Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Domaine du Breuil Cognac 3 stars

104 rue Robert-Daugas, 16100 Cognac, France

#14 of 16 hotels in Cognac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was a bit poor at times in the room. They could do with some more staff in the evening.

    Excellent breakfast, very good dinner both nights in the restaurant, lots of parking. Looks like an old house from the outside and from the inside. Located at the edge of the town so it was quite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of town location with bedroom, bathroom and separate toilet all needing updating although considering the price it was ok.

    Although quite pricey the breakfast was good with fresh cooked selection as well as continental style and coffee machine. Free parking on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that there is no air conditioning and if your room faces the front, outside lights are on all night, so your room will not be dark if you open the windows to get some air. Not really feasible to walk into town, about a 10 minute drive.

    Nice, quiet room. Very clean. We saw deer in the morning in the front yard. We brought our own bottle of wine and sat on the back patio to drink it. We had a light dinner that night at the restaurant. I wish we had been hungrier so we could have eaten a full meal. Staff was helpful. Good parking (which can be a big deal in France).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is distressed genteel. Sense of absent love and care by proprietors. Staff working very hard to fill the gaps.

    Lovely old mansion with friendly staff and good food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor could do with sprucing up (lick of paint here and there) but acceptable

    Hotel has great character and staff were friendly. Room was very comfortable and good wifi. Excellent choice for breakfast including hot and cold selection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not included and we thought it was expensive for what you got - €15 per person. On our first morning there were no clean tables in the breakfast room, no water in the coffee machine, the scrambled egg was finished and not replaced, there were no croissants and there were no staff around

    The receptionist/waiter/barman was friendly and super knowledgeable about the area; where to go, good restaurants, vineyards etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for four nights while touring the Cognac Region . From the outside the Chateau looked really amazing and it was set in nice grounds , There was a horrible speed ramp just passed the main entrance to the grounds which was quite high and caught our car every time although it can be avoided by going via the right hand side drive. The public areas of the hotel were quite nice and the staff were always very welcoming . We did not eat at the hotel as we prefered to explore Cognac and eat out in the evenings so cannot comment on the food. Our room was clean although quite basic and was cleaned daily- the bathroom was quite dated though. From the hotel it was quite a long walk to the centre of Cognac - around 30 minutes to the Francois 1st Square. We liked the fact the hotel was situated in a quiet area and the rooms were quiet too.The hotel had plenty of parking spaces too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - this is a typical chateau style French hotel and all the more charming for that.

    The young chef produced a really excellent dinner for our large group of friends and all the staff were most friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent hotel that offers a lot of luxury for the traveller. Great food and very friendly staff. Lovely pool with lovely views. It was a very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Rate is bit too high for what is offered. Drinks in hotel are very expensive (more than 4 Euro for a simple glass of wine)

    Great location and premises. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not a hotel. It's a hostel. No bar, restaurant on a Sunday when we arrived. We nicknamed it Hotel d Bore. Left early and got stung with paying the full amount. Thanks Booking.com. The last time I believe any of your descriptions.

    Nothing. They even gave me a stale beer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for this price and in this setting was very very small. The carpets were dirty and the bath/shower was broken as we could not empty it after use. The staff looked like they are left to their own with no guidance from management. At arrival 1 person had to deal with 2 phone calls and us so he looked very stressed and barely acknowledged us. In the evening the candlelight dinner was served by a young lady who looked like it was the first time she did the job. Aperitif didn't arrive, music dropped out for half an hour, opening of the wine bottle was torture to watch. She was clearly under stress and very happy when the evening was over. Still, she was friendly and we felt sorry for her as she was clearly in over her head.

    it feels like an old chateau, so a bit special. The swimming pool was small but nice and warm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the small side but cannot fault anything else. Would definitely go again

    The building itself was lovely. The infinity pool outstanding and at 27C lovely and warm. The staff great. Can't really comment on restaurant as we eat out when It was fully booked on Bastille day. The grounds were beautiful. For the price this hotel is very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is expensive for what you get. Better to eat out as you are not aware at the time that you are actually paying extra for breakfast.

    The bath was lovely to soak in and view from our room was amazing. The restaurant food was delicious, and the staff in the restaurant are exceptional, they made the experience even better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restauant. Badly cooked, over-priced food. We ate there 2 nights as without a car and with rainy weather you have no choice. Gorgeous setting and view spoilt by a 'chef' who can't cook.

    Absolutely beautiful setting with large grounds and an amazing valley view. Inviting outdoor pool -unfortunately the weather was not conducive to swimming during our 2 night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there during a heat wave in May and there is no cross wind into the bedroom and obviously no aircon. Room was very warm.

    Good restaurant. Quaint hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really run down - lack of management on site. Room was dingy and stained walls and ceilings due to water damage - general poor upkeep.

    Location is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked to eat in the chateaus on the Sunday, but it was fully booked. We didn't know we needed to book in advance unfortunately

    We like the chateaux, made to feel very welcome, and felt very much at home. We particularly liked having a drink on the front terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't really that close to the town centre—you will need a car to go to places to eat. Only a few staff members spoke English which made it a little difficult, but not bad. The walls are quite thin so you can hear everything. Wish breakfast was included for the price of the stay. Cleaning staff looked a bit unprofessional wearing tank tops and visible tattoos.

    Nice property. Room was very nice and spacious, big beautiful windows with a lovely view—even one of the days it rained while there. Clean room and bathroom. Nice little mini bar too for those late night snacks. Breakfast was nice, lots to choose from. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited space/availability for evening meals. Weak wifi signal Rooms could benefit from a little TLC

    Quiet peaceful location. Receptionist very helpful and friendly Parking Landscaped gardens

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English Breakfast teabags or milk in room but staff relaxed about us taking jug of milk /teabag from breakfast to our room and put in fridge to use later.

    The description from the brochure was accurate. It was a charming traditional hotel. Staff very pleasant and professional. View from window overlooked vineyard.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    This is a privately run hotel. The lady in reception called me on arrival date to ask if I would be late. She stayed late until I arrived. She upgraded my room and was so professional. Good in the evening was brilliant and the waiter was of the highest quality

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff in the morning. No-one overseeing breakfast which meant that when we had a problem with the coffee machine, we had to wait for an unreasonable time for help and that was given by the receptionist who was in the middle of checking out a group.

    The setting, comfy bed, v.pleasant staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit cluttered - too much furniture. Also needed a bit of a facelift. When we returned from the town we went to the bar for a drink. Waited for some time but no one came to serve us. Also unable to give us a town plan so we could find our way to the centre.

    The room had excellent views and the park was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    biscuits to go with the cup of tea

    The canapes that we had with our pre dinner drinks were delicious. There was also tea making facilities in the room, which is very unusual in France.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that breakfast was served in was not big enough for the number of people staying - not a problem as we just collected our breakfast a moved to the terrace but strange as the hotel has plenty of space and rooms.

    Having a separate bathroom and shower room and separate toilet was a real bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Insufficient staff to adequately manage the customers' needs.Breakfast coffee was self served from a machine which broke down the first morning.Room was too small for two people.

    Staff were pleasant and tried their best to be helpful but were simply overworked.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was booked out due to a blues festival in town, leaving us with a small room on the third floor under the roof. It was up a lot of stairs and very hot and small and it was not what the picture was when I booked it on booking.com. Also the wifi did not reach the room which we complained about to reception and they did give us 10 euros off to compensate which was nice but I do hate it when the advertising says wifi in every room and you get there and you don't have wifi.

    The staff both on reception and in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The building is beautiful set on very pretty grounds. The restaurant has a lovely terrace for outside dining. It took us about 15-20 minutes to walk into town and it's all flat so an easy walk. Our bed was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drinks, etc, were pretty expensive, and the fridge wasn't working, and again, really small towels. Not too many gripes.

    We had a nice suite, which was very comfortable. The staff were super-helpful and we had a lovely dinner there on the second evening. Kind of out of the way, but very close to Cognac. The grounds were pretty and there was a vineyard, which was nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole appearance of the place on arrival seemed to be 'shabby chic' but within about 10 minutes I took the chic out of it. Entrance was poor with cigarette butts all over the place, reception desk was falling apart, bedroom was quite pleasant but the shower grouting was filthy...I couldn't make myself have a shower the next day We had driven 8 hours up from Spain and the barman didn't know how to make a gin and tonic...he gave us flat tonic out of a big bottle , one piece of ice and no lemon and we had to send it back...in all it took exactly 35 minutes for us to get a gin and tonic on arrival! The pool area is certainly not somewhere I'd like to hang out ... gravel and plastic chairs, flower pots untended.Vines where the grass ought to have been in front of the Hotel. Lovely old building, I'd love to see what a bit of tender loving care and a paintbrush would do to it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic, helpful and friendly staff in a beautiful authentic Chateau full of charm from a bygone era. Food wonderful. Facilities very good - a place to gather your thoughts and recharge your batteries. Our room had the most fantastic view.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity the pool was closed - but this was beyond the controll of the Hotel

    Really good atmosphere in this Hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel. It was very well run by management and staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We appreciated the warmly welcoming, the special location and the good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Hotel with friendly staff food was wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic bed,lovely chateau and area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room should be larger

    The nice location,, very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed. Breakfast pretty poor.

    Position, garden and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice old property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms cramped. Sharp edge on bed frame caused painful gash

    Location, grounds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from town to walk both ways.

    Nice chateau with a good restaurant and great staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have been informed that the restaurant was closed on Mondays before we arrived!

    Relaxed feeling

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold, lifeless and without soul.

    The grounds and the house itself are beautiful and everything the pictures show. Charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bright, spacious and comfortable room with great view. Nice dinner. Attractive grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room and bathroom facilities looked dated. No dinner was available on first night. (Tuesday).

    the swimming pool and grounds were very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed restarant opeing hours by 20 minutes and staff would not even get some bread and cheese for me!

    Large room and beautiful view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was not thing to dislike.

    The hotel, the staff, the food, the location, the deer in the grounds, the ambiance. We loved it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double charged me. Very small room. Staff did not speak English

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant open Sunday. A little dated but very comfortable.

    Lovely old place Friendly owners Quiet location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was good and nice location with swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    watch out for large speed bump very nearly took the sump out of the morgan yellow paint required.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place wished we had stayed longer

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendliness of staff. Lovely pool. Good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location fantastic food amazing staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon but it did say this when we booked so cannot complain about it 🤓

    Very friendly staff. Big rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation decoration a bit old fashioned but very clean.

    Excellent breakfast; nice and efficient staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Se above

    Restaurant closed sunday - no info at reservationtime.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reduce the size of the speed hump in the drive

    Superb old chateau set in its own grounds

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small with our dog and his bed and felt a little cramped.

    The grounds are excellent as is the restaurant and services given. A very clean and comfortable chateau.we were offered a table set in the breakfast room as the staff felt it was better for the rest of the guests not to have our dog in the same room. Service was excellent and this did not soul our pleasure of the food and the experience. The pool opens on May 1st and is heated.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Seems a bit tired now, our room wasn't very clean. Bright emergency light in our room - we had to find something to wedge in front of it to get it dark enough for us to sleep. The junior suite we booked isn't really a suite - there's a small sitting area separated from the main bed by a tall radiator.

    Nice bath - bubbles and lights. Easy to find just out of town - free parking

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive breakfast

    The location, not far trom the centre and in the nature. Very comfortabel and nice room, very clean. Also the bathroom is very clean and recently refurbished. Very quiet! Beautiful garden.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have breakfast as we thought it was a little over priced. There were no cloths to clean the bath between users. The batteries for bathroom TV remote control needed replacing so did not work. The bed could have been a little bigger.

    We had the Deluxe room we asked for. Lovely surroundings although a little difficult to find (would be impossible without Sat Nav). We would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was good to have bikes provided free of charge to go the Cognac centre but it would have been nicer if the bikes were properly maintained. We could not change gears, which made it tough uphill... We walked when it was too hard...

    A good price for a nice hotel but we had only a small room at the top, only one available for 2 days

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the view of neighbouring warehouses - they could have been improved with a lick of paint or, better yet, demolition. The general state of the garden would suggest the gardener was on holiday.

    Good restaurant and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a "bad" experience but disappointing. The "grand" room becomes less grand after an hour or so, there was little or no sound insulation between our room and the next, and breakfast was chaotic, even though the main season was over.

    The overall first impression is impressive but beyond that it's a little disappointing. Our complaint about breakfast was received sympathetically and the high cost of one (€14) was refunded voluntarily and immediately..

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was slightly disappointing; staff seemed inexperienced and the food wasn't outstanding.

    Beautiful surroundings, a warm welcome and a very comfortable bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Couple

    Such an imposing building from outside. The rest a different story. Room on third floor. Only accessible by spiral staircase as lift stops on the second floor. Tatty bedroom carpet, slippery bathroom floor, boiling hot/no air-con. Went for dinner. Was shown the blackboard of specials and invited to choose. Three courses 29 euros. Starter unavailable. Main course steak... a slab of totally inedible gristle! I could not even cut it with the very sharp knife provided. Desert of homemade Ice cream ok. The worst meal I've ever had anywhere in Europe. I've never had a really bad never nind inedible meal in France before, and I've been touring here for almost 40 years. The maitre 'd could not have cared less ! The staff at reception were exactly the same. My family are all in the hospitality business , owners of pubs and restaurants in Ireland, and I can honestly say any chef of theirs presenting a meal of this poor quality would simply be fired. Little wonder they have a beautiful building devoid of guests! Truly dreadful.

    The sight of the hotel in the rear view mirror as I left!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arrived and let in by a guest who said no staff til 3pm. There's a bell to ring though. The shutters on the front of the building were very shabby and it looked like it needed a good renovate. Inside was dated, especially the bathroom. The breakfast was minimal and €14 and expensive for what was there. We had an evening meal. Staff attentive even though there was a wedding party in unfortunately our steak was very very tough. Disappointing. The 15-20 min walk to town was through a rather salubrious area and although given a map, we got lost each time and wandered around the streets for a very long time. All in all we were disappointed in the hotel and Cognac itself.

    Lovely big room with 3 bay windows. Pool and grounds really nice. Clean and always plenty of beds. Staff always polite and respectful. I liked the history of the place and odd bits of antique furniture. The balcony in the evening was lovely with tables, chairs, umbrellas and lights.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I did not particularly like the fact that we had to arrange our own taxi's. The hotel is a good 20+ minutes walk from the town and 40 minutes walk from the station. Unless you are travelling by car, not a fantastic location. We did enjoy our walk to town and from town on occasion.I found the hotel a bit stiff for myself and my 2 daughters (aged 13 and 28). We felt we could not relax and just unwind on the terrace. Definitely suited to a young couple or elderly couple on a romantic weekend. We felt rather out of place. Breakfast not really worth the extra 15 euro. Most of the hotels we stayed in included the breakfast in the rate.

    We enjoyed the use of the free bicycles during our stay. It was extremely hot and the hotel pool was the perfect spot for cooling down and relaxing.The food and service supplied at the hotel restaurant was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Le scale per raggiungere le camere del terzo piano sono molto impegnative, se si sale con molti bagagli non si riesce a salire il tutto in un solo viaggio

    Risiedere in questo hotel ci trasporta nel tempo quando uomo e natura erano più vicini

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I suppose if you didn't have a car then you'd probably want to call a taxi to take you down into the town, but this wasn't relevant for us. Perhaps there are buses.

    I stayed around 6 years ago with my (then) baby daughter as we were attending a wedding in the area. It was perfect then, and it was even more perfect this time. The gardens are perfect for dogs and it was easy to run down and along the river to extend the route (our dogs need a lot of exercise). The restaurant really was superb. We ate out on the second night and the food was the same price but nowhere near as good quality. And the the "maison" cognac cocktails were the highlight of my year so far! I have tried recreating them at home without success. It was quiet when we stayed, and didn't really demand much of the staff but they seemed pretty friendly and helpful when we did need anything. I am planning to take my elderly parents next year. So great for visiting the town and distillery but so calm and tranquil too.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is not as described in the hotel description and its photographs It is very poor quality and in need of a complete refurbishment The room we were originally offered was terrible Far to small and old fashioned We would have left the hotel if we hadn't have had to pay in full This is probably the worse hotel we have ever stayed in and would not reccomend it or stay ever again

    Nothing

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel Domaine du Breuil Cognac traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: