Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Restaurant Domaine De Basil 1 stars

72, La Housserouse, 68370 Orbey, France

#4 of 16 hotels in Orbey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely place, very family friendly and beautiful location. Stuff was very accommodating and nice. Bonus is a good local food in the restaurant. We had a really nice time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel just outside of town hidden in the mountains. Lovely view of the valley from the deck and our room! When we checked in the owner gave us a better room than the one we booked free of charge because the hotel wasn’t fully booked for the night. The dinner at the hotel restaurant is a definite must when staying here!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually, maybe pillows could be a litlle better...

    Everything was great. The owners were very kind! The breakfast was, at the same time, simple and delicious. Farm animals and a overwhelming view complete the idylic scenario.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad weather that was beyond the hotel's fault..........but even then, when we left at 8.30am, a tree had clearly fallen across the road in the night, which had already been sawn up and the logs stacked neatly to the side.....BRILLIANT SERVICE!!!

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and they went the extra half mile to make sure that my dietry requirements were met (I am gluten and dairy free). We made a last minute booking, as we were travelling from Switzerland through to UK, what a little gem we found!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot. Lack of adequate ventilation and no air-con. Lots of steps from car park up to room. No wash hand basin in toilet. Despite the room having a mini kitchen, no provision for making hot drinks in room.

    Charming hillside location, albeit very remote with an adventurous drive up the steep and winding approach road. Staff very welcoming and pleasant. Spacious family suite with balcony offering views of woodland across the valley. Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect little hotel, run by a very nice family in beautiful environment. Food in the restaurant was brilliant and so was the wine and the coffee! We liked it so much that we stayed another night and we'll definitely come again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little too dark, beds a bit too hard. Water in the shower took long-ish to warm up. It is a bit further away from Lac Blanc ski resort than expected.

    Owners were very friendly and helpful. Great fondue and fresh baguettes at the hotel restaurant. Good local Alsace wine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice owners and very helpful. Extremely good if you travel with small children. Simple but excellent breakfast and sweet attention. A very good and enjoyable place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we were missing is a small fridge in the room

    We loved this gem of hotel in the Vosges mountains. The owners are lovely and very welcoming and you can really feel their passion in the atmosphere of the Domaine, both hotel and the restaurant. The room was comfortable and sweet and we had access to a small garden, which our dog loved. In general, the place is very dog friendly (both hotel and restaurant). The chef of the Domaine is as great and the food was excellent! Many options for hiking/biking tours in the region. We highly recommend this hotel and wait to come back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work in one of our rooms. This is however clearly stated to be a possibility on the booking page. Problem is that public area is not accessible at all times.

    A beautiful, charming hotel located on top of the mountain in a magnificent setting. The lovely lady who I met first, who I believe is the owner, was all smile, helpful and accommodating. I asked for rooms with a terrace and we were given two extra large rooms at no additional cost on the second floor. The staff were wonderful. The restaurant was so beautiful, dinner was great. A jug of steaming hot milk on the breakfast table, wow, this is a first for me. Having said that, I suggest to the owner that a few slice of cheese, and may be a poached egg on the breakfast table serves this place better. The pond, the goats, the ducks, on and on and on. I wish I could pamper myself at this place for a couple of weeks. Thank you to my host.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is large but cluttered with stuff and somehow there is little space. The pillows in France are so hard...I expected something different.

    Staff is kind although they barely speak English. The hotel is situated in a very quiet spot high in the mountains and you need a jacket in the evening. The food in the restaurant is amazing!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place and location was great. Very nice stay with big room and the restaurant was great with a good children menu as well. Very friendly personal. A place we will visit again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not so comfortable. No wifi in room 1.

    Calm. Rural location. Good value. Good wine. Rustic food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is really friendly but some of the other staff could be a bit more customer focused.

    We had great big room with amazing view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything went well! No wifi but who cares?!?!?

    Excellent! Staff, location and food! Excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is fantastic - up in the mountains. The property is clean, the restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complains at all

    The food on their restaurant is very good and staff is very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included in the price! We had to pay extra for eggs!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stopover location, very quiet. A bit older buildings, but clean rooms. Breakfast basic and ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great, quiet location, nice staff, good bed. The breakfast area looked cosy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not appropriate for disable visitors. Mum could not step in, as 15 cm step. Plus too small.

    Views and people

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice and quiet place I the forest of the Alsacian mountains. This is definitely a place to go to a nice experience of the "wild" Alsace near Colmar and the nice Grand Cru villages. Very nice restaurant with good food and nice Alsacian wine from one producer. We actually visited the producer after our stay here and bought several bottles.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the location, the view from the terrace, the breakfasts and dinners. Our room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately it rained and we did't get to enjoy the terrace with a glass of wine each evening.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didnt stay long enough to appreciate the area. No coffee making facilities in room

    The view....Amazing The food....Amazing The apartment...Amazing Friendly, quiet simply lovely place

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location...with great views. Some snow would have be great but you may need snow chains to access in winter.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place and really friendly staff! We loved our fabulous room and the restaurant meals were a dream!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    French breakfast ;-)

    Very nice location with a beautiful view from the terrace. Mountainbike trail in front of the door!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Group

    Nothing to dislike

    The location and setting

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and smiling people, the place is surronded by nature

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: