Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Design Hôtel des Francs Garçons 3 stars

1, rue des Francs Garçons, 17610 Saint-Sauvant, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Saint-Sauvant

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.3
    The nice cat outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures were very deceiving on the website. I picked the place so my kids could swim, after seeing the pool I wouldn’t have let my worst enemy get in it. The carpet in the room was disgusting. I don’t think it’s been vacuumed since it was first installed. The bathroom was nasty, thank god I had some cleaning stuff in my car. I believe I left it cleaner then when I checked in. No shower curtain or glass on the shower so after you shower the floor is covered with water. The place in general is in need of a renovation. It could easily be four star hotel if they would put some effort into making it more comfortable for their guests. The drive from Cognac to the hotel was about 20 minutes away...it was further then expected when I booked.

    The nice cat outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    I picked this hotel due to the advertisement of a gym.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I picked this hotel due to the advertisement of a gym. The gym was a cross trainer and a rowing machine in a very small room. There were no photos of the gym online

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stopover between Paris and Bordeaux
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were works in front of the room outside and that woke me up at 8:30 with lots of noise. But I know it's not the fault of the hotel

    The checking staff waited for me until midnight as I was late and asked them if it was possible and that was great The breakfast is all sweet stuff but very good products Room is nice Hotel design is really nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.0
    Beds really comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where shall I start. The hotel had a massive parked right at the entrance on arrival and half of the road was being dug up. Check in was v easy and pleasant We were woken up at the crack of dawn by the giant digger in full swing outside our bedroom window. Couldn’t open the shutters as the builders were level with our window. Went to go to clean our teeth to find we had no water. We were then told that the water was off! So we were unable to have a shower, wash or even use the toilet. I politely suggested to the lady on reception that it might be a good idea to give us some bottled water so we could at least clean our teeth. There no gesture or even a solution and actually no apology. Instead a bill of just over 140 euros for our stay! They should not have allowed bookings in the first place. We were pretty disgusted by the whole experience and should have been offered a refund

    Beds really comfortable. Nice decor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Delicious meals in a tranquil village setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms at the hotel are more modern than others.

    The pool and terrace area was superb - it overlooks the local church (only now used for occasional weddings and funerals) and was a great place to swim, relax, have a drink, read a book... and delicious evening meals and breakfasts are served here. It was delightful! Do ask to try the local wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    Nice building, decent location for travelling back to ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No proper bar, no restaurant although the owner cooked food but very little choice, told nothing close by but driving out the next day saw 2 restaurants a few minutes drive which would have been ideal

    Lovely building, ok stop over on way back to Caen Ferry

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival there was no-one there or any notice. We waited 20 minutes and the owner arrived saying that she had been to a funeral. They very kindly upgraded our room as we had requested a shower but everywhere you went there were cobwebs and generally a feeling of not being very clean. At dinner we asked for the wine list and were told that they hadn't got all the wines, but when we requested a certain wine the only one they had was the dearest in that category!

    The property was in a good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Pretty pretty place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was closed :(

    I marked the facilities down as he hotel is advertised for its swimming pool - I was so looking forward to a dip as we had travelled a long way in high temperatures. The pool was closed (filter had broken) and looked like it had been closed since last year as the water was sludgy. Shame. Otherwise an adorable hotel with superbly comfortable rooms, air conditioned and lovely bathroom. We dined outside and had a delicious meal with good service. Expensive food but nice. Location stunning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Rural village location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photographs of the hotel looked amazing although they were taken some time ago and some areas were a little tired and the pool looked more like a pond.

    Hotel situated in a quaint village. Madame cooked a lovely meal for us after we arrived. The breakfasts were sufficient and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    A hotel of interest..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    The total ambiance of the surroundings . Comfort, food and friendly genuine attention of staff. An interesting and Innovative project .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    8.8
    Fabulous hotel. Lovely village. Great dinner. The staff need to work on the welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dissapointing and expensive breakfast. No choice offered. Not a friendly welcome but when dinner was served everyone was lovely and very friendly.

    Lovely setting, great interiors nice view to the church.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Incredibly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly helpful staff. When we arrived the kitchen had closed for dinner, but they opened it back up to serve us, as nothing else was open in the area. Delicious food. Stunning rural quiet village with 12th century church at the heart.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    The staff was welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for the room is a good value for money on any business days. I was there on a weekend, the rooms are more expensive by 40% on weekends.

    The staff was welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.2
    Fab hotel in attractive village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool terrace is crammed into a tiny space and there are insufficient chairs for relaxation if it gets busy, although it wasn't an issue for us when we were there in August

    Quiet village location with the pool terrace directly facing the ancient church Superb meals served by the pool and it felt as if the meals were cooked with love especially for us as the hotel is so small The grey painted pool looked off putting at first but I really liked it in the end. The pool was very welcome after a hot day

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.6
    Awesome design hotel in a very quaint old french village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have no lift so it is a bit cumbersome with bags but besides that all was great

    Fantastic design hotel in a very old building in a very old village built on a hill. Super quiet and well appointed: they have a small pool, a small gym, two sitting rooms. The rooms themselves are compact owing to the building they are in but nicely appointed and with A/C. Houe guests can enjoy dinner menu on the terrace next to the pool (if the weather is nice): choice of 2 starters and 2 mains and one dessert. Simple but very good. Super friendly and effective staff. It was my second visit there and I'll go back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    5.8
    Nice, but don't waste your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Booked it over other hotels for the gym and pool and paid more money for these facilities. Very disappointed to find the gym turned out to be a TINY room with a sloped roof that my 6.4 boyfriend couldn't stand up in, with a bean bag and a rowing machine inside, neither could be used for a work out. Not a gym at all. The pool was very small, very cold and surrounded by building or trees so all in the shade. Area around pool seemed a bit unkept too so we didn't use this facility either. - Would have been good to have been told there were church bells directly outside the bedroom window that at 7am ding 50 times (no exaggeration). Very rude awakening on our holiday. - Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, nothing going on around at all, we had to drive into the town for dinner as apparently there were no restaurants or bars within walking distance. - Room was perfectly nice but very basic. - Not suitable if you have any difficulty walking. the Hotel is situated on a large hill and inside the hotel its all stairs and small windows to walk through etc... - Lady on reception was perfectly nice, english wasn't very good if you can't speak any french, but the cleaners we saw the next morning we're quite rude. I stay in hotels a lot and would have priced this room based on amenities and location at around £70 a night not £120+. We are slightly annoyed we paid so much and got so little out of it. Wouldn't return or recommend if I'm being completely honest.

    - Nice quirky building

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.2
    A hidden gem, idyllic spot for a night over when travelling to the South.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast for children is overpriced (8 euro, no buffet).

    This is the perfect stop when travelling to Spain. Near the A10 (Exit: Saintes), after a long ride relaxing in the swimming pool, and dining at the pool-terrace (table d'hote offered, so no need searching for a restaurant, which can be stressful with children on the backseat). We stop here every year, perfect start of our holiday, swimmingpool is a teaser for our children during the long ride.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful renovated house;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi "should" work; staff is very friendly but not always "on the ball"...; the church bell at 7am has at times been a little too early

    Wonderful renovated house; nice design and wonderful location downtown; perfect dinners - not gastronomic but great produce and very "honest"; the church bell gives charm...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    2.5
    This Design hotel has unfortunately gone out of style!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Design hotel has unfortunately gone out of style!! I can only presume the photographs shown on line are from some time ago when the hotel was at its peak. It is now very "unloved" - dirty mats, dead flowers in the pots near the pool and generally scruffy. Great shame because I'm sure it could be better .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location in the middle of a small old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful location in the middle of a small old town Very nice rooms all differently styled

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    very nice bed, nice coloured design
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not much room under rooftop

    very nice bed, nice coloured design

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel we hope to continue to use in the future
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, look forward to returning

    Great design, truly unexpected from the outside and the village

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, friendly staff and excellent food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice family run hotel. Staff were very accommodating and food was excellent and value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.1
    Very quiet village, good to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet village, good to relax. No restaurant at walking distance so we had dinner at the property. Very nice food and friendly young owners.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    If they get it right this could be fantastic
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu choice could be better cooked Need to serve proper gin and tonics

    Lovely old building

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.1
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking access was difficult when leaving.

    Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.2
    Quirky use of an old building in to a funky spacious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky use of an old building in to a funky spacious hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    6.7
    Location, dinner and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice idea but too Cluttered and not spotless

    Location, dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    4.6
    Whilst the staff were really nice and the dinner wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ....the room was not practical in it's decor (no hooks, no shower curtain to have a shower and alot of instructions missing for standard hotel room items). So the room no, the village no but the food yes. Overpriced.

    Whilst the staff were really nice and the dinner wonderful (however missed ingredients listed on menu...roquefort in the salad)....

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.8
    Imaginatively designed and stylish hotel run like a home by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not ideal if you find stairs a problem. It was fine for us.

    Imaginatively designed and stylish hotel run like a home by a delightful family. Magical village.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    This isn't everyones choice - it is a quirky boutique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This isn't everyones choice - it is a quirky boutique hotel in the centre of a lovely small hamlet some 6 miles from Saintes. Madam 'Flo' the Chef/Patron sets a high standard throughout the hotel. The hotel was full on our first visit (at a w/e) and all the guests appeared to 'eat in'. The menue is limited (2 options per course) - the food is imaginative and well presented. There is a good moderately priced wine list. The staff were excellent - most spoke good English. At my wife's insistence I can celled another hotel we had booked in Saintes for our return trip and rebooked here. We were not disappointed. The village shop sells excellent local Goats cheese and local wine

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Delightful small hotel, very friendly and helpful owners, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful small hotel, very friendly and helpful owners, we particularly enjoyed the evening meal fresh from the market. We would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Very stylish hotel, cute swimming pool area to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The evening meal choice was limited and the kitchen seemed unprepared for guests. The food wasn't very tasty. I would not eat here again. If you have heavy bags there is no lift.

    Very stylish hotel, cute swimming pool area to have cocktails. I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    6.3
    The ingenious planning of a 7 room modern hotel from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the top floor, no elevator. It was an attic and the ceilings were very low. The bathroom was part of the cramped room and it closed with sliding glass doors. No privacy.

    The ingenious planning of a 7 room modern hotel from a medieval house was something to see. The pool and gym were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    great area, lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    slopped ceiling made it uncomfortable to walk around the room, particularly to get to one of the beds. shower poorly designed

    great area, lovely village

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.2
    Design of hotel and room - modern, fun, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness could have been better. A bit of dust on furniture and some spots on bathroom floor. Dirty glasses.

    Design of hotel and room - modern, fun, comfortable. Very good dinner at hotel. Nice and numerous public rooms and bar. Beautifully renovated building. Very helpful staff. Would happily stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    A beautiful tiny traditional French village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful tiny traditional French village.dont miss this hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Quality of room and fittings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some strange food combinations in restaurant.

    Quality of room and fittings. restaurant wines

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    service
    • Group

    Lamb was a little raw

    service

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.5
    Food was really good
    • Couple

    Food was really good

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: