Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel du Château 2 stars

Place de la Mairie, 46500 Alvignac, France

#1 of 2 hotels in Alvignac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 515 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    4.6
    Horrible service, not caring for guests at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.my friend and I were kicked out to the rain (no canopy outside) when waiting for our rides midday sunday. The ride would have come in 5 minutes, but the staff lady did not even ask why we were still there and when we would leave, and just kicked us out because she wanted to go home 2. Before that, we tried to walk to bakery nearby and wanted to borrow and umbrella but were told straight no

    It is clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant venue for a one (or two) night stay. Convenient for Rocamadour. A pretty village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle and tea/coffee making facilities.

    Position of property, in the town square with pretty surrounding buildings, including the church and Mairie

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant hassle free stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The lady at the front desk was very sweet. She didnt know alot of English yet managed to convey everything perfectly. A pleasant hotel which looks beautiful from the outside. A decent spread for breakfast. The hotel is also close to a local bar, bakery and supermarket so its a big plus. Sufficent parking as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in the center of Alvignac.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC would be good, it was incredibly hot and the fan did't help much

    Nice hotel in the center of Alvignac. The old church next door gave nice vibe! The room was comfy, but not really spacious for 3 persons. It's tipical in France it seems. There is swimming pool, but we didn't have enough time to explore it. The same goes for restaurant. The breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    2.5
    Staff very rude and not polite at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very rude and not polite at all. Very strict attitude, and no solution proposed when a problem appears. Only interested in your money, no thoughts about your comfort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    Bathroom and fan in the room was not very clean, It can get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom and fan in the room was not very clean, It can get hot and stuffy at night whilst we were there in the summer. Breakfast booking had to be done the night before which was very inflexible as we were traveling with a child and wasn't sure if we will actually wake up before they finished serving breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel for a base to explore this wonderful region of France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a hairdryer in the room

    Lovely welcome and superb customer service offered by all staff we met. Cuisine very good and waiting staff professional and good humoured. Our rooms were airy and light and bed and linen very comfortable. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Never seen such a excelent service. Felt at home with all confort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely all excelent!

    It's an example of hotel! We had never seen such a good environment, increadible service level, clean, flexibility (if you arrive late, just call and they will wait for you for dinner!), all done with care! The location is excelent, very close to Rocamadour and other turistic sites. The breakfast is more than enough, restaurant for lunch and dinner, so all the confort if you spend your day outside and dont want to worry with looking for places to eat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good for overnight stop on journey down to south of France. Close to Rocamadour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom

    Friendly, clean and comfortable. Very nice breakfast, good choice and good quality food. Although restaurant was not open (mid-October) recommendations for other places to eat were very acceptable. We ate at a nice, family restaurant in the village.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous former chateau!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful though they were, the wooden stairs up to the second floor were a struggle with two heavy cases! No lift. Outside seating neglected, with no cushions.

    Fabulous ivy-clad hotel on site of former chateau, incorporating parts of the original building and its adjoining church! Modernisation sympathetic with surroundings. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Outside pool looked wonderful, but, sadly, didn't get the opportunity to try it out. Very good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    charming old hotel with a great restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only small thing was that the toilet stopped working in my room on my second day, the staff were very apologetic though.

    great location and beautiful building, the restaurant was excellent and the staff very friendly. easy to park. the wifi was functional but quite slow, around 0.8mbps.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful (inexpensive) family owned hotel with great food in a picturesque countryside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit small for my 6'4" height but we managed. There is no air conditioning in the room.

    This is a family-run business. You are made to feel welcome and at home as soon as you enter what feels like somebody's personal residence. We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant during our entire stay and it was wonderful. The €8 breakfast is a must! There were hard boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit, bread and a fantastic beverage machine with cappuccino, coffee, hot chocolate, and juices. We received a map with a suggested itinerary mapped out which was helpful. We recommend the city of Roquemadour and the Gouffre de Padirac.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything. I always try to book this hotel when travelling this way.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff very nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The staff very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too hot in the room.

    Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    the double bed is too small for 2 persons
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the double bed is too small for 2 persons

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    5.4
    Convenient for beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a very dated hotel in urgent need of thorough redecoration. No aircon and 40C is not a recipe for a good night's sleep. Last bus from town centre was at 8.30 which necessitated using car in a town with nowhere to park.

    Convenient for beach.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, good location on edge of village and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was shut, rooms relatively basic and quite small, was also very warm (no air con) but this was during the heat wave and a fan was supplied

    Very friendly staff, good location on edge of village and not far from Rocamadour, nice swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    The friendly lady owner and the relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly lady owner and the relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.5
    - Nice location to visit places around such as Rocamadour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - single piece plastic bathrooms, such as Formule 1 hotels

    - Nice location to visit places around such as Rocamadour and Padirac.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: