Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Golf Hotel Lacanau 4 stars

Domaine de l'Ardilouse, 33680 Lacanau-Océan, France

#13 of 36 hotels in Lacanau-Océan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like the manner of the receptionist. Told us we had to wait ten minutes to book in as he was doing something. Tmi left cycle helmet on reception, instead of telling me i had he took it and moved it up the other wnd of the desk. Wasnt rude but not friendly.

    The restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having started checkin the receptionist ( 4pm wed sept 6th) took two phone calls and dealt with 3 other guests ignoring us at every interruption. The breakfast was poor quality and compared to our other stays at Best Western hotels this was a big dis-appointment. The towels in the bathroom were thin and small. For the price it was not value for money.

    The location was lovely on the golf course and the large bed very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was not good so only eat there once . Breakfast was ok but it was generally dirty.We booked a suite but it was like a dungeon so were moved to a ordinary room and given a rebate.

    The last day was best as we were leaving.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were rude and unattentive. When we arrived at 3pm we were told our room is not ready and we couldn't use the facilities. We asked if we could have lunch but the restaurant was closed. The large gentleman on reception dismissed us and told us to come back in an hour. We had dinner in the only restaurant on our final evening as we were leaving early the next day and the theme continued. We got our food before our drinks and I ended up eating with a child on my lap because it took them 30 minutes to bring us a highchair.

    Leaving

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed to guests for wedding. Expensive taxi to get food. Room not very clean, sugar on chairs and floor, not been cleaned. Bathroom grubby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit out of town.

    Very comfy bed . Amazing view of the golf course and we checked out very early and we recieved coffee and warm croissants . Would definitly return .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant the night was very very poor and one serveur for the whole resto who worked too hard.. That was not fair to do that to him or to us the paying customers

    Le golf, thé outdoor restaurant was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was really small with a tiny bathroom. Every morning at around 8am or before we were wake up by a lawn mower.

    The staff was very nice and the food in the restaurant was great. Lovely pine scent in the air.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice but needed a refresh.

    Staff were fab but it was difficult to find. We booked a junior suite but it needed some refurbishment as it looked a little tired.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All staff was a litlle beat rude. It seems they don´t have any kind of professional training. When we asked for a "late check out" the guy on the reception didn´t know what it was ?!?! Some untidiness, until 11 AM you could see piles of dishes on the tour of the bar. Very messy during breakfast. Terrible internet acces, if you count on that, forget it, never saw such a terrible internet service in an hotel. Our room (112) had a smell of mold and noise from de AC. There is not a proper and confortable living room/ sofa area. In Europe I don´t think you can consider this a 4 star hotel. Not worth the money.

    The location of the hotel, it´s a quite place. The varanda were is possible to have breakfast. Easy to park the car.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    late check-in at midnight was possible, and the next day we could stay until 12 a.m. The room was agreeable cool due to air conditioning. The room was super quit, which allowed a good rest.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked it thinking 'spa' included the option of beauty treatments, which is what we were mainly looking for so was disappointed to not get those. Service in the restaurant was slow and the menu was a bit uninspiring.

    Beautiful location and views. Room nice and clean and quiet. Pool and spa facilities quite nice. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little information provided about the relative remoteness of the location and that having a car was a prerequisite. I cannot believe given the lack of public transport available that the hotel does not have a shuttle service. The staff are not particularly willing to make the extra effort for guests that do not speak French. Overall I found the visit stressful which is ironic given the tranquillity of the location. A few of the staff were arrogant not willing to make an effort. However the waitress was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the Hotel is situated in the middle of a beautiful golf course, just 2 km from Lacanau Ocean and the beach. this was really great!

    Rooms, esp. the bathroom, breakfast and interior of the Hotel are not 4 star Standard. According to the Price (145 € plus breakfast) this is not worth it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and the facilities were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small room, no mini bar and no safety deposit box

    Nice environment, small pool but sauna and Jacuzzi available

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant on site was surprisingly good considering they effectively have a captive market.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slightly isolated (if golf is not your main activity)

    Classy "golf" hotel, nice rooms, and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities basic but beds very good size and comfortable. Location great

    Good location and value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Swimming pool and facilities, view from balcony was lovely, the room was spacious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulty accessing the Internet

    Lovely location. Friendly staff. We had dinner there which was 3 courses and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En general todo

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very attentive to our requests and very friendly in responding to them.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel (and its guests) got a bit long in the tooth... plastic bathroom, lots of cobwebs outside, facilities not really 4*

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone speaks english. Even when we missed dinner they prepared a small meal for us which we appreciated a lot! The location among pine trees is really nice!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Balcony had cob webs and dirty. Shower design awful as bathroom floor flooded after every shower. Bike hire charges more than when I emailed to ask what they were. Towels too small. Rooms not very soundproof. If next door open the sliding bathroom door you can here it. Dogs should not be allowed No British tea at breakfast. Dirty sun beds around pool.

    Comfy bed. Location good. Bike hire great but price different to that quoted. Good view of golf course from balcony.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are NO shower curtains in the rooms which is very inconvenient meaning the bathroom floor flooded. No cheese selection on the evening menu.

    Lovely setting Very comfortable, good facilities, particularly indoor pool, spa and fitness Great wine and food.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficulty in finding hotel from Velodyssey route. Initial reception staff unwelcoming; poor service in restaurant.

    Excellent bathroom and bike garage.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the dogs barking all evening/night. The way the manager took over 40 mins to find us another room only to be told it was single beds then to find that room wasn't even cleaned! Spoilt our evening having to move twice that night. Being told by the manager that we would get a discount due to the disruption only to be offered by the chief cashier a large gentleman in reception on the Saturday morning that we had been offered a 12 euro discount and gave us cash ! What a joke that would have covered one pint of beer ! Very poor discount poor manager /customer service. The breakfast was poor all dry products nothing fresh as you would expect from a 4star hotel. The patio doors make a terrible noise the bathrooms need updating the air conditioning doesn't work well enough. The manager is full of himself. A very disappointing experience and we will never go their again. No staff smiled!

    The view of the golf course Clean pool

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant could be so much better. The food is fine but the formica tables (and the staff washing the floor while we were eating), doesn't encourage you to eat here. With some white table cloths, candles etc it could be stunning.

    Great situation. Wonderful golf course. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy bedroom. Plastic bathroom which is highly disappointing for a 4*hotel. Poor breakfast with dried ham, eggs, brioche. The ham was so dry it curled up. Viennoiseries overcooked not to say burnt. Staff not welcoming. Find it hard to believe this is a 4* hotel when I stayed in much better 3*, is that due to the facilities only? Restaurant quite disorganised although the lady in charge seems to do her best. Had to wait some time for the meal and to top it all, my dessert was served with the carton lid, not what you expect from a 4*.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dining room is not clean. We were woken up two times early in the morning by truck deliveries to the hotel (the truck has a very noisy warning sound when it pulls back): it is a pity, because globally the place is quiet.

    Nice rooms in good condition. The hotel is located nearby a golf course among pine trees which make the stay very pleasant. We were back there for the fifth time with always the same satisfaction. Staff is kind. Hotel is located far away for Lacanau’s centre (and its crowd), but this means you need a car.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived, the room given to us was beside the noisy carpark & rubbish bins, dark, ugly & was nothing like the advertised rooms. We demanded a refund & finally were given the kind of room advertised (except twin not double which we accepted)

    Room we eventually got was satisfactory but in need of new balcony & modernising.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After advising we would be arriving pretty late we arrived at 1:30 a.m. The guy in the reception didn't find our booking (maybe a fault on booking.com side?). So we were waiting half an houre while he called his manager to find out what to do. The most amazing thing is that the hotel was half empty, so there wasn't any reason to sleep half an hour less instead of solving the issue the next morning. He never find our reservation so we were lucky there was room. At 1:30 by night there's not many alternatives. Of course we paid full fare 175€+breakfast instead of 135€+breakfast that was the last minute fare. Beside this issue; hotel is pretty basic. not what I would expect in a 4 stars one. Small room, extremely small bathroom. As clean as is possible to clean with a carpet in the bathroom. My advice: do not book in advance. If there is room ending July it's better waiting till the last minute to get a better fare.

    Nice surrounding and landscape. Comgortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I felt they needed to be able to supply power adaptors for guests from overseas to use. They didn't have any on site to offer. There was also no small bar fridge in the room. The menu for dinner was the same every night and not many choices.

    The location of just out of town was ideal and a lovely setting within the golf resort. The staff were all very willing to help whenever I had a query even though I was talking English and they struggled to understand me sometimes. Some staff did speak, or understand english, so we got there in the end.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Quiteness. Terras, enjoying the drinks/ meal while overlooking the course and smelling the pine trees. Hotel, room and bathroom were very comfortable. The (young ) staff was very polite and helpfull. Able to rent a bike.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was the most ridiculous design - very small.All plastic so sound very noisy when shower was on.No shower curtain so bathroom flooded. Mirror in bedroom unsuitably placed to dry hair. Poor thought.

    Lovely location in the forest .

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - the food was okay - and some decor was rather dated.

    We liked the views and the location. The pool and gym were nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not able to connect to the wifi from my I.pad and no-one was able to help.

    Nice room, helpful staff and good facilities at the pool/sauna.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    quiet

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy balcony doors , specially when you've just got baby asleep .

    Location was beautiful .

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell of smoke in the room

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No working airco. Outdated facilities

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attractive location; quiet; peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The big guy in the reception, unfriendly.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite far to beach or lake - car wouldbe necessary.

    Pool, breakfast, comfortable and clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect from staff to facilities and room

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: