Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Des Roches 3 stars

20 rue Jean Jaures, 20100 Sartène, France

#5 of 7 hotels in Sartène

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 622 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected a breakfast buffet for a hotel of this standard.

    Well run hotel with ongoing investment in facilities. Good meal with excellent view in restaurant although service was a little slow.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist did not speak English and did not even try but we managed with our broken French. Breakfast was too expensive so had it outside. There was a weird noise that seemed to come into the room from the rusty air con units outside. There was no wall bracket for shower (inside bath) so difficult to wash hair without flooding bathroom. They started dragging furniture and arguing for a while in room above us and when we reported it to reception, guy asked "what do you want me to do? ", I replied "ring them" and he agreed to do that. Service attitude has a long way to go.

    Parking was very convenient. Location was very near to centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great meal in the restaurant and the views were lovely. We were only here for a short time but the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was close to a town square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Shower needs a wall attachment.

    The Hotel is well located in Sartene and about a 500m walk (8min) from the Bus Station. It was very easy to find. The Hotel commands excellent view across the valley and has its own top quality restaurant. The room was modern, comfortable and roomy with desk and chairs. The bathroom was good except for the shower. There was no wall attachment for the shower fitting which meant sitting down in the bath to take a shower. Not easy for my 71 year old wife to access. The hotel is very close to the centre of town, its restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent

    The hotel is amazing. Everything is perfectly clean, the design is fantastic. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. The bed is very good. For a romantic getaway it is just perfect!! Strongly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Opportunity to make a tea in the room would be great

    Friendly helpful staff, convenient big (for Sartene) parking, wi-fi very fast. Despite mountain location you can easily get to Propriano beaches

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got the cheap room on purpose, so it was really small. We would not have wanted to sleep there for several nights.

    Perfect for a one night stay. Location couldn't be better for visiting Sartene. Very clean and the staff was helpful. We didn't try the restaurant, but the view from it was wonderful. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was too hard, but it did not affevt how fabulous our experience was. I would go back to hotel des roches if I was back in Sartène.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, stunning view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room so no option for a cold drink after a day out as the bar was not open. Room very small

    Outstanding views and the most beautiful sunset you will ever see. Close to the main square which was lovely for afternoon drinks to watch the country life glide by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, modern hotel in a beautiful location on a hill, with a great view overlooking the countryside. An easy walk to the centre of town. Plentiful private parking on the hotel grounds. Cute dog.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast (no buffet but a standard meal per person) is sufficient and fresh, however a bit expensive. Room interior somewhat classical.

    Great view over the mountains and valley up to the sea (superior room with balcony, see 2 photo's); everything works as expected, few minutes walking to downtown Sartene.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely steep entry and exit from the parking area; watch out in your hire car and you'll probably have to make a double turn to get out into the road!

    Great dinner menu and good value for money and wonderful views from the restaurant and our room!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed only one night at the hotel but I would be happy to stay more! Amazing view, clean rooms, very good location(with parking), friendly and helpful stuff.I totally recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room over the valley and the sea, with the sunset, are unforgettable. The tranquility and beauty on the terrace of the breakfast invited to stay. The room was simple but spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything.

    The hotel is directly in Sartene, a beautiful old town with many bars and restaurants. The rooms are clean and we had a fantastic view to the countryside from our balcony. There are enough parking lots and the location of the hotel is perfect for trips into the countryside or to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good for celiacs No gluten free options for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit cold

    Wonderful views from the hotel. Pleasant places to sit outside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything ok.

    Location of the hotel. Good dinner in the panoramic restaurant. Value for money. Breakfast sufficiënt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room.

    Great View of sunset from my room! Very good air conditioning and super clean. Room was small but not a big deal from me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tight.

    The restaurant! Very nice terrace. Also the service was very good. Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    free parking; the bed is very comfortable; They have a good restaurant where we can watch the beautiful sunset and enjoy the delicious foods.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to hear people in adjacent rooms.

    Good view over the valley, convenient for good restaurants in town. Didn't use the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice view from terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable and friendly accommodation with lovely valley views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice. Very clean. Very good room and bathroom. Nice view over the mountains and valley. Own car parking. Small village with a couple if restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cuisine is excellent, and view from the restaurant is outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the view from the room balcony!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room

    Nicelocation, clean and comfortable (but small) rooms. Restaurant is very good with decent prices

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast okay but nothing special

    Great view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Valley View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was small.

    Breathtaking views from room and restaurant. Private car parking. Large room with balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unfriendly staff. The male staff member is very rude. The first hotel we had ever been where the receptionist threw the keys on us didn't say welcome and just walked out. No information no communication provided whatsoever. At breakfast some angry looking ladies who also work as cleaning staff throw the food on the table. Don't look at you or speak one word to the guest. Rooms resemble motel rooms. Very uncozy . Very small room and the smallest bed we have ever slept in. This hotel is way to expensive for what you get. In the night there is no receptionist available. No numbers provided either for emergencies!! Absolutely unacceptable. This is not a hotel. At best a motel. Thank God we stayed only one night here.

    Only the view.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Not enough space in the closet - No MiniBar available in room - Staff was not very helpul with advices: it would be nice to stimulate turists with more indications about the marvellous surroundings

    - Hotel View: amazing - Bed was really comfortable - Close to the quaint Sarthene old town - Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Amazing view down the valley from our balcony and from the hotel terrace where we ate dinner and breakfast . The staff were very friendly and the food was great ! We enjoyed a walk around the town .

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Distant from the bus stop. (But this is almost the only choice if you want to stay at a "hotel" in the city center.)

    Friendly staff. View. Location close to the historic center.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exit from car park is a tight hairpin which requires reversing because it cant be done in one go. Town residents are clearly used to this - I never got tooted in spite of holding up the traffic on occasions.

    Comfortable room with lovely view over countryside to the sea. Good restaurant and friendly staff. Plenty of parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little run down.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect!

    Great staff, great view, amazing food.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room not soundproof

    Beautiful views. Excellent dinner at the restaurant, happy to accommodate gluten free requirements

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great view. Staff were good. Dinner in restaurant was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all.

    Good location, easy to find, good balcony view of the valley.secure lock up for our bicycles (in the hotel's wine cellar!)

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The perfect place to stay in Sartene. Easy parking and an absolutely splendid restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    small room

    the restaurant (food and view)

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi to be improved

    very good, surely worth the price

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mindblowing location and balconies!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    View was stunning; great location; free parking; AC and very clean

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic views, great food.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from the hotel is astonishing, especially from balconies in higher floors.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic view and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Setting

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hotel Des Roches traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: