Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domaine De Villeray

Villeray, 61110 Condeau, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Condeau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are nice and comfy but the bathrooms are in desperate need of refurbishing.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed at the watermill building (~100 meters away from the castle and spa) and the location is really beautiful and relaxing. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems small-minded to complain that the toilet was so small (next to a huge bathroom) but that is all we could come up with.

    This old converted mill has been owned by the one family for 30 years and it is a gem: we were very happy with our stay. The staff were lovely and looked after us very well. We loved the atmosphere and surroundings and had wonderful meals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Understanding what the charges are on the menu; it will be nice when the rooms are refreshed. Our (old brass) door knob fell off as we tried to open it.

    The staff was very nice, we really liked the young woman who took us to our room and the young man who seems to be an assistant manager. The location is beautiful. The facilities are sprawling, almost like a tiny village. We were offered the option of sleeping in the castle (chateau) or the mill on a small stream. The mill building is where reception and the restaurant are located, whereas the chateau is up the hill a bit. We chose the castle and it was fine.We never saw another soul at the castle in our two nights there. Decor was a bit tired, cushions on the lawn furniture are left out in the rain, that kind of thing. If it was all up to date we probably wouldn't have been able to afford it. Room was pretty and spacious, we had a lovely view. The hotel restaurant is rustic and beautiful, but the menu options are confusing. We went with a la carte, because we didn't want dessert, but there was some kind of extra and unexplained 40 euro charge on the whole thing that I didn't realize until after I'd paid. Like a penalty for not going with the prix fixe. We'd also been offered (expensive) drinks in an area away from the dining room when we arrived a little early for our reservation and then waited for an hour for our table--someone came to retrieve another couple so we thought that was how it went. We were still in the first couple of days of our trip so not at our sharpest yet. The assistant manager did finally come and track us down. Anyway, Le Perche is a beautiful region and the Domaine is well situated, the staff is hardworking and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was good but very expensive. The wine was extraordinarily expensive! We've never seen so many people - many of them French - drinking water with their meals! Is it a secret health farm?

    Lovely building and surroundings.... excellent staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small and awkward to get around,and tucked away, with the entrance making it feel more like it was for staff. Once inside however it was beautifully finished with amazing views.

    Beautiful room with fantastic views. The chateau certainly had the wow factor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A truly beautiful place with lots of activities at your doorsteps! Very welcoming owners of the Castle & Mill we had a wonderful stay thank you a lot!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dining experience. The food was beyond appalling. Had I had better french language skills, I would have complained in no uncertain terms. It was not cheap either!!

    Pleasant location. Spacious comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The character and charm of the place was unique - completely unspoilt and the food was to die for. We had dinner by the river listening to the sound of tumbling water before wandering back up the hill to the chateau where our room was situated. The grounds of the chateau gave us the opportunity to walk off some calories before retiring to bed to watch the lightening that was rolling around the valley. An authentic french experience that we would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall the hotel and facilities were great however we did have a few points: - The toilet was small and had no air vent so was extremely smelly - The internet was very slow - The fridge did not work, and we asked twice to get it fixed on sat AM and it wasn't replaced until 8pm and then we had two fridges in the room - The TV didn't work - no signal (although it didn't matter we didn't need it) - we ordered coffee with our meals on Saturday evening, but it was forgotten and never arrived. - We were picked up 20 minutes late from the train station - so had to stand in the rain - but this was deducted off our bill

    The room (37) with the view was beautiful. The breakfast was amazing! The menu / food was amazing, although i would have expected a lighter lunch option for a 'spa & lunch' voucher than the meals offered for dinner. The service was amazing and the staff were great The tennis, and ping pong was great fun and the spa was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit simple for the price asked. I expected more regarding the settings. Coffee for example was kept in a cooker and not fresh.

    The staff, ambiance and the reception was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facade of the building at the Moulin side. Arriving night time did not give the envy to go in. Once inside, it gives that coziness, warmth and cocooning.

    The dining room (wooden beams, decor, cozy), the dining experience, the service and quality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a bad experience, our expectations were that we'd booked into a chateau so parked at the chateau to be told that we were sleeping in the watermill based at the bottom of a very steep hill. The watermill was pleasant enough but not worth the money in my opinion. Food in the restaurant was very good, although most options carried a supplemental cost, wine list was good although pricey. Breakfast the next day was ok but nothing spectacular.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food isn't up the standard of the place or the prices they charge. The wine list is missing good quality wines from 15eu to 25eu.

    The Mill, The Chateau, both in wonderful countryside. Family run, and quirky. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food was superb with excellent service in a very friendly atmosphere. A great credit to the team.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and quietness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt a bit, bit no prob otherwise (it wad no prob with my asthma)

    quiet. staff honest and trustworthy. i would stay here again, really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got upgraded on arrival to a beautiful suite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific but a bit overly rustic in style perhaps.

    Lovely setting and very good food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jets in our bath didn't work

    Bathroom was amazing, food was delicious and the spa was perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Dinner was the best dinner we had in France. The swimming pool was great and the setting and sourounding country lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and rustic charm of the hotel which gave it a relaxed and peaceful ambience. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top ! Good pricing made up for by very seductive wines and dining ..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have preferred a shower to the bath

    The location and hospitality of the staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need air conditioning but I know it's hard in those old castles

    The foodwas outstanding and the place itself was so beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find. Do not put postcode into sat nav.

    Excellent dinner. Good recently modernised room in chateau. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail

    Character and image

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked into the Chateau and were somewhat surprised to find when we arrived there that we were diverted to the Mill. The Mill was charming and historic but it would have been nice to know in advance.

    We had an excellent meal which was beautifully presented. The wine list was very good although a little on the expensive side.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV did not work in my room. I left it on for the room service to see the screen (problem was indicated on the screen) and all they did was turn the TV off. Should be a little more proactive

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely everything the place food atmosphere staff owners. The food was amazing some of the best food we have had in years. We are real foodies and the food was to beat any Michelin stared restaurants. We will defiantly return

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The picture on the booking website was not the same as the place we stayed. We arrived at the place we had booked and were directed elsewhere. I think this is sneaky.

    Charming place and room. Good restaurant, but wines rather expensive.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We stayed at the Mill which had excellent facilities. It is a beautiful building full of character in a lovely location. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When booked we didn't know we were staying at the mill. This wasn't a problem but what is advertised seems to point to a stay at the chateau. Tea and coffee making facility in the room would have been nice.

    Very nice airy room in the mill. Superb meal and wine choice, not cheap but you get what you pay for. We had a flat battery problem thank you for the jump start

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no night reception we enterd by open front door the alarm was ringing no lights only emergance exit lights all electric off we phone and 30 min later standing in the dark man arrives turns it back on the next day out again 2 times OK but no appolage! and told long standing problem we order lunchen only 3 course menu avalabel first price 28€ pp we do not want 3 courses at lunch time and light salade offerd we say ok but 50€ for 2 when the bill comes total rip off nice place bad value

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the food did not match the price / everything of interest on an already expensive menu attracted a whopping supplement. The wine list, whilst good, was stratospheric.

    the ambiance / the garden / the dogs

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would like kettle etc in room.

    Excellent evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At this price I would expect proper glasses in the bedroom not plastic Very surly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Leaving

    Food was superb, location amazing, staff lovely

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location by the river.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A truly beautiful chateau! A bit of historical luxury in a stunning location with lovely food.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the cost. 300 euros for an overnight stop was excessive

    attractive hotel and restauranti

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say.

    Location, staff, restaurant and service all really good. Nice comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    prices

    location

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds for older children 11 and 13 were rather small

    The location was idyllic, quiet and rather beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcome, excellent accommodation, excellent food , attentive staff, great surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was lovely, the setting was gorgeous and the food was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food a little pricey, but good

    character, food, room comfort , service, eccentric nature of the experience, superb location in old water mill

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like

    We loved the staff, Janou the dog and our friendly welcome. Nothing was too much to ask for

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was sporadic at best.

    Room overlooked the river, wonderful sleep. Dinner was fantastic. Staff was very sweet.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Domaine De Villeray traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: