Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Vougeot 3 stars

18 Rue Du Vieux Chateau, 21640 Vougeot, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Vougeot

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 271 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    I would not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small attic bedroom. Stuffy and hot. No dining facilities for evening despite saying there is! Bedroom in a different building to the terrace which is a walk away. No welcome from owner. No wine offered. Very hard stairs to climb. No help with luggage.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Although on the main road, very quiet at the back;
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice for restaurants nearby.

    Although on the main road, very quiet at the back; room is spacious and functional; bathroom facilities are good; the backyard is vineyard. Well above expectations!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like, just a little frustrating in my opinion if a little money was spent on the bedrooms/bathrooms and internally if would lift this place to another level.

    Quaint place, arrived after dark which made it look a romantically if quiet b&b. Helpful friendly staff and owner, lovely dog, basic accommodation and facilities but set in an amazing location with bedroom views over the burgundy vineyards.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful experience at the start of a lovely holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was very satisfactory. It was our third or fourth time there and we would definitely go back. Unfortunately it was fully booked on our return journey.

    It is such a quirky hotel with wonderful atmosphere and gorgeous flowers around. Staff are very nice and booked us a restaurant locally in advance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Character property, lovely rural location & easy access to & from the auto route. Staff very helpful with what is available in the area. Lovely meal at local restaurant although quite expensive, interesting experience. No time to stay longer but definitely would consider a return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, Comfortable, Clean, Picturesque and Perfect for visiting the surrounding vineyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. It was quite warm in the night so slept with the window fully open. However it was unusually warm for that time of year. There are no coffee/tea facilities in the rooms although there is coffee/tea/water available in the communal area of the hotel.

    Great breakfast! Friendly informative management. Gorgeous old Labrador to greet you in the morning for breakfast. Lovely place to stay right in the heart of the vineyards. We really enjoyed our stay. Perfect location for being in the heart of the vineyards.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel with stunning views over the vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views from our room and the terrace were stunning. It was also great to have parking at the hotel. The room itself was comfortable and the addition of a minibar was good. However I think the rooms could benefit from air conditioning. It would also be good to have coffee machines in the room or at least a kettle rather than having to go over to a separate building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional small hotel in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of my favourite small hotels in the world - sitting out in the evening, drinking one of the bottles from their cellar, eating a plate of bread and cheese and salad, and looking out over the vines - perfection. And the breakfast is equally fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay in the middle of the wineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no beer in the mini bar 😉

    No problem to pass some hours in the garden of the hotel with a bottle of wine from the shop around the corner waiting for the reception to open

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    The room and bed were big and comfortable, perfect for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no aircon. It was summer and we couldn't take an afternoon nap in the room if we wanted to (we were feeling sleepy from all the wine tastings we did in the area). However, in the evenings it was breezy enough such that we could sleep without an aircon.

    The room and bed were big and comfortable, perfect for a honeymoon! Staff were friendly. Loved the strawberry juice at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful in every way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and his staff were great -- friendly and helpful. Raul - the owner's old lab - was adorable. The breakfast quite honestly may have been the best one we've had in France -- fabulous! Fresh, local, great selection and abundance! Great atmosphere! Great location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Accessible, affordable, clean accommodation in an old world vineyard setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of air conditioning in rather hot weather rendered it a tad difficult for us to get to sleep. Plus, it was a bit of a walk - and akin to a classic executive management challenge - to extract a complementary serve-yourself demitasse from the unlit hallway in the adjoining residence building.

    A scenic, spacious location, in a picturesque village right in the heart of the Côtes des Nuits vineyards, far enough away to be in heritage countryside, yet a short drive to the motorway network. Spacious, well-appointed double room with a pleasant view of the vineyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.4
    Not as described and somewhat remote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation is not as described. It felt like we were staying in a dormitory. Hotel is approx 30mins drive to Beaune. Hotel is too far away from activities. Only four restaurants in Vougeot and only one worth eating at. Vougeot closed early so nothing to do in town. Accommodation didn't include breakfast so overpriced compared to all our other accommodation in France. Room was large but basic. Heating set too low. No microwave or kettle or wine glasses.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Marvellous quirky hotel with different annexes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top floor rooms - 2 flights up - are rather difficult if you have even a slight mobility problem

    All of the rooms are light and modern, especially the bathrooms. The ground floor rooms are easily accessible and some have wonderful views of the local vineyards and area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel but for the machot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took the Machot meal since others recommended this. Disappointing; Weather too bad for eating outside, and in room no eating facilities. Price/quality of the food not good (leftovers from the breakfast + some cheece). Much better elsewhere. Breakfast room and reception are one and too small.

    Friendly staff. Bedroom ok. Good, but pricy wine cellar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely characterful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, except the car parking is at the back; we pulled our luggage round to reception at the front, then had to take it back the same way as our room was at the back.

    The owner/manager was incredibly charming and helpful. The hotel has no restaurant, which was slightly surprising, but he booked a table at a very nice restaurant about 2km. away. The location of the hotel right in the vineyards is beautiful, and our room was about 5 yards from the vines and had a wonderful view of the Clos de Vougeot.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Location and character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loo did not flush and wifi was useless. Kettle for tea or coffee would have been a big plus. Staff were pleasant and helpful

    Location and character. Beautiful. Lovely room. Good feel to the place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.3
    Ok for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was dirt on the duvet cover as well as hair, also hair in the bathroom. We requested a baby bed with the booking and never got a confirmation as is mentioned in their description - we had one at arrival, but could not be sure beforehand.... There was supposed to be a parking, but it was full, so we had to unload the luggage and park down the road.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. They booked a restaurant for us, warmed up water for the baby bottle etc. Quiet and nice view on the wineyards.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Everything you could want for your stay in Bourgogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A delightful hotel with a host to match! Marvelous position with great views from our room. Clean comfortable and a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great, relaxing stop over on way back from wedding in Provence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly helpful staff and dog. Lovely views from room and outside terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nice restaurant at walking distance

    Friendly staff and great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly service. Very helpful. Loved Raoul

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Quiet night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room with comfy bed and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Not bad. Good breakfast with local produce.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two lamps not working, one of which was a bedside. WiFi did not work on iPad Pro despite mentioning it to owner. Room needs a little upgrading

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Loved being surrounded by vineyards;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved being surrounded by vineyards; breakfast was wonderful; staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Very helpful young lady member of staff, other than that not impressed with the facilities..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we requested to be changed, original room very basic,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no tea / coffee in the room.

    Great location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice location in the middle of the Grand Cru region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the harvest season

    Nice location in the middle of the Grand Cru region.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely property fantastic view great breakfast and very...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely property fantastic view great breakfast and very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very good. Bed is of good quality. Standard room is "standard" but correct.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.5
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a lovely authentic Hotel - very friendly people

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    6.7
    short stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant near by was awful!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Quirky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room with excellent views, great bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.8
    Stayed just one night as we were on our way to the Provence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed just one night as we were on our way to the Provence. Nice hotel with beautiful view over al the vineyards.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. The hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.5
    Beautfull quiet place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not working. Very hot at the roof room.

    Very nice staff and french ambience. Superbe fresh organic breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Lovely stone room with character for a cozy breakfast with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely stone room with character for a cozy breakfast with the sweetest labrador to pet, perfect setting in Vougeot, friendly hosts, reasonable price, parfait!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    This hotel is situated in charming Vougeot.
    • Couple

    Internet connection was a challenge in the room, even for my SFR sim card.

    This hotel is situated in charming Vougeot. It was easy to find and a fabulous drive through local vineyards. The room was spacious, warm and clean. The bed was huge and very comfy. We had a perfectly peaceful sleep. There wasn't a lot to do in Vougeot so we ate in neighboring Nuit Saint Georges. I booked it because we needed a quiet break from the autoroute on our way home to the South. We booked a couple of hours before arrival and got a tremendous deal. We didn't stay for breakfast, preferring to get back on the road early so can't comment on food. Would definitely recommend this hotel and we'd stay again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    Location for visiting the region is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was up a few flights and tucked above the neighbouring Domaine

    Location for visiting the region is great. Views from the shared terrace, across the vineyards to the sloped ranges is fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Of the five hotels / Inns we stayed while in Europe this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Of the five hotels / Inns we stayed while in Europe this trip, your facilities where above all the most pleasurable Paris the worst. Thank you for the gift you've given to us in your lives by allowing us to be your guest.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.9
    good location for take a walk in vineyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is early to close the reception. We could not support them at 9pm...

    good location for take a walk in vineyards. Room is spacious and cleanliness. You can stay relax!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Very welcoming and helpful hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No issues

    Very welcoming and helpful hosts Comfortable bed Good shower Good location for vineyards Pleasant breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast superb, lots of local produce - jam and cheese.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast superb, lots of local produce - jam and cheese.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.2
    Manager was very welcoming and helpful with recommendations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could put a comfortable chair to relax in the bedroom and a few in reception downstairs

    Manager was very welcoming and helpful with recommendations.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    5.0
    No soundproofing between rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No soundproofing between rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Realising we stayed in same place 10 years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Still not good wifi connectivity in room...!

    Realising we stayed in same place 10 years ago...!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful location, spacious bedrooms, comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful location, spacious bedrooms, comfy beds.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    Good location with wonderful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Good location with wonderful views

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Very welcoming and relaxed - particularly with our dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming and relaxed - particularly with our dog.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly .. lovely room with a view to the vineyards

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    10
    Views over the vines and chateau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much really

    Views over the vines and chateau

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    6.3
    This is not a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a hotel. No restaurant. Should be called B&B or pension. Had to go around village looking for a restaurant.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: