Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Demeure Castel Brando 4 stars

Erbalunga, 20222 Erbalunga, France

#2 of 7 hotels in Erbalunga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 164 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel in beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like leaving

    Hotel has an elegance of a bygone age We Adore Erbalunga Loved the Breakfast including DIY pancakes and eggs-good fun to start the day. Nice relaxing pool areas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the second time we have stayed at Castel Brando - returning after 10 years. It was as classy and beautiful as I remember from our honeymoon. The rooms are a great size and they are decorated and done out with a very personal touch. You feel like you are staying somewhere special. Staff are lovely and helpful at all times and we loved the pool area. Can't wait to come back again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Location and the hotel are absolutely beautiful, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the hotel of this standing, the restaurant shouldn’t have run out of 3 out of 5 main dishes by 9pm. The air conditioning device made quite some noise.

    Location and the hotel are absolutely beautiful, staff welcoming and facilities clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was disappointing on the first night, the risotto which was chosen by the majority of the group was over cooked and the service a little surly. No one asked us about our meal (perhaps they knew)!

    We had a wonderful 3 days at the hotel. The staff are so pleasant and helpful. The 2 pools are great. We would definitely recommend the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    It was a lovely experience for my first time in Corsica. I would go back in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really as it was perfect.

    It is a delightful hotel. The staff are all lovely. The main pool is heated and we never had to fight for a sun bed. I also loved the fact that the Hotel had its own herb garden. Where possible they like to grow and com their own.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Everything in the room was correct.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were surprised by the small size of the room which was on one side of the hotel. The room uses the outside door shutters for locking up which seemed a little insecure. The room was more expensive than other hotels in Corsica and we found it less comfortable.

    Everything in the room was correct. Clean, tidy with all the amenities packed in a small room. Good for the one night. If staying here again I would ask for a different room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Really, really lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...an extra shelf/storage area in the bathroom...? Otherwise a really lovely room with separate small sitting area ( and 2 TVs in total, I think, although we didnt watch them)

    The place is simply very nice, it is clean, modern, friendly but retains an old fashioned charm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Enjoy and relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was divine. Just beautiful with a great taste! Excellent breakfast! The room was cozy but big. The pool was the finishing touch for an unforgettable place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    How to have a good holiday start
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service can be improved. For such a rate I would expect drinks to be served at the table while it was 100% help yourself (squeezing fresh oranges, coffee etc) It was peak season but we had to wait for clean dishes, glasses and trays with food.

    The atmosphere of the old building, the furnitures and common areas. Its strategic location, in the heart of Erbalunga, and 10 min away from Bastia, or inner villages.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to pay 15 euros for breakfast on our final morning because we were leaving at 7.15am - seemed a bit excessive.

    Excellent accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    The charm and elegance of the property .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charm and elegance of the property . Extremely relaxing surroundings and the smell of the honeysuckle vines.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff - beautiful relaxing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff - beautiful relaxing location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very clean and friendly, great location

    Hotel and staff very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stop on our honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely setting for breakfast. As a bonus, they allow you to make your own pancakes :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Motorbike noise from outside

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.8
    DIY crepes and eggs at breakfast were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot tub not quite hot enough, considering the cool weather. Lacks indoor sitting area.

    DIY crepes and eggs at breakfast were great. Delicious coffee. Staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.9
    Friendly helpful staff, charming hotel in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was poor. I'm only 5 foot 4, and I had to crouch to fit under. The shower screen was tiny and as a result the bathroom was soaked every time we used the shower.

    Friendly helpful staff, charming hotel in a lovely location. Lots of room in the suite we had, with excellent (and quiet) AC. Would definitely stay there again. But I'd remember bug spray the next time, the garden is gorgeous to sit and have a drink in the evening, but is quite 'buggy'

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.1
    breakfast in the garden, location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too expensive for the quality of the room: the room was nice but not something special and it was in front of the car park. Price: 410 € for two nights for a double room!

    breakfast in the garden, location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    We liked everything about it and thought the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had twin beds and they were not standard size and so a bit small. Wifi was next to useless but that does not affect our liking of this hotel

    We liked everything about it and thought the hotel was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    Everything.The manager is a very friendly one.One can see that he is not only walking around,he sees everything and helps people with their luggage when leaving.Hotel is older but very well maintaint.You can see that they keep it up to date and clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.5
    If touring north Corsica,ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To long a delay 4hours before we could take over our room

    If touring north Corsica,ideal location. Exceptionally high standards of cleaning and everything worked. Outstanding breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    The location, facilities and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not having a door to the bathroom was a bit strange and wi-fi was slow some days.

    The location, facilities and friendly staff. The pool was heavenly, the atmosphere relaxed and Erbalunga was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    The hotel is beautiful, with two pools, a lovely terrace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast we a bit chaotic. We were shown to a table which was quickly cleared and re-set for us but whilst we were sorting out how to get coffee etc someone else waiting decided to take one of our cups and plates away! There was a very good choice but, probablt because it was so busy, we had to wait for fresh juice, bread, croissants etc

    The hotel is beautiful, with two pools, a lovely terrace and very friendly and helpful staff. The setting, on the coast in the village of Erbalunga, is perfect and one of the best restaurants for miles, The Pirate, can be found in the little port.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Interesting property with a history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Interesting property with a history

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Small,friendly intimate Nothing too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small,friendly intimate Nothing too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Lovely terrace for breakfast and beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely terrace for breakfast and beautiful grounds. All staff were exceptional , charming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    A classical hotel with an authentic old style feel to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strangely they don't cater for evening meals.

    A classical hotel with an authentic old style feel to it. Good facilities and lovely breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Staff were great, extremely friendly and customer focused.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were great, extremely friendly and customer focused. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Location and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wi- if not reliable throughout the hotel.

    Location and the staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    Superb presentation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to leave very early in the morning plus the weather was poor when we were there.

    Superb presentation

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Friendly and efficient staff, pristine cleanliness and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Friendly and efficient staff, pristine cleanliness and relaxing atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Comfort, charm and very agreeable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfort, charm and very agreeable!

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    8.3
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    expensive. small room. over-rated.

    great location.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    6.3
    no tv in english without first complaining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no tv in english without first complaining

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: