Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Saint-Germain 2 stars

50 rue du Four, 6th arr., 75006 Paris, France

#1259 of 1,578 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1449 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We find this hotel is actually two star rather than three star that showed on this page, and soon the reason is obvious. The room is quite old, very small and suffocated if let the windows to balcony closed. Something's wrong with the ventilation or it's just too old that the room smell badly every morning which is very uncomfortable. The breakfast is very poor and not worthy of the money. And the lady who handled check-in is not so friendly though maybe she was just too busy because the hotel is always full at summer time.

    Excellent Location. Walking distance to every big brands that you can mention, museums and good hands of cafe and restaurants, and also Le Bon Vivant which you could easily spend half a day just wander around and enjoy marvellous choice of foods. The staff are polite in a all, with an gentleman always like to trade in foreign languages with his elegant French. And the furbished bathroom is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room the first night. Dark . No natural light . Damp smelling . Not fit to be sold as a room and certainly not for the price !

    Changing rooms for the second night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited eating facility

    The hotel location is brilliant in the middle of all activities. Rooms are small but clean and the staff courteous and helpful. Dining facilities are poor but there is plenty within meters outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my room was a small dark hole - and very pricey. 188 euros for an indifferent experience. wish i had spent more time on the internet finding somewhere else

    its ok. but very pricey for waht it is. no romance at all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was out half of the time and supposedly only day staff could fix it. Toilet area was so narrow that my hips touched the walls (I’m a 2X size lady so probably works for smaller folk.)

    Spotlessly clean, small but attractive, well organized room, great location near several Metro stops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was miserable (12€!!) so we went to nearby cafes after the first couple of days! Same price, much better. Room very small. People doing their ironing on our tiny landing... why? Could do with voile on window as you’re either in the pitch black or you expose yourself to all who live across the street!!!!

    Location (we chose it so of course we liked it!!). There is a lift, albeit minuscule. Shower was excellent! Air con not great but not bad either.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not as advertised. Pictures on booking.com and website are very inaccurate. Did not feel like I got the value for the money. Rooms are a bit small but that's to be expected across Europe. The elevator (lift) is tiny. Not really a con but if you weren't intimate with your travel partner you sure will be after using it.

    Great location. Staff was awesome and helpful. Great suggestions about the city and how to get around. They allow you to leave your luggage at the front desk AFTER checkout. The windows, opens all the way with a mini balcony ( not meant to stand on). Bathroom looked recently redone and was very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Overall I would reccomend and stay again but at a better price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem with my room, they promised me a disccount, but at the check out when I was paying they did not give me disccount. The person said he could not make the decision because he was not the manager and the manager was not reachable. Very unprofessinonal and poor trained staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room the first night was dreary and not what was promised. Booked two additional nights, but these were at an increased rate (not mentioned.) Two additional nights were in a much better room.

    First night in 'attic' room with no bathtub, coffee pot, stairs to final floor, and double bed (instead of 2 single beds as requested.) Changed to nicer room second and third night with elevator access, tub, and two single beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were offered was the smallest hotel room we've ever been in and overlooking an internal air vent. Oh, and the Metro runs underneath the hotel.

    Conveniently located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a hard time to open the elevator door when I get out of it because there was a big set of cleaning equipments in front.

    Room was small but bed was large and comfortable enough. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rumbling noise heard well into the night from the Metro trains running below- could be heard and felt even on 6th floor! Pillows were old and soft. Shower leaked all over the floor.

    Central location in Saint German, near transport. Small, simple and adequately appointed room. Staff very kind, friendly and helpful. Air conditioned room. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our taxi ordered at reception to go back to the airport did not turn up. The receptionist very reluctantly refunded €16 deposit

    Location was fantastic. We got top floor room with balcony. The room is basic but functional and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a VERY bad experience during the departure time.They arrange at the reception a taxi to drive us to the airport and we have paid a commission to the hotel for this .When the taxi never came ,they never take the responsibility.The lady at the reception was totally unable to handle the situation.

    The locationW

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locatiin is perfect. It is close to all attractions and we walked all the time from the hotel. Metro station is also 2 min from the hotel. Louvre and Notre Dame are maybe 15min by foot. It is small hotel but it has everything you need for stay. My recomandation is this hotel. I would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This small hotel provided a very pleasant stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Everything needed was provided, but on a small scale, My single 6th floor room was tiny but well equipped with everything required including minibar and toiletries,and a kettle/tea provided happily upon request. The windows opened onto a little Parisian balcony which was lovely to step outside. A small elevator services up to the 5th floor then a small spiral staircase to the sixth. This could be a problem for less able-bodied guests or those with cumbersome luggage but was fine for me. I did not use the breakfast service as I preferred to go out and try the cafes but breakfast is provided until 11am, great for those needing a sleep in. Other reviews have commented on noise from the metro but this was not a problem. If anything,you may notice the occasional low dull rumble but it is fleeting and the metro does not run all night. It was not an issue for me. The hotel is well positioned in a quiet street near a small square and walking distance to everything. Cafe Flore and Les Deux Magots are only a couple of minutes walk away. I had a very pleasant stay and would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very noisy but this is more to do with the area than the hotel itself.

    Really nice hotel, a little old-fashioned but in a good way :) Friendly staff, small but nice rooms, good location and really good price for this area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can hear the loud noises from the street and others room both near my room and upper room. I wasn’t sleep well all night because of the noise.

    I like only the location in this hotel which everything it’s so bad to stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was very hard however we did sleep well.

    Loved the area. Well positioned for shopping, eating & access to major attractions. Wonderful & helpful communications before arriving and during our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very noisy, also I was in a room on 6th floor which I thought it would help with the noise but actually, it did not, on the contrary, the entire building would shake when the nearby tram was running.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room doesn’t worth the cost. All pics sent in the reservation are not close at all of what you will find in the room 51. A pic says more than everything else. (room’s view). No sound proof (train or metro noise every 15 mins ), Uncomfortable bed, no view, no tea/coffee maker and/or safe box for laptop inside the room, all of those are not available at all as those supposed to be. It was more disappointing to speak with the personnel in the reception because the argue is that they did have more rooms available. If that was the case why they offered a room with nice pics included ?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one free power outlet, nowadays with one cell phone each person and one camera to charge we had to disconnect the TV to have one more available. Water not that hot on first night, but rest assured not cold either.

    Very well located, near a metro station, calm and safe place. Very helpful and friendly staff. Small room but enough for a couple traveling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room and very expensive for what it offers.

    Only the location was good. All the rest of the facilities were awful. Very expensive for the quality of the services. The photos on booking does not reflect the reality. The size of the room was very small related to what we have seen on the site of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the staff was unkind. I stayed 7 days and at the last day I was still treated as if they don't know me. the never say Bonjour, or Merci! the remote control was out off order, I ask to replace It at reception, they told me to ask the room maid who is not there when I'm in my room (in the evenng) The cintres were broken, they didn't replace them, and I was obliged to hang all my suits on the chair.

    location good because in the heart of paris

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Returned cold and wet from a snow-shower into a warm room, I felt wonderful. The breakfast was very nice, I especially liked the freshly squeezed juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room - probably the worst one in the hotel, room 51, looking directly at the air conditioning unit whereas no other room did - lucky us! So best be warned, if you do have any requests, please request that you do not wish to stay in Room 51.

    Good location for the Metro station, St Sulpice, and also a Monoprix just around the corner for all your groceries and basic food shopping. We did have one incident with noisy neighbours but that was quickly dealt with once we informed the Reception staff of the situation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard. Loud shaking from subway below. AC did no work but overall great value for a night in Paris.

    Great location, small but great room with a view, great private rest room. Breakfast on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear and feel every subway passing under the hotel. A very load ventilation system just outside the window, all night long. Hard Bed, old bedding

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window opened to elevator shaft Very noisy all night long. Sounded like people bowling above room. Had to always leave room key. Safe had no lock unless you went to front desk to request one. No coffee/tea in room. Towels threadbare and small. Kept suggesting relatives restaurant. Asked about hop on hop off bus tried to sell tickets to “another better bus” at twice the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom did smell a little bit damp but wasn’t worth mentioning to the staff as it quickly went once we opened windows

    The staff were extremely friendly and we could not have asked for more for the price we paid. We got the subway from gare du nord and the location of the hotel was a walk around the corner from the stop. Highly recommend this place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    super small room, poor bed quality, heating and water supply creating noise during night; metro very noisy during operation times; breakfast quality poor

    the tiles in the bathroom are wonderful; the staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had mould to grout between tiles and hair in shower. Despite being on 3rd floor we were woken by the underground trains constantly. No kettle in room & only enough room to shimmy around the bed as room so tiny! Despite it saying rooms are sound proof we could hear every conversation had by our neighbours, every cough, sneeze & toilet flush!

    Not bad for a 2 star hotel but I’ve never stayed in one before.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were not as advertised, they were extremely small and luggage didn't fit. Wifi didn't work and staff wasn't able to help. "Luggage storage" (as advertised) wasn't an actual storage, they asked guests to leave luggage at the hotel lobby with no supervision.

    Location was great, lots of stores around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a scam, the rooms are not what the pictures depict - massive lie and waste of money. notice the two pictures, the good picture of the room is the quality I was expecting and the pictures they present on the website and the other is the photo of what the room looked like. To say this hotel is committing fraud is an understatement

    This hotel is a scam it was the biggest disappointment, I booked three nights left after one.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was really a disaster most of the days, i could hardly maintain a facetime audio call and the lady in the receiption (at the weekend) was somehow rude.

    Location. Hospitality. Access to public transportation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my room (41) didn't have a view I hated this it had a small window to the internal building faculties

    the location is just amazing walking distance to major attractions lots of buses and 2 metro lines 3 minutes away. bus in front of hotel to go to gare du nord . shopping area walking distance great cafes as well

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building seemed to be on top of a metro station. Even with ear plugs in, you could FEEL the train go by anywhere from every 2-15 minutes when in the room. We're in our 30s and live in a large city, so are used to city noise, but the street noise from construction, garbage trucks, ambulances and drunk people on the weekend was more than expected. We didn't sleep well. Also, our neighbors smoked in the room every day and it came into our room which was gross since this usually isn't allowed in hotels in our country. The room and shower were tiny. The shower flooded onto the floor if you weren't very careful. The fan system in the room didn't seem to work properly and it always felt stuffy unless we opened the window.

    Every staff member was great. One recommended a great place for dinner nearby, another set up an airport transfer for us. They spoke English with us and were helpful and friendly. The location was great too. Good shopping and restaurants within walking distance. The museums were also within a slightly longer walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bed cleanliness. Concerned about bedbugs. Sheets were not clean. Bathroom odors were of sewage. Metro underneath hotel ~ noise all day and night.

    Only 1 good thing about this hotel ~ location. But there are a lot better ones in this same location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very noisy, you can hear and feel the trains rattling past at all hours. The walls are also paper thin so be prepared to hear every guest on your floor.

    Lovely, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Clean, warm and fairly spacious (for a Parisian hotel).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel(room) was very small. You were only able to walk 2 meters in the room and then there was the big bed. The blankets were a bit too cold for the winter but I guess hotels never really have comfortable blankets. We were able to hear the metro every 10 minutes even on the 6th level (which is not accessable by the tiny 2-person elevator, it only goes until level 5). You could even hear it at night and if you're a light sleeper you won't be able to fall asleep quickly.

    The hotel was in the middle of the city, so it was easy for us to find stores and cafes. Everything was nearby. We also asked for a room with a view, which we gladly got.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy metro passes under hotel (Not for light sleepers), fortunately I sleep heavily European tiny bedroom, tiny bathroom

    Newly renovated bathroom Friendly staff Awesome location. Took me 15 minutes to walk to Lovre area (and I am a slow walker)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was booked 4 months in advance. It was tiny, overlooked the sewer and water pipes with no balcony or street view as expected from the website. The bed was hard, it was expensive with no services.

    Location only except for subway noise at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Our luggage went missing on they went above and beyond to assist in contacting and following up with the airline.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought everything was fine.

    THe hotel is centrally located and comfortable, the facilities are completely adequate, the staff is extremely helpful. The rates are a bargain given the location and the quality of the facilities. My wife and I do not travel to stay in hotels -- we travel to see places. This hotel provided everything we needed. Could not ask for anything more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our reservation with booking.com said that we would pay at the hotel but our first night was charged to our credit card prior to arrival.

    The reception staff were very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. The rooms were warm and spotless. We booked room only so don't know what the breakfast was like. Very central location, loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible internet. Messed up my whole day as i couldn't work from the hotel. Very stressful and the staff did nothing to help. Hair balls in the room, noisey and small. I will never stay there again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle with tea / coffe making facilties in the room would be good. This is commonly missing in many French hotels however.

    Staff on reception were extremely helpful, polite and very friendly. Breakfast was a nice selection of breads, pancake, sauasage and the usual cereals, fruit and yoghurts. absolutely perfect for my personal requirements. Prices for the drinks from the room fridge were good in comparison to some hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small, we had no place to open our suitcases properly. The windows were looking on a ventilation yard, the sky was not seen because of the bars and it was impossible to figure out the time of the morning. Also the room was creaking the whole night, I woke up all the time feeling uncomfortable.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient, you can walk to Luxembourg gardens or Notre-Dame.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny. The bed was flat and not comfortable. The shower was also very tiny. I didn't like having to give the room key to the front desk when going out even though all my stuff was in the room.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, although they didn't tell me where the breakfast was in the morning (downstairs) or what time. I liked the neighborhood and the easy access to public transportation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very narrow spiral staicase. Two person ONLY lift. Noise from the metro line that runs under the hotel. No secure room to leave suitcases before booking in / after booking out.

    Convenient location for Metro line 4 with easy journey to/from Gare du Nord. Excellent local fashion shops. Good selection of local restaurants. Walking distance for Jardin du Luxembourg and Maillol Galleries

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed the reading lamps next to the bed (room 11) there is not enough light to read and the cup of tea tray and eletric kettle have vanished...

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Photos of the hotel on internet were misleading. Hotel and rooms did not look at all like reality, It's a 2-star hotel but no rating was shown. Bathroom uncomfortably small.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attic room was tiny and rather cramped. Although quiet, when the window was open the fumes from the hotel's extractor systems entered the room. We felt it should have been cheaper than other rooms we've taken in the past.

    Comfortable bed, friendly helpful staff, great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel sits above the Babylon Metro Line which unfortunately is still running hold trains which have no rail buffers so the noise even on the 5th floor is deafening and starts from 5am and goes all day and late into the nite - booking.com should advise there users of this. Quite frankly it puts me off using you again!

    the hotel was in a nice location and clean and functional. The lift to the 5th floor was efficient. The male staff member was excellent the female was quite abrupt but your site should mention the issue with the Metro train noise!!!!! ( see below )

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst part is the horrendous noise of the metro trains you can hear every five minutes even though they list 'soundproof rooms' as an amenity. In lower floors such as the 2nd floor room we were first given, even some of the window trims rattled when the metro passed making it impossible to rest or sleep until past midnight when the metro stops. We were moved to room#65 (the top-most room) upon request which was a tad better but we always heard the metro. Another negative was that many amenities listed by the property were not actually in the room such as water kettle, coffee maker, iron and more. The rooms are also quite tiny - between 10 and 12 square metres.

    For us the best thing about the property was the location as it was quite central. Daytime manager was helpful but all night managers were completely dismal. The bed was comfy enough and wifi was also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not yet ready when we arrived. You cant request to change your room if you are not comfortable. No free water or coffee amenities.

    Near in Metro Station. Friwndly staff during at night (old man)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not what I booked. I was put on the 6th floor and the lift only goes to the 5th floor. Then up this round stairway with luggage which is unmanageable and an accident waiting to happen. I got a bed, in an attic with no desk,tea or coffee, and not even enough room to open the suitcase. The receptionist , a woman, was rude and made fun of my complaint with other customers sitting in the reception area. She said they would change my room the next day, but what they offered was even worst. A room facing an elevator shaft, with no natural light. So I stayed in the attic. This is the worst place I have stayed in in 40 years of traveling all over the world. And the woman receptionist lies with information, and seemed to relish treating me poorly. I would run in and out of the hotel, so as not to have anything to do with her. Nasty nasty woman! And booking.com was not really helpful. They made a perfunctory call to the hotel, but no offer to move me somewhere else, so I had to stay in a most disagreeable place. The place is noisy with the metro running underneath. I really have nothing good to say about this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy due to location, not big balcony but overall was ok Breakfast area was very small, not a big choice and over priced personally

    The location was perfect, walking distance to all the restaurants and bars and famous places A lot of great shops near by

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise of the metro every two minutes from 6am to midnight. We were on the second floor and could hear it plain as anything so there was no chance of an early night sleep or lie in in the morning

    Staff very friendly and helpful Well situated for the city and area. But not what it is built above.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is really really small but REALLY SMALL, the room fits just a bed and a desk, the bathroom doesn't fit two people at the same time in the shower or outside (it fits one in the shower and one outside), the stairs were tall and very small someone could trip! The elevator fits only two people which can be inconvenient when you are traveling with 4 people! We heard all the time the sound of the subway below the building which is a bit tiring but you get used to after a few nights! Unfortunately we had some guests upstairs that were having sex every night and were really loud and the door from our room sounded everytime the wind passed so it scared us at night. They do have a restaurant but it only has three tables and there was no one there to help us so we decided to go to other place and have breakfast!

    The location was amazing really close to Notre-Dame and Les Champs-Elysees. The bathroom was brand new and it was beautiful (although it was small and the shower didn't have a door which was odd). The staff was really helpful and they spoke both French and English which is good if you aren't fluent in any of those languages. They allow you to order food from an app such as Glovo so that was good! When we left they helped us order a taxi!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    if 2 people, there was no place for suitcases.

    Bathroom shower and shower area was excellent (not too small). Hairdryer, tea/coffee making possibility in the room was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The district around for cafe and and an occasional beer was very pricey. No fault of the hotel.

    Is a very small hotel, small lift, tiny narrow stairs etc. Room was small but functional. it was very clean and the staff were helpful and accommodating. Location is very good with easy access to various metro stations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cosy room was a little small, but as they say 'Welcome to Paris'. Also the time may be here to consider changing over the Mattress (yes it was okish but a little lumpy).

    Friendly and helpful front desk personel. Modern recently renovated bathroom facilities. Breakfast was wonderful and well catered for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea and coffee provisions in the room. Our air conditioning wasn’t working and nothing done about it after it was reported. The location is noisy especially with the windows open.

    Location excellent for M, RER, Bus and walking to all tourist areas. . For a two star very acceptable. Clean and well prepared. Daily service was good. Breakfast was very good and plentiful, although the breakfast room is small, however breakfast is available until 11:00

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - In our room (room 35 on the 3rd floor) you can still hear the train passing by. It didn't bother us so much as we went home pretty late every night and we're deep sleepers but you can hear it every now and then especially in the morning.

    - Value for money - Good Location! There's a bust stop right across the hotel. Other bus stops or train stations are within 5 minutes. Lot's of shops in the area (and good shops such as Cos, Pharmacies, Coffee Shops, High end stores - Hermes, Louis Vuitton, etc) - Relatively bigger sized room than usual cheap hotels. Closet space and Refrigerator is provided. - There's also a lift so not hard to go up

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room was very, very small. The booking.com listing said there was a view...which we were looking forward to, but the view was a heating shaft! There was no window at all in the room. If there was a fire, I felt like there would be no escape. I believe this type of room should not be allowed for safety! No parking onsite....had to pay for parking in a car park several blocks away.

    Location was good. Staff was good, except the many things to know were explained too quickly to grasp all of it. I liked that it had an elevator, small though it be!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    photos are not accurate, very poor quality and TINY rooms. felt like a hostel not a hotel for 200 euro a night. the elevator can fit one person and a bag. we were given a room on the 6th floor and the elevator only went to the 5th. we had to lug our bags to the 6th floor using a steep and narrow spiral stairway. narrow hallways were dark and littered with cleaning supplies and maintenance equipment. very outdated rooms DO NOT TRUST the photos!! uncomfortable hard beds.

    the breakfast came with freshly squeezed orange juice - a pleasant surprise

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We relocated to a quiet room on the 5th floor --no rumbling from subway underneath Paris, fresh air from window (opening to circulation vent rather than noisy Rue du Four), good floor plan and blissful quiet (jet lagged travelers here!) Room 51 Staff so very helpful in every way, welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    The staff at the front desk were so helpful! Any question we had they were able to answer or help us in any way. We got there a few hours prior to our check in time and they held our bags for us,well as when we were leaving at the end of our trip due to late flight times. The location was AMAZING! It made our trip well worth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinning area was small but they used the limited very well. And it was a great breakfast

    The metro underground train makes the hotel shake and is nosiy all day and night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny towels and even I had to sit sideways on the loo! There is only a lift to the 5th floor and we were on the 6th so had to haul bags up a round staircase but we managed!

    Budget hotel with a tiny room and bathroom but everything you need and in a fantastic location. We would stay again :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was close to the metro station and the room was noisy and with vibrations whenever the metro passed by. The room was a bit small too but I am not claustrophobic so it was okay I wished the pancakes were freshly made though

    I liked the location. It was close to shops, restaurants, public transportation. The staff were very cordial, helpful and kind. The cleaning lady was great too, very charming. Met three different people at the reception and they were all very pleasant and helpful with advise and directions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My initial room at the back faced into a stairwell, with no natural light, so I requested a change, which was greeted with mild annoyance. However, for the price, I did feel entitled to ask. The room I was then given was much better, though the decor in both was a little tired and unimaginative. Also, the safe needs to be bigger, for a laptop.

    The firm bed: I slept very well. The wi-fi was generally fine. There's a well-stocked mini-bar, though I didn't use it. The air-con is good. The shower was powerful and consistently hot; the bathroom (though very small) was well-appointed. The elderly guy doing the night duty on the desk was absolutely charming, and recommended a nice restaurant to me, as was the cleaner who helped me change my room (see below). The hotel's location is excellent, three mins walk from the Metro, and St Germain is a fine spot to be in when in Paris, though not the cheapest. Finally, you don't have to vacate the room the next day till 12pm, which is more generous than many hotels, so it's a point worth noting. You can have a lie-in if you want to!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos of property are super exaggerated and photoshoped. Hotel was awful. Very very small with minimum facilities. Metro is passing every 5 min from bottom of the hotel's building which we was able to hear its sound with building shake!!! There was no room to sruff even my luggage. We had to put them on bed and sleep next to our stuff. Room was almost 5 square meter. Elevator was too small. I just couldn't stand in it with my luggage. We were there for just one night but it passed like a century! It is a shame for Paris to have such hotel in it.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a great location. It was easily accessible to all the major landmarks. Very safe, very chic and upscale location. Walking distance to most of the landmarks. Would strongly suggest taking the tour buses as it really gives you an amazing experience.. help desk was extremely helpful in organizing tours. Even though you can hear the sound of the underground trains, it really was no distraction.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de Saint-Germain traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: