Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Du Bellay 1 stars

12 rue des Minimes, 41000 Blois, France

#19 of 23 hotels in Blois

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 415 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location and cheap but small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and the toilet door did not close properly. Reception was closed on our arrival so we had to call and ask to leave our bags.

    The location was quiet and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Not quite what we expected !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looked rather run down from the outside but inside our room was clean, nicely decorated but very small. Reception didn't give us a code to get back in after 9.00pm, fortunately a guest heard our attempts to contact somebody and came down to let us in.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Looked after our bags while we went cycling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little hot and stuffy and being on the ground floor we had to keep the street shutters closed. Good to see if you can get an upstairs bedroom. Bike room a little interesting getting your bike in, but did the job.

    Looked after our bags while we went cycling. Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    Nice city, nice location, friendly staff, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room, non-functional radiator, very old furniture, bathroom cleanliness - not so good

    Nice city, nice location, friendly staff, very nice restaurant right next to the hotel . The hotel is close by the royal Blois Castle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Romantic stay in Blois
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some facilities require renewal/modernization. But it did not effect the atmosphere of romance :)

    Very friendly staff! Our window faces the Blois Cathedral. Fantastic view!!! We felt like at home! It was a good idea to stay there for celebrating Birthday! Only several steps to most attractions. Easy to access from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    A good basic hotel within walking distance of the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one way systems in Blois!

    A good basic hotel within walking distance of the centre of town. The room was basic, no frills, but was clean and comfortable - good value for money. There is free parking within 5 minutes walking from the hotel. Excellent for a short stay in Blois if you want to visit the town and the chateaux nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.8
    Pokey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very small room. There was a lack of headroom in the toilet. There was a lot of scratching in the ceiling, not sure if it was rats or pigeons.

    It was close to the centre & restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Shabby but interesting & clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby chic with lots of the former and little of the latter. Though shabby it was clean and functional as well as being in a central location.

    Historic building with lots of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Bike friendly but attention of work hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 12 and the hotel is closed at this time. A person from the staff was not friendly and we had to carry our luggage all the afternoon in our bike trip.The other problem was the size of the bathroom.

    In general is a good place to stay in Blois.They have a parking for the bike and the recepcionist was very kind and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    The lady on reception was welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tricky. After 6.30 pm park in main street until 9am free. Side streets were narrow and places difficult to find until local college had finished.

    The lady on reception was welcoming and helpful. The twin bed room was clean and cosy and warm. Very old building with character and charm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice and cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a bit smelly, and the door dividing the room from the bathroom didn't cover the whole space.

    The location is great and the staff is super nice. The room was cosy and recently painted. Good value for money, so we would come back to this hotel if we're back in Blois. And there's a very good Italian food restaurant in the corner!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.0
    No complaints for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps needs updating.

    Very pleasant lady on reception. Small but interesting room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Friendly, inexpensive, clean. Parking is on the street and you are responsible to pay for parking on working days I’d thw wwwk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    4.2
    Very old hotel, needs to be renovated. Poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old hotel, needs to be renoveted. Very poor experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    We had a good experience, once settled!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have had more pressure! Hours of operation! Arrived tired and had to wait 2 hours for doors to open!

    Staff friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Good friendly hotel with lots of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not easy but found space on nearby road eventually.

    Charming old hotel with small but comfortable rooms. Perfect central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good value for money, perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money, perfectly located.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, lovely hotel, the city centre is in walk-distance. Free parking and very helpful reception. Merci!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.0
    everything was too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was too small

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big clean room, good WiFi, quiet neighborhood and it is very close to city center and the train station. Bed was really comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.9
    Late check-in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check-in time

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    5.0
    Receptionist has a lovely attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Owner is not in the hotel. There is a receptionist 6 hours a day that will take "notes for the owner". Our shower head was clogged and faucet broken. Although we complained, it was not fixed for 3 night stay. The heating is very poor, and only after 6 pm. You will only get one type of liquid soap, as shampoo and body soap Very basic, was clean, but the owner try to avoid any expense possible and it comes to a point of damaging the guest experience.

    Receptionist has a lovely attitude For a great value and tasty restaurant, try the near by Italian La Scala.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.4
    It's smelling very bad at the reception and in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's smelling very bad at the reception and in the bathroom ! Traveling with friends we'VE booked 4 rooms and it was the same in each one ! Awfull!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    6.3
    Site is very good, everything is very close, good restaurand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    many things worn-out, needs a refurbishment, could be a little more cleaner

    Site is very good, everything is very close, good restaurand beside, for one night ok, good Price

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    5.8
    Very basic, but well-located place (Blois has quite good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In general we like old fashioned places, but no warm water in the bathroom is too medieval, I'd say!

    Very basic, but well-located place (Blois has quite good road-sign system for hotels all over the town). Situated on the side road, the place is quiet and would be enough for a short stay, if not - see Dislike Section.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.5
    It is conveniently located near the Roal Chateau of Blois...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Before booking check the opening hours of the reception - it is not open for 24h/day. Also the nearest supermarket we have found is behind the train station, across the bridge. A pizzeria is near though. The tapware is old, but does not leak.

    It is conveniently located near the Roal Chateau of Blois and not far from the train station, in a grey, old house on a gloomy, bleak street - very characteristic for this medieval city.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    Location is very close to centre of Blois.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are one of those people for whom the hotel is a destination rather than a bed for the night you WILL be disappointed. But that is clear in the price I think. But why are the bedroom walls mud brown (I am being polite - another substance comes to mind)? Is that a tradition thing? It's not just the plaster - someone went out of their way to select that colour... add the slow to come on eco bulbs and it's very depressing indeed! For those who need to know. Bad, tight stairs and no lift. Avoid if that is an issue.

    Location is very close to centre of Blois. The Italian restaurant right next door is very good. TIP: You can set your Sat Nav for... Rue Franciade and park for FREE there.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    5.0
    Very near to the center, reductions for the monuments of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too small rooms, not clean, not quiet, room with a window directly to the street (impossible to let it open), not confortable

    Very near to the center, reductions for the monuments of the city,cheap

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    5.8
    Queer little dormer room with a superb view over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our luggage could barely be dragged up and down the tiny, unstable spiral stairs. The comforter looked like it had not seen a washing machine in years. The shared shower was quite cramped. Breakfast was very basic considering the 6€ price tag. Most importantly, although the hotel description says check-in is after 5pm, it is not said that the property is entirely unstaffed and locked before that time, so if you arrive early you cannot even drop your bags.

    Queer little dormer room with a superb view over the rooftops and the Castle. Good location with on-street parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No help with parking, the bathroom , poor ventilation Extremely basic - roof over our head only! Don't book this unless you have no other option.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    4.0
    Only one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing like advert so please watch as this is not the first time fooled. Description and photos should be accurate and representative of place.

    Only one night

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.1
    This was a very old building that had an awesome old wooden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was in a tiny closet, I am claustrophobic so couldn't bear to use it!

    This was a very old building that had an awesome old wooden spiral staircase (that wasn't as awesome for lugging two suitcases up). Our room was small but we did have our own toilet and handbasin which was handy. Even though the staff member couldn't speak much English, she was friendly and we tried our best to communicate. She also gave us discount coupons for the town's main attractions.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.3
    friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the reception is closed once the staff is off duty and so is the wifi connection.

    friendly staff. close to the chateau and the downtown. wifi connection in public area is good

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.5
    very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lime green paint. the furniture, very difficult to find, in the new roadworks.

    very nice breakfast. very nice host,the town. the price.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    4.6
    Badrum very dirtyy, no soap,notoulet papper,
    • Solo traveller

    Badrum very dirtyy, no soap,notoulet papper, Bed was bad

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    6.7
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    outdated facilities

    friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.9
    Central location, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Car parking tricky

    Central location, value for money

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    6.7
    Clos to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi just in the common place until 9pm

    Clos to the city center

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.8
    Very helpful especially with looking after our bikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful especially with looking after our bikes

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    7.9
    Very nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first floor room was a little bit noisy, with a window directly on the street

    Very nice and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    7.5
    The staff is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi is not so strong.

    The staff is nice.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.9
    Really lovely receptionist and Italian restaurant next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedding looked a bit dated but clean and breakfast good but basic.

    Really lovely receptionist and Italian restaurant next door.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.5
    Staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was tiny

    Staff friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Laurie, the hostess was marvelous, friendly, and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small bathroom. Wifi did not reach our room.

    Laurie, the hostess was marvelous, friendly, and very professional!!! ***** FIVE STARS !!!!!

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.9
    The owner really nice and helpful, the position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower a bit strange

    The owner really nice and helpful, the position

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.7
    Location, bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Steep stairs, tiny room and shared shower

    Location, bed

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    Good location in beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The conditioner isn't present.

    Good location in beautiful city. Stopped here for 1 night. The hotel is located in very old house.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room pokey and would by stuffy in hot weather

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Close to good restaurants . Castle .

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.9
    Close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Closed from 11 am till 5pm

    Close to town

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.2
    Staff was great and helpful - hotel has character and price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower is pretty cramped!

    Staff was great and helpful - hotel has character and price is very reasonable

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    8.3
    Cheap, confortable, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cheap, confortable, well located

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.2
    the history, it is from the 1500s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the history, it is from the 1500s.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi in public area only and this was closed from 9pm

    Comfortable clean room

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    10
    Always very clean (3d stay in this hotel) and staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is a bit irregular at time

    Always very clean (3d stay in this hotel) and staff welcoming. Excellent pizzeria next door.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Walls and bed sheets...not so comfortable actually... Based on the price we paid, totally worth it though

    Location.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: