Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel du Dauphin 2 stars

9, Rue Victor Hugo, 2nd arr., 69002 Lyon, France

#83 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 555 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower corner was leaking a bit, but we didn't know if it was due to a bad isolation of the shower door or our mishandle. Anyway the receptionist made sure it won't happen again.

    Small, but very nice room with comfy double bed with a lovely balcony to sit on (with a small table and chairs - ideal for a breakfast or dinner time ;). The balcony had a view to the main square - Place Bellecour - perfect! Our room was facing to the street which was bit noisy on Friday and Saturday night (which we expected as we were staying in heart of the city centre), but we enjoyed the vibrations of the this alive city very much! The outside sun blind was perfect and it isolated the noise from the street (apartment across the street). Basically this room in 2* hotel was better equipped and much nicer than a room in another hotel we stayed in before (apparently 3-4*). Very forthcoming and amicable personnel. Reception was closed after 10 PM but a contact in case of an emergency was displayed at the reception desk. Thank you very much for this amazing experience that exceed our expectations! We liked it very much and we would book it again :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower tended to change temperature without warning but only did it once!

    Staff were very helpful, beds were comfortable and location couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of street noise one night but it calmed down soon enough. The rooms are smallish but I personally had no problem with it besides the bathroom was a little small but not terribly so, had everything I needed for my stay (superior double room), might be a different story with a small child etc.

    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room with tea/coffee, nice big windows, good location, great choice for solo or couple short stay in Lyon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is uncomfortably small. Nowhere to put your luggage in the room. Barely able to walk around the bed. I appreciate that space is at a premium however, it is best to be honest in the marketing of this hotel. Convenient location and a stay no longer than one night is the only reason to stay here. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are ridiculously small. I am not sure that this is legal. Shower very difficult to get in for a male adult. One of the rooms had a super low ceiling that made it depressing. There was no ventilation in the toilets of one of the rooms we booked. It was almost impossible to ventilate at night.

    The location, and the location only.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recommended, very friendly and welcoming reception. We are requesting to get early breakfast because we need to check out from the hotel at 6.30 am in the morning. he provided us very satisfy breakfast. thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit pricey for what it was. Stairs up were a bit difficult with a 24 kilo luggage in the night

    Very very nice staff. Room was compact, had everything you need. Price was good for the room and check in at night was easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking website it is mentioned a price of 65eur, but they add after this VAT then, the room cost 75eur. The shower was in a closet, the room was in general really small. A shame for such a price...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small room, but it's Europe and the price was indicative of a modest lodging. Met my expectations.

    Excellent location, a block or so from the Place Bellecour and its Metro station and bus stops, and a 15-minute level walk from the Perrache train station. From the Part-Dieu train station, bus #9 takes you to the Place Bellecour in about 15 minutes. Easy walking to Vieux Lyon and its many cafes and restaurants. The hotel is accessed from street level by an ancient one-person-plus-one-suitcase elevator to the second floor ("first floor" in local terms) or by stairs. The second level of the hotel (third floor in American terms) is by stairs only, within the hotel itself. Very small room and equally small bathroom; good water temp and pressure in the shower; good wi-fin receptivity in the room. Friendly front-counter staff, though it's unstaffed from about 10:00 pm to early the next morning. I didn't use the extra-cost breakfast option as there are plenty of cafes in the immediate area. In all, clean and safe but not a room you'd want to (or could) lounge around in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't easy to keep our toddler as quiet as I would have liked to respect other guests and the thin doors. The atmosphere was really quiet.

    Easy walk to train station on a pedestrian Street or the metro super close in opposite direction. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was small but well managed for the space.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually /)

    Location was really perfect and the people were so friendly and nice. And you can always let your stuff there, and go to the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged £16 more than what it said on booking.com. had to pay extra for breakfast even though booking.com said it was included. Charged twice for one night stay.

    Good location. Large comfortable bed. Nice evening staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I paid for my stay in advance through booking.com using PayPal. On the evening before my departure I asked the person at reception if there was a local tax to pay before I left. She informed me that the full bill was due. I asked her to verify while I went out to dinner. When I came back, another receptionist insisted that my bill had not been paid. I produced the email confirmation of my payment and went to bed. In the morning, a third receptionist again insisted that I pay. I again showed my email confirmation. I told her I'd pay whatever tax was due, no more, and that I had to leave in five minutes to catch a train. She eventually found confirmation that my stay had indeed been paid, except for the very small tourist tax. She then accused me of being aggressive because I had threatened to leave whether or not they managed to confirm that I had paid in advance! An irritating end to an otherwise enjoyable stay.

    Simple, pleasant hotel. Great location, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you're large or not particularly coordinated, the room we had--the only room I can comment on--was very compromising. It might have been manageable for one person, but with two and two bags--we didn't think we traveled with excessive stuff, but this room made us think twice--it was tough. I have nothing against small, but small HAS to be smart and this was not well though out; the bathroom was so tiny that we had to turn sideways to...and I repeatedly kept hitting elbows, head, legs, knees, in the shower, which was also missing a sliding/swinging door portion, making keeping most of the water inside the shower stall itself more of a challenge than it should be...WiFi, elsewhere rated as strong, was intermittent; we often had to shut down and then power up and re-enter to keep going.

    Great location; walking distance to almost everything that's worth seeing in the old city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy street at night if you don't sleep with the window closed.

    Personal touch and friendliness of the staff. Excellent value for money. Small and well managed. Great little balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was kind of small. but for the price and location is not that bad.

    perfect location, directly at the shopping street in city center. During the night you can hear so noises, but not that loud! very friendly employees there! The first room they give me was not good. very small and directly next to the reception, but fortunately after I complained, they gave me immediately a much better room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was incredibly small - the cost of nearby parking.

    The hotel is in an excellent location-close to restaurants, shopping and transport. The staff here were fabulous taking the time to outline the main sites of Lyon.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and we can hear some noise from the other rooms.

    Good location, Nice staff, and room was always very cleaned. Good free wifi and great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast wasn't great. You paid a lot of money for what you actually get. There is a fan in the room, but still very hot.

    Very central location in a shopping street. And the staff is lovely, their English is brilliant. We loved our stay at the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small (as the funny supersmall elevator) so we recommend it only for a short stay

    Hotel was close to the centre, nice place to stay for one night in Lyon Staff (so the lady at the front desk) was friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not soundproof, you can hear everything (even when other guests are quiet). I had an annoying squeaking bed... The breakfast was a bit overpriced as it is not really a buffet. Rooms are extremely small, almost no place to put your lugage.

    The location and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature changed without warning. No aircon which meant leaving the window open and therefore all the inner city noises.

    Location.It is perfectly positioned for exploring the city. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi was exceptionally slow - all of the time. The rooms were poorly soundproofed - i could hear my neighbours coming in and out.

    The hotel is close to Place Bellecour in the heart of Lyon - close to most of the big attractions. i always like to stay in this area when I come to Lyon.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    far too noisy

    location and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pricey and not that great.

    Clean, tidy, cheap - staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door fell off

    Beds amazingly comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very tiny!!!!!The bed was small for two!

    The staff was very helpfull,the place is very central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should be an undersheet between bottom sheet and mattress; towels clean but thin and worn out

    Breakfast options adequate, clean, served efficiently

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too small rooms

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smalles bathroom ever

    The view and location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room tiny

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but balcony made up for this

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. And the bathroom was ridiculously small!

    The balcony and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was very strange. Got water all over the bathroom the first time I used it

    Central location, great to be in the city centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are basic but clean and at a reasonable price for Lyon

    Very good location, very friendly staff, gives good advice. Internet was a decent speed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small, dark room; very old fashion and with no confort. The cleanliness was quesionable.

    Location, but is not in the old city center.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noise from the street below...compact bathroom.

    So close to the centre..ideal for restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sufficient space to place a laptop on the table. The springs in the bed could be felt.

    The breakfast was good for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in Room 1, which was pretty small.

    Hotel staff was friendly, room in good shape

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room is a little small, but very clean.

    The hotel has a great location - a few steps from Place Bellecour - in a pedestrian street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and run down rooms

    Central

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked more coffee and milk in the room

    Good location and very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and bathroom, overpriced breakfast

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bathroom

    Good location near the ancient city centre and most of the attractions. Nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location and friendly staff, room with the balcony is always a good thing :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and tiny elevator, which is fine for me but might be a problem for others..

    Good location, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, clean room, breakfast good , friendly staff everything super for that price, highly recommend 👍👍👍

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not very well soundproofed - I was able to hear my neighbors and with a bed that squeaked everytime I moved, I was afraid of waking up my neighbors every time I turned over. Not something that would keep me from coming back, though!

    Really nice little hotel. Very attentive and helpful staff! Clean, tidy, nice room. Simple breakfast but everything you need. Perfect location in the center of Lyon about 2 min from the metro at Place Bellecour.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was not quiet. Wooden floors was even creacking from neighbors walkings. Walls are so thin that you can easily hear what your neighbors are speaking about.

    Location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was good. No complains.

    The staff was super nice when I arrived. They were very helpful. The room was not super big, but it was very clean and had everything you need for a short stay. Overall, I think it's a nice place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Couple

    I don't understand why we book and paid for hotel in 23 January but until now our money (=price for hotel room booking) is blocked? It's very bad!! Please unblock it!

    Location is great. Room is small but is designed very nice :) Stuff was helpfull

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Asked for a check out 30min later, wasn't possible... Small bathroom, toilet visit was a challenge with my long legs.

    Had a late check-in (midnight), but communicated about entrance and keys were ready at reception. Nice room with small balcony on main street.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    there was a smell in the room; due to bad air conditionning, no fridge.

    Location was great, very close to Metro Bellecour, boulangerie, and super market. staff was kind.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small shower, no night reception, very expensive - but that was because there were several trade fairs going on, it was one of he last rooms I could find that evening in Lyon.

    I liked the hotel, 100 m from place bellecour, nice room, friendly personnel.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked for 2 people but the "double bed" was 1 place and half and if people are not a couple it is a problem

    Staff, the position, cleanllness and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful and the room, although small was very clean. We were able to leave our cases there until we had to leave for the airport, which was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bath was so tiny, but you can deal whit it

    The room was cute and Clean, all that a need for one night in the beautiful Lyon, France. Also have a great view to the street.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    even they have elevator, it is not convenience. The elevator is small and we need permission to use it to second floor.

    staff are friendly and helpful. location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely (!!!!) small rooms (even by French standards). Hard to believe that such small hotel rooms do exist. WIFI was very slow. Skype call impossible.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old windows and doors and therefore you can hear sound from outside and inside in the night. Made me woke up 5 times:(

    Great location and pleasant englshspeaking stuff

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Carpet old and dingy.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Good bed.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice and helpful staff, perfect localization, exactly what we needed

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Couple

    Too small

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room smelled cigarrete and windows are not isolated and it os easy to hear noise from the street.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful staff, small hotel in convenient central location

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast too expensive

    Perfect central location Impeccably clean room

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No airco in the heatwave!

    Very nice staff, good sized room, good location.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room. Noise from street late at night.

    Location close to railway station. Central to most tourist venues and both rivers. Lift

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The reception is very nice and helpful,the place is in the center of lyon

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: