Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Du Lac 3 stars

244 Rue De La Republique, 68500 Guebwiller, France

#5 of 8 hotels in Guebwiller

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 878 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location with the name of domaine misleading the noice of other rooms the cofee at breakfast the diner is very expensive as well a glass of local wine at 5 euros impossibile to sleep with open window as the domaine is surrounded by 2 streets

    the parking facilities the wifi the breakfast the kindness of the staff which offered us a baguette for our trip the day of departure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked very much the location of the hotel, the grat breakfast, the kind staff the hotel comfort and cleanlines and the picturious nature surrounding the hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a little freshening.

    Comfortable facilities. Pleasant check in and reception. Clean comfortable rooms. Nice aspect on side of lake. Good basic breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Perspex hotel furnishings were not to our taste. The lighting in the room was so subdued that we had to use pocket torches we happened to have with us,to read by. The towels were very thin and ragged. The curtain linings in our room were ripped and the curtains didn't meet in the middle when drawn. The skirting boards were thick with dust.

    Convenient stop over point on way back for Switzerland. The breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway had a peculiar odor, like burnt electrical wiring. It wasn't overpowering, but evident enough to comment on. The hotel has clear plastic furniture throughout; the neon chair in the room had sharp edges. The restaurant and lobby have a very nice wood floor that is not complimented by the plastic chairs.

    The breakfast was good and varied. They ran out of bacon early but what there was, was tasty. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was ample. The place was fairly quiet. The little balcony for the room overlooking the pond (too small to be a lake) was pleasant. No kids running around; most of the clientele was older folks. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly out of town and not easy to find without GPS. Car recommended.

    Nice location, good and clean hotel with nice lake view. Close to other leisure activities (e.g. hiking)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fantastic! Parking was very good. Bed was comfortable and offered extra pillows, but all that red (and a vague stale scent in the room) made the room gloomy and uncomfortable. Even the bathroom lights were too low and made an otherwise effective bathroom (great shower!) gloomy!

    The "lac" was merely a pound. . .a few ducks, but certainly no swans (pictures were misleading!) The room was comfortable, but all that red (everything is red, even lamps, which gives it a gloomy, uncomfortable look) is horrible (walls, blanket, lamps, accessories, even chairs!). The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing (including champagne, variety of juices, hot and cold cuts and eggs, many jams and flaky croissants). The dinner offered seemed very expensive for the setting, but a fun, great pizzeria/restaurant is available with a large terrace on the other side of the pond.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was still having my breakfast but as soon the limit hour (10h) reached, they removed everything. When I wanted to pick up or refill my cofee, nothing was avaliable anymore..... AC could be working better and cooling

    View is very nice Place is very quiet away from main road

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room desperately needs new lighting. I don't mind the Retro plastic furniture but the red light shades were too much and made the room extremely dark.

    The room was nice with a balcony, easy parking and a nice Pizza Restaurant right next door.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The calm area with a nice lake, the proximity to the Markstein ski resort, the hotel staff helpfulness, the great breakfast and the comfortable room with a view to the lake!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Quit area to stop outside the town centre by a lake. Ample parking and good access to the local through roads. The best bit was a set dinner menu that we all thoroughly enjoyed. Staff very helpful and passable english. Very art decco. Not a bad thing as such but like going back to 60's and 70' with plastic everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a nightmare. Functional, but red neon plastic was the theme for all lamps and chairs. Fit for kids or a bordello.

    Dinner on the terrace was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not 3 stars, we travel a lot and this was by far the worst. Shower in the room was old and also not 3 stars.

    A lot of parking space. I can't come up with anything else then that.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's more of a pond than a lake but we didn't mind.

    The food was incredible!!!! I very much feel like the hotel is a side project for the restaurant. Now don't get me wrong- the hotel was very comfortable and a reasonable price and we had a great stay. But the restaurant really stole the show- it wasn't the cheapest meal I've eaten but it was probably one of the best. We had a great time eating in the restaurant and drinking on the balcony- it was a very relaxing night. It's perfect for one night but I don't think I would stay anymore in this area as its a little out of town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be more substantial. Adding a room service menu would be useful. a dinner menu that is more affordable, maybe a a la carte section.

    Le calme et la vue sur le lac, tres agreable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in the restaurant was average, breakfast poor, rooms not clean, bad pillow ......

    the view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get a table at the hotels restaurant

    Good clean modern hotel in a good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds

    beds are uncomfortly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    neighbouring rooms extremely noisy at night. Some sound insulation work is needed.

    The location, near city downtown; easy car parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No glasses or cups to use in room. The chairs are not comfortable.

    Staffs are friendly. The cuisines in restaurant are great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some renovation works might be required in the future.

    The hotel was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra fee for the dog, but they told us before. The hotel is dog friendly

    The view of the lake, the restaurant and the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the chair and the light

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice terasse and nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Town not in easy walking distance

    Restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was adequate but a little cramped.

    The choice of food and drink at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, the comfort, the kind staff and the nice breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel w

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    EATING ON THE LAKE SIDE

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovery setting. Quirky boutique style. Attentive staff. Good food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated at a small lake. Fine Italian restaurant accros the lake at walking distantance

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lake in the pictures, is not actually a lake but a pond, so there is no option to swim in it.

    Value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nasty smell from outside filtering in during breakfast.

    Very modern interiors and great healthy trendy food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly hotel . Good location for hikes, biking through vineyards or sightseeing . Great food and wine are also offered

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room are not sound-proof. You will have trouble if your neighbour is noisy.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Lake Side with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why as a resident could we not have a table for dinner?

    Why as a resident was it not possible to have a table for dinner?

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Family with older children

    - As we were - like many other guests of the hotel - participating at an international ski competition, we asked for an earlier breakfast to be able to arrive on time to the competition, but it was not possible (not even 15 minutes earlier) - Not possible to get something to eat after 21:00

    - WiFi - location - parking - earlier check-in possible

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel room itself was VERY disappointing. We were in room 2, floor 1, on the lake (pond) side, which was difficult to access since you had to open a heavy door which lead into a tiny corridor also leading to room 1. It was a bit noisy due to the doors slamming and just next to the staircase. The décor in the room was simply terrible – oh so gaudy with extremely poor lighting. It was impossible to see anything in the wardrobe without opening the bathroom door to get some lighting. We had a small balcony with a table and two chairs overlooking the pond. Not a terrace, as mentioned on their site, but appreciated all the same. The bathroom was OK, but there was nowhere to place your shower gel in the shower and there was a plastic “whatever” screwed to the wall that looked a little suspect. This particular room is normally €99/night (not good value) without breakfast, however, I cannot complain too much since we only paid €59/night including breakfast, thanks to a great deal through booking.com

    The hotel is situated in a pleasant, quiet area next to a large pond with ducks and swans on it. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful (especially Jerome) and provided us with great advice on what to visit. They even offered to store our cheese in their fridge and wine in the Cellar. The restaurant is very good indeed, although has a limited menu, probably because everything is fresh. The wine list is extensive, although a little on the expensive side. Breakfast is very good as well, with home-made breads, pastries and jams, a good selection of cheeses and hams plus scrambled eggs, plus fresh fruits, juices, yogurts, tea, coffee, etc

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An incident with the room's door left unlocked for at least 14 hours spoiled an otherwise good stay. Thankfully nothing was stolen (both laptop and tablette were among the valuables). While error is human, the management offended us by insinuating it was our mistake and offered no apologies. The reaction on TripAdvisor's negative comments on this establishment (in one case, customers were refused access because of what they wrote!!!) shows a certain lack of professionalism. Criticism is supposed to help everyone do a better job and not hurt people's feelings.

    The location between a lake with swans and ducks and a small stream at the back. Some quite stylish christmas decoration including the tree in the restaurant. Enough space in the room cupboards for lots of luggage and lots of mirrors that lack the average hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Light in the room is not sufficient. Too dark.

    Hotel is at the side of a small lake in a very bucolic place. Breakfast is good and personnel very helpful. Free outside parking. I got a room with a good size terraze viewing the lake.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked a room with lake view & balcony, however, upon arrival we heard that there is a difference between 'river' view (at the back of the hotel) and 'lake' view (at the front). No lake view rooms with terrace were available, thanks to the receptionist we were then moved to the next door hotel, to a room with lake view (but no balcony). Clean, quiet, comfortable room. Went to the Italian restaurant across the street: food was not great (just acceptable), but very noisy atmosphere, would prefer to take the car next time and drive out to a better restaurant.

    The hotel is situated on nice grounds, nice view from hotel with view on the Lake. Not much to see around the hotel though. Comfortable rooms and good buffet-style breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant looks fancy but our meals were not well cooked....my vegetables were still frozen. The "rognons" french delicatessen were not well prepared nor well cooked. On second night we only wanted a ham sandwich and that was just impossible for them to give us bread, butter and ham...even though we could prepare it on our own. They didn't even try to accomodate us by proposing something else. It was either eat in the restaurant or nothing. We didn't appreciate their lack of help on this occasion. Nothing to hang your clothe in the bathroom.

    Nice location, quiet in front of a small lake surrounded by hills and forest, a bit off the town. Free parking. Elevators to rooms. Good continental breakfast. Restaurant on site. Pizzeria walking distance on the other side of the lake. We traveled end of august and there were mostly mature couples in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location of this hotel was wonderful, situated right beside a lake. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We toured on motorbikes and the Receptionist on our arrival printed us a map of some goods roads to go on. We only stayed one night.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    both receptionists really nice, lovely breakfast with superb home-baked bread/pastries, garage for motorbikes was big plus, loved the location on the lake, fantastic motorbiking roads nearby

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Location might be bad if you dont have your own car - kettles in breakfast were looking old and this make you feel you are making tee with a dirty water although it was not. Needs to change.

    - Lake and ducks are very cute - breakfast was nice, good quality and quantity of things to eat - Vanity set, soaps, creams were from Yves rocher which smells nice and enough quality to use.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - service at the restaurant - weak lights in the room - the additional bed was actually a mattress on the floor

    + very friendly staff at breakfast and at check-out + possibility of an earlier check-in + parking

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the breakfast was rather disappointing; especially compared to the amazing food of the hotel's restaurant

    + great food in the restaurant + cute location which is a perfect starting point for hikes in the region + helpful staff + check-in until 22.30 on New Year's night

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    My family enjoyed everything, but especially the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellente literie,gentillesse du personnel.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean room Friendly and cooperative staff Healthy breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lighting in the rooms was very poor. Impossible to read in the room

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NA

    It was further from town than what we had anticipated, but it didn't matter. Lovely peaceful area with several choices of where to eat

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are rather small.

    The restaurant was really good on the first evening. But we where very disappointed on the second evening.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant for evening meals limited choice and expensive.

    The setting.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Green room colour Bill had bar extras on which were not down to me

    Excellent Breakfast Excellent shower

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Other employees could be more polite and smile (doesn't hurt :) ).

    Breakfast was good. Employees at the desks were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The setting of the hotel is great. Pizza restaurant opposite was very good. Provided a garage lock up for our motorbikes free of charge.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    nice hotel in a very good location - by a lake and only 10 minutes walk into town

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bath

    Reception staff were extremely helpful

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful view from balcony. Hotel located just outside of town in forested area very quiet. Great resteraunt at Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view at the lake and the room.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    none

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really enjoy the breakfast. Will do recommend to other friends.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Hotel Du Lac traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: