meat and cheese along with all the other breads and jams etc- very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I unexpectedly arrived after 9pm and found myself unable to access the hotel (the owner correctly informed me when I called the next day this was my fault as it is in the small print - not helpful having spent the night in another hotel!). On the door it asks to ring the bell and wait - twenty minutes of this was my limit. I and booking.com tried to telephone but got the answer phone. Again the owner informed me of my error as I had not looked through the security barred window to read the note with the emergency telephone number which booking.com unhelpfully appear not to have (the owner has now put the number on the front door). When I finally got to see my room the following evening it was predictably disappointing - like the outside of the building it was tired and grubby and badly in need of deep cleaning, thankfully the bedding appeared clean. The dark stairway and entrance had a musty smell which other reviews inform me is the resident cats.

    Next to park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    We were welcomed very well we felt at home.The rooms very comfortable the hotel very clean we enjoyed our stay.The staff very friendly.We will go back again and recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer wasn't at all effective. The host wasn't particularly warm or welcoming. The hotel wasn't at all bright. Perhaps it could do with a coat of paint.

    It was well situated, near the town and restaurants. We enjoyed the breakfast. As cyclists we need a good start to the day. The hostess was friendly. It was very warm in our room, but the fan worked well all night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    flimsy sheer curtains on the windows meant the room was very light at night. cats roam freely on the property but no screens on windows so had to keep closed so we didn't wake up with a cat next us. would be very hot in summer. the stairs were uneven and dangerous.

    located opposite a large park in a relatively quiet area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train that supposed to take us was late and we missed the morning check in time. We had to wait for a few hours until the afternoon check in time. We tried to call the number on the website and on the outside door but no one picked up.

    The husband and wife as the owner of the property, are really welcoming. The hotel is cat friendly as well. The room is nice and have some sweet touch with the tea as well as the overall atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in the bathroom.

    Host was very friendly, spoke several languages. Water heater, cups, tea and coffee offered in the room. Small hotel, had a quiet night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there to see the city, and the hotel was great for this – central, but not a noisy area, by the park, parking was a cinch. We're quite satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no elevator in the hotel, but fortunately, we could change to the room on the ground floor

    The staffs are friendly and helpful, the hotel is close to tourist attractions as Nevers is also a small town, it's very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell on the staircase and the room. Luckily I could leave the window open during the afternoon and night. Although it were nonsmoking rooms in th next room they' were smoking. But this is something the manager couldn't know.

    Location. It was clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great welcome (in French) from the owners of this traditional old fashioned hotel. Overlooks a lovely park near the town centre. Brilliant breakfast...huge variety, excellent value. We particularly liked the fact that this was NOT a generic modern hotel. Very comfortable spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was adequate for our needs

    A perfectly good stopover en route through France. Very good value for money. Nevers is a beautiful little town on the Loire.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's central but on a noisy corner. A bit of a walk to find a restaurant. You'd have to like cats.

    The owners are very nice and the breakfast was very good with home cooked cheesecake. Our first room faced one of the main streets through town and was very noisy. We had to change rooms to the rather rambling interior, here the smokers and drinkers were active in the courtyard till after 10.30. We were comfortable in our room after that. Good bike storage in the courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking. No air conditioning. Strong smell of cats in some areas.

    Simple, comfortable, and pleasant surroundings. Don't come here if you don't like cats!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was great for a short break owner was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, street noise, no elevator, majority of the rooms are facing the street

    Location to St Bernadette chapel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as above

    too many cats roaming around even on tables , not for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very adequate for a budget hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking parking on road? Décor could be updated

    Clean bed linen coffee making facilities in room breakfast good start welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is not working

    The property is clean and tidy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Contact franc, simple, direct.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emplacement accessible parking proche

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value hotel in nice town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit rundown

    Friendly staff. Central. Good Wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location close to our destination.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very friendly reception, plentiful breakfast, comfortable room, use of a bike

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of cat urine in the reception.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Cycle storage in yard. Eight cats around which we liked but might not suit everyone though owner kept them away from rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique and fun. Hope you like c'ats! I do.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was welcoming the rooms good seize

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners welcoming and hotel very clean and comfortable really beautiful I advice this hotel not that far from station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonably close to old town. Comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift

    The linens are really clean. It was very easy to check in and to check out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager was extremely helpful. Location was excellent A safe place provided for my cycle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elavator

    location is perfect for our purpose, transportation is okay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really confortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English language TV

    The cats

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful owners. Good location near to the centre of the town. Clean, conmfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast - included homemade cake

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little. traditional town hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cats everywhere.. Owners choice but should warn guests on making booking. Place filthy. Horribly smelly, only made worse by the insense sticks trying to hide it! Booked and paid for two nights.. Only could stick it out for one night had to check out and go elsewhere

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Couple

    Hotel was in a very good spot within nevers. Staff were friendly.. although the lady spoke French to us even we were speaking in English, so we didn't know what she was saying. Room was comfortable, bed could've been better. Its quit old but for the price is okay. Wifi Is good

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Un accueil fort sympathique, une chambre confortable avec double vitrage coté rue. Un peu vieillot mais qui reste charmant, propre et entretenu avec enthousiasme. Surtout ne pas passer à côté du petit déjeuner maison : pain, pâtisseries, jus maisons, etc. Une agréable surprise pour une nuit étape et un bon rapport qualité-prix, merci à vous.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No lift, 2 floors up with a dog and not able to walk ok, so this way up is not very nice. The road is next to you, so opening the window is not possible. Taking a shower means a lot of steam and this makes it even more unconfortable. Take a simple hotel outside the town and drive in...

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An old house but the room had all you need

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of staff and value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location both off the motorway and in town. Helpful, friendly staff and good wifi. Oh and the cats.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Managers attitude to overseas guests, breakfast not much but had to pay for, manager very unhelpful.

    Wifi connection was good

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Group

    The double bett is very,very small for 2 persons.

    Very friendly and helpful personal

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hôtel de Verdun traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: