Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hôtel Des Thermes 5 stars

100 bd hebert, Sillon, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#23 of 69 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Gréât location but ended up eating elsewhere due to poor service and attitude from staff at ‘LaTera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service on ‘La Terasse’ ...... where we were not informed that some tables were for drinks only and were left waiting for service while the tables that were allocated to food were filled up!! We waited over an hour on one occasion.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emeraude Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to overcharge us by adding breakfast for all days that we stayed. But we never had breakfast there. Either they were too lazy to check back with the breakfast staff/records, or they were malicious. It felt like the latter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Emeraude Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Beautiful quiet room. Hotel right on the beach, just few minutes drive from ST. Malo. The thermal baths and sauna were extensive and clean and luxurious. We sat on the Terasse bar/restaurant to watch the sun set over the sea. This facility rates high on our list and we have been to many thermal spas around the world.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful stay in a great location - we'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a part of the hotel that was hard to find and we all got lost on the way back from the spa, which in any case led past restaurants and bars - wandering the hotel in a damp robe to find the room is not ideal but everything else was excellent.

    Superb stay - wonderful view and a great spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were so helpful and the spa area, just beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was not a lot of choice for dinners unless you wanted formal style eating. There was no bistro type offerings for the children. The breakfast is also very expensive.

    The staff were so helpful and the spa area, just beautiful. I’d definitely stay again :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    Not a 5 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Emeraude Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minibar wasn't restocked at all during my 5 night stay, nor was complimentary drinking water. Dropped my shirts to be pressed on Monday afternoon, did not receive until Wednesday afternoon. No english channel at all on the TVs, surely a must for a 5-star hotel. Maid forgot to leave a do not disturb / make up my room sign one day meaning I was disrupted whilst working. Wifi is absolutely shocking, not suitable if you need to do any work Phone wasn't answered when I wanted to order room service

    Clean rooms, clean bathroom, bar facilities was good with a nice view although food was bad and overpriced. Pianist was quite good. Restaurants were okay, but again rather overpriced. Better ones down the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell! It did not smell fresh for a spa hotel. It didn’t have a good feel when I arrived. Lights were too bright! Not relaxing

    The sheets were ok-bed quite comfortable. It was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    A very nice hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Croisiere Prestige Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The spa area is open to outside guests for 24€, it's often full and staff seems overwhelmed by the amount of people in the facility.

    Very nice location, perfect & amazing view of the ocean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location but staff needs training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not helpful w recommendations for dinner, nor knowledgeable about directions to major tourist destinations that were near by

    Small but comfortable rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    3.8
    expected a 5 star room and service and got a 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Very old, corridors have been totally refurbished 5 star level but the rooms are 25 years old and cheap 3 star level. Not all the rooms have been refurbished but you only find out at checking. Russian roulette style... - Showers are without access and the water goes from your setup to burning or freezing without touching anything. actually dangerous having a 1 year old baby. - service was terrible. During my stay I called the manager to express my disappointment and the actual danger of the water temperature and the fact that house keeping forgot to provide towels, but he didn't do or say anything other than "we'll bring you towels" - While leaving the hotel the receptionist asked me if everything was fine. I said no expressed my disappointment and he didn't even ask why or cared.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    A delightful experience. To be repeated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Emeraude Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast somewhat disappointing but very much in keeping with continental style

    Beautiful building with friendly efficient wellcoming staff. Food excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.5
    Not a 5* but still nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at a 2 star motel with nicer and more informative front desk staff. We did not get a welcome or a hello, no explanation of the property, when we asked about lunch, no recommendations. I should also note my partner is French and did all the talking so this wasn't just a language barrier and he found the staff to be just as pretentious and rude as I did. The room was kind of disappointing, the bed was all rumpled, the floor was disgusting and needed to be vacuumed. The guys who did baggage were very nice and helpful, I wish he could have checked us in. Also, I know we tried to check in a bit early, but it would have been nice to hear that they would try and accommodate us by getting us in our room early, even the bellhop found this to be weird when we told him we weren't allowed in the room. The hotel wasn't full and it was our anniversary. Oh well.

    The hotel itself is beautiful, it is a 20-30 minute walk to the center of Saint Malo, but I loved walking along the beach to get there. The common areas were amazing, the spa is huge, the swimming pool is gorgeous, the restaurant views. After checking out dt, I would still pick this for location and facilities. It was definitely a spa, everyone was walking around in robes and slippers which I particularly liked. We had cocktails before our dinner in town and they were amazing - it was a nice touch to have an amuse bouche with the cocktail and a piano player in the background. The view was beautiful. The ambiance was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel in front of the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Escale Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be improved (a 5* standard requires more variety and a better presentation) but the view in the conservatory type room compensates. "Les Thermes Marines" are disappointing. Not charming at all. Very much like a sanitary clinic, labyrinthine and noisy. The Aquatonic pool happens to be different since it has sea water and it is fun but that's all.

    Entrance at level 0 is outdated and you will get a wrong first impression (this very far from what I've chosen!) But don't worry. Contrarily to any other hotel in the world here only the entrance was not modernised! Upstairs the common areas are very pleasant and the location in front of the sea is perfect. We booked an Emeraude room and it was spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Food excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Emeraude Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food excellent. Room was very comfortable with a balcony and sea view. Spa experience excellent. Very relaxing weekend. We will be staying again next year. Jersey CI

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Staff friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Large Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Staff friendly and efficient. Good location to explore Trouville on foot and to go to the beach. Rooms are modern and bright. The hotel has been open for about 18 months, beautifully decorated. Great Thalassa and Spa area, which we did not have time to use.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.9
    Disappointed our double bed was two singles pushed together,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed our double bed was two singles pushed together, wasn't clear in advance and would have made us reconsider booking given we were paying for a five star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    Sand, surf, salty air, sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, very nice place to stay. I would have liked to try out a sand yacht, maybe the hotel should run classes!

    Lovely hotel right on the waterfront, you can watch the tide change from your room (or the bar). The indoor pool is salty, so goggles are a good idea. Lots of dinner places in the town (Duchess Anne sp? was very good, immediately on the right as you go in the double gate) There is a patisserie for breakfast going along the beach, away from the town, if you want some pre-breakfast exercise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel on the beach with spa and great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricey especially breakfast.

    Location fantastic, room very comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and attentive, and we enjoyed using the bikes every day. I also used the spa which was fantastic. I would definitely go back if I'm ever in Saint Malo again, and if I can get a reduced rate again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    The location is superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is superb

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay and the spa was excellent 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Escale Superior Double room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very professional and friendly and especially at the cap horn restaurant 😀

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at bar is poor. Need more variety and better quality.

    Location and views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Croisiere Prestige Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    High price for the Prestige sea view room , but so nice & comfortable with panoramic view on the Bay ! No regrets ..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful spa hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the sea front location. Its really worth paying a little extra for a sea view. Beautiful hotel with spa.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.5
    Amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Emeraude Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was too cold to enjoy the see side

    Location and facility

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.3
    Dated and small sauna steam facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small saund area

    Cosy modest rooms Small sauna and steam rooms No relaxation areas in spa

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Best place in Saint Malo and the region
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Escale Superior Double room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.1
    Ok for short or overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room unless you pay a fortune for a large sea view.

    valet parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    The breakfast we had of scrambled eggs and bacon was cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast we had of scrambled eggs and bacon was cold. No fault of the staff, but a beer had been drunk and refilled with water and the cap replaced! Cheeky

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    We enjoy staying here en route back to Jersey and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner in the Cap Horn was disappointing and not up to its usual high standard. Action needs to be taken in relation to the seagulls. The squawking on the flat roof and on our window sill all afternoon until going to dinner was unbearable. We were far from happy when it commenced again at again at 06:00. I then opened the curtain to find one staring at me through the window. Perhaps some netting on the flat roof and something on the window sills would be a preventative. We have also experienced this on the window sills of the sea view rooms on previous stays.

    We enjoy staying here en route back to Jersey and particularly enjoy the Thermes!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    on the first night we used the restaurant and the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we walked into town on the last night of our holiday and we couldn't get a taxi back..........it was a long walk at the end of an evening !!

    on the first night we used the restaurant and the food was superb !! The hotel was well run and the staff excellent, my wife used the pool and really enjoyed it, we will return

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    A very good spa hotel, overlooking the lengthy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The indoor pool is good and fantastic if the weather is against you, but like most French pools, if you want a quick dip it's a bit of a performance to get past the bureaucracy and actually get into the water (including being issued with the standard bathing caps).

    A very good spa hotel, overlooking the lengthy and excellent St Malo beach (but some way along from the old town). Had a really good sea view room in the new part of the hotel, modern in all respects including bathroom. Top class modern spa facilities. Staff can be a bit tricky to deal with on the lunch terrace, especially when they are busy, but being pleasant did soften them and they became perfectly OK. Check in staff were charming and good.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.3
    Location was fabulous and we loved the salt water bubble spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows a bit too hard and our double was two beds pushed together with no topper covering the seam. The swimming pool a bit dated.

    Location was fabulous and we loved the salt water bubble spa which was free to residents. Nice friendly service. Super bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.5
    Clean room, lovely sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Petit dejourner is expensive and very little choice or hot food left towards the end of service, we got charged for two breakfasts that we didn't have and even if you order breakfast in your room and only have juice and croissants, you still get charged the full rate. Bit of a rip off! Hotel seemed very impersonal and too big for our liking. Dinner service we felt rushed and little personal attention to our needs,

    Clean room, lovely sea view.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    6.3
    Not too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Was a disappointment. We chose this hotel for the pictures of the facilities, especially the pool. When we got there, we could not find the pool from the pics, that pool was at a different location, we soon discovered, and we didn't even bother having a swim as it was totally unappealling. Hotel pretty winding and we got lost finding our rooms a number of times, and the directions were pretty unclear. There is an old section and a new section and I found many guests wandering around confused. We wished we had spent the money on one of the cuter boutique hotels in the heart of the old St Malo. I found the staff pretty unfriendly too.

    Not too much. Parking was nice. View of the sea.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.7
    Location, spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food in roof terrace bar was awful which is surprising considering the 4 stars and cost. A club sandwich for example was cheese and ham in bread with the crusts cut off for 12 euros....

    Location, spa

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.9
    A traditional grand looking building right in front of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A traditional grand looking building right in front of the beach. Average if slightly tired inside, great food, fantastc breakfast with view, service is simple and professional. A good place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.4
    salt water in their pool is very rare in hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The navigation inside the hotel is terrible. Some lifts don't work and you have to find a way to the reception, restaurants, spa, and so on. The breakfast is very modest. Some staff is lazy and don't speak english. I've tried to find a place to print my papers but their only printer is in the reception and, firstly, you have to send your private docs to their computer and only after that they can print it out.

    salt water in their pool is very rare in hotels.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.1
    Walled city of St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long walk into St Malo unless you are pretty fit. Buses infrequent but if you do walk it is along a promenade with stunning views of city and the beach. Not a very warm welcome from reception.

    Walled city of St.Malo and huge fantastic beach. Both stunning and the butter museum.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant had excellent location and service but the evening meal was average. Our room was in the "new" building that was thirty years old. It felt a bit 80's, very formica and plastic oriented but the sea view was pretty good.

    Location, location, location. Sea view (but then we paid for that)

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.6
    The hotel has a stunning position on the promenade easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately the Aquatonic pool was closed for refurbishment. The use of this facility was part of the purpose of the trip. However it didn't spoil the weekend.

    The hotel has a stunning position on the promenade easy to reach the beach. The staff were so friendly. Comfortable large room.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Right on the beach but far enough away from town to be quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad except trying to find the room, very complicated building

    Right on the beach but far enough away from town to be quiet and peaceful, will be happy to stay there again

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.6
    Unfortunately, there were tradesmen under our balcony so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, there were tradesmen under our balcony so we could not use fixing the UPVC roof the whole time of our stay and we overlooked them during breakfast each day apart from the Thursday. We were not informed works were being carried out upon booking, if we were they we would not have booked here.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.5
    The best shower we have ever seen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The best shower we have ever seen! Staff was lovely. I wish I had educated myself more about the hotel, it is more of a destination resort than I realized at booking. Would love to go back with this in mind to stay longer and make use of the extensive spa and aquatic facilities. Would love to see it in the summer.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for Earl Grey Tea and were given a fruit tea. There was no mirror in the bedroom so if one's partner is in the bathroom, you have to do your hair and make up in the ill-lit hallway in the full length mirror.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    Room was not soundproof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not soundproof.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    2.5
    spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we needed dry bathrobes and had to call 3 times and wait 30 minutes before someone came

    spa breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    good location, nice outdoor cafe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel is a bit disjointed and hard to navigate between rooms, dining room.

    good location, nice outdoor cafe

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Spa treatments excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Spa treatments excellent. Staff very professional. Location perfect with lovely sea views. Room comfortable with a large balcony . Food superb.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    location and standards are very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nil

    location and standards are very good

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Location, attention to details, front desk and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant staff a bit abrupt and just not as friendly.

    Location, attention to details, front desk and staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English sign. Room is small.

    View

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Brilliant hotel

    Friendly staff, very accommodating

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Excellent pet friendly top class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent pet friendly top class hotel. We have stayed several times and never been disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.8
    Everything except the thellassotherapy was closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything except the thellassotherapy was closed

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    7.5
    Nice hotel looks of stuff too do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some food was cold. And the room was very hot at night even with window open and air conditioning on.

    Nice hotel looks of stuff too do.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: