Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Trains Car Rentals Airport Taxis Restaurants

Reviews of Domaine Maison Dodo

23, route du Boham, 24680 Lamonzie-Saint-Martin, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Lamonzie-Saint-Martin

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 135 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outdoor swimming pool had recently just opened and is lovely! The place is run by a really friendly Italian couple who went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We biked amongst the vines and enjoyed some delicious Italian cuisine. Very restful. A charming country escape.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gaspare runs a beautiful home, our bedroom was decorated with beautiful features and a comfy bed. We enjoyed an amasing dinner cooked by Gaspare with lovely wines to go with each course. There has been an addition of a lovely pool this year with sun loungers to relax in. We will be back to stay without a doubt and visit this stunning area again and stay for longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we hadn't booked for longer! We didn't want to leave.

    An amazing place to stay. Great welcome from the owner and fantastic attention to detail. Rooms are stunning. Small lap pool but lovely loungers to catch the sun. The most amazing meal in the evening - no menu but my husband's egg allergy was catered for without any problem. Delicious wines - so reasonable we bought a case to take with us and wished we had bought more. Calm and peaceful setting but only 10 minutes from Bergerac. We would definitely return again - even in the winter for more of the delicious food and wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Marvelous place: beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms, extremely nice host, excellent food and wine. Only negative is that we didn't book a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    // nothing at all.

    // In the near of Bergerac, but in the countryside and beautiful surrounded by a huge garden and vineyards. The charming homestead is nicely renovated with a great modern touch. There are free coffee/tea/water amenities. Wifi was perfect. The room was lovely, large and clean. And there is a pool outside! And last, but not least: The host is very gracious, hospitable and a great chef! You should have dinner there, it was just delicious. Another plus: the fine (house) wine!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike!

    Amazing place - tranquil, wonderful mix of old and new within the property. The most comfortable bed and such a quiet environment. Everything was good quality. The owner is there without being intrusive. He always seemed to appear when we needed him to, and he's a really nice chap too! We only had breakfast but that was lovely with the right quantity and a lovely mixture of yoghurt, croissant, fruit juice, fruit & tea/coffee Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very helpful, welcoming host who cooked wonderful table d'hote meals. Very rural setting. Loved watching the hens roam freely around. Picnic furniture and utensils suppled FOC.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As a young couple visiting The region to book our wedding we found maison dodo perfect for our stay! Very welcoming owner and a very good chef!! The setting was beautiful, the domaine was very traditional and scenic. The room was comfortable and very well kept. Food is excellent! Also the wine which is from there own vines.. We will be revisiting for a night before our wedding and hopfully the same week as our wedding. See you soon and thanks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner, an accomplished Italian chef, made us some lovely breakfasts with home-made preserves plus home-grown seasonal fruits. He also served us wonderful evening meals with copious wine included. We were pleased to occupy one of the fine external rooms for three nights and enjoyed using a hammock hung between two adjacent trees with views of vineyards and with frequent appearances of chickens and even a goose as we enjoyed our own alfresco lunch with a bottle of Bergerac! A wonderful experience and we would like to return!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom House
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fabulous croissants and fresh figs from garden for breakfast. Evening meal excellent value and extremely tasty. Owner brilliant and most helpful, nothing too much trouble. We were made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Priced leads you to expect more. Better value in other places of our stay. Strong smell of something in the lounge on the evening we stayed. If you want Italian theme then great. It should have said so on the blurb. Carpet in the room needed carpet grippers, too easy to slip. Bin in bathroom needs a lid.

    Great location and lovely wines and breakfast. Quiet. Friendly host.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The table d'hote evening meal was good...but, being in the middle of France, we would have preferred some French cuisine. We stayed during a period of intense heat and the bedroom was very hot....which made it difficult to sleep. I think in normal times, it would be OK. The breakfast was surprisingly minimal (a small croissant, 4 thin slices of baguette, a small pot of yogurt and a cup of coffee)....not enough to keep us going until lunch time. Could have done with some more bread and some fruit. Overall, Dodo is a very pleasant location, and the owner is charming and works hard to please. We felt it was very expensive versus other similar B&Bs we used in the week at €100 B&B and €30 each for Dinner.

    Domaine Maison Dodo is a small vineyard and associated B&B. Recently renovated and owned by an Italian family. We stayed in a large bedroom, upstairs in the converted barn. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom was clean and very contemporary. We had dinner which was a three course Italian meal cooked by the owner (who is a chef). To start with some prosciutto, then penne with pesto, and a chocolate souffle. We had a bottle of the domaine's excellent white wine. Meal was good, although not exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's not to like. If you want a 5 star impersonal hotel, then this is not for you. If you like a comfortable homely atmosphere, then this will suit you.

    The owner was very welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The bedroom was spacious, clean and individual. The dinner, with all 10 guests together was great fun and the home cooked food, with numerous delicious courses was superb. The breakfast was also very comprehensive and set us up for the day. Already have recommended this hotel and will continue to do so.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The tranquil setting. Super bedrooms, beautifully appointed. Warm welcome with cold beer, wine or water in a fridge to serve yourself. Egg from own hens for breakfast! !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect. There is nothing we didn't like.

    We loved everything about Domaine Maison Dodo and were extremely pleased that we had found it. Gaspar, the young Italian owner, is charming and couldn't do enough for us. There are only four rooms and each one is very large and beautifully presented. In the evening the guests eat together and we had 2 wonderful evenings, one at the beginning of our holiday and the other at the end. The food is cooked by Gaspar and is delicious. The hotel is near Bergerac airport and we would definitely recommend it. We hope to go back sometime.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our second stay at this beautiful domaine set on a vineyard. Charming hosts, amazing food and stunning accomodation. Their own wines are delicious and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The directions to the property could have been clearer. The house is actually very near the village of Le Monteil on the D16.

    The Italian owner, Gaspare, was very welcoming. The food was excellent, the bed comfortable and the decor delightful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent place to stay. Clean and comfortable. Spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Very peaceful. Close to Bergerac. Very friendly host. Excellent food. Highly recommend booking in for the evening meal. We stayed both nights we were there. The owner is an Italian chef. Great value for money. Our children aged 13 and 15 also enjoyed the food and location. We will return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the grounds containing the property is very tight for large cars.It can also be difficult to see oncoming traffic when exiting.

    The premises are within striking distance of Bergerac city and airport. It was extremely clean and modern. The bedroom and bathroom facilities are to a very high standard. The owner is very helpful and provides a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the warm and friendly welcome and care, the very stylish yet unpretentious decor, the glorious garden, and the delicious diner prepared for us by our wonderful chef/host and his wife

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The French Air traffic Controllers dispute and industrial action.

    Maison Dodo. The house itself is very interesting, built in 1850. Whilst the main living quarters are to the left of the building the other part downstairs consists of an open plan lounge and dining/breakfast room. The walls are very thick, so whilst it may be thirty degrees outside the temperature in the downstairs remains remarkably cool, ideal if you want to read or use the free Wi-Fi. The reception is much better inside the house than out. The house is situated in its own substantial grounds and the part of it that remains unconverted for now, consists of two large agricultural enclosures. There are also other features, a barn to the rear that was used to dry the tobacco crop and is now vacant. An old winepress that has seen better days, but again could be restored. Also there is another building to the rear which was an old pigeon loft that is currently being converted into a spa and sauna. There is an abundance of wild life, The owner has four hens and a cockerel, two ducks two dogs(that you never hear)and one Norwegian forest cat called Vincent who is just adorable very friendly and will keep you company should you wish him to. There are also birds of prey and woodpeckers that have taken up residence in the trees neat the house you and the round holes they have made. At night you can hear the cicadas and the frogs and the smells of the wild Jasmine are most intoxicating. There is also a vineyard next to the property of which 2.5 hectares belong to the property. They are tended and incorporated into the Domaine Haut Mont long label. The wines are exceptionally good the red which is predominantly Merlot with the addition of Cabernet Sauvignon. We drank the 2012 vintage which was very good indeed and lots of favorable comments were made at dinner. The white which is a sauvignon Blanc and has just received its gold medal status as we were there. The Rose is very nice, quite light in colour, but very appealing on the palate .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rural renovation that is beautifully done. Young Italian owner is also the chef, so do try his evening meal. Lovely place from which to explore the Bergerac region

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were made very welcome from the young Italian owner .The bedroom was absolutely gorgeous with a comfortable huge bed .The owner is a chef and can provide evening meal if required we choose to have the meal which was a 4 course which was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented and also included was a choice of wines from his vineyards which were fantastic .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast only served 9-11 so anyone leaving on the Ryanair flight out of Bergerac at 10am has to go without breakfast. Black coffee available but no help with bags.

    The rooms were beautiful, clean and spacious. Our host was charming and hard working. As chef, he will cook dinner if requested...no menu but delicious.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of tea making facilities in room if you want an early morning cuppa.

    Very friendly owner who cooks great Italian dinners at a reasonable price. Nice surroundings with chickens and geese wandering around the grounds. newly converted barn so everything was new,clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was extremely helpful and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal (including wine from the vineyard of the property), was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2016

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great site, wonderful old building, beautifully restaurated and refurbished rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing not to like

    Excellent host, lovely location, very comfortable. We had a great time and intend to return first chance we get.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great host, lovely location and great home cooked food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, superb and stylish venue, with great food and wonderful host

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our host was particularly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sitting with strangers for food

    Fabulous host cooked us Italian dinner. House wine superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was amazing, rooms clean and spacious. The host was welcoming and would do anything for you

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about this place was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone wishing to visit the Dordogne. They would not be disappointed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was amazing, host was great and a very relaxing atmosphere at a nice rural setting. Would stay again if in the area

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    all the food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Space, silence, very comfortable, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Domaine is charming, the house is equipped with style and quality. The host is very friendly, even our additional requests were fully satisfied.

    Stayed in March 2016

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: