Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domaine de Verchant Relais & Châteaux 5 stars

1615 Rue de la Vieille Poste, 34000 Montpellier, France

#2 of 57 hotels in Montpellier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely short stay to visit the surrounding sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area had to many sun loungers and outdoor beds packed around it and not enough shade. Too many uncomfortable bar stools

    The restaurant and room. The tapas by the pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Beautiful buildings, wonderful spacious, modern rooms, wonderful food at both formal and informal restaurant. Fantastic ambiance. Wonderful grounds. I would love to visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Very lovely property but some of the staff need more training considering the price being charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the reception staff were unhelpful and poorly trained. On arrival there was no explanation as to where different facilities were. It was a little confusing as there was one outdoor pool which was not in use and for ornamental purposes.

    The hotel itself was very attractive and clean. The breakfast staff were pleasant and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    We had an upgrade to a suite.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no airport shuttle. The restaurant was far too expensive. But next time we hire a car, Montpellier is nearby.

    We had an upgrade to a suite. That was really wonderfull. good beds, clean room, really good smelling bath and showergel. The bar and the brasserie were fine as well. We had an excellent stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Property is simply stunning...both restaurants are well staffed and offer very good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking .com has the wrong address and GPS will not allow you to input information..check for correct address. Electrics in the room were a bit too sophisticated ...it took too long to work out how to turn things on and off

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    This is the most amazing place to stay EVER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING is AMAZING here! You must book here and stay here, it's totally bespoke! Such intelligent rooms, staff, and grounds. Room Service amazing everything was spectacular! 5 Star all the way!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Very nice but need to improve in the guest relations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal at the pool are not nice. The schedule is also to tidy for the Ones on Holidays. Breakfast just till 10 am and lunch finishes at 1:30 pm sharp. If you arrive 5 min after this no chance. Is like the army

    The Spa is very good and the gym

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Food and service disappointing; setting perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a major issue with the service and the food. Be aware there are two restaurants only. One is A la carte, with most dishes circa 40-50 euro (this is really a place you would go for a celebratory dinner, you couldn't eat there every day in my opinion). The second restaurant 'La Plage' is situated by the pool; but be aware of the following, the portions are small, my boyfriend is 6ft 3 and 18 stone, he lost 3 kilos when he was there as there simply wasn't enough available for him, a main meal of a chicken breast, with no sides or vegetables did not cut it for him! They only served sandwiches and salads two of the lunchtimes; so our dreams of oysters and steak stayed just being a dream! The first lunchtime we were told we could not eat in La Plage as they were full (which is extremely frustrating when I paid 700 ish euro a night and was there for four nights, I would not expect that especially being a resident). After waiting 2 hours for a salad, we ate off our laps in a cabana. The following lunchtime again they only offered us salad and sandwiches, I asked where we could get some warm food and was told to go to my room??!! Again, not what I would expect from this standard of hotel. Cycle/cab into Montpellier if you want to get some good french cuisine. Just a few more issues, the Wifi is awful, the waiters looking after La Plage and the pool area are too slow, on average we would be waiting for 20 minutes in the bar before any one would acknowledge us, the TV in the bath does not work and the docking stations are all iPhone 5's so not suitable for latest devices.

    The location is breathtaking, a place to unwind, relax and recoup. I whisked my partner off for a much needed break; for his birthday. We love the electric bikes and the wine was superb. The room was decorated really nice, with traditional french shutters and a secluded balcony for us to relax on, without being looked at any other residents.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to take a break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comum area needs improvement. The bar inside is too small and may be they could have a place inside for kids. Breakfast could me good. But the the woman there she has a bad mood. And she makes you feel like take your breakfast ASAP and go!!

    Spa! And the room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    OUR 3RD STOPVER IN 8MONTHS in an extremely convenient location for our trips. considerably expensive
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No possibility of any fresh air or ventilation except by leaving the entrance door open! We left behind some shoes which they could not find!

    Good food and service in La Plage but a bit cold and drafty. Very stylish and excellent bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice place but not great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money, the room was very average. It felt more like an Ibis than a 5 star. I think you're really paying for the surroundings. The breakfast was very poor and at 28€ per person it is insanely over priced. For what it is it should just be included in the price of the room.

    Beautiful place with great facilities and very professional staff. The spa was very relaxing too. Would recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful - wished we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better pillows...we had to ask for extra pillows as the existing ones seem old.

    The staff and service - Lunch and dinner were excellent. Wine parings were excellent as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Luxury with a twist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee was old fashioned Cona filtered style so rather stewed. Fresh fruit selection at breakfast poor.

    Room delightful, setting wonderful, pool amazing,staff friendly and helpful. Nespresso machine in room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.1
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are young and inexperienced, not quite sure of what it means to provide good service. Quality of some fittings not commensurate with the aspirations of the hotel. Mostly excellent though.

    Breakfast was very good, gym likewise. Buildings very well put together.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.9
    The room was very comfortable,air con good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra in room cost, 3 euros to make a Nespresso. At this level in room drinks shd be included in the room rate. No ice in the minibar

    The room was very comfortable,air con good. Parking excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Rather disappointed in locale tho hotel itself extremely self contained . Wouldn't want to stay more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were rather taken aback after having spent so much , on the morning of our departure, being charged for bottled water to take away with us.

    Rooms very comfortable. , lovely bath room and little balcony with lounger. Staff were great help advising where to go with car trouble .enjoyed both very good restaurants with excellent service .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the excellent facilities, beautifully furnished room and excellent friendly service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    An excellent one night visit should have booked for longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything it was amazing. We are in the Bistro and it was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    We had our dog with us & they were very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was good but some of the items on the menu were not available that night

    We had our dog with us & they were very accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with fantastic facilities but not cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not cheap and you need time to enjoy the facilities!

    Fabulous food in a luxury hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    I will be back soon...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superbe...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Romantic holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior Premium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was not separated from the room which was a bit annoying

    Very romantic place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Great place to relax and unwind at the spa. Very pleasant stay and great staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    3.8
    We had a beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access was quite difficult because of the new road system

    We had a beautiful room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Loved the property, great food and very helpful staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Petite Maison
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor lighting in the apartment bedroom... needed to be improved.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    heaven
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    heaven

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.4
    Not good value - not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brasserie restaurant was not 5 star ! 2 star at best Very poor given expense !

    The pool and room were fantastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Little heaven in Montpellier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The SPA was marvellous and we loved the restaurant. The breakfast with all organic ingredients was a complete surprise.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic room and beautiful Spa.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic room and beautiful Spa.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful setting, but not cosy enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Petite Maison
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar in main building trendy but not comfortable.

    No flakey croissants! Weekend breakfast service very slow.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Nice chateaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in room has no door or ceiling

    Excellent dinner

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent haven of peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    found hotel little difficult to locate

    excellent location for relaxing stay outside Montpellier

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Swish hotel and resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are fit so stairs were not a problem but be warned there is not a lift

    Very comfortable bed and quiet room Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Great place - with a couple of very minor inconveniences!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell as we walked into the room. And the fact you cannot turn the aircon on and off from the room!

    Hotel and service immacuate

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Family of 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food variety at the 'beach' pool could be better.

    Beautiful, luxurious, excellent service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a hidden gem in the outskirts of Montpelier. Stunning scenery, caring personnel and most beautiful swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel , and I have stayed in lots !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel , and I have stayed in lots !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    food was excellent throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    volume control on the music by the outside pool and bar area...all a bit C.S.I Miami with the beds with curtains by the pool

    food was excellent throughout. Calm and peaceful but maybe because it was April

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    6.3
    The rooms were very comfortable and we were given a free...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff were simply not the quality you would expect from an establishment that promotes itself as being so luxurious. The food in the gourmet restaurant was awful. Pretentious, bland and ill conceived. The waiting staff seemed embarrassed by the concepts.

    The rooms were very comfortable and we were given a free upgrade

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.2
    Great location near Montpellier right on the vineyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was overpriced and took FOREVER.

    Great location near Montpellier right on the vineyard. Nicely decorated, spacious and clean room. Friendly staff. Used the spa for free as a hotel guest - awesome. Free tasting with the hotel's sommelier.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    A perfect tranquil location, lovely interesting rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    €35 for breakfast is a bit expensive especially for a family of five and charging €4 euros for each coffee pod in your room is just outrageous.

    A perfect tranquil location, lovely interesting rooms and the private pool for hotel guest is extremely relaxing. Service in the bistro was first class.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    Great hotel with nice rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food at the main hotel restaurant was not quite up to standard.

    Great hotel with nice rooms and friendly staff. Superb pool area and good Sunday brunch.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful surroundings, lovely comfortable room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful surroundings, lovely comfortable room and the facilities were first class. The staff were fantastic. The food was lovely and the swimming pool area very luxurious

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    Great gym facilities,pool and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi fi very ordinary, have to log on continuously, drops out regularly. Pretty pricey.

    Great gym facilities,pool and spa. Fantastic staff. Excellent meals in their bistro restaurant. Entertainment Thursday nights. Good local Verchant wines. Terrific beds and pillows.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    Domaine de Verchant Relais & Châteaux was a real treat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Given recent address changes we had a difficult time finding the Chateaux. The address on bookings.com was not correct. Took about an hour of driving around to accidentally find the right drive way.

    Domaine de Verchant Relais & Châteaux was a real treat and by far the positive turning point to a holiday gone wrong. The grounds, the staff, our accommodation and the food were all of superior quality. (I do not know enough superlatives.)

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.8
    Pool area and brasserie;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow wifi; no free water; no milk in room for coffees; no kettle or tea maker. Stingy on bath supplies. Limited menu in brasserie. Limited welcome fruit. Spa had no lockers.

    Pool area and brasserie; vineyards; relaxing atmosphere; rooms (though some items pretty but not effectively functional); decor; settee; separate walk in closet and office. Spa Facilities excellent. Architecture; stone walls.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.1
    Lighting control to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting control to be improved.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.5
    The spa the service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ants everywhere in the bedroom

    The spa the service

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.2
    Designer furniture and decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of service for eg tea or coffee during the day.

    Designer furniture and decor.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    The spa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The spa!!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    The hotel offers the comfort und amenities one would expect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel offers the comfort und amenities one would expect from a 5 star hotel of the relais & chateau group

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    new plage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    one unhelpful staff member

    new plage

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    V comfortable hotel, excellent food - liked the beach club...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    V comfortable hotel, excellent food - liked the beach club concept - nice vibe

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    La Plage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    La Plage

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.8
    Overall room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow service in bar.Very slippy pool. Stairs to room!

    Overall room.Room service. Dinner at night.Drinks on terrace. Wines from their vineyard.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The spot is wonderful with a beautifull garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The spot is wonderful with a beautifull garden. Sitting in the park for breakfast was the best Thing.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.8
    Very relaxing stay with easy reach of Montpellier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!!

    Very relaxing stay with easy reach of Montpellier.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    We worked up an appetite in the pool for the Menu Surprise...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We worked up an appetite in the pool for the Menu Surprise later. A brilliant experience!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    The hotel and self catering apartments are of an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel and self catering apartments are of an excellent standard.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful room with Jacuzzi bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful room with Jacuzzi bath

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    The food was excellent and very good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing much to dislike.

    The food was excellent and very good service. Hotel was in a beautiful grounds wine from it's own vineyard.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.6
    The staff were welcoming and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were welcoming and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    9.6
    This stunning hotel was impressive from start to finish!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This stunning hotel was impressive from start to finish! The surrounding grounds, the divine rooms, the service, restaurant, wines, etc

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: