Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel des Thermes et du Casino 3 stars

5, rue Guynemer, 14530 Luc-sur-Mer, France

#2 of 4 hotels in Luc-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 786 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant stay with friendly staff; unfortunate the pool was out for maintenance; check your bill!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was unfortunate that during our stay the swimming pool was out of action for maintenance - I did not know this in advance of my stay. This along with the fact there were cheaper hotels without swimming pools right on the beach (this hotel is across the road from the beach) reduces my evaluation of the property. Had the swimming pool been available for all my stay (or compensation been given for no swimming pool for part of the stay) then the rating would be higher. It looked like a good pool. Luckily I could understand and speak basic French as their English ability was limited despite the 'we speak your language' rating. With their limited English and my limited French we were able to communicate. On checkout, however, I was asked to pay an incorrect price. This is the main reason for giving the hotel a lower score. If I had not debated this with them, I would have paid a lot more money - they had listed me as having a sea view, not garden view, and added breakfast for two people per day despite the fact I booked without breakfast. They then tried to add additional City Tax which was already included in the Booking.com price. This was all resolved and I paid the price originally agreed through Booking.com

    The wheelchair room was spacious. Although not a full wheelchair adapted room (lack of grab rails etc.) it was clear a lot of thought had gone into the design and layout - the hotel should be applauded for this. The shower (wet room and seat) was amazing! Staff were approachable and friendly. I already knew there was no tea/coffee making facilities but I was pleasantly surprised to find a refrigerator in the room. This meant I could buy drinks/snacks separately and keep them chilled. Useful, too, if you need to keep any medication cool. There was a garden area with seating, swimming pool (unfortunately out for maintenance), a bar and sitting room. The large sandy beach was just a minute away across the road. Parking was available free of charge on the street outside the hotel (with two disabled bays).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Without Balcony - Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff, overall the hotel was better than we expected. It was very clean with a nicely done interior. Cross the street and bury your toes in the beach. Would book again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Modern room in traditional seaside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a week night and we didn't go out to dine until around 8.30pm and struggled finding much choice in the immediate area. Had we walked further we may have found more but as it was late we daren't risk it. It's a perfectly pleasant seaside town but seemed fairly quiet. However the location of the hotel suited our needs perfectly for travelling to the port the next morning.

    We loved the room which was bright, modern and had a lovely view (4th floor looking over the back of hotel) The pool was also nice. We also liked the secure car park around the back of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff is superfriendly, helpfull and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matras could do better A little surprise was that there were no curtains. We used the metal shutters instead which made the room nice and dark to sleep. During hot nights we left the shutters 40cm open and we slept like a rose.

    Staff is superfriendly, helpfull and nice! Room newly redecorated, superfluffy carpet! Location at beach close to great ‘coffee and croissant at the peach’ place Garden with swimmingpool is very pleasant Private and secured parking very nice Balcony at the gardenside rooms is most romantic breakfast spot with view over tiny French village and French country side just behind as far as the eye can see :)!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room With Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    was perfectly happy with my stay.

    The location is very good. Nice swimming pool and garden. The breakfast was lovely with some nice cakes and great pains aux chocolat and croissants. The bed was very comfortable , nice new carpet in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those suffering from allergies or asthma cushy carpets would be better replaced by wooden floors.

    Quite central on the coast of Normandy. Nice pool. Good breakfast. Very good deal for families. We had a great time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    3.8
    Certainly not worth the money. Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Without Balcony - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place felt like an old nursing home. The staff were really nice but the price didnt reflect the quality of the hotel. I can only imagine they were having hard times. Everything was very low budget. The nylon carpet in the room was new but from the 70's. The bedding was dirty. So dirty my wife had to put her pillow inside a tee shirt because of the stains. There were black plastic cups in the bathroom that had used toothpaste stuck to the outside of them. The breakfast fruit bowl had a manky mouldy old apple rotting away in it. There were 5 bits of cheese as part of the buffet I genuinely though we must have been the only guests and took them only for several more people to turn up. Things were just dirty.

    The view was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Great for staying a couple of nights before traveling further through France or back to the UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be handy if their restaurant opens more often but I think that's only in the busy months. Would be nice if there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room as you have to pay extra for that.

    Breakfast is good. Pool is covered and a nice size if not too busy. Used this hotel for the last 3 years for over night stops before embarking on the Ferry 9 km away. They sometimes upgrade you to a sea view if out of season.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal area decor a little challenging, but not a problem, belied the comfort and convenience the hotel offered.

    Room very spacious, plenty of storage space, good size bathroom. Had a back room (onto garden, swimming pool) and extremely quiet. Staff helpful, friendly and unobtrusive. Stayed overnight on route to ferry - will stay again no problem.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Would certainly return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room With Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Amenities good - pool great, sauna needs a little bit of repair though. Room great, view fantastic although would have liked tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and happy to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room With Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We missed out on our breakfast as we didn't realise that was part of our payment :(

    The staff were very friendly and happy to help. The area was lovely and there was great pizza place just down the road!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Without Balcony - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, just a little on the expensive side!

    Great people, couldn't do enough to help...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    The pool was great!
    • Couple
    • Double Room Without Balcony - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air-condition in the room. No shower curtain.

    The pool was great! Breakfast puffet was good. Great view to the sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    great beach front location lovely stay indoor pool a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    exterior could put you off but venture inside very pleasant

    lovely staff lovely interior good breakfast right on the beach front free parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Third vist - consistently good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Without Balcony - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room would be nice

    Great location. Very comfy bed. Large shower . Exceptionally helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant. Luc sur Mer wonderful place. Hotel great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet too High to sit on!!! Love to have a kettle and cups in room

    Excellent view room and bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    overnight stay on way to port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    overnight stay on way to port. good location but had no curtains in 2nd room and no tea coffee facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.8
    A seaside hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room With Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar area was poor and no restaurant for evening meals

    The balcony with the sea view and the garden/swimming pool area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    great short stay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good quiet location convenient for the ferry

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor things like the elevator is small.

    The location is excellent. Essentially on the beach. Good breakfast. Good value for the dollar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    great for our purpose to visit casino and get ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    great for our purpose to visit casino and get ferry

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.8
    Location, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of shower curtain Two single beds pushed together - a real double would have been great. bed cover missing - two single duvets minus their covers was weird.

    Location, excellent breakfast. superb view. Very comfortable bed............. Superb water flow for an excellent shower Lovely garden to sit out and read........... Friendly staff,

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Arrived late off ferry from Portsmouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very expensive

    Arrived late off ferry from Portsmouth. Easy to find, Clean room Large bed, Great for one night stay. It would be a good place to stop for a holiday in the summers, although it would be more expensive

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    7.9
    They upgraded us to a sea view because these rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative to say

    They upgraded us to a sea view because these rooms were vacant. We enjoyed using the swimming pool and although out side it was covered. Breakfast had a wide variety of choices. Good location for the ferry port. Nice walks and restruants near by.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.7
    There was a beautiful sea view from the window and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel looked tired and there was no evening restaurant even though this was advertised when we booked.

    There was a beautiful sea view from the window and it was accessible to many restaurants on the sea front.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    The Receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no safety rail when entering the Jacuzzi.

    The Receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful. The covered pool is also very good, as is the sauna.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Lovely small hotel, with covered outdoor pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only that the bar didn't have any diet drinks!!! As I am a diabetic, we had to go and buy some from the supermarket.

    Lovely small hotel, with covered outdoor pool. Nice garden to relax in. Breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.4
    location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Restaurant was closed. Breakfast was limited and quite expensive. Bar was very expensive. Pool cover was kept on unnecessarily.

    location was good. Rear garden was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.8
    I came from Paris with food poisoning and I ended up needing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi would be nice.

    I came from Paris with food poisoning and I ended up needing a doctor. The lovely man at the front desk phoned the doctor and he came to the hotel ( which he referred me to the ER - which was top notch!) On the day of my check out the hotel let me stay a couple hours extra since my ferry didn't leave until 2pm. When I come back to Normandy I will definitely stay here. I do however highly recommend renting a car.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    super room with view of sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    super room with view of sea. Set just a short drive from Caen. Looked like they have a super pool for Summer months. very friendly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    Nice personal, good breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice personal, good breakfast, Definitely a lovely hotel and super be views of the beach.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    6.7
    personnel was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the maintenance of the swimming pool was poor. The carpet in the room needs to be cahnged

    personnel was friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.3
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was closed no Wifi in bedroom hard beds

    Location and staff

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: