Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Barrière L'Hôtel du Golf 4 stars

Mont Canisy - Saint Arnoult, 14800 Deauville, France

#8 of 76 hotels in Deauville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1242 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room that the sheets had not been changed. We were promised when leaving the hotel the issue would be resolved and nearly a month later I am still waiting. Very disappointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website Booking.com gave us information that pets allowed but this “can be paid”, but not “is paid” so we didn’t expect to get 25 eur per night for little dog chihuahua, after talking with manager we found the solution. For to get cosmetic for hair and body, that’s must be for free, by the way, you have to ask two or three times about it. Not good pressure of water on the 4th floor. There is no bidet in the bathroom. Robes is very old. In the room cheapest coffe pouder, paper cups.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with delightful view .. Generous bedroom..golf experience good... wife had good massage and swim ..Tennis untested .. Breakfast good .. Relaxed and pleasant ambience .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The perfume in the corridors is nice but really too strong

    As usual the staff is amazing and the room confort is great. I always appreciate spending time there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I forgot a luggage when I left early in the morning and I had to call in the evening when I noticed it. The hotel should have called me immediately when they saw the luggage upon cleaning the room during the day. Would I have gotten my luggage back if I hadn't called?

    Amazing bed, gorgeous view and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    COFFEE VERY BAD NO AMERICAN COFFEE NEITHER IN THE LOBBY PERMANENT LEMONADE service in the room only one shampoo sample in 6 days ?? towels missing several times

    size of room and confort nice bathroom they upgraded me

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well kept patrimony building, in a superb location, with vantage point over Deauville and Trouville, surrounded by apple trees and oaks scattered around the golf course. Great room, royal bed, good breakfast. Reception staff professional and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only comment I would have is the price of the breakfast, it seemed rather over priced for us. We only had one breakfast there for that reason then went elsewhere

    Loved everything about this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in bedrooms and we had a heat wave! Food in the evening not very good particularly the steaks which we tried twice. Hard to get beds around the pool as there were very few umbrellas.

    Breakfast good but they kept running out of plates, glasses etc and the person cooking the omelettes kept disappearing! Lunch in golf club was good. Rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in the evening with no explanation why. They gave us the keys to another room to take shower and compensated the inconvinience with a nice gesture on their side.

    Тhe whole service was very good with a lot of attention from the staff. The bed was amazing! The whole design of the hotel was magnificent too. The pool was nice, the location of the hotel too - it's peaceful and very close to Deauville.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on the hill and it was not possible to reach Deauville center and the ocean coast on foot. Basically, if you really like to walk, the promenade there could be enjoyable and it takes around 1 hour. However, the way back loses any pleasantness as it's the way up.

    The hotel is nice, tranquil and qualitative. Everything around is devoted to your comfort. Beautiful wizard views fascinate you and make your stay. There are lots of activities and things to do at the hotel. Outside swimming pool is lovely and useful even in cool weather. Staff is smart and helpful and you feel how hard they are trying for you. Even facing some disadvantages like remoteness, the sought is coming to your mind: I am lucky to choose this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators are really too small. Restaurant is nice but organisation there is not always ok. Food not warm enough when served.

    Very spacy. Nice room with excellent bed. Very friendly and helpfull staff. All staff are pollite and very eager to help. Excellent customer service. Bell boys, reception staff, breakfast staff, cleaning staff, everyone is friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't realise how far it was from the sea. Probably should have known as it is a golf hotel.

    We had an executive room facing the golf course. It was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Reception were very helpful. The golf course looked amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were there during low season and as a result the hotel had very few guests. The hotel has a great bar but we missed other guests to make it more cosy and fun. If I ran the hotel I would have offered a sea view room just to make the experience even better and more memorable.

    Building on the outside has historic and local charm. The room we had, a deluxe with King bed, had recently be redone. Bed, comforter and pillows were awesome and the entire room was well decorated and appointed. The bathroom was outstanding. We would definitely return the next time and bring our golf clubs. The hotel is close to the coastal cities of Deauville-Trouville and Honfleur. Great towns to visit and to sample the wonderful fresh seafood of the area. D-Day beaches and invasion area is about a 1/2 hour away and St Mere Elise is about a 2 hour drive. Mont St Michel is about a 2 1/2 hour drive and worth the trip. Incredible place. Glad we did this outside of the main tourist season. Staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel's environment nice and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff is friendly with a know-it-all attitude. Hallways are filled with an aroma-therapy smell machine that has a disgusting smell to mask the muskiness of the building. Lifts are incredibly small and rooms have no air ventilation which is bad during warm days. 30-40 EURs for breakfast is ridiculous depending on the type of breakfast you choose.

    Rooms are big and beds are comfy. Hotel is closeby Trouville-sur-mer and relatively close to all the WWII sites.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. Breakfast was good but I think for the prices, the food in the dining room could have been better. After all this is France ! Also bottles of water in the room were not topped up every day.

    We liked that it was peaceful but you could also enjoy some fun facilities if you wished. The room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was really good. The hotel was recently renovated, the rooms were comfortable and the atmosphere was friendly. We had really nice room for a family of four persons. The shuttle cars for free to the center of Deauville or Trouville was very good service. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of food within hotel restaurant which was Ok the high side 40 Euro’s pp for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old lifts. No long ( American) coffee nor Capuccino available for breakfast(...?!). Check-in/out cumbersome at peak hours.

    Room, comfort, quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive breakfast and not as good as expected (pancakes not freshly cooked and cold eggs)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor and expensive evening meal!

    excellent service and facilities and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly staff, wonderful views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area is tired and needs upgrading. Staff shortages made meals slow and disorganised.

    Beautiful location and fabulous rooms and dining room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Calm and luxury

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, confortable rooms, fantastic views, a little large and impersonal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I disliked ? Leaving to go back to Paris to work :)

    What I liked the most ? Kindness of staff, all of them without exception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds. Beautiful quality. Expensive but worth it for the facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a little refurbishment. Queuing for 20 minutes to get a table at breakfast was unacceptable

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just One word excellent!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be have more variety

    Good wifi nice staff very helpful especially front desk and concierge

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was poor for the hotel of this level

    It's a really luxury hotel. Additionally you have got a fantastic view outside your windows

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    At times not enough staff

    The layout of the buffet was too concentrated in a small area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the prices were too expensive for a 4 star hotel with about no activities at all.

    The view from the room was beautiful. The rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price!

    The space, the view, the service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing !

    The renovations are excellent , long overdue as we have bee visiting the hotel for 20 years.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The inability of the staff to speak in English Taxi to racecourse ( 1 mile ) 20 Euros

    Bed and bedding very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Completely renewed. Superb breakfast. View on the sea and Deauville.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tea/ coffee and complimentary water.

    Excellent comfortable bed, clean rooms. Good facilities , helpful and polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great convenient location. Good food, super Team. A great base for exploring Normandy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff, wonderful rooms (with views of the sea) and peaceful, central location in Normandy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In a very touristy but beautiful part of France Hotel Barriere is a respite from all the hub bub. Only minutes from Centre Ville Deauville its location couldn't be better. The facilities including the variety of food, dining rooms and spacious bedrooms are not all "used up" like its sister hotel Royal Barriere. Tee times are readily available given the championship course and 9 hole course provide a serious golf experience or a "quick 9." We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, excellent facilities and very helpful friendly staff. We were given maps to enable us to take a very pleasant walk through the environs

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    main restaurant was closed one night for an external function. no advance notice given, no suitable alternative facility available at hotel - not really acceptable for a hotel of this size charging the day rate per room that we were paying.

    Location, quality of facilities and standard of service

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast left a lot to be desired especially for the price. The buffet was really crowded and they kept running out of food.

    The hotel was beautiful, calm, and very clean. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind. Our room was wonderful and the bed was super comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service really bad, Waited for our room until 05PM. Was told by reception that we could have lunch at the pool. After being in swimmsuit, of course we could not eat... Breakfast really bad (Barriere never has good breakfast - nothing is fresh, it is all made in one place for every hotel...). Rooms outdated

    lovely swimming pool in summer, nice location and surrounding (golf)

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Je n'ai pas aimé le fait de ne pas avoir un plateau café dans la chambre car on s'est trouvé dans la partie ancienne de l'hôtel et donc pas de plateau dans la chambre. Surtout qu'on a demandé ça a notre arrivé et la réponse était: le plateau bouilloire n'existe que dans les chambres luxe alors qu'on avait deux chambres standards et pour sept nuits J'estime pour un hôtel 4 etoiles ils pouvaient faire un geste surtout avec des clients à long séjour.

    On a aimé l'emplacement de l'hôtel et surtout la proximité du golf.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not developed babysitting and kids club in this hotel and a horrible staff in the kids club of the Hotel Normandy (same group) - not really proposing various entertainment as it mentioned on the advertising

    The location, view, hotel itself, golf - amazing

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Total lack of comfort and luxury. Not even a bottle of water in the room. When ordering tea, neither lemon or milk supplied and no bisquit even.

    The surrounding golf course and the view.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom is way too small in every respect for the price and size of the room. spa facilities/treatments and shops would be helpful. need a more intimate and scenic lounge when weather is poor.

    service was excellent in all respects. facility was clean throughout. shuttle access to and from Deauville was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Corridors a bit dark and cold at night

    Ambience History and character of building

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old room style

    Bed

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Gréât views and easy for wedding reception

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Couple

    Problem with the lift, fire alarm at 7 am

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I request a room with sea view and they gave me a smaller room and with no view ,

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean n renovated.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpet is a bit old

    Ladscape, view and Breakfast

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: