Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domaine du Val 3 stars

22400 Planguenoual, 22400 Planguenoual, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Planguenoual

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 57 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to the hotel from Planguenal could be clearer

    This hotel does the New Year in style and has a lovely ambiance. Guests are made to feel welcome from the moment of arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little details : small breakfast (not worst the money), bedroom a bit wet.

    Magnificent hotel (castle) with the beach near (short walk along the forest) and a beautiful garden ! Nice and huge bedroom. We feel like we got back to the Middle Age with all these great tapestries and earthenwares.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE ROOMS SMELT FUSTY AND WERE OLD AND VERY TIRED. NO TEA MAKING FACILITIES IN THE ROOMS THE POOL DIRTY SADLY I WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN

    THE BUILDING LOOKED BEAUTIFUL

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite our quite late arrival, their staff were all very welcoming and served us an excellent meal in a lovely dining room with plenty of other guests in a very easy atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Using the 15th century history as a reason for not offering 21st century hotel standards. Many elements are tired, but there could be a gem of a hotel here - very similar to the wine list as well as the swimming pool. We also grow our own produce for their taste, but there is no excuse for under-cooked vegetables. A number of guests had to wait 15 mins to be seated in the restaurant - in fact we seated ourselves.

    The buildings and their situation. Staff are very helpful. The sun terrace. The potential.......

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Homing in directions not very good from Plangouenal.

    A lovely ambiance, very French in style and welcome, and good cuisine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired looking and room smelt musty

    Great grounds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interesting - blast from the past with antique comfort of a old manor house/chateau

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weedy poorly maintained gardens ,site hard to understand poor hotel info.

    Croissants really wonderful breakfast great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was eur 12 per person, Quite expensive. We had breakfast in a cafe in town for eur 4.00 instead. Interior very dated and dusty. Jacusi was broken and an extra eur 20.00 was requested to use the sauna. This is the first time we were asked to pay extra to use the facilities in a spa hotel, this is not acceptable considering what the hotel charges for a night.

    We liked the garden and the exteriors of the castle.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Freezing cold pool - didn't feel like it was heated and a lot of dead insects floating in it! general cleanliness not brilliant.

    Size of room, peaceful setting, parking outside.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, wonderful period buildings with well appointed rooms, really helpful staff who did more than needed to fulfil our extra requests and took a personal interest in making sure everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful Chateau full of character. Staff very helpful. Had set evening meal in grand dining room, waiter kindly translated into English and explained ingredients ( some of which had been grown in the garden).

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free wifi in room didn't work.

    Great property in idyllic setting. Quirky large room with bags of character. Lovely gardens.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties: